Official Panasonic GT50 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk] - Page 327 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9781 of 9798 Old 08-03-2014, 09:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Latinoheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 1,734
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Latinoheat View Post
Yes that does not look normal, I will try and post pictures this weekend switching inputs in a dark room environment.
Here are a couple of pics, displaying inputs with living room pot lights,stairway lights on and in a fully dark environment.

[IMG][/IMG]


[IMG][/IMG]


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan25 View Post
Buy an AV receiver? I'm not trying to come off the wrong way, but you purchased a top of the line display, immerse yourself and back it up with a good audio system.

I connected my Klipsch surround system since day one, it sounds amazing even at low volume levels. I actually haven't heard the tv speakers.

TV - Panasonic 55GT50 Main Speakers - Klipsch Gallery G28's Center Channel- Klipsch RC-52Sub - Klipsch Sub 12Surrounds - Klipsch RS-52 II Bluray/Game - HTPC/PS3, Receiver - Onkyo RC-360 HTPC- Intel Core i3, HDMI,Windows 7,XBMC,Bluray,3 TB,wireless WMC keyboardVideo processor - Darbee
Latinoheat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9782 of 9798 Old 08-03-2014, 10:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
tpollagi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Looking for Trolls
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by escapethematrix View Post
thank you......is this something I can fix?
Well unfortunately the service manual has no diagnostics. It refers to the troubleshooting and tips manual. I have the tips / troubleshooting guide for the ST50 but it only has diagnostics for the SOS blinking lights codes. I don't appear to have any basic manual with test point voltages that are not covered by the SOS codes.

The master circuit diagram shows 2 audio amps. One for the subwoofer and one for the left-right speakers. Both of these are integrated circuit chips on the A-board. I had hoped there was a seperate audio board but no such luck; its all built into the main-board ( part # TXN/A1GZUUS ). If the amp is actually the problem you would need a new A-board.

Before going that route I would make sure the connectors are all tight. Just trace the wires back from the speakers to the connection on the A-board and look for any problems along the path. You could also have a "blown" speaker. If one has gone "bad" or is causing an intermittent short it could be causing the problem.

Sorry I dont have a better fix.

I understand why you would like to keep the built-in speakers running. I use them most of the time. When I watcha movie I switch to the receiver and the full surround deal but for just watching the news its just too much.
tpollagi is offline  
post #9783 of 9798 Old 08-03-2014, 11:35 AM
Member
 
AudiophileWalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Reston VA
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you are having trouble with the tv amps or speakers buy a soundbar. A tv of this quality certainly deserves it. I have 2 Zvox's hooked up to my Oppo 103/103D for my 50GT50 and my 60VT60.
AudiophileWalt is offline  
post #9784 of 9798 Old 08-03-2014, 12:19 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,804
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 468
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudiophileWalt View Post
If you are having trouble with the tv amps or speakers buy a soundbar. A tv of this quality certainly deserves it. I have 2 Zvox's hooked up to my Oppo 103/103D for my 50GT50 and my 60VT60.
The op has a sound bar already. He doesn't want to use it for TV.

On the other hand, the external speakers for our Kuro are still in their box six and a half years after we bought the set.

A lot of people have this attitude about sound, if you have it, use it.

Calibration Resources:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

htwaits is offline  
post #9785 of 9798 Old 08-04-2014, 06:46 PM
Member
 
gavone1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Latinoheat View Post
Glad I could help, I would keep in mind when purchasing a new receiver to future proof yourself with proper new features. That way when the time comes you will be ready for a few years to come. Here is an example.

http://www.twice.com/news/receivers/...0-60hz-4k/2992
Installed the board this afternoon and the TV is working great!!
Thanks again!!
gavone1976 is offline  
post #9786 of 9798 Old 08-04-2014, 08:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Latinoheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 1,734
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by gavone1976 View Post
Installed the board this afternoon and the TV is working great!!
Thanks again!!
Awesome, was it difficult to install?

TV - Panasonic 55GT50 Main Speakers - Klipsch Gallery G28's Center Channel- Klipsch RC-52Sub - Klipsch Sub 12Surrounds - Klipsch RS-52 II Bluray/Game - HTPC/PS3, Receiver - Onkyo RC-360 HTPC- Intel Core i3, HDMI,Windows 7,XBMC,Bluray,3 TB,wireless WMC keyboardVideo processor - Darbee
Latinoheat is offline  
post #9787 of 9798 Old 08-05-2014, 02:15 PM
Member
 
gavone1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
It was actually really simple.
gavone1976 is offline  
post #9788 of 9798 Old 08-30-2014, 10:38 PM
Member
 
HD KOOL-AID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Do any other gt50 owner only get Netflix to top off at 720p. Never can get 1080 or super HD quality streaming.
HD KOOL-AID is offline  
post #9789 of 9798 Old 08-31-2014, 08:39 PM
Member
 
wvvolfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD KOOL-AID View Post
Do any other gt50 owner only get Netflix to top off at 720p. Never can get 1080 or super HD quality streaming.
I've seen 3850 kbps bit-rate (1080p) but that's the most I seem to top off at. Never can get 4300 or 5800 kbps Super HD 1080p bit-rates. I don't see the Super HD icons listed on the titles either, however I can get Super HD (usually 5800 Kbps) on the Chromecast and Roku 3 just fine. Just not the built in Panny Netflix app.

------------
Signature:


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wvvolfan is offline  
post #9790 of 9798 Old 09-02-2014, 07:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
Iain-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by swargolet View Post
Has anyone seen their black levels rise on their GT50? I feel like my black levels have gotten quite a bit worse since I bought it in 2012. During dark scenes, the blacks definitely look more gray and I remember back when I first got it how amazed I was with the blacks looking almost perfectly black even with nothing on the screen.

For instance, HERE is a picture I took when I first got the TV comparing it to a Samsung e7000 I bought originally (I returned the Samsung). My GT50 now resembles how the Samsung looks in this picture.
I purchased my GT50 in January 2013 and have seen no rise of black levels.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddie E View Post
On my 60" GT50 I notice when I play Pandora and Internet music from my Denon AVR-3312ci the title of the songs would show on screen for a few seconds and then fade off. Only it doesn't fade totally black. It's like the backlight effect you get on LCD's. And I can sometimes see very faded IR from the song titles on the screen. But that is the only time I experience that effect. During movies either Blu-Ray, Netflix or Amazon the blacks are still deep black as its been since I purchased it December 2012. Usually now days I do not turn on the GT50 while only playing music on the receiver unless I want to see a song title. I'm concerned that the screen not going totally black while play music may cause some screen issues.
I have the same processor, as well. (it's AVR-3313)

To spare my GT50 from all that mundane, utilitarian rubbish, I added a cheap Samsung 32F5000 display as a secondary monitor connected to second HDMI output last September. You should consider that.

Last edited by Iain-; 09-02-2014 at 07:04 AM. Reason: Add text in parenthesis
Iain- is offline  
post #9791 of 9798 Old 09-03-2014, 06:07 AM
Member
 
Eddie E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iain- View Post
I purchased my GT50 in January 2013 and have seen no rise of black levels.



I have the same processor, as well. (it's AVR-3313)

To spare my GT50 from all that mundane, utilitarian rubbish, I added a cheap Samsung 32F5000 display as a secondary monitor connected to second HDMI output last September. You should consider that.
That is a great idea. The problem is with all of my sound surround equipment and 60" screen there really isn't any room for another display. Now day I just leave the TV off unless there is a song playing that I like to find out about after which I turn it back off. And it's rare that I even do that.
Eddie E is offline  
post #9792 of 9798 Old 09-03-2014, 07:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Latinoheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 1,734
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddie E View Post
That is a great idea. The problem is with all of my sound surround equipment and 60" screen there really isn't any room for another display. Now day I just leave the TV off unless there is a song playing that I like to find out about after which I turn it back off. And it's rare that I even do that.
Another way of viewing or controlling your music without leaving the screen on is with a tablet using your AVR's app or even better the XBMC one. Here is a pic but I always have my GT50 on.

[IMG][/IMG]

TV - Panasonic 55GT50 Main Speakers - Klipsch Gallery G28's Center Channel- Klipsch RC-52Sub - Klipsch Sub 12Surrounds - Klipsch RS-52 II Bluray/Game - HTPC/PS3, Receiver - Onkyo RC-360 HTPC- Intel Core i3, HDMI,Windows 7,XBMC,Bluray,3 TB,wireless WMC keyboardVideo processor - Darbee
Latinoheat is offline  
post #9793 of 9798 Old 09-05-2014, 11:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
Iain-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iain- View Post
I purchased my GT50 in January 2013 and have seen no rise of black levels.



I have the same processor, as well. (it's AVR-3313)

To spare my GT50 from all that mundane, utilitarian rubbish, I added a cheap Samsung 32F5000 display as a secondary monitor connected to second HDMI output last September. You should consider that.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddie E View Post
That is a great idea. The problem is with all of my sound surround equipment and 60" screen there really isn't any room for another display. Now day I just leave the TV off unless there is a song playing that I like to find out about after which I turn it back off. And it's rare that I even do that.
Actually, I have a standard cabinet that GT50 sits on and an equipment rack next to it where the Samsung and Sony BDP-S790 share the top shelf.

This worked out well as the height of the Samsung display as it sits on rack, is is the same height as the GT50 that sits within 4 cm. to its left side. Looks nice.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Latinoheat View Post
Another way of viewing or controlling your music without leaving the screen on is with a tablet using your AVR's app or even better the XBMC one. Here is a pic but I always have my GT50 on.

I use a Harmony One that's has two activities programmed to turn on GT50 or Samsung display only based on activity.
Iain- is offline  
post #9794 of 9798 Old 09-06-2014, 02:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 513 Post(s)
Liked: 246
This little hole in the wall shop by me had the 55" for $375. It looks brand new. I feel like I won the lottery Haha.
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #9795 of 9798 Old 09-06-2014, 03:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mongo171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 1,880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 705
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattopotamus View Post
This little hole in the wall shop by me had the 55" for $375. It looks brand new. I feel like I won the lottery Haha.
Great score!
Mongo171 is offline  
post #9796 of 9798 Old 09-06-2014, 05:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 513 Post(s)
Liked: 246
How do you check the number of hours on the panel?

Edit: NM I found it. 1200 hours and not an ounce of burn

Last edited by Mattopotamus; 09-06-2014 at 06:37 PM.
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #9797 of 9798 Old 09-06-2014, 08:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
caloyzki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Hi guys. Need ur help. Looking on the used market for gt50. How much would be the decent used price now? Thanks
caloyzki is offline  
post #9798 of 9798 Old 09-06-2014, 08:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Latinoheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 1,734
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattopotamus View Post
How do you check the number of hours on the panel?

Edit: NM I found it. 1200 hours and not an ounce of burn
wow, that's a steal, congratulations. Enjoy, time to watch all those blurays again.

TV - Panasonic 55GT50 Main Speakers - Klipsch Gallery G28's Center Channel- Klipsch RC-52Sub - Klipsch Sub 12Surrounds - Klipsch RS-52 II Bluray/Game - HTPC/PS3, Receiver - Onkyo RC-360 HTPC- Intel Core i3, HDMI,Windows 7,XBMC,Bluray,3 TB,wireless WMC keyboardVideo processor - Darbee
Latinoheat is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P65gt50 Plasma Tv , Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P55gt50 55 Inch Plasma Tv , Panasonic Viera Tc P50gt50 Plasma Tv , Panasonic Viera Tc P60gt50 60 Inch Plasma Tv
Gear in this thread - P60gt50 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off