Official Panasonic GT50 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk] - Page 331 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 27Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9901 of 9917 Old 08-30-2016, 01:36 PM
Member
 
SouthernGypsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know that the video lag rating is on the P60GT50?

On a related question; what about Panasonics BTT490 receiver which was often sold with this TV?
How much lag does running the signal through that receiver add to something like an Xbox One?


Or for that matter has anyone ever tested this TV (and this receiver also if anyone knows) to find out what the best settings are to reduce the most possible lag for things like playing multiplayer online games like the Call of Duty series, Halo series, etc. on the Xbox One?

~
SouthernGypsy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9902 of 9917 Old 08-30-2016, 02:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Superman23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Hamburg Township, Michigan
Posts: 1,331
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 787 Post(s)
Liked: 314
Quote:
Originally Posted by SouthernGypsy View Post
Does anyone know that the video lag rating is on the P60GT50?

On a related question; what about Panasonics BTT490 receiver which was often sold with this TV?
How much lag does running the signal through that receiver add to something like an Xbox One?


Or for that matter has anyone ever tested this TV (and this receiver also if anyone knows) to find out what the best settings are to reduce the most possible lag for things like playing multiplayer online games like the Call of Duty series, Halo series, etc. on the Xbox One?

~
I play my PS4 on my ZT60 and notice a serious increase in response time when I turn the Game Mode to On. With Game Mode turned on the response time is about 40ms. With it off they said it was in the 60's. Try it out and see if you can notice a difference.

LG OLED 65B6P
Panasonic Viera TC-P65VT30
OPPO UDP-203 4K Ultra HD Blu-Ray Player
Sony PlayStation 4 Pro
Nintendo Switch
Sony PlayStation 3
Superman23 is online now  
post #9903 of 9917 Old 08-30-2016, 02:47 PM
Member
 
HD KOOL-AID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by SouthernGypsy View Post
Does anyone know that the video lag rating is on the P60GT50?

On a related question; what about Panasonics BTT490 receiver which was often sold with this TV?
How much lag does running the signal through that receiver add to something like an Xbox One?


Or for that matter has anyone ever tested this TV (and this receiver also if anyone knows) to find out what the best settings are to reduce the most possible lag for things like playing multiplayer online games like the Call of Duty series, Halo series, etc. on the Xbox One?

~
It's been tested at 24-30ms in game mode by flatpanelshd and and hdtvtest
HD KOOL-AID is online now  
 
post #9904 of 9917 Old 08-30-2016, 04:25 PM
Member
 
SouthernGypsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superman23 View Post
I play my PS4 on my ZT60 and notice a serious increase in response time when I turn the Game Mode to On. With Game Mode turned on the response time is about 40ms. With it off they said it was in the 60's. Try it out and see if you can notice a difference.
You see an INCREASE when you turn the Game mode ON?!?

~
SouthernGypsy is offline  
post #9905 of 9917 Old 08-30-2016, 08:42 PM
Member
 
SouthernGypsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK here is a question about the P60GT50 TV's Audio Return Channel (ARC).

When we first got our XBox one and plugged it direct into the TV's HDMI-1 port, and had the audio feeding back to our Panasonic BTT490 receiver through the ARC cable connected between the TV's HDMI-2 (ARC) and the HDMI OUT (ARC) on the Receiver we discovered we could NOT get 7.1 Surround sound. But if we plugged the Xbox One direct into the Receiver on HDMI-2 IN we do get the full 7.1 surround sound.

Is it the TV that is not passing the 7.1 back to the Receiver through the ARC channel,
- or is it specific to the XBox One that it's not recognizing that the TV supports 7.1 ....?


ie. .... Has anyone else connected anything else to the TV's HDMI-1, 3, or 4 port with a cable from the HDMI-2 (ARC) channel back to a receivers HDMI ARC port and been able to get 7.1 surround sound after having gone through the TV?


~
SouthernGypsy is offline  
post #9906 of 9917 Old 08-31-2016, 05:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dwaleke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,165
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1126 Post(s)
Liked: 526
Look into ARC. Limited bandwidth iirc. You may not be able to get anything better than 2 channel pcm or lossy multichannel ac3 signal.
dwaleke is offline  
post #9907 of 9917 Old 08-31-2016, 06:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
artur9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: near philly
Posts: 1,840
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 664 Post(s)
Liked: 236
Quote:
Originally Posted by SouthernGypsy View Post
ie. .... Has anyone else connected anything else to the TV's HDMI-1, 3, or 4 port with a cable from the HDMI-2 (ARC) channel back to a receivers HDMI ARC port and been able to get 7.1 surround sound after having gone through the TV?
I thought the way it worked was you could only get full audio if it originated with the TV. Like by using the built-in apps.

Otherwise anything talking to the TV would convert to 2.0 (since that's all the TV can play).
artur9 is offline  
post #9908 of 9917 Old 08-31-2016, 07:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Superman23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Hamburg Township, Michigan
Posts: 1,331
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 787 Post(s)
Liked: 314
Quote:
Originally Posted by SouthernGypsy View Post
You see an INCREASE when you turn the Game mode ON?!?

~
Ok what I mean is that when you turn the Game Mode On the game/tv performs a lot faster. You wont notice any lag.

LG OLED 65B6P
Panasonic Viera TC-P65VT30
OPPO UDP-203 4K Ultra HD Blu-Ray Player
Sony PlayStation 4 Pro
Nintendo Switch
Sony PlayStation 3
Superman23 is online now  
post #9909 of 9917 Old 08-31-2016, 01:15 PM
Member
 
SouthernGypsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since we're going to have to go through the Receiver first with the XBox and since we do not use any of the apps on the TV nor have any other reason that we'd actually need the ARC channel returning audio from the TV back to the receiver, is there any difference in speed between the TV's ARC port and any of the other ports such as HDMI-1 ... ?

Ie. does having the receiver plugged into the HDMI-2 (ARC) IN port add any extra video lag due to the extra circuitry associated with that port or because the TV is always sending a signal back through the cable possibly taking up some of the available bandwidth even when it's not actually needed for audio purposes?


For that matter is any of the ports any faster than any of the others?
Our old Panasonic had a port marked specifically for GAME but this one doesn't. I'd almost be surprised if none of the true videophile guru's on the forums had never tested all 4 of the TV's ports to see if any of them might be any faster than any of the others for whatever reason.


~
SouthernGypsy is offline  
post #9910 of 9917 Old 03-11-2017, 02:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
artur9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: near philly
Posts: 1,840
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 664 Post(s)
Liked: 236
Was wondering.

When my GT50 isn't receiving a signal the screens turns blue. Now, if it's receiving a "blank" signal the screen is black. At least, I think that's what is happening.

When it's receiving the "black" signal, I can see a sort a snow effect from about a foot away. Does that matter in any way?
artur9 is offline  
post #9911 of 9917 Old 03-11-2017, 03:43 PM - Thread Starter
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,888
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 520 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by artur9 View Post
Was wondering.

When my GT50 isn't receiving a signal the screens turns blue. Now, if it's receiving a "blank" signal the screen is black. At least, I think that's what is happening.

When it's receiving the "black" signal, I can see a sort a snow effect from about a foot away. Does that matter in any way?
No. That's normal when getting abnormally close to a Plasma screen. You can see it from anywhere near a normal viewing distance.

.

Randy
Sony 55W800B, Panasonic TC-P55ST60, TiVo 2-Tuner Premiere, TWC Arris DCX3600-M 6-Tuner DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333 AVR, URC MX-890, MX-780, MX-450, MX-500 Remotes.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #9912 of 9917 Old 06-27-2017, 02:53 PM
Member
 
doe_eyed_gazelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 17
firmware rollback

Hey guys! Wondering if someone can help please.

I was putting in a new router and making sure everything was hooking up to it so turned on the wifi to my 65gt50 and it upgraded firmware to 1210. I know, I know.... that's how often I use the VieraCast .... you can all stop laughing now.

Hate It .!.Hate It .!.Hate It .!.Hate It .!.Hate It .!.Hate It .!.

Can someone please let me know if it will accept a rollback to previous version by sd card flash and perchance if someone has a copy of the file or can point me in the right direction please.

thx-in-adv
doe_eyed_gazelle is offline  
post #9913 of 9917 Old 06-29-2017, 07:43 AM
Member
 
Eddie E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South Jersey Shore
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by doe_eyed_gazelle View Post

Can someone please let me know if it will accept a rollback to previous version by sd card flash and perchance if someone has a copy of the file or can point me in the right direction please.

thx-in-adv

I purchased the Panasonic TC-P60GT50 new, back in December 2012 and I never upgraded the firmware. To be honest I didn't know the firmware was upgradable. The only app I use on the Panasonic is Amazon. I use ther apps on my Oppo player and Denon receiver. I really wish I could help you. It's nice to see there are other people that still has that TV. Mine is still working great. I often think about selling it and getting a 4K TV but I just love my plasma, still nothing like it, not to mention 3D which I still enjoy. Good luck finding a solution.
Eddie E is offline  
post #9914 of 9917 Old 06-29-2017, 06:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
artur9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: near philly
Posts: 1,840
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 664 Post(s)
Liked: 236
I agree. In the forums I follow about TVs and such, right now I see tons of problems with interoperability between UHD/HDR TVs and source devices and AVRs. Not that many people are appearing happy with the latest and greatest.

I am hoping my Plasma lasts long enough for all those teething problems to be resolved and for 3D to come back :-)
Eddie E likes this.
artur9 is offline  
post #9915 of 9917 Old 06-30-2017, 11:32 AM
Member
 
doe_eyed_gazelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddie E View Post
I purchased the Panasonic TC-P60GT50 new, back in December 2012 and I never upgraded the firmware. To be honest I didn't know the firmware was upgradable.
yeah, if you check out the support page model it shows you how. http://av.jpn.support.panasonic.com/.../down_na5.html
I spoke to Customer Service, they said it was not able to be downgraded. I'm going to leave it at that. I found out how to get rid of the ad banner at least. I detest all the ads. By the looks of it the 2013+ model had it worse.

I am going to be extra careful to make sure I get something that the manufacturer can't reach down into my TV and make such intrusive changes, bug fixes excluded. After investing a huge amount of time and money to purchase exactly what I want for a manufacturer to reach down into my TV several years later and force this update in not on. It is as annoying as services like Youtube to be discontinued after a while. I wish I could reach down into their bank account and adjust the money for what I paid accordingly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by artur9 View Post
I agree. In the forums I follow about TVs and such, right now I see tons of problems with interoperability between UHD/HDR TVs and source devices and AVRs. Not that many people are appearing happy with the latest and greatest.

I am hoping my Plasma lasts long enough for all those teething problems to be resolved and for 3D to come back :-)
Yes, I am very happy with the plasma for now. I was wanting to upsize to a 75". I agree wholeheartedly as I never want to see an edge lit TV ever again. Thankfully I don't have to deal with the AVR on top of that. I think I will probably wait it out until the 4k-hdr/10-DV has settled and becomes the standard across the board like. Viva la VHS vs Beta!!!

I have not investigated the OLEDS too much as they are prohibitively expensive for me right now. I am sure they have their own issues. Perhaps mine will last me another couple of years as I put little mileage on it and I will wait and jump technologies the same way I went from my sony walkman straight to mp3 player and bypassed CD's altogether.
Eddie E likes this.

Last edited by doe_eyed_gazelle; 06-30-2017 at 07:14 PM.
doe_eyed_gazelle is offline  
post #9916 of 9917 Old 07-04-2017, 04:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
artur9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: near philly
Posts: 1,840
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 664 Post(s)
Liked: 236
Any way to turn off the auto-shutoff on this TV?

I can't use ARC/CEC (which would handle it) because then random devices grab the TV when one least expects it.
artur9 is offline  
post #9917 of 9917 Old 07-05-2017, 08:26 AM
Member
 
Eddie E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South Jersey Shore
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by doe_eyed_gazelle View Post
yeah, if you check out the support page model it shows you how. http://av.jpn.support.panasonic.com/.../down_na5.html
Thanks for that link. My memory is not what it use to be. Apparently I already have the latest firmware 1210, dated June, 2014. So I must have updated 3 years ago.
Eddie E is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P65gt50 Plasma Tv , Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P55gt50 55 Inch Plasma Tv , Panasonic Viera Tc P50gt50 Plasma Tv , Panasonic Viera Tc P60gt50 60 Inch Plasma Tv

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off