Official Panasonic UT50 Series Discussion Thread - Page 86 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2551 of 2599 Old 08-05-2013, 07:08 AM
Newbie
 
rafanake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Im trying to connect the HTPC on my UT50, but when i do through the VGA port, the max resolution achieved is 1366x768 and the 3D Function doesnt work, and when i use the HDMI i can set to 1080p, but the image cant cover the whole screen, theres black border in top and sides. i tryied to disable overscan, setting the aspect ratio to just but none of this worked

Another problem is that when i play a 3d video SBS from HTPC the 3d Function doesnt work as expected! it does not align the images right, causing a very strange feeling when using the glasses

Theres a way to use a HTPC on this TV?
rafanake is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2552 of 2599 Old 08-16-2013, 06:33 AM
Member
 
zzricezz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone able to get 5.1 audio from Netflix? Yesterday I tried to stream some HD content and 5.1 is available but the audio coming out of my receiver is only Stereo. When I press the info button on the remove, I see some number with ###SD. does that mean anything?
zzricezz is offline  
post #2553 of 2599 Old 08-16-2013, 06:54 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,191
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 851
Quote:
Originally Posted by zzricezz View Post

Anyone able to get 5.1 audio from Netflix? Yesterday I tried to stream some HD content and 5.1 is available but the audio coming out of my receiver is only Stereo. When I press the info button on the remove, I see some number with ###SD. does that mean anything?
The ###SD means you are getting a standard definition picture.
Use an optical (toslink) cable from the tv to AVR and you will get 5.1.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
post #2554 of 2599 Old 08-16-2013, 07:23 AM
Member
 
zzricezz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post

The ###SD means you are getting a standard definition picture.
Use an optical (toslink) cable from the tv to AVR and you will get 5.1.

Ok gotta try that. thanks.
zzricezz is offline  
post #2555 of 2599 Old 09-02-2013, 08:29 AM
Newbie
 
kasheyev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: wNY
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had a lot of issues with vertical banding on my 9 month old set. Football and baseball games have bad vertical lines of discoloration in the green fields. Complex pictures are not much of a problem, but with any uniform colors, the set struggles. It's enough of an issue that I would have looked elsewhere if I had known I'd have this problem. Are there settings that would decrease this effect? Is this just an issue with the UT model line? Do I have a bad set?
kasheyev is offline  
post #2556 of 2599 Old 09-16-2013, 03:17 PM
Newbie
 
Ayrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, I was wondering if someone can help me out with Game Mode Calibration settings? I've noticed a lot of Custom Calibration settings posted but not so much for Gaming. I've set my Custom Mode Calibration settings and I'm really loving the TV so far. Thanks for all the useful posts on here. I'm just not sure what to do with my PS3 in Game Mode. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Ayrik is offline  
post #2557 of 2599 Old 09-16-2013, 03:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
anikun07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Northwest Illinois USA
Posts: 1,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 44
I think many people have posted that Game Mode is just like Custom except for the better lag time. I would use what people have recommended for Custom Mode and see if you like it.
anikun07 is offline  
post #2558 of 2599 Old 09-17-2013, 03:57 AM
Newbie
 
Ayrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by anikun07 View Post

I think many people have posted that Game Mode is just like Custom except for the better lag time. I would use what people have recommended for Custom Mode and see if you like it.

Thank you very much for the quick response. I will try that!
Ayrik is offline  
post #2559 of 2599 Old 10-18-2013, 07:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
proufo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Bogotá, Colombia
Posts: 718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all.

I'm having an issue with my UT50 50": when I watch 4:3 DVDs I get black bars at the sides, as expected. I want to use the 4:3 setting in the TV to cover the side black bars with grey bars (IR prevention), but what I get is the grey bars then the black bars and finally the horizontally-squashed image.

DVD/BD player is a Panasonic 500.

Thanks in advance.

Pablo Roufogalis L.

proufo is offline  
post #2560 of 2599 Old 10-18-2013, 09:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
anikun07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Northwest Illinois USA
Posts: 1,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Check to make sure the BDP is set to its non-altering setting. Then set the UT50 to "Just" and you should only get the side bars in the shade you specified in the system settings.

Edit: "Full" is the setting you want.
anikun07 is offline  
post #2561 of 2599 Old 10-19-2013, 12:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
proufo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Bogotá, Colombia
Posts: 718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by anikun07 View Post

Check to make sure the BDP is set to its non-altering setting. Then set the UT50 to "Just" and you should only get the side bars in the shade you specified in the system settings.

Edit: "Full" is the setting you want.
Thanks anikun07.

No luck doing that. Funny thing is that both settings for 16:9 TVs at the player provide the same behaviour.

Pablo Roufogalis L.

proufo is offline  
post #2562 of 2599 Old 10-23-2013, 02:52 PM
Newbie
 
HixVAC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Anyone notice that when entering the menu, when the menu takes up over half the screen that the brightness/contrast is higher???

Anyone figure out a way to make the TV that brightness/contrast when out of the menu?  I'd assume it'd be done through the service menu.  It's driving me absolutely nuts.

 

Btw I have a TC-P55UT50.  Thanks!!!

HixVAC is offline  
post #2563 of 2599 Old 10-28-2013, 01:12 AM
Member
 
dioxholster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
how do you guys clean the stand, dust sticks to it like magnet.
dioxholster is offline  
post #2564 of 2599 Old 10-28-2013, 01:44 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,191
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 851
Quote:
Originally Posted by dioxholster View Post

how do you guys clean the stand, dust sticks to it like magnet.
Swiffer. Or you can use a damp sponge with water and a microfiber cloth to dry with.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
post #2565 of 2599 Old 10-31-2013, 03:22 PM
Member
 
dioxholster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post

Swiffer. Or you can use a damp sponge with water and a microfiber cloth to dry with.

I will try that, but i was hoping a dry microfiber cloth is all that is needed, they should make those things like stainless steal next time. some material thats not sticky.

I got an unrelated question, do people use Overscan in settings? the broadcast channels have black border on their sides, i dont mind them from a visual perspective but do they harm the plasma due to image retention/burn-in? I also noticied sometyhing, that changing this setting for SD channels does not apply to 1080p channels and vice versa. And for blu-ray you would think the hdmi2 channel settings would be exactly same as when the dvd starts, but in fact the dvd movie has a different setting that needs to be adjusted on its own specifically the 24p smoothness which only shows up when the movie starts playing.
dioxholster is offline  
post #2566 of 2599 Old 10-31-2013, 03:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
anikun07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Northwest Illinois USA
Posts: 1,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 44
The black border isn't the projection on an image to the pixels are off. Sometimes there may be a pin stripe line along the edge of the back bar and the content and that could cause some IR, but I've never had issues. I watch a good amount of mixed content. I'd be more concerned about TV channel watermarks.
anikun07 is offline  
post #2567 of 2599 Old 10-31-2013, 08:30 PM
Member
 
dioxholster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by anikun07 View Post

The black border isn't the projection on an image to the pixels are off. Sometimes there may be a pin stripe line along the edge of the back bar and the content and that could cause some IR, but I've never had issues. I watch a good amount of mixed content. I'd be more concerned about TV channel watermarks.

ive checked closely ive not found IR near there, but maybe in the center there is a vertical streak or a faint gap near the bottom thats lighter color than its surrounding, not sure where would that could come from. its hard to see, but could be IR. Its similar to 4:3 type image burn but it doesnt divide the whole screen, its just an inch or two of a straight faint line at the center or center right, with another one opposite it but even more faint and can hardly see. obviously seems like some graphic occupied that area but i cant think of anything since its at the bottom, maybe one of those news channels during some election who knows.

edit: would leaving it on playing movies on high contrast help?
dioxholster is offline  
post #2568 of 2599 Old 11-01-2013, 05:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
anikun07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Northwest Illinois USA
Posts: 1,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 44
It probably wouldn't hurt, but it should go away on its own over time.
anikun07 is offline  
post #2569 of 2599 Old 11-01-2013, 07:47 PM
Member
 
dioxholster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by anikun07 View Post

It probably wouldn't hurt, but it should go away on its own over time.

does image retention stay even when TV is turned off? Because the "lighter" area is there when its turned off which leads me to think its a physical deformity of the panel not pixels being stubborn.
dioxholster is offline  
post #2570 of 2599 Old 11-04-2013, 08:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
anikun07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Northwest Illinois USA
Posts: 1,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 44
You can see IR for a little when the TV gets turned off, it's just the pixels cooling. CRTs used to do it, too. I can't remember if LCDs do it, but I don't think so. I've really only noticed this in the dark when all the lights are off.
anikun07 is offline  
post #2571 of 2599 Old 11-13-2013, 10:52 AM
Newbie
 
Steven24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I have a Panasonic P50UT50 that recently had some work done under warranty to fix a problem with the screen flashing snow/static and then losing the picture. It was fixed (kind of) but now it has a new problem of showing flickering white and black lines that run from a certain pixel to the right edge of the screen. It seems like it happens much more on bright colors like yellows, blues. I haven't seen any other issues like this on here and the TV guy I spoke with didn't know. I posted a video of it (sorry for the orientation), you only see white here but the black comes in eventually and has the same behavior. Also, the issue goes away when the screen dims for inactivity. Does this look like just a component connection problem, a ground issue or actual hardware failure? Based on the fact that it goes away upon dimming, I'm assuming hardware. Thanks for the help!

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rjoJ2gqiFwg

Steven24 is offline  
post #2572 of 2599 Old 11-17-2013, 04:50 AM
Newbie
 
Caughill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

The SS board on my Panasonic died a couple of weeks ago (five months out of warranty). After I had it replaced, a weird "flash" of light started occurring during start-up. It happens right after the Viera logo appears. Sometimes the logo is still up after the flash washes out the screen. 

 

I uploaded a quick video here: http://youtu.be/_dqZabNOFT8

 

Does anyone have any idea what could be causing this?

 

Thanks.

Caughill is offline  
post #2573 of 2599 Old 11-18-2013, 05:23 PM
Member
 
victor tubeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For those with the new Sony Mastered in 4k bluray,s.

The improvements with these disc,s is the higher bit rate and the first use of xvYcc ,extended - gamut colour space .(x.v.Color . Sony designation )
http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/technol.../xvycc_01.html

With the use of xvYcc mastering and playback ,even products that support xvYcc may not work and some bluray players do not support it.Oppo 103/105 do not.
I have 2HT systems with 3 different bluray players.
The good news,Toshiba bdx3200ky enable HDMI deep colour 30bit,36bit , with Panasonic TH-P60UT50 plasma auto detects x.v colour.
Not so good,my panasonic Dmp-bd85 officially supports x.v colour.My samsung plasma series 5 2010 model according to samsung all tv,s after 2007 support x.v colour.With Samsung tv ,auto for colour x.v decoding will not work ,it must be manually selected.
It seems my model does not support x.v colour as the option should appear in menu when receiving x.v colour ,it isn't grayed out it doesn,t appear at all.

Systems

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
victor tubeman is offline  
post #2574 of 2599 Old 11-19-2013, 02:27 AM
Newbie
 
Axeslinger0u812's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just picked up the 55ut50 to replace a 50ut50 that they offered a refund on after the 8 blinks of death. Got it from costco for $599. Pretty screaming deal. It's also plugged into the surge protector, as opposed to the wall this time. Lol. Anyway, ice noticed that this new screen seems to be much better in its out of the box gamma calibration. The last one was a walmart, online purchase, and it looked great, but this one really seems to look noticeably better. Starting to wonder if it's just me,...Anyway, glad to be back with the Panasonic plasma, and here's hoping there's no more blinking.
Axeslinger0u812 is offline  
post #2575 of 2599 Old 11-19-2013, 06:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SanchoPanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beauvoir, Mississippi
Posts: 3,001
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 471
Don't know if this has been posted but I found a New FIRMWARE yesterday.

just 1 more pair of KLIPSCH Classic speakers...
RED AND BLUE=MAROON!

PANASONIC 60" PLASMA 3D, DENON AVR-3312CI, LG BD670 3D NETWORK BRD (iPhone APPs), TOSHIBA HD-XA2 HD DVD, SAMSUNG BD-UP5000 HD DVD/BRD, iPod 8 GB, 13.2: KLIPSCH La Scala 1980 (Crites Rebuilt Type AA Crossovers Sonicaps) FRONT, HERESY II "SIGNATURE EDITION" WIDE, HERESY II CENTER/SURROUND, kg2 SB, kg3/kg1 Front/Rear HEIGHT, RW-12d SW, km-rsw
SanchoPanza is online now  
post #2576 of 2599 Old 11-19-2013, 02:34 PM
Member
 
mldardy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by victor tubeman View Post

For those with the new Sony Mastered in 4k bluray,s.

The improvements with these disc,s is the higher bit rate and the first use of xvYcc ,extended - gamut colour space .(x.v.Color . Sony designation )
http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/technol.../xvycc_01.html

With the use of xvYcc mastering and playback ,even products that support xvYcc may not work and some bluray players do not support it.Oppo 103/105 do not.
I have 2HT systems with 3 different bluray players.
The good news,Toshiba bdx3200ky enable HDMI deep colour 30bit,36bit , with Panasonic TH-P60UT50 plasma auto detects x.v colour.
Not so good,my panasonic Dmp-bd85 officially supports x.v colour.My samsung plasma series 5 2010 model according to samsung all tv,s after 2007 support x.v colour.With Samsung tv ,auto for colour x.v decoding will not work ,it must be manually selected.
It seems my model does not support x.v colour as the option should appear in menu when receiving x.v colour ,it isn't grayed out it doesn,t appear at all.

Your link doesn't work.
mldardy is offline  
post #2577 of 2599 Old 11-22-2013, 02:22 PM
Member
 
rodge827's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: South Jersey GSP Exit 58
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Gents,

I have had my 55UT50 since 2/13 when I bought it at Costco.
I have done some of the recommended calibrations and really like the picture quality.
Also had the hum issue fixed with the proper screws installed, and run my HT system with a very good Ultra Isolation Transformer.
Today I moved my modem and router closer to the set (since I'm waaaay to cheap to buy the dongle) and connected an Ethernet cable.

Has anyone done the firmware updates? Worth doing? Any issues with the updates?

Best,

Chris
rodge827 is offline  
post #2578 of 2599 Old 11-22-2013, 04:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SanchoPanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beauvoir, Mississippi
Posts: 3,001
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 471
Have done all the Updates without issue.

just 1 more pair of KLIPSCH Classic speakers...
RED AND BLUE=MAROON!

PANASONIC 60" PLASMA 3D, DENON AVR-3312CI, LG BD670 3D NETWORK BRD (iPhone APPs), TOSHIBA HD-XA2 HD DVD, SAMSUNG BD-UP5000 HD DVD/BRD, iPod 8 GB, 13.2: KLIPSCH La Scala 1980 (Crites Rebuilt Type AA Crossovers Sonicaps) FRONT, HERESY II "SIGNATURE EDITION" WIDE, HERESY II CENTER/SURROUND, kg2 SB, kg3/kg1 Front/Rear HEIGHT, RW-12d SW, km-rsw
SanchoPanza is online now  
post #2579 of 2599 Old 12-29-2013, 12:27 PM
Member
 
Baron Blood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Last night I watched the original HOUSE OF WAX in 3D and was quite disappointed in all the ghosting on screen.

Does anyone know if anything can be done to improve the ghosting?

I'm wondering if different glasses could reduce the problem.

I haven't done any updating.
Baron Blood is offline  
post #2580 of 2599 Old 12-29-2013, 07:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
morphinapg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baron Blood View Post

Last night I watched the original HOUSE OF WAX in 3D and was quite disappointed in all the ghosting on screen.

Does anyone know if anything can be done to improve the ghosting?

I'm wondering if different glasses could reduce the problem.

I haven't done any updating.

Watching in 48Hz mode can reduce ghosting, but for most people the flicker is horrible. Though if you shut off all light sources in your room, it reduces the effects slightly.
morphinapg is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic , Plasma Hdtv , Displays , Panasonic Viera Tc P60ut50 Plasma Tv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off