Official Panasonic GT50 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk] - Page 235 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 18Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7021 of 9830 Old 02-26-2013, 11:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
HD-Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bronx
Posts: 587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSpectre88 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by HD-Master View Post

You've proven why your methods are flawed. biggrin.gif

Too bad I can easily make sure the ABL isn't triggered, not to mention I'm using dim images.

No you cannot. There is a reason why full fields are not used when calibrating or testing plasmas. Your claims are nonsense. You'd have us believe that any and all professional calibrators who use Contrast settings higher than the ones you listed are wasting their time and their clients money.
HD-Master is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7022 of 9830 Old 02-26-2013, 11:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sheshechic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 2,866
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSpectre88 View Post

Can you give me even one reason you won't try it? Saying it's illogical is not an excuse, when the results themselves are illogical. What I can see clear as day is in stark contrast to what you're testing results are. Does that not even warrant an investigation? You're just stubbornly sticking to your results, refusing to believe there's any possible scenario that could result in a deviation from them.

You are not understanding why your experiences do not prove that contrast is capped. You cannot prove that by eyeballing it. Obviously you don't know very much about how the tech works nor about calibrating.

This just needs to stop.

sheshechic is offline  
post #7023 of 9830 Old 02-26-2013, 11:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JSpectre88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,000
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD-Master View Post

No you cannot. There is a reason why full fields are not used when calibrating or testing plasmas. Your claims are nonsense. You'd have us believe that any and all professional calibrators who use Contrast settings higher than the ones you listed are wasting their time and their clients money.

Why can't I?

1.) I can tell if ABL is factor with the menu trick
2.) All photos are too dark to warrant the ABL
3.) The TV can get MUCH brighter than my images
4.) ABL is EASY to detect. Period.
5.) I used multiple samples, they wouldn't all have the same result if ABL was indeed a factor.
JSpectre88 is offline  
post #7024 of 9830 Old 02-26-2013, 11:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JSpectre88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,000
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by sheshechic View Post

You are not understanding why your experiences do not prove that contrast is capped. You cannot prove that by eyeballing it. Obviously you don't know very much about how the tech works nor about calibrating.

This just needs to stop.

I understand how calibrating works. I never claimed I knew better than it. I only claim to know what I can see.
JSpectre88 is offline  
post #7025 of 9830 Old 02-26-2013, 11:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
HD-Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bronx
Posts: 587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSpectre88 View Post


Why can't I?

1.) I can tell if ABL is factor with the menu trick
2.) All photos are too dark to warrant the ABL
3.) The TV can get MUCH brighter than my images
4.) ABL is EASY to detect. Period.
5.) I used multiple samples, they wouldn't all have the same result if ABL was indeed a factor.


Haha! Thanks for the laugh! That was a very humorous list.
HD-Master is offline  
post #7026 of 9830 Old 02-26-2013, 11:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JSpectre88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,000
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD-Master View Post

Haha! Thanks for the laugh! That was a very humorous list.

Seriously? ... eek.gif

ABL is NOT that complicated....sheesh tongue.gif
JSpectre88 is offline  
post #7027 of 9830 Old 02-26-2013, 11:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
HD-Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bronx
Posts: 587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSpectre88 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by HD-Master View Post

Haha! Thanks for the laugh! That was a very humorous list.

Seriously? ... eek.gif

ABL is NOT that complicated....sheesh tongue.gif

No it isn't. Which is why I'm so surprised by you lack of understanding. Are you going to drop you silly claims of contrast caps that are based on nothing but foolish assumptions?
HD-Master is offline  
post #7028 of 9830 Old 02-26-2013, 11:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JSpectre88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,000
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD-Master View Post

No it isn't. Which is why I'm so surprised by you lack of understanding. Are you going to drop you silly claims of contrast caps that are based on nothing but foolish assumptions?

So ABL is the reason I reached a "contrast cap" on a variety of DIFERENT images...

EVERY
SINGLE
TIME

Is that what you're telling me? biggrin.gif
JSpectre88 is offline  
post #7029 of 9830 Old 02-27-2013, 03:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 318 Post(s)
Liked: 554
He is using a meter and you are using your eyesill go with the meter everytime

65VT60(Calibrated by Chad B)
55ST60(Calibrated by Chunon)
Darbee DVP5000
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #7030 of 9830 Old 02-27-2013, 05:31 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bill Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 11,619
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 202 Post(s)
Liked: 519
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSpectre88 View Post

Can you give me even one reason you won't try it? Saying it's illogical is not an excuse, when the results themselves are illogical. What I can see clear as day is in stark contrast to what you're testing results are. Does that not even warrant an investigation? You're just stubbornly sticking to your results, refusing to believe there's any possible scenario that could result in a deviation from them.

Stubborn rolleyes.gif? HD is not interested in trying your "tests" but you will not stop badgering him. So if anyone is stubborn here it would be you. But for some odd reason you just can't seem to grasp that concept. If anyone should give it up it should be you. HD was kind enough to post his settings for all of us to benefit from.

But it always seems that here and on other forums I belong to there is always one or two members with minimal knowledge that just have to challenge those much more knowledgable. I belong to the Steve Hoffman forum which is an outstanding forum for those interested in music. Until recently Barry Diament a very well know mastering engineer was a member. But recently he left SH because of one member (with minimal knowledge) that kept badgering him and questioning his capability as a mastering engineer. I can understand asking questions and even questioning those more knowlegable but at times one has to just let it go.

Bill

My SACD collection, watch it grow and my wallet shrink ;-).

 

Denon 4311 (in preamp mode), Parasound 2100, Boston Acoustics A7200 amp, Oppo BDP-103, Consonance CD120, Panasonic TC-P60GT50 plasma, Panamax 5100EX, Salk Song Towers, Song Center, ADS 300C (surrounds) and two Rythmik F12SEs.
Bill Mac is offline  
post #7031 of 9830 Old 02-27-2013, 06:17 AM
Senior Member
 
Trebor Pyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
HD
I am glad I printed all of your settings. I have a friend who will need them in the near future.
Your most recent settings are awesome. I have the night (wide) settings dialed in and use them for all my viewing sources. Even in our bright family room they look wonderfully
Once I get a splitter I will dial in the other setting.
The colors just "pop' and the blacks are deep. Often the black is as black as the bezel on the display with great detail. My whites are white.
Two months into owning this set and I still sit there and marvel at the detail and color reproduction.

I really hope you repost your settings for the benifit of others coming here looking to calibrate thier display for the best picture.
I just want you to know how much I appreciate all the time and effort you have put into this and your willingness to share it with others.
Trebor Pyn is offline  
post #7032 of 9830 Old 02-27-2013, 06:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bill Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 11,619
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 202 Post(s)
Liked: 519
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trebor Pyn View Post

HD
I am glad I printed all of your settings. I have a friend who will need them in the near future.
Your most recent settings are awesome. I have the night (wide) settings dialed in and use them for all my viewing sources. Even in our bright family room they look wonderfully
Once I get a splitter I will dial in the other setting.
The colors just "pop' and the blacks are deep. Often the black is as black as the bezel on the display with great detail. My whites are white.
Two months into owning this set and I still sit there and marvel at the detail and color reproduction.

I really hope you repost your settings for the benifit of others coming here looking to calibrate thier display for the best picture.
I just want you to know how much I appreciate all the time and effort you have put into this and your willingness to share it with others.

+1! Fortunately I printed HD's settings as well and they look great smile.gif.

Bill

My SACD collection, watch it grow and my wallet shrink ;-).

 

Denon 4311 (in preamp mode), Parasound 2100, Boston Acoustics A7200 amp, Oppo BDP-103, Consonance CD120, Panasonic TC-P60GT50 plasma, Panamax 5100EX, Salk Song Towers, Song Center, ADS 300C (surrounds) and two Rythmik F12SEs.
Bill Mac is offline  
post #7033 of 9830 Old 02-27-2013, 07:45 AM
Member
 
MagSec 4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all. I am currently using hd's day settings and i have a question if i change the rgb range from standard 16-235 to nonstandard 0-255 will it impact his settings in any way? I game on this tv 100% of the time and i know games use full range rgb so i want to get the best picture possible. His wide color range settings are perfect because (to my knowledge) it extends the color gamut and makes the gradient smoother and games benefit from this since they are 0-255.
MagSec 4 is offline  
post #7034 of 9830 Old 02-27-2013, 09:37 AM
Member
 
moonbeam13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
This is a wonderful informative forum for all of us that love our plasmas. I know my family looks forward to increasing the pleasure of watching it by someone elses hard work and expertise that allows me to get the best PQ possible. And that's what HDMaster has done for me. I don't know all that much about tweaking the various areas of color/contrast, etc using equipment. But I sure do thank HDMaster for doing that!! All I'm looking for on this forum is help with any questions I have, and in turn any suggestions I could offer to someone else here with my limited knowledge. HDMaster...just keep doing what you're doing on here, because there are alot of us here that DO appreciate you. Don't sink down to someone elses level with the arguing back and forth, etc. Each is entitled to their opinions and I'd leave it at that. Let's just keep enjoying our TV's that we are lucky enough to own!!!

Panasonic GT50 55"
Oppo 103 Blu-Ray Player
Denon 2112CI AVR
moonbeam13 is offline  
post #7035 of 9830 Old 02-27-2013, 09:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 318 Post(s)
Liked: 554
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post

Im surprised. That is kind of childish.

Can't we just all get along ?

Btw I knew a "Bond" in Cincy once smile.gif or is that strictly a James Bond refererance ?

65VT60(Calibrated by Chad B)
55ST60(Calibrated by Chunon)
Darbee DVP5000
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #7036 of 9830 Old 02-27-2013, 09:46 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,538
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 459 Post(s)
Liked: 896
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post

Can't we just all get along ?

Btw I knew a "Bond" in Cincy once smile.gif or is that strictly a James Bond refererance ?
Just a James Bond reference. I like HDMaster and have no problem with him. Thats why Im surprised he would do something like that. Its not like a bunch of people were getting on him. I dont even use his settings. I have the ST.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #7037 of 9830 Old 02-27-2013, 10:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
HD-Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bronx
Posts: 587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Hopefully we won't have any further problems.
ASiani and sheshechic like this.
HD-Master is offline  
post #7038 of 9830 Old 02-27-2013, 10:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
HD-Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bronx
Posts: 587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 68
MY NEW SETTINGS
Night - Day - VIERA Connect - 3D

Just a few notes:
  • Following information provided by Chad B, I have moved from a setting of "Normal" to "Wide" in the Pro Settings menu for my 2D settings.
  • I have added settings for VIERA Connect. (Netflix, Hulu Plus, Amazon Instant, VUDU, etc.) Note: These settings have not been updated to incorporate my move from "Normal" to "Wide" in the Pro Settings menu.
  • My 2D settings have not changed from the previous version (from 1/19/2013). I have only added the 3D settings in this edition.
  • 3D settings have been added! Please note that the "Color temp" setting is Warm1. Note: These settings have not been updated to incorporate my move from "Normal" to "Wide" in the Pro Settings menu.
  • The "Night" settings are at about 34 fL and the "Day" settings are at about 48 fL.
  • I use a ViewHD 2 Port HDMI 1x2 Powered Splitter. All of my sources are sent from the HDMI output from my AVR to the splitter. Then split to HDMI 1 and HDMI 2 on my GT50. HDMI 1 has my Day settings, while HDMI 2 has my Night settings. I use a Harmony One remote, with two activities for each function (Watch TV - Day, Watch TV - Night, Watch Blu-ray Day, Watch Blu-ray Night, etc.).

My GT50 is not identical to any other GT50. The following settings may work well on your TV or they may not. Find what works best for you and enjoy!
Quote:
NOTE: I have a 65" GT50. If you have a 60" or 65", try a Gamma Adjustment setting of 2.4. If you have a 50" or 55", try a Gamma Adjustment setting of 2.6.
Quote:
NIGHT -

Picture Settings...

Picture Mode: Custom
Contrast: 78
Brightness: 55
Color: 43
Tint: 0
Sharpness: 0
Color Temp: Warm2
CATS: Off
Video NR: Off

Pro Settings...

Color Space: Wide
W/B high R: -5
W/B high G: 0
W/B high B: +3
W/B low R: +6
W/B low G: 0
W/B low B: +8

Black Extension: 0
Gamma Adjustment: 2.4
Panel Brightness: Mid
Contour Emphasis: Off
AGC: 0

Aspect Adjustments...

Screen Format: FULL
HD Size: Size 2

HDMI Settings...

All defaults

Advanced Picture...

Block NR: Off
Mosquito Noise: Off
Motion Smoother: Off
1080p Pure Direct: On
Black Level: Light
3:2 Pulldown: Auto
24p Direct In: 60Hz
Quote:
DAY -

Picture Settings...

Picture Mode: Custom
Contrast: 88
Brightness: 55
Color: 43
Tint: 0
Sharpness: 0
Color Temp: Warm2
CATS: Off
Video NR: Off

Pro Settings...

Color Space: Wide
W/B high R: -9
W/B high G: 0
W/B high B: +2
W/B low R: +10
W/B low G: 0
W/B low B: +9

Black Extension: 0
Gamma Adjustment: 2.4
Panel Brightness: Mid
Contour Emphasis: Off
AGC: 0

Aspect Adjustments...

Screen Format: FULL
HD Size: Size 2

HDMI Settings...

All defaults

Advanced Picture...

Block NR: Off
Mosquito Noise: Off
Motion Smoother: Off
1080p Pure Direct: On
Black Level: Light
3:2 Pulldown: Auto
24p Direct In: 60Hz
Quote:
VIERA Connect -

Picture Settings...

Picture Mode: Custom
Contrast: 80
Brightness: 56
Color: 47
Tint: 0
Sharpness: 0
Color Temp: Warm2
CATS: Off
Video NR: Off

Pro Settings...

Color Space: Normal
W/B high R: +1
W/B high G: 0
W/B high B: +5
W/B low R: +11
W/B low G: 0
W/B low B: -3

Black Extension: 0
Gamma Adjustment: 2.4
Panel Brightness: Mid
Contour Emphasis: Off
AGC: 0

HDMI Settings...

All defaults

Advanced Picture...

Block NR: Off
Mosquito Noise: Off
Motion Smoother: Off
Quote:
3D -

Picture Settings...

Picture Mode: Custom (3D)
Contrast: 100
Brightness: 49
Color: 47
Tint: 0
Sharpness: 0
Color Temp: Warm1
CATS: Off
Video NR: Off

Pro Settings...

Color Space: Normal
W/B high R: -6
W/B high G: 0
W/B high B: -7
W/B low R: +12
W/B low G: 0
W/B low B: +2

Black Extension: 0
Gamma Adjustment: 2.4
Panel Brightness: Mid
Contour Emphasis: Off
AGC: 0

Aspect Adjustments...

Screen Format: FULL
HD Size: Size 2

HDMI Settings...

All defaults

Advanced Picture...

Block NR: Off (if available)
Mosquito Noise: Off
Motion Smoother: Off
1080p Pure Direct: On (if available)
Black Level: Light
3:2 Pulldown: Auto (if available)
24p Direct In: 48Hz
RichardW, Keen, jkurlanski and 2 others like this.
HD-Master is offline  
post #7039 of 9830 Old 02-27-2013, 10:24 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 23,146
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 521
Moderator

We have asked for the settings to be re posted: we also ask that the bickering stop

If you see a problematic post, please do not respond to it or quote it: report the post or PM me

posts deleted

TIA

please take the high road in every post
if you see a problematic post, please do not quote it or respond to it: report it to the mods to handle
markrubin is offline  
post #7040 of 9830 Old 02-27-2013, 10:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JSpectre88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,000
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 54
...cool.gif
JSpectre88 is offline  
post #7041 of 9830 Old 02-27-2013, 11:15 AM
Senior Member
 
BDP33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
MY 60GT50 arrived today. It looks to be a November 2012 build. I checked the glass for cracks and there were none. The only problem is the delivery person said not to plug it in and turn it on. Something about it sitting in a warehouse overnight in cold temps (it's been in the low 20's here at night) and also not warming up enough on his truck. He said to wait a few hours before turning it on. I figured with the liberal return policy by Amazon it was would be fine to just wait. So....it looks like I won't get to fire it up till tonight when I get back home from work.
BDP33 is offline  
post #7042 of 9830 Old 02-27-2013, 11:19 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,538
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 459 Post(s)
Liked: 896
Quote:
Originally Posted by BDP33 View Post

MY 60GT50 arrived today. It looks to be a November 2012 build. I checked the glass for cracks and there were none. The only problem is the delivery person said not to plug it in and turn it on. Something about it sitting in a warehouse overnight in cold temps (it's been in the low 20's here at night) and also not warming up enough on his truck. He said to wait a few hours before turning it on. I figured with the liberal return policy by Amazon it was would be fine. So....it looks like I won't get to fire it up till tonight when I get back home from work.
Wise decision.
Freddyknuckles likes this.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #7043 of 9830 Old 02-27-2013, 12:26 PM
Senior Member
 
jbdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: ATL, GA
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I've read it's a complete myth about cold temps and a pdp. I've also read otherwise. Who knows. Can't hurt to wait. Especially since buying from the big river. Congrats on your GT!
jbdan is offline  
post #7044 of 9830 Old 02-27-2013, 12:43 PM
Member
 
moonbeam13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Help...how can I get the audio on my GT50 to play through my speaker system?? I have Panasonic Comcast cable box, Denon 2112CI receiver, and OPPO 103 Bluray player. How do I hook it up? And, do I change something on the GT50 audio settings? Thanks!

Panasonic GT50 55"
Oppo 103 Blu-Ray Player
Denon 2112CI AVR
moonbeam13 is offline  
post #7045 of 9830 Old 02-27-2013, 12:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JSpectre88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,000
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by moonbeam13 View Post

Help...how can I get the audio on my GT50 to play through my speaker system?? I have Panasonic Comcast cable box, Denon 2112CI receiver, and OPPO 103 Bluray player. How do I hook it up? And, do I change something on the GT50 audio settings? Thanks!

You may need to go into Audio and turn "TV Speakers" to off, but I never had to. My GT50 automatically played through my AVR as soon as I plugged it in. Then again I have all my sound, for any input, going through my AVR to the surround sound. All you should have to do is set the AVR to use the HDMI inputs for the Blu-Ray player and cable box, right? Then you have only one HDMI cord going from the TV to the AVR. That's the way I did mine at least.
JSpectre88 is offline  
post #7046 of 9830 Old 02-27-2013, 01:04 PM
Member
 
feedthemachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Sounds about right JS ,,I also use my AVR as the command center so to speak ..
Only have one HDMI going to the TV (the output from the AVR) all the rest go into the AVR and i switch between devices through the AVR..My TV speakers never have sound coming through them,they are not off just turned down to 0 ..
Moon .all you need to do is send your cable box output via HDMI into your AVR then have an output to the TV
feedthemachine is offline  
post #7047 of 9830 Old 02-27-2013, 01:31 PM
Member
 
moonbeam13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'll try that. When I play DVD's speaker system works, but doesn't when I just have TV on....

Panasonic GT50 55"
Oppo 103 Blu-Ray Player
Denon 2112CI AVR
moonbeam13 is offline  
post #7048 of 9830 Old 02-27-2013, 01:39 PM
Senior Member
 
tom1996's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hartsdale, NY
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by moonbeam13 View Post

I'll try that. When I play DVD's speaker system works, but doesn't when I just have TV on....

While it may not be elegant, if you conected an optical cable between the TV and AVR you should get sound from all of the speakers.
tom1996 is offline  
post #7049 of 9830 Old 02-27-2013, 01:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JSpectre88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,000
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by moonbeam13 View Post

I'll try that. When I play DVD's speaker system works, but doesn't when I just have TV on....

So you have the Bluray on one setting and it works, and you have the cable box on another setting and there's no sound? Are you sure that the setting on your AVR is correct for what HDMI input you have going to whatever mode you're watching, such as Cable/Sat?
JSpectre88 is offline  
post #7050 of 9830 Old 02-27-2013, 02:18 PM
Member
 
moonbeam13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Here's my present set-up:
From GT50 HDMI 1 has optical cable connection to cable box. There is only 1 port on the cable box for HDMI.
From GT50 HDMI 2 has regular HDMI cable to "monitor ARC" on the 2112CI Denon AVR.

From Denon 2112CI AVR has regular HDMI cable from "DVD" to OPPO 103 Bluray on HDMI " out 1".
From Denon 2112CI AVR has optical cable from "Sat/Cab" connection to OPPO 103 on HDMI "out 2".
The other HDMI connections not being used on Denon AVR are "BD", "Game 1", "Game 2", and "V Aux".

I know there is some simple connection I'm not using, or I have things not set up right. I'm not very savvy on all these connections:(
Thanks for all your help.

Panasonic GT50 55"
Oppo 103 Blu-Ray Player
Denon 2112CI AVR
moonbeam13 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P65gt50 Plasma Tv , Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P55gt50 55 Inch Plasma Tv , Panasonic Viera Tc P50gt50 Plasma Tv , Panasonic Viera Tc P60gt50 60 Inch Plasma Tv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off