Official Panasonic VT50 owners thread - Page 331 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews > Display Devices > Plasma Flat Panel Displays > Official Panasonic VT50 owners thread

Plasma Flat Panel Displays

robnix's Avatar robnix
04:34 PM Liked: 325
post #9901 of 13882
02-03-2013 | Posts: 1,916
Joined: Dec 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post

I see it on time warner on my st30

Don't see it on Dish.
Bond 007's Avatar Bond 007
04:46 PM Liked: 924
post #9902 of 13882
02-03-2013 | Posts: 12,730
Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post

I see it on time warner on my st30
No problem on tw here.
scirica's Avatar scirica
04:49 PM Liked: 121
post #9903 of 13882
02-03-2013 | Posts: 1,736
Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post

No problem on tw here.

Even when you set pic size to 1??
Bond 007's Avatar Bond 007
04:53 PM Liked: 924
post #9904 of 13882
02-03-2013 | Posts: 12,730
Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by scirica View Post

Even when you set pic size to 1??
Even on Size 1.
Cls74's Avatar Cls74
04:59 PM Liked: 10
post #9905 of 13882
02-03-2013 | Posts: 21
Joined: Sep 2012

DWBoston's Avatar DWBoston
05:31 PM Liked: 10
post #9906 of 13882
02-03-2013 | Posts: 145
Joined: Apr 2005
The green line is there on CBSHD on Verizon Fios as well.
Glashub's Avatar Glashub
05:38 PM Liked: 118
post #9907 of 13882
02-03-2013 | Posts: 1,823
Joined: Jul 2002
I got it too on full. I think it is station dependent. CNN does weird stuff other stations don't do, etc.
Cls74's Avatar Cls74
06:02 PM Liked: 10
post #9908 of 13882
02-03-2013 | Posts: 21
Joined: Sep 2012
Appeared to be CBS had the frame a bit too far left. It is gone now as of half time
Cls74's Avatar Cls74
06:03 PM Liked: 10
post #9909 of 13882
02-03-2013 | Posts: 21
Joined: Sep 2012
Ugh it's back. But while it was gone there want any tracer line if it that I noticed. No harm no foul I hope
htwaits's Avatar htwaits
06:22 PM Liked: 482
post #9910 of 13882
02-03-2013 | Posts: 24,871
Joined: Sep 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cls74 View Post

Ugh it's back. But while it was gone there want any tracer line if it that I noticed. No harm no foul I hope
It's in the source.
locdog33's Avatar locdog33
06:25 PM Liked: 16
post #9911 of 13882
02-03-2013 | Posts: 103
Joined: Mar 2012
The line is not your TV but a espn thing. I get it on one of my espn channels all the time on every TV I have.
scirica's Avatar scirica
06:26 PM Liked: 121
post #9912 of 13882
02-03-2013 | Posts: 1,736
Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by locdog33 View Post

The line is not your TV but a espn thing. I get it on one of my espn channels all the time on every TV I have.
Yes, I think we all get that.
tcramer's Avatar tcramer
06:35 PM Liked: 22
post #9913 of 13882
02-03-2013 | Posts: 772
Joined: Sep 2008
I don't have the green line with Charter.
lees23's Avatar lees23
06:58 PM Liked: 20
post #9914 of 13882
02-03-2013 | Posts: 258
Joined: Nov 2012
My TV just went dark while watching the Super Bowl. Second half, weird.
Sick Mother's Avatar Sick Mother
07:00 PM Liked: 21
post #9915 of 13882
02-03-2013 | Posts: 309
Joined: Nov 2009
Lol. Oddly enough that happened to me too.
lees23's Avatar lees23
07:01 PM Liked: 20
post #9916 of 13882
02-03-2013 | Posts: 258
Joined: Nov 2012
I think someone at Buffalo Wild Wings decided to extend the game.
scirica's Avatar scirica
07:07 PM Liked: 121
post #9917 of 13882
02-03-2013 | Posts: 1,736
Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by lees23 View Post

I think someone at Buffalo Wild Wings decided to extend the game.
ROFL!!
Morphine1680's Avatar Morphine1680
07:33 PM Liked: 10
post #9918 of 13882
02-03-2013 | Posts: 10
Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post

Sorry to hear this, actually that is a cracked screen. When a plasma is cracked the unit will not fire to the on board menu and will hum very loudly. Sometimes cracks in the screen can be hard to see.
Yeah, didnt even notice a crack. Hopefully I will have better luck with my replacement
NoLastCalls's Avatar NoLastCalls
08:11 PM Liked: 10
post #9919 of 13882
02-03-2013 | Posts: 5
Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cls74 View Post

Glad I'm not alone in seeing this, it's a bit annoying especially when the screen is darker on the right side.
Mine has it too.
scirica's Avatar scirica
08:13 PM Liked: 121
post #9920 of 13882
02-03-2013 | Posts: 1,736
Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoLastCalls View Post

Mine has it too.

Given the number and variety sources and devices this is being seen on, I'm sure it's coming from CBS. Those that can't see must have a different aspect or resolution setting.
whipit's Avatar whipit
08:33 PM Liked: 72
post #9921 of 13882
02-03-2013 | Posts: 1,489
Joined: Dec 2009
I see it on my G10 with Uverse. Green line on right side.
Kpt_Krunch's Avatar Kpt_Krunch
10:34 PM Liked: 18
post #9922 of 13882
02-03-2013 | Posts: 1,800
Joined: Aug 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by thegage View Post

My old 50" V50 was not very good on IR. There would always be some IR after about an hour of watching something with a static logo, but it went away quickly. I've now had my VT50 for at least 200 hours and I have yet to see any IR.

John K.

Same here no IR - however, one thing..... maybe it's the second panel but the screen is dark. I run under THX bright room mode, the screen is not bright at all. Compared to my Sammy plasma which is very bright. Is this just the THX? I know it's hard to compare with other sets, but I'm wondering if I have an issue or if that's normal. Don't get me wrong, the picture is great, the 3D is amazing (in a pitch black room) but I think it should be a bit brighter in 'bright room' mode than what it is.
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar Cleveland Plasma
08:44 AM Liked: 757
post #9923 of 13882
02-04-2013 | Posts: 12,606
Joined: Jun 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cls74 View Post

For those of you watching the Super Bowl on Directv. Noticing a vertical green line in the right side of the screen. It's only on CBS and it is there regardless of what is being shown. Commercial, program, black screen etc…

First is anyone else seeing this, and secondly any concern of having it there? Really don't want to watch it in zoom or H-Fill
I got that sometimes.....not all the time though.
kYpondman's Avatar kYpondman
10:52 AM Liked: 10
post #9924 of 13882
02-04-2013 | Posts: 4
Joined: Jan 2013
I originally posted "I just received my 65VT50 today but when I turn it on it has a black screen and no responses to anything but the on/off button. Am I doing something wrong or do I have a bad unit?
Bummed!"

The Panny rep was here on 2/1 and the buzz I heard was a broken screen. He said there was no point of impact and the plasma screen was broken everywhere. Must have been dropped somewhere along the way. Waiting now for replacement. rolleyes.gif
omatzyo's Avatar omatzyo
01:43 PM Liked: 10
post #9925 of 13882
02-04-2013 | Posts: 9
Joined: Apr 2006
Hi all, I've been following along here for a while. I bought the 55" vt50 and then upgraded to the 65"... I'm really happy with it, but I've noticed that when the newer unit de-interlaces, the two fields are wildly skewed. It really makes edges look jagged. This is on most still images. I haven't had flickering problems in motion. The issue is most noticeable in red things, but I see it in all colors and along all sharp edges. Source is FiOS 1080i HDMI (I've tried 3:2 pulldown on and off and this doesn't make a difference.) I didn't see this on the last screen and I don't see it with our other screen (an LED). It is noticeable over 10' away.

Is this normal behavior? Should I swap it out for another or call Panasonic? Thanks for the advice!

I've included a picture that makes it more obvious in the BROADWAY letters.


skidog's Avatar skidog
02:25 PM Liked: 27
post #9926 of 13882
02-04-2013 | Posts: 205
Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by fookoo_2010 View Post

If there is no activity on the screen, the TV will shut off in 10 minutes by default. If a screen saver is running, it won't shut off.

That's the thing, I was in the middle of a game and it just shuts down. Every time it's happened I've been in a game or watching tv. When I power it on it says that there was no shut down command initiated or something like that. It powers right back up but still.

I plugged it diectly into the wall outlet now so we'll see if that solves the problem.
mo949's Avatar mo949
02:26 PM Liked: 679
post #9927 of 13882
02-04-2013 | Posts: 3,612
Joined: May 2012
Are you connecting the TV to the fios box using HDMI? Also, if you try to have your fios box upscale everything to 1080i (as opposed to natively outputting it and letting your TV handle the rest) you can end up with issues like this.
omatzyo's Avatar omatzyo
02:56 PM Liked: 10
post #9928 of 13882
02-04-2013 | Posts: 9
Joined: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by mo949 View Post

Are you connecting the TV to the fios box using HDMI? Also, if you try to have your fios box upscale everything to 1080i (as opposed to natively outputting it and letting your TV handle the rest) you can end up with issues like this.

Yes, it is HDMI.

I just played around with the settings in the FiOS box. It was already outputting 1080i 16:9. Just for kicks, I tried 720p and the line looked very smooth (but at 720). I also tried native and it looks just like 1080i. So, I guess that confirms its an interlacing issue, yes?
J__Chris's Avatar J__Chris
03:01 PM Liked: 11
post #9929 of 13882
02-04-2013 | Posts: 70
Joined: Aug 2004
I have a newer Fios box and it will only output 1080i or 480 i/p (don't remember which) and never had a problem with it. You will only get HD to the TV using HDMI.
omatzyo's Avatar omatzyo
03:04 PM Liked: 10
post #9930 of 13882
02-04-2013 | Posts: 9
Joined: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by J__Chris View Post

I have a newer Fios box and it will only output 1080i or 480 i/p (don't remember which) and never had a problem with it. You will only get HD to the TV using HDMI.

Do you think I should swap out the TV?
Tags: Panasonic , Panasonic Viera Tc P55vt50 , Plasma Hdtv , Displays , Panasonic Viera Tc P65vt50 65 Inch Plasma Tv

Gear in this thread
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3