Official Panasonic GT50 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk] - Page 330 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 25Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-19-2015, 09:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Latinoheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 3,390
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 984 Post(s)
Liked: 726
Enjoyed Mad Max Fury road this weekend, this scene looks fantastic on the GT50 Played using HTPC w/ MPC/Madvr. Picture doesn't do justice, it looked so much better in person.

Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	296
Size:	160.2 KB
ID:	838578

Edit: don't know why it's upside down, sorry.

Media room- LG OLED EG9600 4k, Pioneer Elite VSX-90, PS4, Klipsch Gallery G28's, Klipsch Sub 12, Klipsch RS-52 II, Optik HD cable

Living room- Panasonic ST60, onkyo RC-360,HTPC, Klipsch Reference R-62II, Rc52II

Gaming room -Panasonic GT50 THX, PS3, Wii
Latinoheat is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-21-2015, 10:47 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bill Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 13,309
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1088 Post(s)
Liked: 1150
Buzzing/Hum issue isolated!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Mac View Post
I've had the buzzing issue with my 60GT50 pretty much since it was new. A tech from Panasonic came out 2-3 times and changed the screws and tightened them with no luck. Now the buzzing cycles in loudness which is driving me crazy. I called Panasonic customer service awhile back and they said it was out of warranty so there was nothing they could do. I told them that the buzzing issue started well within the warranty but they didn't care. The 60GT50 will be the last product I'll ever buy from Panasonic. I was thinking of adding some type of sound deadening material on the wall directly behind the panel as it's mounted on the wall. Has anyone tried this or heard of anyone trying it?
After further troubleshooting I found the loud buzzing/hum that cycles on and off that gets louder when the screen has bright images is coming from my two Rythmik F12SE subs. The subs are placed on either side of my rack right below my 60GT50 so it seemed as if the hum was coming from the plasma. But when I unplugged both subs the hum was silenced. The F12SEs have torodial transformers which are noisy due to possibly getting DC offset from the plasma. If I plug the subs or the plasma into a different circuit the hum stops. It was great to finally isolate what was causing the loud and very noticeable hum .

Bill

My SACD collection and HRAudio.net Library, getting larger as my wallet gets smaller ;-).

Emotiva XMC-1, Wyred 4 Sound SX-500s, ST-500, ST-250, Oppo BDP-103/105D, Panasonic TC-P60GT50 plasma, Panamax 5100EX, Salk 1801-TLs, Salk 1801b center, ADS 300C (surrounds) and two Rythmik F12SEs.
Bill Mac is online now  
Old 07-22-2015, 06:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Latinoheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 3,390
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 984 Post(s)
Liked: 726
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Mac View Post
After further troubleshooting I found the loud buzzing/hum that cycles on and off that gets louder when the screen has bright images is coming from my two Rythmik F12SE subs. The subs are placed on either side of my rack right below my 60GT50 so it seemed as if the hum was coming from the plasma. But when I unplugged both subs the hum was silenced. The F12SEs have torodial transformers which are noisy due to possibly getting DC offset from the plasma. If I plug the subs or the plasma into a different circuit the hum stops. It was great to finally isolate what was causing the loud and very noticeable hum .

Bill

Excellent!!!

Media room- LG OLED EG9600 4k, Pioneer Elite VSX-90, PS4, Klipsch Gallery G28's, Klipsch Sub 12, Klipsch RS-52 II, Optik HD cable

Living room- Panasonic ST60, onkyo RC-360,HTPC, Klipsch Reference R-62II, Rc52II

Gaming room -Panasonic GT50 THX, PS3, Wii
Latinoheat is online now  
Old 07-23-2015, 04:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bill Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 13,309
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1088 Post(s)
Liked: 1150
Quote:
Originally Posted by Latinoheat View Post
Excellent!!!
Thanks ! I hope it would be this easy for all owners of Panasonic plasmas that have the buzzing issue.

Bill

My SACD collection and HRAudio.net Library, getting larger as my wallet gets smaller ;-).

Emotiva XMC-1, Wyred 4 Sound SX-500s, ST-500, ST-250, Oppo BDP-103/105D, Panasonic TC-P60GT50 plasma, Panamax 5100EX, Salk 1801-TLs, Salk 1801b center, ADS 300C (surrounds) and two Rythmik F12SEs.
Bill Mac is online now  
Old 07-23-2015, 07:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
Iain-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Mac View Post
After further troubleshooting I found the loud buzzing/hum that cycles on and off that gets louder when the screen has bright images is coming from my two Rythmik F12SE subs. The subs are placed on either side of my rack right below my 60GT50 so it seemed as if the hum was coming from the plasma. But when I unplugged both subs the hum was silenced. The F12SEs have torodial transformers which are noisy due to possibly getting DC offset from the plasma. If I plug the subs or the plasma into a different circuit the hum stops. It was great to finally isolate what was causing the loud and very noticeable hum .

Bill
Glad you sorted it.

I have the same combination (GT50 and single F12SE). I've never had the buzzing problem though, possibly because I have my main system, consisting of:
  • TX-P50GT50B - primary monitor
  • Samsung LED display - secondary monitor
  • Dual HDMI output AVR
  • BDP
  • DVD player
... plugged into a professional class 1.5 kVA isolation transformer, placed between the Rythmik F12SE mains input.


That's a viable alternative for those who don't have the option of a different mains circuit.

Last edited by Iain-; 07-24-2015 at 07:00 AM. Reason: typo
Iain- is offline  
Old 07-30-2015, 10:53 PM
Senior Member
 
ATC7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmileandWave View Post
Hi,

Saw this post from a few years ago. First picture I've seen that's exactly the same as the issue I have on my 60ST50 - wider black band, a few floating pixels in it. Unfortunately, I've had mine for two years as well. If you remember, was there a proposed fix for yours? Or was it just a goner?
Sorry, obviously this is a really late reply but in case you're still wondering, mine was a goner. The authorized service rep came and diagnosed it and his repair quote, including parts, exceeded the cost of the TV so it was replaced under (store's extended) warranty. Knock on wood, my 65GT50 is holding up pretty good so far.
ATC7 is offline  
Old 07-31-2015, 07:00 AM
Newbie
 
cward0625's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I see references in this thread to the buzzing issue. I had this issue on my 65vt30

I bought the protection plan from Best Buy. They have outsourced the repair to another repair company. I had the buzzing and arcing in the top left corner of the tv when looking at the back.

The repair company picked up the tv and just replaced the screws and said there was no more buzzing. They didn't check for the arcing before doing the repair. I explained that I felt the board should be replaced where it was arcing as I can't imagine arcing to be good for the board. They then replaced the SC Board to satisfy me.

After reading some of the posts though in this forum and other threads, I am questioning if this is the correct board to replace. I could see the arcing in the upper most left vent looking in the back of the tv. Can anybody confirm if this is correct? Also should I be pushing for the other boards to be replaced too after this issue as I read that this issue could cause other boards to go bad?

The repair company just seems to consider a TV repaired if it powers back on and works again where my concern is that these parts have been damaged from their arcing, I get the TV back, and 6 months later the tv dies on me due to this issue and I am now out of warranty. I would of thought some diagnostics or tests should be done to confirm the boards are not damaged or something.

Just wondering if anybody has advice who has experienced this issue on their TV as I know it has existed on a lot of other models.
cward0625 is offline  
Old 08-07-2015, 11:07 AM
Newbie
 
huhhuh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Green haze

A strange situation has cropped up in the last couple of months with my 60GT50. There is about a 4 inch by 6 inch faint green haze on the right side of my screen, about 2 inches from the edge. It is so faint that you can really only see it on white backgrounds. Sometimes it is not visible, other times it is. There is no rhyme or reason when it is visible. Sometimes it can't be seen if the set has been off for a period of time, sometimes it can. Like I said above, it is really only visible with a white background, and even then it is very, very faint. Has anyone else run across this?
huhhuh is offline  
Old 08-26-2015, 05:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
tpollagi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Looking for Trolls
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Parts of your description kinda sound like some very minor IR, but not totally. Could also be some very minor "imbalance" in the screen driver circuitry that addresses that section of the screen or maybe the panel itself.

In any event, stop looking for it in a short time you will no longer see it. Little flaws like this can ususally only be seen if you specifically look for them. If you stop looking for it, it will disappear

Last edited by tpollagi; 08-26-2015 at 05:17 PM. Reason: Spelling
tpollagi is offline  
Old 08-27-2015, 08:46 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
also my gt50 is buzzing since one year ...
vashrulez is offline  
Old 10-21-2015, 07:06 AM
Member
 
scarface717's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know where can I buy the HDMI board for this TV? A friend of mine has this tv but his HDMI ports doesn't work anymore and it is out of warranty. #60GT50

Thank you!
scarface717 is offline  
Old 01-10-2016, 11:11 AM
Member
 
Porteroso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhhuh View Post
A strange situation has cropped up in the last couple of months with my 60GT50. There is about a 4 inch by 6 inch faint green haze on the right side of my screen, about 2 inches from the edge. It is so faint that you can really only see it on white backgrounds. Sometimes it is not visible, other times it is. There is no rhyme or reason when it is visible. Sometimes it can't be seen if the set has been off for a period of time, sometimes it can. Like I said above, it is really only visible with a white background, and even then it is very, very faint. Has anyone else run across this?
I have had the same issue for some time with my 60GT50. I don't think it is an IR issue, as I probably ran the slides more than is wise, to say the least. It seems that running the slides actually brought this problem to the forefront. I avoided some IR issues certainly, watching tv channels with constant bars on the sides or bottom, but the more you run electronics, the more they age. I have stopped running slides, period, and the issue is much less prevalent, though I still see a yellowish haze on a white screen. And even in movies, you will come across a beautiful shot of a sky that is mostly white-grey, and it is visible when the camera moves. Or in commercials with white backgrounds. Still, I will take that issue. The tv continues to look absolutely stunning. I am still running the settings that someone posted here once, was it hdmaster? I think something like that, his calibrated settings.

edit: To be clear, I've got some yellowish splotches on the left and right edges, almost circular, without a discernible pattern. It is faint, and really only noticeable if the screen is on pure white.

I do wonder if this is an issue only the 60" version has. If it is, you would think it could possibly be a fixable issue, but I doubt that at this late in the model's life, anyone has the time or will to locate the issue.

I hope all you fellow avs readers are having fun with your sets, and here's to a great 2016.

Last edited by Porteroso; 01-10-2016 at 12:36 PM.
Porteroso is offline  
Old 02-07-2016, 10:01 AM
Senior Member
 
Ray**W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Murkiness in the blacks

Love my 60GT50, but I am a bit frustrated. Part of my frustration stems from not knowing what the actual name of the issue is. I have done an enormous amount of Google time trying to track it down, but not knowing what to call it has left me without a solution and I haven't stumbled across anything similar.

Some background. First, I used D-Nice's settings after doing his whole prep thing and the picture looks great until I get into the situation described below. The TV is in the man cave, completely light controlled and I usually watch with 2 wall sconces dimmed to about 1/2, so there is not a lot of light involved.

Let me try to explain it in non-techie terms and see if anyone can tell me how to fix it or at least what it is called. The issue is when I am looking at a dark scene or if there is a scene with a lot of black space. The black areas look... murky. Artifacts? It is kind of like seeing water floating in black oil, but the murkiness is kind of chunky rather than swirly and the "chunks" change shape & move around. I wish I could describe it better. BTW - the chunks/murkiness are not visible when the full picture is full of color; only when the scene is dark or partially black.

Hopefully it is a simple setting change. Any help will be appreciated.
Ray**W is offline  
Old 02-08-2016, 03:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
artur9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: near philly
Posts: 1,546
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 470 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray**W View Post
Let me try to explain it in non-techie terms and see if anyone can tell me how to fix it or at least what it is called. The issue is when I am looking at a dark scene or if there is a scene with a lot of black space. The black areas look... murky. Artifacts? It is kind of like seeing water floating in black oil, but the murkiness is kind of chunky rather than swirly and the "chunks" change shape & move around. I wish I could describe it better. BTW - the chunks/murkiness are not visible when the full picture is full of color; only when the scene is dark or partially black.

Hopefully it is a simple setting change. Any help will be appreciated.
Might be what they talk about in this thread about black levels.
artur9 is offline  
Old 02-10-2016, 12:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Ray**W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow - that's quote thread! Thanks for the pointer. It will take some time to grind through it.
Ray**W is offline  
Old 02-15-2016, 01:16 PM
Member
 
symphx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Edge Light, Picture doesnt fully take up Frame

Hi all, does anyone have this where when a movie is starting you can see light at the edges (for me left and top) as though the frame of the movie just needs to be moved a bit to sit flush: I remember in the old days one could adjust this either on the tv? or DVD/vhs player; Its like a projection tv where you just want/need to move the projector a bit to fit the screen properly.

I have no adjustments for this on either the tv or my blu ray player; Ive changed players, it must be the tv. thoughts?
symphx is offline  
Old 02-16-2016, 07:26 PM
Member
 
HD KOOL-AID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by symphx View Post
Hi all, does anyone have this where when a movie is starting you can see light at the edges (for me left and top) as though the frame of the movie just needs to be moved a bit to sit flush: I remember in the old days one could adjust this either on the tv? or DVD/vhs player; Its like a projection tv where you just want/need to move the projector a bit to fit the screen properly.

I have no adjustments for this on either the tv or my blu ray player; Ive changed players, it must be the tv. thoughts?
Have you changed your aspect adjustments in picture settings. HD size 1 will fill the screen but you will lose full pixel.
HD KOOL-AID is offline  
Old 02-21-2016, 02:12 PM
Member
 
bbusse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Has there ever been any 3D calibrations posted anywhere ever for this model?

I have found D-Nice 2D settings, but nothing for 3D.

-B
bbusse is offline  
Old 02-21-2016, 09:12 PM
Member
 
HD KOOL-AID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbusse View Post
Has there ever been any 3D calibrations posted anywhere ever for this model?

I have found D-Nice 2D settings, but nothing for 3D.

-B
HD masters settings Official Panasonic GT50 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk]
HD KOOL-AID is offline  
Old 02-22-2016, 04:24 PM
Member
 
bbusse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD KOOL-AID View Post
Thanks for the point to the exact page.

-B
bbusse is offline  
Old 07-18-2016, 05:41 AM
Newbie
 
sublime600's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have a source to buy a new main board?
sublime600 is offline  
Old 07-18-2016, 05:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whipit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SGF
Posts: 1,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by sublime600 View Post
Anyone have a source to buy a new main board?
https://www.shopjimmy.com/

http://www.ptselectronicsinc.com/

http://www.paylesscomponents.com/

I'm pretty sure there sre some repair people on ebay also.
whipit is offline  
Old Today, 03:12 PM
Member
 
SouthernGypsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have had my TC-P60GT50 for awhile now but recently upgraded another component and in that components settings there is a page with three settings that I am uncertain about...

#1. It ask if the TV I'm connecting to is a "Deep Color" TV? (yes/no)

#2. It has a Color Depth setting for use with my TV with the available options being; 24 bits per pixel (8-bit), 30 bits per pixel (10-bit), 36 bits per pixel (12-bit), or 48 bits per pixel (16-bit)?

#3. It also ask I wanted to use a Color Space of; Standard or PC RGB?


I have been all through the manual and can not find the info anywhere in the manuals nor online. Even called Panasonic who says its an older model so their info is limited but the tech that I got THINKS based on the age of the TV (not really a lot to go on) that most TV's of that era (he said it's a 2012 model according to his records) supposedly should be Deep Color and it possibly supports 36 and maybe even as much as 48 bits per pixel but had no clue about the third question (and his answers was not exactly confidence inspiring on the first two, it was clear that he was just guessing).


Does anyone know the correct answers for these questions in reguard to the Panasonic TC-P60GT50?

~

Last edited by SouthernGypsy; Today at 03:28 PM.
SouthernGypsy is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P65gt50 Plasma Tv , Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P55gt50 55 Inch Plasma Tv , Panasonic Viera Tc P50gt50 Plasma Tv , Panasonic Viera Tc P60gt50 60 Inch Plasma Tv
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off