Official Panasonic VT50 owners thread - Page 349 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10441 of 13782 Old 02-24-2013, 03:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scirica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dallas, TX1
Posts: 1,686
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by agriebel View Post

The HDMI cable on my VT50 sticks out a bit before it turns and hides behind the set. I was looking at one of the 90 degree adapters that are available from bluejeans or monocable. Has anybody used those?

I'm sure they work, and I've considered them myself, but I decided not to make any extra connections in my signal path. Not worth risking the signal degradation. I'd consider more pliable HDMI cables before the 90 degree adapters.

McIntosh MX121. McIntosh MC205. Focal Aria 948 Main Speakers, Aria CC900 Center. Focal Electra IC 1002 In-Ceiling Surrounds. Paradigm Studio Sub 15. Oppo BDP-105D. Roku XS. Roku 3. Apple TV(3). DirecTV. Panasonic TC-P65VT50. Samsung UN40FH6030F, URC MX-780.
My current SACD list
scirica is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10442 of 13782 Old 02-24-2013, 04:26 PM
Senior Member
 
lees23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Hey guys/gals, quick question about network controls on my VT50.

I downloaded the "Roomie" app that is advertised on this site but am having some issues getting the TV to turn on via my phone. I have set "Wake on Lan" to on but the TV still wont go from Off to on unless you use the remote, not the app.

Any ideas? Anyone using this app?

Thanks.
lees23 is offline  
post #10443 of 13782 Old 02-24-2013, 04:34 PM
Senior Member
 
lees23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I also changed "Power on link" from No to Yes in the the Viera Link menu
lees23 is offline  
post #10444 of 13782 Old 02-24-2013, 05:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by scirica View Post

I'm sure they work, and I've considered them myself, but I decided not to make any extra connections in my signal path. Not worth risking the signal degradation. I'd consider more pliable HDMI cables before the 90 degree adapters.

I use them. They work just fine. Like anything else in your path, they'll either pass the signal or not.

Looky here!
robnix is offline  
post #10445 of 13782 Old 02-24-2013, 05:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scirica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dallas, TX1
Posts: 1,686
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by robnix View Post

I use them. They work just fine. Like anything else in your path, they'll either pass the signal or not.
Do you use the ones from Monoprice?

McIntosh MX121. McIntosh MC205. Focal Aria 948 Main Speakers, Aria CC900 Center. Focal Electra IC 1002 In-Ceiling Surrounds. Paradigm Studio Sub 15. Oppo BDP-105D. Roku XS. Roku 3. Apple TV(3). DirecTV. Panasonic TC-P65VT50. Samsung UN40FH6030F, URC MX-780.
My current SACD list
scirica is offline  
post #10446 of 13782 Old 02-24-2013, 05:20 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,412
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 398 Post(s)
Liked: 870
Quote:
Originally Posted by agriebel View Post

The HDMI cable on my VT50 sticks out a bit before it turns and hides behind the set. I was looking at one of the 90 degree adapters that are available from bluejeans or monocable. Has anybody used those?
I use one from Amazon. No problems here.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
post #10447 of 13782 Old 02-24-2013, 05:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scirica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dallas, TX1
Posts: 1,686
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post

I use one from Amazon. No problems here.
Did you use just one in each port or did you use two connected which would route the connector along the back of the panel versus pointed straight to the wall? I'm intrigued.

McIntosh MX121. McIntosh MC205. Focal Aria 948 Main Speakers, Aria CC900 Center. Focal Electra IC 1002 In-Ceiling Surrounds. Paradigm Studio Sub 15. Oppo BDP-105D. Roku XS. Roku 3. Apple TV(3). DirecTV. Panasonic TC-P65VT50. Samsung UN40FH6030F, URC MX-780.
My current SACD list
scirica is offline  
post #10448 of 13782 Old 02-24-2013, 05:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by scirica View Post

Do you use the ones from Monoprice?

Amazon. Shouldn't matter though.

Looky here!
robnix is offline  
post #10449 of 13782 Old 02-24-2013, 05:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by scirica View Post

Did you use just one in each port or did you use two connected which would route the connector along the back of the panel versus pointed straight to the wall? I'm intrigued.

I use one in each port, but two should be fine. There's a picture floating around here somewhere of someone that put like 8 of them in a chain as a test and had zero issues.

Looky here!
robnix is offline  
post #10450 of 13782 Old 02-24-2013, 05:38 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,412
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 398 Post(s)
Liked: 870
Quote:
Originally Posted by scirica View Post

Did you use just one in each port or did you use two connected which would route the connector along the back of the panel versus pointed straight to the wall? I'm intrigued.
I use 1 of these. That is all I need. Everything is routed through my receiver.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B006GHYBGK/ref=oh_details_o03_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
post #10451 of 13782 Old 02-24-2013, 05:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scirica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dallas, TX1
Posts: 1,686
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post

I use 1 of these. That is all I need. Everything is routed through my receiver.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B006GHYBGK/ref=oh_details_o03_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
Thanks...I think Robnix got what I was going for...trying to do an extra 90 degree bend to route the cables parallel to the back of the panel. I'll have to look for that thread that shows the "chain" to prove they work without signal degradation.

McIntosh MX121. McIntosh MC205. Focal Aria 948 Main Speakers, Aria CC900 Center. Focal Electra IC 1002 In-Ceiling Surrounds. Paradigm Studio Sub 15. Oppo BDP-105D. Roku XS. Roku 3. Apple TV(3). DirecTV. Panasonic TC-P65VT50. Samsung UN40FH6030F, URC MX-780.
My current SACD list
scirica is offline  
post #10452 of 13782 Old 02-24-2013, 05:54 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,412
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 398 Post(s)
Liked: 870
Quote:
Originally Posted by scirica View Post

Thanks...I think Robnix got what I was going for...trying to do an extra 90 degree bend to route the cables parallel to the back of the panel. I'll have to look for that thread that shows the "chain" to prove they work without signal degradation.
My cable runs straight down and then parallel sideways. You cant possibly make it more flush.
Just realized though that if you are using multiple HDMI ports you could not run the cable downward. They would hit each other. If you take a good look at the adaptor though it is better than a right angle. It is a swivel adaptor 0-180.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
post #10453 of 13782 Old 02-24-2013, 07:59 PM
Newbie
 
dakall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use these cable with a 90 degree connector, Works great and fits great. The trick was to find the kind that had the direction of the connector facing the correct way.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004D5GXQI/
dakall is offline  
post #10454 of 13782 Old 02-24-2013, 08:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scirica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dallas, TX1
Posts: 1,686
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by dakall View Post

I use these cable with a 90 degree connector, Works great and fits great. The trick was to find the kind that had the direction of the connector facing the correct way.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004D5GXQI/

Right, which are the 270 degree one for the VT50. Ordered some today.

McIntosh MX121. McIntosh MC205. Focal Aria 948 Main Speakers, Aria CC900 Center. Focal Electra IC 1002 In-Ceiling Surrounds. Paradigm Studio Sub 15. Oppo BDP-105D. Roku XS. Roku 3. Apple TV(3). DirecTV. Panasonic TC-P65VT50. Samsung UN40FH6030F, URC MX-780.
My current SACD list
scirica is offline  
post #10455 of 13782 Old 02-24-2013, 09:12 PM
Member
 
Einskaldir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I wasn't sure whether or not to go with the adapter or more pliable cable myself. I ended up purchasing 4 of the Mediabridge "flex" cables off Amazon simply because I had gift card credit there (free, yay!), needed 10 foot cords, and read another thread where someone with a VT50 was happy with them not extending beyond the edge of the TV.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005T3KH6A/

The cables have a slight bit of tension on them due to how I have things wired and they certainly do not come out beyond the edge of the TV like one of the much thicker HDMI cables did (that my parents let me borrow until my cables arrived). I definitely like these cables, although I'm a little worried that my cord-eating cat may chomp them in half before I mount my TV onto the wall. =)
Einskaldir is offline  
post #10456 of 13782 Old 02-24-2013, 09:30 PM
Senior Member
 
dvzzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Illinois
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is the starting setting for Sharpness on VT50? Is it 50 or 0? When I slide to "0" I see negative impact on Sharpness of the picture. Image gets too soft, 50 seems good but I keep reading it should be at "0" or 1-3 no more than that. What is the answer here? Thanks.
dvzzz is offline  
post #10457 of 13782 Old 02-24-2013, 09:35 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,412
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 398 Post(s)
Liked: 870
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvzzz View Post

What is the starting setting for Sharpness on VT50? Is it 50 or 0? When I slide to "0" I see negative impact on Sharpness of the picture. Image gets too soft, 50 seems good but I keep reading it should be at "0" or 1-3 no more than that. What is the answer here? Thanks.
Most people set it between 0 and 10 but that can depend on other settings also. Set it where it looks good to you.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
post #10458 of 13782 Old 02-25-2013, 04:03 AM
Newbie
 
cast away's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone experience mosquito noise on Panasonic 55VT50 with Blu-ray movies? The noise is a litter bit less when I set 1080p pure direct and motion smoother "off" but the motion looks terrible. Your advice to fix the mosquito noise is highly appreciated.
cast away is offline  
post #10459 of 13782 Old 02-25-2013, 06:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by cast away View Post

Does anyone experience mosquito noise on Panasonic 55VT50 with Blu-ray movies? The noise is a litter bit less when I set 1080p pure direct and motion smoother "off" but the motion looks terrible. Your advice to fix the mosquito noise is highly appreciated.

I think you may be confusing noise with film grain.

Looky here!
robnix is offline  
post #10460 of 13782 Old 02-25-2013, 07:41 AM
Newbie
 
casey 2823's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnc View Post

I recommend using d-nice's settings, they are FAR better than the thx modes.

I've only had the tv for a couple of weeks but I'd like to tweak it a little bit. So, as I asked above are the "back office" custom settings the same settings as the thx cinema settings initially except for contrast, brightness, tint, sharpness, etc...on the first page of settings? I'm wondering if the gamma, greyscale, etc... is the same as the thx settings? I'm not ready to go into any pro settings just custom as I'm still being conservative with my settings since the tv is still very new. I just feel I should be able to make some simple improvements to the thx settings but using custom. I don't want to change any of the thx settings. I'd rather use custom to play around and compare against each other. However, it's not really a comparison if the thx "back office" settings aren't the same as custom. Hope this makes sense and sorry I know this posting is wordier than it needs to be and I don't want to waste anyone's time.
casey 2823 is offline  
post #10461 of 13782 Old 02-25-2013, 08:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mo949's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3,404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 579
Not the same
mo949 is offline  
post #10462 of 13782 Old 02-25-2013, 08:36 AM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by agriebel View Post

The HDMI cable on my VT50 sticks out a bit before it turns and hides behind the set. I was looking at one of the 90 degree adapters that are available from bluejeans or monocable. Has anybody used those?

I use two such adapters on each of my four HDMI cables on my GT50 with zero issues, and i have used them on various other installs and haven't gotten any call-backs.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1403635/official-panasonic-gt50-series-discussion-thread-no-street-price-talk/2700#post_22205675

Monoprice #3850

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #10463 of 13782 Old 02-25-2013, 09:05 AM
Senior Member
 
Tony1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Just received my vt50 55" an hour ago, from Paul's TVs.. Right out of the box set to thx cinema, the picture looks great.. No buzzing heard yet.. All though you can sure feel the rush
of air delivered via the fans doing their jobs.. I also have a gt50, and i feel from my intial viewing, that there is more than a noticable difference in PQ between the two.. After i wall
mount the vt50, then i will be able to make more of a comparison, since they will be literally walll mounted on the same side of the wall and only about 6 feet apart..

IMG_20130205_223451_698.jpg 1479k .jpg file
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20130205_223451_698.jpg (1.44 MB, 53 views)

Panasonic GT50 55"
Pansaonic VT60 60"
Tony1 is offline  
post #10464 of 13782 Old 02-25-2013, 10:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
scirica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dallas, TX1
Posts: 1,686
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyWalters View Post

I use two such adapters on each of my four HDMI cables on my GT50 with zero issues, and i have used them on various other installs and haven't gotten any call-backs.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1403635/official-panasonic-gt50-series-discussion-thread-no-street-price-talk/2700#post_22205675

Monoprice #3850

That's what I'm going to try this week. Using 2 of these 270 degree connectors together to route the cable back around the panel. Glad to hear it doesn't mess with the PQ!

I've purchased two from Monoprice and two from Amazon and will be comparing both. I'm not expecting any issues however. (Only using two HDMI ports)

McIntosh MX121. McIntosh MC205. Focal Aria 948 Main Speakers, Aria CC900 Center. Focal Electra IC 1002 In-Ceiling Surrounds. Paradigm Studio Sub 15. Oppo BDP-105D. Roku XS. Roku 3. Apple TV(3). DirecTV. Panasonic TC-P65VT50. Samsung UN40FH6030F, URC MX-780.
My current SACD list
scirica is offline  
post #10465 of 13782 Old 02-25-2013, 01:23 PM
Newbie
 
dasnub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Trying to figure out if I'm crazy. Bought this tv two weeks ago and I SWEAR the picture went edge to edge. Charter came out today to fix the cable and now I'm noticing a 1/8" border all around the screen (on all sources.) Resetting/adjusting aspect ratios does nothing. Does anyone else have this? Is it normal?
dasnub is offline  
post #10466 of 13782 Old 02-25-2013, 01:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mkerdman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 3,056
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does the 65VT50 have (A) MHL Mobile High-Definition Link and (B) WiDi Intel® Wireless Display compatibility built in?

Murray Kerdman
mkerdman is offline  
post #10467 of 13782 Old 02-25-2013, 01:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JSpectre88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,000
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by dasnub View Post

Trying to figure out if I'm crazy. Bought this tv two weeks ago and I SWEAR the picture went edge to edge. Charter came out today to fix the cable and now I'm noticing a 1/8" border all around the screen (on all sources.) Resetting/adjusting aspect ratios does nothing. Does anyone else have this? Is it normal?

You're crazy. It was always there. biggrin.gif
JSpectre88 is offline  
post #10468 of 13782 Old 02-25-2013, 01:40 PM
Newbie
 
dasnub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSpectre88 View Post

You're crazy. It was always there. biggrin.gif

Phew. Last thing I need is a border burned into the edges only to have it go back full screen one day!
dasnub is offline  
post #10469 of 13782 Old 02-25-2013, 03:12 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,864
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 480
Quote:
Originally Posted by dasnub View Post

Trying to figure out if I'm crazy. Bought this tv two weeks ago and I SWEAR the picture went edge to edge. Charter came out today to fix the cable and now I'm noticing a 1/8" border all around the screen (on all sources.) Resetting/adjusting aspect ratios does nothing. Does anyone else have this? Is it normal?
All flat panels that I've examined have a very small dead area between the active part of the screen and the bezel. You can check for yourself with a calibration disk. wink.gif
htwaits is offline  
post #10470 of 13782 Old 02-25-2013, 03:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nabsltd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Germantown, MD, USA
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by scirica View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by robnix View Post

I use them. They work just fine. Like anything else in your path, they'll either pass the signal or not.
Do you use the ones from Monoprice?
I use two different ones from Monoprice:
http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?p_id=3850
http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?p_id=4859

I use the second version on the bottom port, so the cable goes straight down.

Both work fine, and I like the fact that they came with dust caps on all the connectors, so the unused ports are covered.
nabsltd is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic , Panasonic Viera Tc P55vt50 , Plasma Hdtv , Displays , Panasonic Viera Tc P65vt50 65 Inch Plasma Tv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off