Could you all please help me access the Service Menu on my Pioneer 5010FD? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 03-23-2012, 03:35 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jrodefeld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello everyone,

I have a Pioneer PDP-5010FD. I have owned it since 2007 and I have been quite happy with it. I never got it professionally calibrated. What I would really like to do is to check the hours used on this set. I have heard elsewhere that there is a service menu that you can access by pressing a code on your remote that will allow you to see the hours on your set.

Can you tell me how to access it? I already know to be extremely careful and not change any settings at all.

I have seen some instructions on how to access the service menu on another forum. However I have tried repeatedly to access the Service Menu according to the instructions and have failed every time. What am I missing?

I am doing the following:

Make sure the plasma and the media box is in standby.
Press DISPLAY on the remote (just press, do not hold)
Wait 3 seconds
Press LEFT, UP, LEFT, RIGHT and POWER (on the remote)
If done correctly, the plasma turns on and the INFORMATION page is displayed


I have seen these instructions posted over and over on other threads. Are these correct for the 5010FD?

I have tried this so many times yet I cannot seem to access the Service Menu. My tv just turns on like normal and nothing happens.

Could you please help me?

I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks so much for your time.
jrodefeld is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 03-24-2012, 01:45 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jrodefeld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Could anybody possibly help me? Surely a few of you have accessed the service menus on the Kuros, right?
jrodefeld is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 03-24-2012, 08:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
s2mikey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 2,545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrodefeld View Post

Hello everyone,

I have a Pioneer PDP-5010FD. I have owned it since 2007 and I have been quite happy with it. I never got it professionally calibrated. What I would really like to do is to check the hours used on this set. I have heard elsewhere that there is a service menu that you can access by pressing a code on your remote that will allow you to see the hours on your set.

Can you tell me how to access it? I already know to be extremely careful and not change any settings at all.

I have seen some instructions on how to access the service menu on another forum. However I have tried repeatedly to access the Service Menu according to the instructions and have failed every time. What am I missing?

I am doing the following:

Make sure the plasma and the media box is in standby.
Press DISPLAY on the remote (just press, do not hold)
Wait 3 seconds
Press LEFT, UP, LEFT, RIGHT and POWER (on the remote)
If done correctly, the plasma turns on and the INFORMATION page is displayed

I have seen these instructions posted over and over on other threads. Are these correct for the 5010FD?

I have tried this so many times yet I cannot seem to access the Service Menu. My tv just turns on like normal and nothing happens.

Could you please help me?

I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks so much for your time.

The procedure is correct but I have to HOLD my display button down a good five seconds, then do the left, up, left, right thing followed by power. You might have to hold the display button down even longer than that. It will work, might just take a few tries!

Let me know if that works.
s2mikey is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 03-28-2012, 08:54 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jrodefeld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I wanted to bump this thread because I am still having no success getting into the service menu. Not only did I want to check hours, I really wanted to calibrate the grayscale with my new Eye One meter and software. I need access to the RGB controls.

I have tried holding down the display button for various lengths of times, only pressing it, waiting before pressing the direction buttons, etc.

I have no idea what I am doing wrong. Perhaps my remote is faulty somehow? I know the Home Menu button does not respond on this remote, yet every other button seems to work fine. I also have a Harmony remote.

Can someone else chime in and offer some tips on how to enter the service menu? If I cannot access the RGB controls through this method, I could always try to track down a Service Remote.

It seems HIGHLY unlikely I will be able to find one. Pioneer won't sell them to consumers and even if one would show up on ebay, it would likely be very expensive.

Another option is to access the controls through the RS-232 connection. I have no idea how to do that however.

Maybe the cheapest route would be to replace the regular remote for the PDP-5010FD and see if a replacement works?

I really just want to get into the factory service menu using the method everyone else has been using.

I must be missing something simple.

If anyone can help, would you please be VERY specific and tell me every little detail about the process, what I might be missing, and what to look for when I press power after punching in the button sequence?

I really need to access the service menu. If anyone knows where I might purchase a factory service remote, that could be helpful as well.

I really just hope someone can help me to enter the service menu.

Thank you very much and if someone has anything at all to add, I would really appreciate it.
jrodefeld is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off