Official Panasonic GT50 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk] - Page 5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 9755 Old 04-08-2012, 09:20 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,700
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 444
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craigslue View Post

These plasmas seem to be about the same thickness of the LED's anymore. That picture makes the 50GT50 look thicker than the 55ST50 I seen at BB. Probably just the picture angle etc... I know when I was checking the LED TV's that they may be slightly thinner but at the bottom were the speakers are at they are actually thicker than these plasmas! Pretty impressed with the thinness of these plasmas these days!

Based on the description at Amazon the 55ST50 is 1.8" deep. The 55GT50 is 1.7". The Panasonic data seems to include the stand, so they need to correct their specs table for these models.
htwaits is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 9755 Old 04-08-2012, 09:52 PM
Member
 
curiousdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rikemomo View Post

Hi-
That's hilarious! I keep looking for new stands, but this one works for me and matches the speakers pretty nicely! I have the 50" version of the set--55" just would be too big for my room, I am sad to say.

Here are a few more pics with better light, including closeups of the cabling situation in the back, a better shot of the base, a pic showing how thin it is, etc.

Hope these are useful!

Base:



Cable management (or lack thereof):



GT50 profile (easier to see how the base is colored):



Links to larger images showing actual screenshots (basic image settings done, not professionally calibrated):

AppleTV (1080p) screensaver detail.

AppleTV screensaver - pulled back

Screensaver pulled back showing whole setup. Notice the glasses--you apparently have to charge them using the TV's USB ports and they only charge when the TV is on!



In reply to the other questions:

1 - The subwoofer is a 10" SVS Sub and it's glorious. I wish I could go bigger, but you can see, I don't have a lot of room.


2 - I have no problems with the center speaker being that close to the ground; I use the Audyssey setup and make manual adjustments to the crossover to take full advantage of the sub and have never been distracted by the center channel's position. My seating position is about 10-11' away so it works out.

Looking forward to seeing your pics!

mike

wow pics look amazing. is this out of the box or did you calibrate it?
curiousdude is offline  
post #123 of 9755 Old 04-08-2012, 11:03 PM
Member
 
rikemomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by curiousdude View Post

wow pics look amazing. is this out of the box or did you calibrate it?

All I did was turn down the contrast to 88/100 and brightness 50/100 and turn the screen brightness to low. I didn't touch the color controls, gamma, white balance, or anything like that. (Well, I turned off motion smoothing and noise reduction and that kind of thing as well, of course.) I wanted to do more, but, honestly--a lot of the more "Pro" calibration features are just kind of over my head at this point!

As you can see, basically "out of the box" this TV performs really well...
rikemomo is offline  
post #124 of 9755 Old 04-08-2012, 11:29 PM
Member
 
TomGTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rikemomo View Post

All I did was turn down the contrast to 88/100 and brightness 50/100 and turn the screen brightness to low. I didn't touch the color controls, gamma, white balance, or anything like that. (Well, I turned off motion smoothing and noise reduction and that kind of thing as well, of course.) I wanted to do more, but, honestly--a lot of the more "Pro" calibration features are just kind of over my head at this point!

As you can see, basically "out of the box" this TV performs really well...


The motion smoothing and noise reduction on my tv were off by default when I got it. For some reason I can't even select those options on the menu, they seem to be permanently set.
TomGTR is offline  
post #125 of 9755 Old 04-08-2012, 11:32 PM
Member
 
rikemomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I had the same experience-try switching your picture mode to "custom" and see if the options appear. I think in the default settings those items are locked down. I know they are unlocked in THX modes, too.

I wish the menus were a little better designed; it is easy to forget where options live...
rikemomo is offline  
post #126 of 9755 Old 04-09-2012, 12:33 AM
 
goneten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: South Africa
Posts: 3,681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
So is this set supposed to be the "Pioneer Kuru" equivalent of today? I've read excellent reviews on this set.

I know this comparison is flawed, but has anyone compared the Samsung 51 D550 Plasma to this model?
goneten is offline  
post #127 of 9755 Old 04-09-2012, 02:00 AM
Member
 
markiedee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Thanks rikemomo i really like your tv and can't wait for mine to come. You have a really nice install if you don't mind me saying, the tv looks huge!!!! thats why i had to ask what size it was lol...

i love the clean lines of the new gt50 i hope you continue to get alot of enjoyment from it thanks again.
markiedee is offline  
post #128 of 9755 Old 04-09-2012, 10:24 AM
Member
 
rikemomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by markiedee View Post

Thanks rikemomo i really like your tv and can't wait for mine to come. You have a really nice install if you don't mind me saying, the tv looks huge!!!! thats why i had to ask what size it was lol.

Thanks so much! It has taken a long, long time to get here, but I am very pleased with how it looks, and, more importantly, how it performs.

Post some pics when you get your GT50 in!

see ya, thanks again,
mike
rikemomo is offline  
post #129 of 9755 Old 04-09-2012, 10:54 AM
Member
 
DrRx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Burlington, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Just read the GT50 review on the AVForum. The review indicates that the UK GT50 model they reviewed has ISFccc Calibration Mode/Advanced Calibration. Yet, when I look at the apparent model differences for the NA models, it seems only the VT50 series has such calibration controls. Can anyone confirm if the NA GT50 models indeed do NOT have the ISFccc Calibration option? If so, this may push me to the VT50 to enable full professional calibration. Hopefully I am wrong!
DrRx is offline  
post #130 of 9755 Old 04-09-2012, 11:37 AM
Member
 
emporio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Golden State
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrRx View Post

Just read the GT50 review on the AVForum. The review indicates that the UK GT50 model they reviewed has ISFccc Calibration Mode/Advanced Calibration. Yet, when I look at the apparent model differences for the NA models, it seems only the VT50 series has such calibration controls. Can anyone confirm if the NA GT50 models indeed do NOT have the ISFccc Calibration option? If so, this may push me to the VT50 to enable full professional calibration. Hopefully I am wrong!

It seems also the uk model will have VT 50" version and the lowest Vt size for US will be 55''. or i got it wrong

Dude seriously!
emporio is offline  
post #131 of 9755 Old 04-09-2012, 11:46 AM
Member
 
rikemomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by emporio View Post

It seems also the uk model will have VT 50" version and the lowest Vt size for US will be 55''. or i got it wrong

GT sizes for US are here:
65" Class Plasma HDTV (64.7 inches Measured Diagonally)
60" Class Plasma HDTV (60.1 inches Measured Diagonally)
55" Class Plasma HDTV (55.1 inches Measured Diagonally)
50" Class Plasma HDTV (49.9 inches Measured Diagonally)


VT sizes for US are here:

65" Class Plasma HDTV (64.7 inches Measured Diagonally)
55" Class Plasma HDTV (55.1 inches Measured Diagonally)

So the only overlaps are the 55" and 65" between the VT and GT models. There are far more sizes for the GT available in the US than the UK, it would seem.
rikemomo is offline  
post #132 of 9755 Old 04-09-2012, 02:42 PM
Member
 
markiedee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by rikemomo View Post

Thanks so much! It has taken a long, long time to get here, but I am very pleased with how it looks, and, more importantly, how it performs.

Post some pics when you get your GT50 in!

see ya, thanks again,
mike

I definately will post pics when i receive mine, oh one more question how heavy did you find it? was it an easy one man job lifting it or did you have help.
markiedee is offline  
post #133 of 9755 Old 04-09-2012, 03:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
kevin_mahaney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
In case anyone is interested, the 65" GT50s and VT50s now have a "May-June" ship date on Panasonic US's website (rather than "After Release").

All persons, living and dead, are purely coincidental. - Kurt Vonnegut Jr.

kevin_mahaney is offline  
post #134 of 9755 Old 04-09-2012, 05:33 PM
Member
 
rikemomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by markiedee View Post


I definately will post pics when i receive mine, oh one more question how heavy did you find it? was it an easy one man job lifting it or did you have help.

I was able to lift it easily onto my sofa to put the stand on, and then, after I put the stand on, just lifted it and placed it on the stand by myself. My last plasma was about 80 lbs, so this was waaaaaay easier!
rikemomo is offline  
post #135 of 9755 Old 04-09-2012, 06:18 PM
Member
 
markiedee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Rikemomo you have proved to be very helpful and i really appreciate it i'm just wishing my life away till i get mine, hopefully mine will be problem free with no issues.
markiedee is offline  
post #136 of 9755 Old 04-09-2012, 06:27 PM
Member
 
rikemomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by markiedee View Post

Rikemomo you have proved to be very helpful and i really appreciate it i'm just wishing my life away till i get mine, hopefully mine will be problem free with no issues.

Glad to help! Yours is gonna be fine, just hold on tight!!
rikemomo is offline  
post #137 of 9755 Old 04-09-2012, 08:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
Craigslue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Kansas
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like my 50GT50 is in and now I just need to find the time to go the 25 miles to get it. Hopefully I can get away from work early tomorrow and get it.
Craigslue is offline  
post #138 of 9755 Old 04-09-2012, 09:12 PM
Member
 
MrBeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Canada (Edmonton)
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
deon444 deon444 is offline
Member
Join Date: Dec 2007

bought gt50 April 2012

green tinge showing on white backgrounds and grey slides
Quote
Old Yesterday, 10:50 PM #97
lvg lvg is offline
New Member
Join Date: Apr 2009

P55ST50

Green blobs on white/grey text. Looks like a it's scattered around the screen like a snake

http://www.avforums.com/forums/plasm...ffected-4.html

it seems we might have this again in 2012
MrBeer is offline  
post #139 of 9755 Old 04-09-2012, 09:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
maygit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 619
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBeer View Post

deon444 deon444 is offline
Member
Join Date: Dec 2007

bought gt50 April 2012

green tinge showing on white backgrounds and grey slides
Quote
Old Yesterday, 10:50 PM #97
lvg lvg is offline
New Member
Join Date: Apr 2009

P55ST50

Green blobs on white/grey text. Looks like a it's scattered around the screen like a snake

http://www.avforums.com/forums/plasm...ffected-4.html

it seems we might have this again in 2012

Wow, that seems excessively bad. Like almost as bad as my sxrd when the optical block was failing/defective. Id too call that defective.

Was it ever determined what causes this issue? I know some 2011 models were fixed with a board swap, but still a few remained. Does the filter also have something to do w/ it?

maygit is offline  
post #140 of 9755 Old 04-09-2012, 09:49 PM
Member
 
MrBeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Canada (Edmonton)
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
trying to buy a tv this is getting hard i have a 60ps60 a low end 47 and a lcd 36 never had any problem all lg wanted to go with panosonic last year waited this year and now this.
MrBeer is offline  
post #141 of 9755 Old 04-09-2012, 10:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sheshechic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 2,849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Where are these panels assembled?

It looks like it has something to do with what the way the glass is attached to the panel. Like when you glue boards together.

sheshechic is offline  
post #142 of 9755 Old 04-09-2012, 10:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 11,774
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 419
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #143 of 9755 Old 04-09-2012, 10:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sheshechic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 2,849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Even the UK sets?

sheshechic is offline  
post #144 of 9755 Old 04-09-2012, 11:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fatuglyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mars
Posts: 1,324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 86
I really liked the design of the ST50 until I saw our GT50. THX Bright Room is a godsend and looks greats on a showroom floor; I'm glad Panasonic included it. Can't wait for the VT...

ht Panasonic TC-P60ZT60, Monitor Audio: Silver RX6, RX Centre, Radius 90HD; Martinlogan Dynamo 700, Marantz SR5006, PS3, Oppo BDP-103D
2ch Marantz PM8004, Sony BDP-S1000ES, JVC T-X3 tuner, Monitor Audio Silver RX1, REL T3, Apple TV, Peachtree Audio DAC•iT
lr Panasonic 50ST60, Sony BDP-S5100
fatuglyguy is offline  
post #145 of 9755 Old 04-10-2012, 04:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whipit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SGF
Posts: 1,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrRx View Post

Just read the GT50 review on the AVForum. The review indicates that the UK GT50 model they reviewed has ISFccc Calibration Mode/Advanced Calibration. Yet, when I look at the apparent model differences for the NA models, it seems only the VT50 series has such calibration controls. Can anyone confirm if the NA GT50 models indeed do NOT have the ISFccc Calibration option? If so, this may push me to the VT50 to enable full professional calibration. Hopefully I am wrong!

The VT and WT(lcd)in NA are the only tv's to get ISF controls.
whipit is online now  
post #146 of 9755 Old 04-10-2012, 06:11 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 11,774
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 419
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #147 of 9755 Old 04-10-2012, 08:02 AM
Member
 
evgeshais300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Brooklyn NY
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by rikemomo View Post


Cable management (or lack thereof):




Maybe try this:



You can snap two of these Monoprice #3850 right-angle HDMI Adapters together to redirect the cables 180 degrees so they lay up against the backside of the TV.

found it here:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...42&postcount=2


Also have you tried Media player on GT50, it has a long supported file list, and looks like it might replace my WDTV live which i use with 64gb usb stick full of kids cartoons and movies. Just wanted to hear first hand experience if you had any..
Thank you
Eugene
vivatech likes this.
evgeshais300 is offline  
post #148 of 9755 Old 04-10-2012, 08:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
realzven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 84
review of the UK 50VT50 by david mackenzie from HDTVtest
http://www.hdtvtest.co.uk/news/panas...1204101757.htm
realzven is offline  
post #149 of 9755 Old 04-10-2012, 10:57 AM
Member
 
rikemomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by evgeshais300 View Post

...

You can snap two of these Monoprice #3850 right-angle HDMI Adapters together to redirect the cables 180 degrees so they lay up against the backside of the TV.

found it here:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...42&postcount=2


Also have you tried Media player on GT50, it has a long supported file list, and looks like it might replace my WDTV live which i use with 64gb usb stick full of kids cartoons and movies. Just wanted to hear first hand experience if you had any..
Thank you
Eugene

Thanks for the tip--I saw that connector post and may go for it--certainly seems like a better solution.

I haven't done the other formats yet; I usually play them through my Oppo but I will load some different files and see how they look. Any particular file formats you are interested in?
rikemomo is offline  
post #150 of 9755 Old 04-10-2012, 11:25 AM
Member
 
evgeshais300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Brooklyn NY
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thank you very much.
Just the usual suspects: mp4, avi, mkv
and if you can comment on the UI experience with media player.(good,bad,ugly)

My 4 year old has no problem navigating iPod touch but WDTV, plasma, audio system etc. with harmony one is i bit out of his league...

I want to see if having only TV to control will work for him. This way i don't have to get up at 6:30am to turn everything on for him..
evgeshais300 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P65gt50 Plasma Tv , Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P55gt50 55 Inch Plasma Tv , Panasonic Viera Tc P50gt50 Plasma Tv , Panasonic Viera Tc P60gt50 60 Inch Plasma Tv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off