Is buying a HDTV a minefield these days? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 39 Old 04-21-2012, 08:15 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 43
I am following a few threads as I hunt for a new 65/64" plasma TV.

Looking at the Samsung or Panasonic threads, hmm... is it just a small handful of user with issues that are vocal or it is a plasma TV with many unresolved issues?

When you look at the things highlight here, or even in the GT50 thread, each TV seems filled with issues?

I don't know... I bought my Kuro KRP 500A without looking too hard at the threads... and I am very happy with it.

Likewise when I bought a LG PQ10 42" plasma TV, it was also trouble-free.

Until I bought my Oppo BR player, I have not done any firmware updates on Anything I own.

Can I expect that my new TV will also be trouble free or should I expect a boatload of firmware updates, QC issues, and other problems?

I do statistics for a living, and I know each brand can have lemons, but after reading about:
Buzz, Peel, FBr, Blobs, Black levels, etc etc

It seems every TV has so many issues????

Can I walk into a store and score a TV and have more than 95% confidence that it will work?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 39 Old 04-21-2012, 09:28 AM
Advanced Member

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Buzz - Plasmas buzz, even i'm sure your kuro does. 99% of the time this buzzing is not noticeable outside 1ft from the screen and is also dependent upon your own hearing capabilities and room set up. Some users claim to hear it from normal distances, but it's a very small minority. If you notice buzzing from normal distances w/ normal content playing (not silent test patterns) it'l be there from day 1 so you can always return it.

Peel - if you're referring to samsungs filter peeling off the screen this was resolved.