Official Panasonic GT50 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk] - Page 326 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9751 of 9771 Old 07-21-2014, 09:10 AM
Member
 
swargolet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Has anyone seen their black levels rise on their GT50? I feel like my black levels have gotten quite a bit worse since I bought it in 2012. During dark scenes, the blacks definitely look more gray and I remember back when I first got it how amazed I was with the blacks looking almost perfectly black even with nothing on the screen.

For instance, HERE is a picture I took when I first got the TV comparing it to a Samsung e7000 I bought originally (I returned the Samsung). My GT50 now resembles how the Samsung looks in this picture.


Denon X4000 | Paradigm Studio 60s | Paradigm Studio CC-590 | Dual SVS PB-2000s | Panasonic GT50
swargolet is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9752 of 9771 Old 07-21-2014, 03:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Latinoheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 1,622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by swargolet View Post
Has anyone seen their black levels rise on their GT50? I feel like my black levels have gotten quite a bit worse since I bought it in 2012. During dark scenes, the blacks definitely look more gray and I remember back when I first got it how amazed I was with the blacks looking almost perfectly black even with nothing on the screen.

For instance, HERE is a picture I took when I first got the TV comparing it to a Samsung e7000 I bought originally (I returned the Samsung). My GT50 now resembles how the Samsung looks in this picture.

Nope, not at all, still as black as day one. What are you displaying on your screen when you are testing? What settings are you using?

TV - Panasonic 55GT50Main Speakers - Klipsch Gallery G28'sCenter Channel- Klipsch RC-52Sub - Klipsch Sub 12Surrounds - Klipsch RS-52 II (new)Bluray/Game - HTPC/PS3Receiver - Onkyo RC-360HTPC - Intel Core i3, HDMI,Windows 7,XBMC,Bluray,3 TB,wireless WMC keyboardVideo processor - Darbee
Latinoheat is online now  
post #9753 of 9771 Old 07-21-2014, 05:38 PM
Member
 
HD KOOL-AID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 16
No black levels look good on my set been using HD masters night settings. Try watching supernatural on Netflix it has some of the deepest blacks on that TV show. If you have a non calibrated plasma try a system reset, I was having a problem with my Netflix app and I was told to do a factory reset by a Panasonic rep after that my Picture Quality improved and fixed my Netflix app, just FYI if your plasma is calibrated it will erase all of your settings and your Viera login info for the apps.
HD KOOL-AID is online now  
post #9754 of 9771 Old 07-22-2014, 07:43 AM
Member
 
swargolet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I dont usually display a certain image to test, it is just something I notice at times when there is a darker scene on the TV. I often notice the black levels when I'm playing music off my receiver as the screen is almost completely black with a bit of writing on it for the artist and track name. I also notice it often during the end credits of movies, with both Netlfix and DLNA.

I believe I'm still using D-Nice's settings that I originally used back in 2012, but I would have to verify that. I'll try to remember to take some pictures tonight and also check my settings.

When in a completely dark room and there is nothing on the screen, like the picture in my previous post, what does your GT50 look like? Is it basically completely black or does it look more gray like the right tv in that picture?


Denon X4000 | Paradigm Studio 60s | Paradigm Studio CC-590 | Dual SVS PB-2000s | Panasonic GT50
swargolet is offline  
post #9755 of 9771 Old 07-22-2014, 07:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 4,946
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 460
Quote:
Originally Posted by swargolet View Post
Has anyone seen their black levels rise on their GT50? I feel like my black levels have gotten quite a bit worse since I bought it in 2012. During dark scenes, the blacks definitely look more gray and I remember back when I first got it how amazed I was with the blacks looking almost perfectly black even with nothing on the screen.

For instance, HERE is a picture I took when I first got the TV comparing it to a Samsung e7000 I bought originally (I returned the Samsung). My GT50 now resembles how the Samsung looks in this picture.
I have seen no reports of that with the 2012 models, the panel driving method was changed. I have seen documentation on the VT50 not rising so hard to imagine the GT50 would have that issue.

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is online now  
post #9756 of 9771 Old 07-23-2014, 01:57 AM
Member
 
HD KOOL-AID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by swargolet View Post
I dont usually display a certain image to test, it is just something I notice at times when there is a darker scene on the TV. I often notice the black levels when I'm playing music off my receiver as the screen is almost completely black with a bit of writing on it for the artist and track name. I also notice it often during the end credits of movies, with both Netlfix and DLNA.

I believe I'm still using D-Nice's settings that I originally used back in 2012, but I would have to verify that. I'll try to remember to take some pictures tonight and also check my settings.

When in a completely dark room and there is nothing on the screen, like the picture in my previous post, what does your GT50 look like? Is it basically completely black or does it look more gray like the right tv in that picture?
My set looks completely black in a dark room.
HD KOOL-AID is online now  
post #9757 of 9771 Old 07-23-2014, 04:52 AM
Member
 
swargolet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD KOOL-AID View Post
My set looks completely black in a dark room.
Well that is good to know but also sucks knowing that I'm not just imagining things. Last night I tried switching between my custom settings from D-Nice and the THX settings as I remember reading that the THX ones were supposed to give some of the deepest blacks but I saw no difference. I was unable to find my camera yesterday to take pictures, so I'll look again tonight.


Denon X4000 | Paradigm Studio 60s | Paradigm Studio CC-590 | Dual SVS PB-2000s | Panasonic GT50
swargolet is offline  
post #9758 of 9771 Old 07-23-2014, 05:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 4,946
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 460
Quote:
Originally Posted by swargolet View Post
Well that is good to know but also sucks knowing that I'm not just imagining things. Last night I tried switching between my custom settings from D-Nice and the THX settings as I remember reading that the THX ones were supposed to give some of the deepest blacks but I saw no difference. I was unable to find my camera yesterday to take pictures, so I'll look again tonight.

How are you sure you are getting the deepest possible blacks without a calibration for your unique set ?

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is online now  
post #9759 of 9771 Old 07-23-2014, 09:38 AM
Member
 
swargolet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
How are you sure you are getting the deepest possible blacks without a calibration for your unique set ?
I can't be sure at all. I could very well get deeper blacks with a calibration specifically for my set, but I'm just comparing what I remember seeing for black level when I first bought my set vs what it looks like now using the exact same settings.

I did notice that some inputs seems to have 'noise' on the screen which made the blacks look more gray. I make sure to avoid those inputs though and just route everything through my receiver to the good input. Here is a comparison of the 'noise' between two inputs. When I took these pictures, nothing was plugged into either input.

Input 1
Input 2


Denon X4000 | Paradigm Studio 60s | Paradigm Studio CC-590 | Dual SVS PB-2000s | Panasonic GT50
swargolet is offline  
post #9760 of 9771 Old 07-23-2014, 04:11 PM
Member
 
HD KOOL-AID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 16
That does not look no normal. I will try swapping out HDMI cables I had a cable that will give me weird noise also. Have you tried resetting to defaults in the picture modes. You stated you been using D-nice settings from 2012 and have not changed them in a while, maybe after the firmware updates since then it might of changed you settings.the last one was in June
HD KOOL-AID is online now  
post #9761 of 9771 Old 07-25-2014, 08:50 AM
Member
 
Eddie E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by swargolet View Post
Has anyone seen their black levels rise on their GT50? I feel like my black levels have gotten quite a bit worse since I bought it in 2012. During dark scenes, the blacks definitely look more gray and I remember back when I first got it .
On my 60" GT50 I notice when I play Pandora and Internet music from my Denon AVR-3312ci the title of the songs would show on screen for a few seconds and then fade off. Only it doesn't fade totally black. It's like the backlight effect you get on LCD's. And I can sometimes see very faded IR from the song titles on the screen. But that is the only time I experience that effect. During movies either Blu-Ray, Netflix or Amazon the blacks are still deep black as its been since I purchased it December 2012. Usually now days I do not turn on the GT50 while only playing music on the receiver unless I want to see a song title. I'm concerned that the screen not going totally black while play music may cause some screen issues.
Eddie E is offline  
post #9762 of 9771 Old 07-25-2014, 08:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Latinoheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 1,622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddie E View Post
On my 60" GT50 I notice when I play Pandora and Internet music from my Denon AVR-3312ci the title of the songs would show on screen for a few seconds and then fade off. Only it doesn't fade totally black. It's like the backlight effect you get on LCD's. And I can sometimes see very faded IR from the song titles on the screen. But that is the only time I experience that effect. During movies either Blu-Ray, Netflix or Amazon the blacks are still deep black as its been since I purchased it December 2012. Usually now days I do not turn on the GT50 while only playing music on the receiver unless I want to see a song title. I'm concerned that the screen not going totally black while play music may cause some screen issues.
Have you guys not thought that that's the way Pandora is suppose to look like? Unless you guys knew for sure it looked significantly darker blacks I would assume it's the app. Just a thought.

TV - Panasonic 55GT50Main Speakers - Klipsch Gallery G28'sCenter Channel- Klipsch RC-52Sub - Klipsch Sub 12Surrounds - Klipsch RS-52 II (new)Bluray/Game - HTPC/PS3Receiver - Onkyo RC-360HTPC - Intel Core i3, HDMI,Windows 7,XBMC,Bluray,3 TB,wireless WMC keyboardVideo processor - Darbee
Latinoheat is online now  
post #9763 of 9771 Old 07-25-2014, 08:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Latinoheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 1,622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by swargolet View Post
I can't be sure at all. I could very well get deeper blacks with a calibration specifically for my set, but I'm just comparing what I remember seeing for black level when I first bought my set vs what it looks like now using the exact same settings.

I did notice that some inputs seems to have 'noise' on the screen which made the blacks look more gray. I make sure to avoid those inputs though and just route everything through my receiver to the good input. Here is a comparison of the 'noise' between two inputs. When I took these pictures, nothing was plugged into either input.

Input 1
Input 2

Yes that does not look normal, I will try and post pictures this weekend switching inputs in a dark room environment.

TV - Panasonic 55GT50Main Speakers - Klipsch Gallery G28'sCenter Channel- Klipsch RC-52Sub - Klipsch Sub 12Surrounds - Klipsch RS-52 II (new)Bluray/Game - HTPC/PS3Receiver - Onkyo RC-360HTPC - Intel Core i3, HDMI,Windows 7,XBMC,Bluray,3 TB,wireless WMC keyboardVideo processor - Darbee
Latinoheat is online now  
post #9764 of 9771 Old 07-26-2014, 05:25 AM
Member
 
Eddie E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Latinoheat View Post
Have you guys not thought that that's the way Pandora is suppose to look like? Unless you guys knew for sure it looked significantly darker blacks I would assume it's the app. Just a thought.
I have considered that it may just be the app and may be normal. And it may not be doing any harm. It's like a fuzzy dark gray and it just has me concerned about IR since I sometimes play music for hours. So I turn the screen off now.
Eddie E is offline  
post #9765 of 9771 Old 07-26-2014, 07:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
tpollagi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Looking for Trolls
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddie E View Post
I have considered that it may just be the app and may be normal. And it may not be doing any harm. It's like a fuzzy dark gray and it just has me concerned about IR since I sometimes play music for hours. So I turn the screen off now.
I have seen this with the Amazon Instant Video app. The background is actually a yucky shade of gray on the main menu page. Amazon has a screen saver that kicks in reasonably OK but the last time I ran Pandora on the TV it took what seemed to be forever before its screen saver activated. You obviously have some type of PC / laptop / tablet / phone; why not just stream the music from another device and turn the TV off. I stream Spotify from an i-Pad to an Elite receiver. I think you would find cutting the TV out of the loop for music is a good thing.
tpollagi is offline  
post #9766 of 9771 Old 07-28-2014, 06:51 AM
Member
 
Eddie E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tpollagi View Post
I have seen this with the Amazon Instant Video app. The background is actually a yucky shade of gray on the main menu page. Amazon has a screen saver that kicks in reasonably OK but the last time I ran Pandora on the TV it took what seemed to be forever before its screen saver activated. You obviously have some type of PC / laptop / tablet / phone; why not just stream the music from another device and turn the TV off. I stream Spotify from an i-Pad to an Elite receiver. I think you would find cutting the TV out of the loop for music is a good thing.
I really do not have a problem since I do not turn on my screen while playing music anymore. That was the last thing I said in my last post and I mentioned in an earlier post. The only reason I replied in this thread was you let swargolet know that I was having a simular problem and maybe something he could check.
Eddie E is offline  
post #9767 of 9771 Old 07-28-2014, 03:36 PM
Member
 
gavone1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
My HDMI board was fried in a lightning storm last night.
What are my options?
gavone1976 is offline  
post #9768 of 9771 Old Yesterday, 02:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Latinoheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 1,622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by gavone1976 View Post
My HDMI board was fried in a lightning storm last night.
What are my options?
Every single HDMI input doesn't work? If yes maybe you can find one on eBay, no extended warranty? or didn't use a power conditioner?. If one still works, get a HDMI switcher or upgrade your receiver and hook all your components to receiver than 1 HDMI to TV.

TV - Panasonic 55GT50Main Speakers - Klipsch Gallery G28'sCenter Channel- Klipsch RC-52Sub - Klipsch Sub 12Surrounds - Klipsch RS-52 II (new)Bluray/Game - HTPC/PS3Receiver - Onkyo RC-360HTPC - Intel Core i3, HDMI,Windows 7,XBMC,Bluray,3 TB,wireless WMC keyboardVideo processor - Darbee
Latinoheat is online now  
post #9769 of 9771 Old Yesterday, 04:20 PM
Member
 
gavone1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
All the hdmi inputs do not work,I forgot to hook the cable line into the power conditioner.
gavone1976 is offline  
post #9770 of 9771 Old Today, 07:05 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
GAVEONE I had the same thing happen to me the other day. The PC, ethernet, and component cables work but nothing happens with the HDMI. When I turn on a blu ray player that I didn't have plugged into anything the tv flicks to the hdmi like it sense it turn on, but it doesn't display anything. For the 2 devices i had hooked up when the lightening hit, it's like they aren't even there. I'm looking at just getting a main board off the internet. Seems like an easy enough fix.
airmail96 is offline  
post #9771 of 9771 Old Today, 01:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Latinoheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 1,622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Here is a quick find on eBay for you guys.

http://www.ebay.ca/itm/Panasonic-TXN...565da26&_uhb=1

TV - Panasonic 55GT50Main Speakers - Klipsch Gallery G28'sCenter Channel- Klipsch RC-52Sub - Klipsch Sub 12Surrounds - Klipsch RS-52 II (new)Bluray/Game - HTPC/PS3Receiver - Onkyo RC-360HTPC - Intel Core i3, HDMI,Windows 7,XBMC,Bluray,3 TB,wireless WMC keyboardVideo processor - Darbee
Latinoheat is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P65gt50 Plasma Tv , Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P55gt50 55 Inch Plasma Tv , Panasonic Viera Tc P50gt50 Plasma Tv , Panasonic Viera Tc P60gt50 60 Inch Plasma Tv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off