Official Panasonic GT50 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk] - Page 298 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8911 of 9767 Old 05-01-2013, 04:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
fahrenheit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by nrc2112 View Post

Why not? It has all of the THX patterns as Spears and Munsel or the THX disc.

The person who you quoted is talking about proper calibration with instrumentation (color/spectro meter). It is fundamentally different to what you have done which is 'adjustment', not "calibration".
People don't pay professional calibrators hundreds of dollars to come to their homes and fiddle around with an iphone app.
fahrenheit is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8912 of 9767 Old 05-01-2013, 06:45 PM - Thread Starter
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by b.corso View Post

I didn't take the time to review the 8900 posts to see if this is a common issue, but I figured I would share. I bought my 60GT50 on May 25, 2012. The TV was originally in my bedroom and was hardly used for 3 months and then wasn't used for the next 6 months while I was in Germany. I came home from work yesterday and noticed what appeared to be burn in (see photo). The TV was off all day while I was at work and was only used for an hour the night before. I called Panasonic, and they said they haven't heard of this before and have escalated the issue. But before I got off the phone, they said they would do not warranty any burn in issues. I ran scrolling bars for 2 hours and it is now gone. Not sure what would cause this or if anyone else has experienced this before.


I can't see anything burned into your screen, and if there is any burn-in you wouldn't see it when the TV is turned off like that.

If by chance you're talking about the two bright lights in the screen, that's not burn-in - it appears to be bright light behind the TV that's shining through the rear vents and lighting up the plasma panel from behind.


_____________________________________________

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR605, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #8913 of 9767 Old 05-01-2013, 06:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
tpollagi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Looking for Trolls
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by nrc2112 View Post

No

Looking through Red color filter it is correct in a completely dark room.

I don't have any big problem with that. I have HDMaster's extended evening settings plugged in and like the PQ; turning the color up to 60 doesn't really have as dramatic an effect as you may think. Actually, it's pretty subtle. I grabbed the THX set-up app for my iPad when it was free but don't have AirPlay or the HDMI lightning cable so I have never tried it to see what it says.

The shortcoming of simple tweaking (whether its based on an app or a disk) is that you can alter the grey scale and never really know it. It probably doesn't matter too much unless skin tones get out of whack or the overall picture takes on a color cast. For a lot of people reference levels can be kinda dull.
tpollagi is offline  
post #8914 of 9767 Old 05-01-2013, 07:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
tpollagi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Looking for Trolls
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyWalters View Post

I can't see anything burned into your screen. What area is the burn-in in?

Maybe I'm wrong (I usually am) but I thought the problem was the two giant "white" circles in the center. If that's not it maybe the reflection of the Barcalounger has burned in smile.gif
tpollagi is offline  
post #8915 of 9767 Old 05-01-2013, 07:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
nrc2112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by tpollagi View Post

I don't have any big problem with that. I have HDMaster's extended evening settings plugged in and like the PQ; turning the color up to 60 doesn't really have as dramatic an effect as you may think. Actually, it's pretty subtle. I grabbed the THX set-up app for my iPad when it was free but don't have AirPlay or the HDMI lightning cable so I have never tried it to see what it says.

The shortcoming of simple tweaking (whether its based on an app or a disk) is that you can alter the grey scale and never really know it. It probably doesn't matter too much unless skin tones get out of whack or the overall picture takes on a color cast. For a lot of people reference levels can be kinda dull.
Yes it was quite subtle. At the base setting of 50 I can clearly see the red box through the filter. Turning up to 60 it is lost against the red background. My room is pitch black and very comfortable to watch.
nrc2112 is offline  
post #8916 of 9767 Old 05-02-2013, 06:33 AM
Newbie
 
Shahid Chaudhri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Afternoon all. Just got my first GT50. Unless I'm being a dufus I think it's DOA. I've set it up on the stand, plugged it and....nothing. I mean like with the power lead connected, nothing. Am I missing something. Is there a manual switch on the TV to get it in standby mode (I've round the bezel and can't see anything hidden and nothing in the manual)

There's no red light on the TV at the bottom (Im presuming that's where it would be)....so I'm guessing its a dead TV and the wait will have to go on
Shahid Chaudhri is offline  
post #8917 of 9767 Old 05-02-2013, 06:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 4,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 460
Quote:
Originally Posted by nrc2112 View Post

Yes it was quite subtle. At the base setting of 50 I can clearly see the red box through the filter. Turning up to 60 it is lost against the red background. My room is pitch black and very comfortable to watch.

If it looks good to you thats all that matters really

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #8918 of 9767 Old 05-02-2013, 06:43 AM
Newbie
 
Shahid Chaudhri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shahid Chaudhri View Post

Afternoon all. Just got my first GT50. Unless I'm being a dufus I think it's DOA. I've set it up on the stand, plugged it and....nothing. I mean like with the power lead connected, nothing. Am I missing something. Is there a manual switch on the TV to get it in standby mode (I've round the bezel and can't see anything hidden and nothing in the manual)

There's no red light on the TV at the bottom (Im presuming that's where it would be)....so I'm guessing its a dead TV and the wait will have to go on

Ok was being a dufus...bottom right...I mean of all the places to hide an on/off switch smile.gif
Shahid Chaudhri is offline  
post #8919 of 9767 Old 05-02-2013, 06:58 AM
Senior Member
 
tom1996's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hartsdale, NY
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shahid Chaudhri View Post

Ok was being a dufus...bottom right...I mean of all the places to hide an on/off switch smile.gif

According to the instructions you should have been able to turn it on via the remote OR the button at the side.
tom1996 is offline  
post #8920 of 9767 Old 05-02-2013, 07:00 AM
Newbie
 
Shahid Chaudhri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom1996 View Post

According to the instructions you should have been able to turn it on via the remote OR the button at the side.

Yeah you'd have thought, but I think it was set to off so probably not in standby mode...will have more of a play after the school run
Shahid Chaudhri is offline  
post #8921 of 9767 Old 05-02-2013, 07:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
mohanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Hey guys I have a 60" GT50. I'm using THX Bright mode, with the eco mode saving turned on. I like it, but does anyone have any other suggestions for bright room setting? I don't like custom mode, for some reason it looks weird compared to THX modes.
mohanman is offline  
post #8922 of 9767 Old 05-02-2013, 07:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 4,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 460
Quote:
Originally Posted by mohanman View Post

Hey guys I have a 60" GT50. I'm using THX Bright mode, with the eco mode saving turned on. I like it, but does anyone have any other suggestions for bright room setting? I don't like custom mode, for some reason it looks weird compared to THX modes.

Why do you use the "Saving" setting as opposed to "Standard" doesn't that dim the picture ?

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #8923 of 9767 Old 05-02-2013, 08:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
mohanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Yeah it does a little, because I like THX bright mode, but you can't adjust the gamma. I think by switching to eco mode it drops down the gamma just a tad.
mohanman is offline  
post #8924 of 9767 Old 05-02-2013, 08:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 4,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 460
Quote:
Originally Posted by mohanman View Post

Yeah it does a little, because I like THX bright mode, but you can't adjust the gamma. I think by switching to eco mode it drops down the gamma just a tad.

Ahh I see what is it about custom you don't like ?

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #8925 of 9767 Old 05-02-2013, 09:08 AM
Member
 
TLoewenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
This morning, I took possession of a 60" GT50 from a retailer that was previously a display model. Got it for a reasonable price, not great. The salesperson told me the TV have been on display for about 2 months. Even if it were on 24 hrs a day for 60 days, max hours should have been about 1450. Accessing the service menu, I see it has 4180 hrs and 435 power cycles. That's more than a year's use in our house! My first reaction is to call them and return the TV for not any other reason but that I was obviously not given the truth. Other than that, is returning the TV the most logical choice?
TLoewenberg is offline  
post #8926 of 9767 Old 05-02-2013, 09:45 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 11,869
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 826
Quote:
Originally Posted by TLoewenberg View Post

This morning, I took possession of a 60" GT50 from a retailer that was previously a display model. Got it for a reasonable price, not great. The salesperson told me the TV have been on display for about 2 months. Even if it were on 24 hrs a day for 60 days, max hours should have been about 1450. Accessing the service menu, I see it has 4180 hrs and 435 power cycles. That's more than a year's use in our house! My first reaction is to call them and return the TV for not any other reason but that I was obviously not given the truth. Other than that, is returning the TV the most logical choice?
Thats about 6 months non stop. Probably about 3 years for me. With 435 power cycles I would guess that they used it for roughly 8 months.
I certainly understand how you feel and that would be my first reaction. But....
How good was the price?
Does it work perfectly?
What kind of warranty did you get?
Do you think you can do better with your money?

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
post #8927 of 9767 Old 05-02-2013, 10:08 AM
Newbie
 
b.corso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyWalters View Post

I can't see anything burned into your screen, and if there is any burn-in you wouldn't see it when the TV is turned off like that.

If by chance you're talking about the two bright lights in the screen, that's not burn-in - it appears to be bright light behind the TV that's shining through the rear vents and lighting up the plasma panel from behind.


_____________________________________________

Those white marks are on the screen when the TV is off and they are just as visible at night.

The white marks are also clearly visible when the TV is on.

I ran scrolling bars for a hour and it cleared up. However, when I got home from work the next day, they started to come back.

The initial Panasonic rep I talked to said that image retention can be seen even if the TV is off, for whatever that is worth. I am going to call them back tonight.
b.corso is offline  
post #8928 of 9767 Old 05-02-2013, 10:24 AM
Member
 
TLoewenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post

Thats about 6 months non stop. Probably about 3 years for me. With 435 power cycles I would guess that they used it for roughly 8 months.
I certainly understand how you feel and that would be my first reaction. But....
How good was the price?
Does it work perfectly?
What kind of warranty did you get?
Do you think you can do better with your money?

$1500
Seems to work fine. Got normal 1 year factory warranty.
Same money would get a new ST60. This is my first plasma coming off a 52" XBR4. More reflection than I thought there would be, but probably acceptable if I wasn't annoyed.
TLoewenberg is offline  
post #8929 of 9767 Old 05-02-2013, 10:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2,711
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 608
Quote:
Originally Posted by TLoewenberg View Post

$1500
Seems to work fine. Got normal 1 year factory warranty.
Same money would get a new ST60. This is my first plasma coming off a 52" XBR4. More reflection than I thought there would be, but probably acceptable if I wasn't annoyed.
Bring it back and do not look back! Buy the ST60 NIB. I cannot see how anyone can justify keeping a GT50 with 4,000 hours on it for the same price as a new ST60 which will give you a better picture and is being compared to the VT50. There is so much more yelling I can do here but hopefully I won't need to do any more then this and you will already be on your way to bringing it back.
eric3316 is offline  
post #8930 of 9767 Old 05-02-2013, 10:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 4,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 460
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric3316 View Post

Bring it back and do not look back! Buy the ST60 NIB. I cannot see how anyone can justify keeping a GT50 with 4,000 hours on it for the same price as a new ST60 which will give you a better picture and is being compared to the VT50. There is so much more yelling I can do here but hopefully I won't need to do any more then this and you will already be on your way to bringing it back.

I would second that especially with 4000 hours on it.

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #8931 of 9767 Old 05-02-2013, 10:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 11,869
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 826
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric3316 View Post

Bring it back and do not look back! Buy the ST60 NIB. I cannot see how anyone can justify keeping a GT50 with 4,000 hours on it for the same price as a new ST60 which will give you a better picture and is being compared to the VT50. There is so much more yelling I can do here but hopefully I won't need to do any more then this and you will already be on your way to bringing it back.
+1 btw the S64 has an antiglare filter that may worth looking into for you. From what I understand its only available at Costco and Sams.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
post #8932 of 9767 Old 05-02-2013, 12:11 PM
Member
 
rupterr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
^S64 does not have 3D if that matters to anyone.
rupterr is offline  
post #8933 of 9767 Old 05-02-2013, 12:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bill Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 11,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 417
Quote:
Originally Posted by TLoewenberg View Post

This morning, I took possession of a 60" GT50 from a retailer that was previously a display model. Got it for a reasonable price, not great. The salesperson told me the TV have been on display for about 2 months. Even if it were on 24 hrs a day for 60 days, max hours should have been about 1450. Accessing the service menu, I see it has 4180 hrs and 435 power cycles. That's more than a year's use in our house! My first reaction is to call them and return the TV for not any other reason but that I was obviously not given the truth. Other than that, is returning the TV the most logical choice?

I would return the 60GT50 in a heartbeat for the 60ST60. I would first take a picture of the 4180 hrs. and 435 power cycles on the screen. Then I would go back to the store and ask to have what the salesperson said to be put in writing (if not already). Then I would show the screen shot showing that the information given was not factual. I paid $1599 for a NIB 60GT50 so the price you paid was not a very good one IMO. Good luck smile.gif.

Bill

My SACD collection, watch it grow and my wallet shrink ;-).

 

Denon 4311 (in preamp mode), Parasound 2100, Boston Acoustics A7200 amp, Oppo BDP-103, Consonance CD120, Panasonic TC-P60GT50 plasma, Panamax 5100EX, Salk Song Towers, Song Center, ADS 300C (surrounds) and two Rythmik F12SEs.
Bill Mac is offline  
post #8934 of 9767 Old 05-02-2013, 12:57 PM
Senior Member
 
swizzchard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
i agree with others here - you did not get a good price and I would return it and get the ST60 - maybe at another retailer...
swizzchard is offline  
post #8935 of 9767 Old 05-02-2013, 02:03 PM
Member
 
TLoewenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thanks everyone for the "clear" guidance on my just delivered GT50 with lots of hours. Even though the hours really annoyed me, I also have quite a reflection issue. The TV is located in our family/great room area where it's difficult not to see window reflection. The salesman lead me to believe it wouldn't be an issue.... but, it is. If I knew the ST60 was less reflective, I'd give it a shot, else I'm back to shopping LED.
TLoewenberg is offline  
post #8936 of 9767 Old 05-02-2013, 02:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sheshechic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 2,849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by b.corso View Post

I didn't take the time to review the 8900 posts to see if this is a common issue, but I figured I would share.

I bought my 60GT50 on May 25, 2012.

The TV was originally in my bedroom and was hardly used for 3 months and then wasn't used for the next 6 months while I was in Germany.

I came home from work yesterday and noticed what appeared to be burn in (see photo).

The TV was off all day while I was at work and was only used for an hour the night before.

I called Panasonic, and they said they haven't heard of this before and have escalated the issue. But before I got off the phone, they said they would do not warranty any burn in issues.

I ran scrolling bars for 2 hours and it is now gone. Not sure what would cause this or if anyone else has experienced this before.


How can that possibly be ir? Did you leave it on while you were in Germany? What is behind your tv?

sheshechic is offline  
post #8937 of 9767 Old 05-02-2013, 02:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2,711
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 608
Quote:
Originally Posted by TLoewenberg View Post

Thanks everyone for the "clear" guidance on my just delivered GT50 with lots of hours. Even though the hours really annoyed me, I also have quite a reflection issue. The TV is located in our family/great room area where it's difficult not to see window reflection. The salesman lead me to believe it wouldn't be an issue.... but, it is. If I knew the ST60 was less reflective, I'd give it a shot, else I'm back to shopping LED.
The panels are going to be similar I believe. Did you change the settings to make it brighter. Certain settings are darker by default. You are going to see a reflection in an LED as well. It all matters how well the panel handles the reflection. The ST60 handles reflections better then LED's I have tried.

Either way, get rid of that GT50!
eric3316 is offline  
post #8938 of 9767 Old 05-02-2013, 03:17 PM
Member
 
rypaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by sheshechic View Post


How can that possibly be ir? Did you leave it on while you were in Germany? What is behind your tv?

If that is not an external light source then a faulty component is leaking current to the plasma cells

in that general area while the unit is off. That is very bizzare.

My other concern is that if the cells are being powered they are gonna end up aging much more

rapidly than the rest of the screen and that area will look very dark compared to the rest of the picture.

Taking into account my ultra-limited electronics know-how I call faulty board.

Also if the white spot is still there if you unplug the TV from the wall then it's quite simple, your tv is possessed

and you need to call a priest asap. 

rypaul is offline  
post #8939 of 9767 Old 05-02-2013, 03:46 PM
Member
 
redbulluci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello All,

I'm a GT50 owner finally! Is there a safe way to enter the service menu and enable the 3 setting "Motion Smoother" option while in THX Cinema Mode? Right now it is greyed out.

I say this because other members in my family like the look of the "Soap Opera Effect". I do not. But I guess this is great reason this HDTV is such a great set. You are allowed to make your own choice SOE on or off - even with a Plasma!

Please walk me through the steps. I understand the risks.

Thank you,
J
redbulluci is offline  
post #8940 of 9767 Old 05-02-2013, 04:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sheshechic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 2,849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by rypaul View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by sheshechic View Post

How can that possibly be ir? Did you leave it on while you were in Germany? What is behind your tv?
If that is not an external light source then a faulty component is leaking current to the plasma cells
in that general area while the unit is off. That is very bizzare.
My other concern is that if the cells are being powered they are gonna end up aging much more
rapidly than the rest of the screen and that area will look very dark compared to the rest of the picture.
Taking into account my ultra-limited electronics know-how I call faulty board.
Also if the white spot is still there if you unplug the TV from the wall then it's quite simple, your tv is possessed
and you need to call a priest asap. 

I agree.

It also looks just like the images posted by people who have their tv's back to a window. It looks like light coming through from the other side.

sheshechic is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P65gt50 Plasma Tv , Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P55gt50 55 Inch Plasma Tv , Panasonic Viera Tc P50gt50 Plasma Tv , Panasonic Viera Tc P60gt50 60 Inch Plasma Tv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off