Official Panasonic VT50 owners thread - Page 262 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7831 of 13757 Old 11-28-2012, 02:15 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Stop making curved screens
Posts: 30,335
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 591
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoNeedF0RaName View Post

I am thinking about buying this TV after reading lots of positive reviews. I honestly dont care about 3D at all and will be buying it only for its 2D capabilities. However, I have been using my PS3 for my bluray player since I bought it at launch. My question is does it make sense to keep the PS3 as my bluray player or should I purchase a dedicated Bluray player for better picture quality and features. if I should upgrade, can you recommend a good one for around $200?

The PS3 is a great BluRay player. It's not the fastest at loading, but in terms of support for everything and quality, it's pretty terrific.

There is no difference in HDMI cables. If you can see the picture without visible dropouts or sparklies, the cable is working at 100%. No other cable will display a better version of that picture. You're simply wrong if you think there is a better digital cable than one that is already working. (Oh, and plasma didn't die because of logistics problems, nor does OLED ship in big boxes because it comes from Korea.)
rogo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7832 of 13757 Old 11-28-2012, 02:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
Iron Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 358
Here's my experience with this set regarding IR - potential new buyers read this and BE ENCOURAGED.

Unfortunately my set had to go through the worst case scenario and still no problem...

Got the set last Sunday, had it on for 3 hours (so the set had THREE hours on it) and then we left. I wanted to leave the TV on playing HD content so that I get over the 200 hours break in time ASAP so I can calibrate this puppy.

we left in a rush and a little accident happened and we had a static message on the screen for roughly 7.5 hours (!) until we returned - no screen saver, no screen dimming...

yes, there was some nice IR (the letters were so clear, I could read the message) - obviously in the very early stage of the break-in period this is not recommended... cool.gif

well, 36 hours later, continuously playing HD content, the IR is 99% gone... I have to put in D-Nice's slides and on one of the darker greys, I can somehow still see something 2 inches away from the screen...

it'll be gone tomorrow... NO BURN IN and this would have been a perfect case for a burn in to happen...

Great set.

calibration & profiling solutions: Lightspace, Spaceman, Calman, Argyll, ColorNavigator, basICColor
profiling & calibration workflow tools: Display Calibration Tools
meter: Klein K-10 A, i1Pro, i1D3
AVS thread: Lightspace & Custom Color Patch Set & Gamma Calibration on Panasonic 65VT60
Iron Mike is offline  
post #7833 of 13757 Old 11-28-2012, 04:15 AM
Senior Member
 
BDestroyer8418's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lentiman View Post

Purchased my 65VT50 tonight and will pick it up tomorrow. Does anyone have a link to D-Nice's break-in slides? I looked at the beginning of the thread and did a search and couldn't find them. Thanks. I'll post pics when it's set up.

I'm using the same ones I used for my Kuro http://www.avsforum.com/t/1053444/the-official-pioneer-9g-kuro-settings-issues-thread ThumbDrive Files

Make sure you got a Cargo Van or a Pickup Truck that box is alot bigger than I thought it was going to be. Wouldn't be a bad Idea to have some rope or string and maybe a 2nd person to tie it down since it does want to tip over on the drive home. I was able to put it between driver/passenger seat of a cargo van and it didn't move at all. I don't think Best Buy warehouse will let you take delivery on the set unless it's in the box since it voids warranty.


Also what is everyone cleaning the screen with. I got a few fingerprints on the bottom when mounted it on the stand.
BDestroyer8418 is offline  
post #7834 of 13757 Old 11-28-2012, 06:01 AM
Senior Member
 
Bolt989's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: North Pole
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by sillysally View Post

Don't worry about it, you are fine. Just give your VT50 a rest now and start to enjoy some Blu Ray full screen movies.
I don't really think the orbiter is of much help if any, I don't use it. Just below the orbiter there is the sweep option and that I would advise to use regularly.
ss

From the research I have done, people seem to think to ONLY use the swipe function if you notice bad IR sticking as it can lessen the life of the panel. I also heard people running it once after every gaming session that goes for more than 2 hours or so. I am not so sure that there is any truth behind the sweep function lessening the panels life or not. I would tend to use it though if I did see some image sticking on regular content, but not if I could only see it running slides.

with that said, when you say use it regularly what do you mean by regularly? once a week? after a gaming session etc?
Bolt989 is offline  
post #7835 of 13757 Old 11-28-2012, 06:05 AM
Newbie
 
ksavs1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
First time poster... read a fair amount of this thread prior to my recent VT50 purchase and will need to do a lot of review in the days ahead... thanks to all for the information and insights. I'm not a hardcore type, so please bear with me. I've paired the set with an Onkyo TX-NR818, an Oppo BDP-93 and a DirecTV HR-21, and all is going pretty well, but I have two things going on that, while not perhaps serious, are extremely annoying and which I'd love help with resolving:

-- Every time I switch inputs, the set puts up the "No signal" message for a few seconds. In the case of some Blu-ray discs I've been watching, the message will actually pop up multiple times between disc start-up and the actual appearance of menu content. It's driving me nuts and I'd love to be able to shut it off. Anyone else having a similar experience, or better yet, a solution?

-- Also having an irritating time with the internet connection. This worked perfectly during setup... and in fact I always do manage to get where I'm going without changing settings or bouncing the router or TV. But-- the TV insists on doing a connectivity test every single time. Is this normal? Also, it fails about half the time.... but if I then pull up Viera Tools again, without having successfully passed the test, I can nonetheless access apps such as YouTube and Amazon instant video without problem. It makes me crazy but I'd hate to return the set on account of it.

Any informed advice would be seriously appreciated!
ksavs1 is offline  
post #7836 of 13757 Old 11-28-2012, 06:41 AM
Member
 
Cls74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quick question. I've mentioned the problems I was having with the Darblet during 3D material using the PS3. Even after having it swapped out its still a problem and I'm probably going to sell both darblets and the HDMI switcher.

My main concern is, somehow the Darblet was able to make my tv power cycle and recently it made it power off and I had to power it back on. Do these TV's have some sort of function control through the HDMI ports? I don't know if it was doing something that could ultimately damage the set itself or if there are actually ways to control the TV via HDMI that it was somehow manipulating.

Thanks again for any insight
Cls74 is offline  
post #7837 of 13757 Old 11-28-2012, 09:22 AM
Member
 
IronManFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hey, fellow finicky videophiles> I had my VT50 ISF calibrated, and the colors look spot-on perfect, but letterbox black bars don't have that vanish-into-the-background black; they're more of a very deep charcoal. Even the THX presets look darker. This morning, at the YMCA, I checked out the black bars on the crappy Westinghouse LCD's in the weight room and they were jet black, as are the ones on the cheapo edge-lit LCD Sony in my bedroom. I'd trade accurate color for blacks, but is this normal for a calibrated plasma?
IronManFan is offline  
post #7838 of 13757 Old 11-28-2012, 09:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 509
Quote:
Originally Posted by IronManFan View Post

Hey, fellow finicky videophiles> I had my VT50 ISF calibrated, and the colors look spot-on perfect, but letterbox black bars don't have that vanish-into-the-background black; they're more of a very deep charcoal. Even the THX presets look darker. This morning, at the YMCA, I checked out the black bars on the crappy Westinghouse LCD's in the weight room and they were jet black, as are the ones on the cheapo edge-lit LCD Sony in my bedroom. I'd trade accurate color for blacks, but is this normal for a calibrated plasma?

Let me guess, best buy calibration ? No that is not normal the blacks should blend in in most cases. What is the brightness setting in that mode ?

65VT60(Calibrated by Chad B)
55ST60(Calibrated by Chunon)
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #7839 of 13757 Old 11-28-2012, 10:02 AM
Member
 
bsmithoh23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
hey fellas can i use any usb webcam for the skype feature on this set cause panny told me i can only use the one thats 110$ lol and i fig that was ******** any one know bout it
bsmithoh23 is offline  
post #7840 of 13757 Old 11-28-2012, 10:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
stevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 1,869
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cls74 View Post

My main concern is, somehow the Darblet was able to make my tv power cycle and recently it made it power off and I had to power it back on. Do these TV's have some sort of function control through the HDMI ports? I don't know if it was doing something that could ultimately damage the set itself or if there are actually ways to control the TV via HDMI that it was somehow manipulating.

Yes, these TVs do support CEC (Consumer Electronics Control) over HDMI. I'd be astonished if the Darblet did this, but I suppose it's possible. I ran a Darblet on my VT50 for a week and saw no improvement on or off, so I returned it.

I think you can disable the CEC in the setup menus in case that is the issue. May be listed as some part of Viera Connect.

Steve
stevel is offline  
post #7841 of 13757 Old 11-28-2012, 11:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
imws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: New York, NY USA
Posts: 1,399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I just purchased the 55" VT50, it's going to be delivered on 12/4, as luck will have it i'll be in Los Angeles. Can I use active shutter glasses from Sharp with this set? What's the recommended 3D glasses for this set?
imws is offline  
post #7842 of 13757 Old 11-28-2012, 11:39 AM
Member
 
IronManFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post

Let me guess, best buy calibration ? No that is not normal the blacks should blend in in most cases. What is the brightness setting in that mode ?

No, he was a legit ISF certified guy. I don't think it's anything he did wrong, because even when I go into the settings and change black level to dark in all of the picture presets, the bars still don't blend into the bezel, but the picture is so dark as to be unwatchable. I think my expectations may have been unrealistic as to how deep the blacks would be on this set. I didn't go with the Sharp Elite because it was just too crazy pricey, and the THX colors in the showroom looked awful compared to the Pannys.

So the hell with it. I'm just going to shut up about the blacks and enjoy a lovely 65" picture. But thanks for the feedback.
IronManFan is offline  
post #7843 of 13757 Old 11-28-2012, 01:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
stevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 1,869
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by imws View Post

I just purchased the 55" VT50, it's going to be delivered on 12/4, as luck will have it i'll be in Los Angeles. Can I use active shutter glasses from Sharp with this set? What's the recommended 3D glasses for this set?

The glasses need to be the "Full HD 3D" RF models that use Bluetooth. Look specifically for that logo. I have the Panasonic TY-ER3D4 glasses and they work well, some people use Samsung SSG-4100GB glasses and like them (they're cheaper). Be very careful to buy glasses that have the "Full HD 3D" designation. Note that Amazon incorrectly shows the TY-EP3D10UB glasses as using RF - they don't.

Steve
stevel is offline  
post #7844 of 13757 Old 11-28-2012, 01:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nabsltd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Germantown, MD, USA
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by seabreeze82 View Post

My only complaints so far are, the power light on the TV, why would they put it off the center instead of to one side? Why would they leave it as being a bright red when on... The pioneer is red when off and turns to a blue when on.... Anyway, it's the most annoying thing about the TV... IS this just me, or does it bother others? I am thinking of using a sharpie to dull it, or putting a tape over it! Any ideas...
"Dab" with a Sharpie...don't "paint". Painting just moves the ink around, while dabbing allows the ink to stay where you put it.

I found that this works well, as it reduces the brightness enough to make it not annoying, but you can still see it if you need to.
Quote:
STILL cannot stand the silver bezel around it .....
In my average-brightness room, the silver disappears into the wall (which is not black like the rest of the VT50). You could cover it with tape or something if you think it's a real problem.
nabsltd is offline  
post #7845 of 13757 Old 11-28-2012, 02:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nabsltd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Germantown, MD, USA
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by IronManFan View Post

I had my VT50 ISF calibrated, and the colors look spot-on perfect, but letterbox black bars don't have that vanish-into-the-background black; they're more of a very deep charcoal.
Black bars on my VT50 are the same color as the bezel.

The other day, Catalyst Control Center decided to forget settings and reset to the default 3% or so underscanning. I didn't notice the added black bars on all sides until I was doing some comparison of Blu-Ray playback between the HTPC and my media player.

So, it's either a settings issue (since there are settings that result in the correct black for the bars) or else you need to see about warranty service, as it's possible the TV could be defective.
nabsltd is offline  
post #7846 of 13757 Old 11-28-2012, 02:19 PM
Member
 
Bossman111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by seabreeze82 View Post

My only complaints so far are, the power light on the TV, why would they put it off the center instead of to one
side? Why would they leave it as being a bright red when on... The pioneer is red when off and turns to a blue
when on.... Anyway, it's the most annoying thing about the TV... IS this just me, or does it bother others? I am
thinking of using a sharpie to dull it, or putting a tape over it! Any ideas... I hope its not just me, I hope it bothers
someone else too.....

I ordered light dims from www dot lightdims dot com. They worked great.
nabsltd likes this.
Bossman111 is offline  
post #7847 of 13757 Old 11-28-2012, 04:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
stevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 1,869
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bossman111 View Post

I ordered light dims from www dot lightdims dot com. They worked great.
Thanks for the tip - I've ordered some too because i can think of lots of applications!

Steve
stevel is offline  
post #7848 of 13757 Old 11-28-2012, 05:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Sick Mother's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Anyone know the likelihood of the 2013 VT50s being available in the 75"-85"+ size range? Any credible sources with rumors? The wait is killing me...
Sick Mother is offline  
post #7849 of 13757 Old 11-28-2012, 05:26 PM
Member
 
OPTIMO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got done hooking up my replacement 55" VT50 and this one looks like a keeper so far. smile.gif It was also manufactured in Nov. 2012 as well, just like my first one but without the cosmetic damage.

I'm currently running the break-in slides but did test out some HBO HD for a couples minutes first.
OPTIMO is offline  
post #7850 of 13757 Old 11-28-2012, 06:17 PM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 488
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevel View Post

Thanks for the tip - I've ordered some too because i can think of lots of applications!

Hopefully you ordered the "Original" Light Dims which are 50% light blocking. The 100% versions completely block the light just like a square of black electrical tape does. I now have the 50% Light Dims, but before that i simply used a tiny piece of black tape covering the majority of the light, but just enough to leave a sliver of red light peeking through at the bottom. I had to focus on it to see any red light while watching TV.

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #7851 of 13757 Old 11-28-2012, 06:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scirica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dallas, TX1
Posts: 1,670
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyWalters View Post

Hopefully you ordered the "Original" Light Dims which are 50% light blocking. The 100% versions completely block the light just like a square of black electrical tape does. I now have the 50% Light Dims, but before that i simply used a tiny piece of black tape covering the majority of the light, but just enough to leave a sliver of red light peeking through at the bottom. I had to focus on it to see any red light while watching TV.

I went ahead and ordered some tonight as well. There are a few irritating led's in my equipment rack. I also have an older RPTV in the bedroom with an irritating "on" light.

McIntosh MX121. McIntosh MC205. Focal Aria 948 Main Speakers, Aria CC900 Center. Focal Electra IC 1002 In-Ceiling Surrounds. Paradigm Studio Sub 15. Oppo BDP-105D. Roku XS. Roku 3. Apple TV(3). DirecTV. Panasonic TC-P65VT50. Samsung UN40FH6030F, URC MX-780.
My current SACD list
scirica is online now  
post #7852 of 13757 Old 11-28-2012, 06:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nabsltd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Germantown, MD, USA
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyWalters View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevel View Post

Thanks for the tip - I've ordered some too because i can think of lots of applications!

Hopefully you ordered the "Original" Light Dims which are 50% light blocking. The 100% versions completely block the light just like a square of black electrical tape does. I now have the 50% Light Dims
Thanks for the pointer.

I just ordered the "variety" pack because I have some other uses where complete blackout would be good, and it's just $10 more for 3 more sheets, including the "do it yourself".

Note that you could always stack more than one of any but the "blackout" and get more dimming. Just multiply the "percent blocked" and subtract from 100%. For example, 3 stacked would be 1 - (0.5 x 0.5 x 0.5) = 82% blocked. Or, you could punch a hole in the "blackout" and still see a tiny light.
nabsltd is offline  
post #7853 of 13757 Old 11-28-2012, 06:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WiFi-Spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,305
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by IronManFan View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post

Let me guess, best buy calibration ? No that is not normal the blacks should blend in in most cases. What is the brightness setting in that mode ?

No, he was a legit ISF certified guy. I don't think it's anything he did wrong, because even when I go into the settings and change black level to dark in all of the picture presets, the bars still don't blend into the bezel, but the picture is so dark as to be unwatchable. I think my expectations may have been unrealistic as to how deep the blacks would be on this set. I didn't go with the Sharp Elite because it was just too crazy pricey, and the THX colors in the showroom looked awful compared to the Pannys.

So the hell with it. I'm just going to shut up about the blacks and enjoy a lovely 65" picture. But thanks for the feedback.

Turn off all your lights, put on a 2.35:1 Blu-ray movie, then go right up to the screen, if you see dancing pixels in the Black Bars the brightness is set too high. If you don't see dancing pixels in the black bars your brightness is probably set correctly.

You should download a copy of the free AVS709 test disc to make sure it is set correctly.

Tyler Pruitt - Technical Liaison at SpectraCal
WiFi-Spy is offline  
post #7854 of 13757 Old 11-28-2012, 06:42 PM
Member
 
IronManFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by nabsltd View Post

Black bars on my VT50 are the same color as the bezel.
The other day, Catalyst Control Center decided to forget settings and reset to the default 3% or so underscanning. I didn't notice the added black bars on all sides until I was doing some comparison of Blu-Ray playback between the HTPC and my media player.
So, it's either a settings issue (since there are settings that result in the correct black for the bars) or else you need to see about warranty service, as it's possible the TV could be defective.

Interesting... which settings affect the bars? I feel like if I got Panny people out here and tried to explain -- with no other issues -- charcoal gray vs. black they would probably mumble "looks pretty dark to me" and not do a damn thing. Not to prejudge the Panny people.
IronManFan is offline  
post #7855 of 13757 Old 11-28-2012, 07:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,747
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by IronManFan View Post

Interesting... which settings affect the bars? I feel like if I got Panny people out here and tried to explain -- with no other issues -- charcoal gray vs. black they would probably mumble "looks pretty dark to me" and not do a damn thing. Not to prejudge the Panny people.

Wi-Fi Spy is correct here. Grab the AVS709 disc and use it to check the brightness setting, After I finally got my calibration right, I had to drop my brightness another 2 notches or so to get the blacks back to what the AVS709 disc said was correct.

Looky here!
robnix is online now  
post #7856 of 13757 Old 11-28-2012, 07:10 PM
Newbie
 
Beau Randall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had to refuse an open-box 55VT50 from an Amazon affiliate, quite a bit louder than I was expecting. Is this buzzing normal?

https://www.dropbox.com/s/9z03jyh3pkw0nlj/2012-11-28%2016.09.44.mp4
Beau Randall is offline  
post #7857 of 13757 Old 11-28-2012, 07:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mac13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Is anyone using any kind of HDMI adapters (90 degree?) to run the HDMI cable behind the TV since the ports are right on the side of the TV? I was curious what other people were using to help prevent the cable from showing or putting excessive stress on the cable if mounted on the wall and needing to bend the cable out of sight. Thanks!
Mac13 is offline  
post #7858 of 13757 Old 11-28-2012, 08:03 PM
Senior Member
 
PeterG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Montreal, QC, Canada
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac13 View Post

Is anyone using any kind of HDMI adapters (90 degree?) to run the HDMI cable behind the TV since the ports are right on the side of the TV? I was curious what other people were using to help prevent the cable from showing or putting excessive stress on the cable if mounted on the wall and needing to bend the cable out of sight. Thanks!

RandyWalters as posted here (and others) use them with success.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1403635/official-panasonic-gt50-series-discussion-thread-no-street-price-talk/4380_60#post_22615997

As for myself, I prefer the $15 monoprice Redmere cables here. Very slim, do not poke out from the side, and do not put stress on the ports:

http://www.monoprice.com/products/subdepartment.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10255
PeterG is offline  
post #7859 of 13757 Old 11-28-2012, 08:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mac13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterG View Post

RandyWalters as posted here (and others) use them with success.
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1403635/official-panasonic-gt50-series-discussion-thread-no-street-price-talk/4380_60#post_22615997
As for myself, I prefer the $15 monoprice Redmere cables here. Very slim, do not poke out from the side, and do not put stress on the ports:
http://www.monoprice.com/products/subdepartment.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10255

Thanks! I already have a long in wall rated HDMI cable (quite thick) so I think I will go the route of using the adapters. Those Redmere cables are nice but are pretty pricey. They aren't rated for in wall usage either are they?
Mac13 is offline  
post #7860 of 13757 Old 11-28-2012, 08:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,746
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bolt989 View Post

From the research I have done, people seem to think to ONLY use the swipe function if you notice bad IR sticking as it can lessen the life of the panel. I also heard people running it once after every gaming session that goes for more than 2 hours or so. I am not so sure that there is any truth behind the sweep function lessening the panels life or not. I would tend to use it though if I did see some image sticking on regular content, but not if I could only see it running slides.
with that said, when you say use it regularly what do you mean by regularly? once a week? after a gaming session etc?

In my case I mostly view Blu Ray movies, so when ever I pause the movie and leave my man cave to do whatever for say 10 minutes or so I use the sweep. I use a Oppo BD player and the Oppo logo leaves IR on my screen, so by doing this simple thing I rid my VT50 of the Oppo's IR. wink.gif

Ideally I run the sweep before (45 minutes and then a full field movie for about 30 minutes or more) and after (15 minutes) I do a full ISF 3D LUT 125 point cube CMS and a 21 point gray scale calibration on my VT50.

ss
sillysally is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic , Panasonic Viera Tc P55vt50 , Plasma Hdtv , Displays , Panasonic Viera Tc P65vt50 65 Inch Plasma Tv
Gear in this thread - P55vt50 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off