Official Panasonic VT50 owners thread - Page 358 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #10711 of 13782 Old 03-05-2013, 06:44 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,867
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 481
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post

Its simple, micro fiber cloth as needed for dust. If you have dried dog slobber (dont ask), use distilled water when the screen is cool.
... and don't go past damp when you use the distiled water and microfiber cloth. wink.gif
htwaits is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10712 of 13782 Old 03-05-2013, 06:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3,017
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 367
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post

... and don't go past damp when you use the distiled water and microfiber cloth. wink.gif

LOL. Yeah, you aint washing a car.

65" VT50 / BDP-S7200
Denon AVR-4520CI
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #10713 of 13782 Old 03-05-2013, 09:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nabsltd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Germantown, MD, USA
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post

Its simple, micro fiber cloth as needed for dust. If you have dried dog slobber (dont ask), use distilled water when the screen is cool.
My old CRT couldn't go a week without needing a dusting, but the VT50 get about 1/10 as much in a month, so without the kids, dogs (we used to have Great Danes, so I know what you mean), etc., I think it could go 3 months between cleanings.
nabsltd is offline  
post #10714 of 13782 Old 03-05-2013, 09:46 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,455
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 419 Post(s)
Liked: 879
Quote:
Originally Posted by nabsltd View Post

My old CRT couldn't go a week without needing a dusting, but the VT50 get about 1/10 as much in a month, so without the kids, dogs (we used to have Great Danes, so I know what you mean), etc., I think it could go 3 months between cleanings.
I would at least dust the vents more than that. Particularly the one on top that is at about a 45 degree angle.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
post #10715 of 13782 Old 03-06-2013, 08:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mactavish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post

... and don't go past damp when you use the distiled water and microfiber cloth. wink.gif

This is a subject that is really interesting, as recently I did a lot of "google" searching, and found a ton of opposing opinions, making it even more confusing. In an environment with some cigarette smoke, and dirty city air, water is not always enough for cleaning. In my case I wanted to remove the streaks that occurred on my previous 37" Aquos LCD HDTV. These streaks were a result of using two products that claim to be designed for both LCD and Plasma displays. One is "iKlear" (used to be sold in the Apple Stores) the other "Monster". Both act like a light polish, and you have to work fast to put it on in a circular fashion and then keep buffing until you think it is gone. While the "cleaning" effect seems to be ok at first, later when viewing the TV "off", in the proper lighting, you can always see streaks. This really bothered me, and I really wanted to remove those streaks. Using the same products again, doing small areas at a time, just keep adding streaks, could never get rid of them. Almost like an old WAX, on a car.

That's when I did more homework, and you'll find some "experts" and articles recommending things like a 50/50 homemade solution of distilled water and isopropyl alcohol, which did NOT seem like a good idea. Most manufacture's don't tell you what kind of coating they may be using, anti-glare or whatever on their screens, and using any type of alcohol, just seemed like a RISK to me!

So, I opted for some advice that I thought would be non-destructive, and that was a 50/50 solution of distilled water and white vinegar. I used this to remove all the iKlear and Monster crap on the Sharp, and it worked great. But I am certainly not sure what using this solution would do to an anti-glare coating down the road, as I'm no chemist. It did however remove all the old polish, and NO more streaks. I am NO longer going to use any polish products as I don't care for streaks, and I think it just builds up, no matter how many people say you can safely use these products, they may be safe, but they leave residual, you can see, and it's dam hard to remove.

Since I'm giving away the old Sharp, and just bought the VT50, I'm not touching it, till I need to, and of course will try distilled water first, but if and when I need to do a deeper cleaning, I'm still not sure what would be best, after water.
Mactavish is offline  
post #10716 of 13782 Old 03-06-2013, 09:25 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 12,411
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 528 Post(s)
Liked: 692
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #10717 of 13782 Old 03-06-2013, 09:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mactavish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post

Yes, the best way to clean a screen is to avoid needing to do it wink.gif

True indeed, BUT....................
Mactavish is offline  
post #10718 of 13782 Old 03-06-2013, 10:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Tony1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post

Yes, the best way to clean a screen is to avoid needing to do it wink.gif

True,, you can just keep it sealed in the box! lol

Panasonic GT50 55"
Pansaonic VT60 60"
Tony1 is offline  
post #10719 of 13782 Old 03-06-2013, 10:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mactavish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony1 View Post

True,, you can just keep it sealed in the box! lol

WOW, maybe that's why I thought it needed to cleaned in the first place! Once I took the plastic off, the picture cleared right up......rolleyes.gif
Mactavish is offline  
post #10720 of 13782 Old 03-06-2013, 02:52 PM
Newbie
 
ajuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
First time here. I have 2 big concerns.

1. I am in the 100 hour breakin period. Can you go to any picture mode, tweak all settings to whatever you want (experiment in the 100 hr break-in period) and not worry at all that you are messing with the phospers or anything? Are Extended logos the only problem.?
AND
2. I was about 30 hours in the breakin period and my kid slipped in and played 1hour and 15 minutes in game mode a baseball game (bright white /green colors. I noticed the contrast ratio in that mode is 100 and sharpness 75. I am still within the 30-day trial period to take it back (9) days. Could this have hurt the TV in any way. I am very concerned that this incident may have (even if only slightly ) damaged the TV. Any help? Probably no way to tell? Time -running out Thanks Arnie
ajuice is offline  
post #10721 of 13782 Old 03-06-2013, 02:56 PM
Newbie
 
ajuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
First time here. I have 2 big concerns.

1. Iam in the 100 hour breakin period. Can you go to any picture mode, tweak all settings to whatever you want (experiment in the 100 hr break-in period) and not worry at all that you are messing with the phospers or anything? Are Extended logos the only problem.?
AND
2. I was about 30 hours in the breakin period and my kid slipped in and played 1hour and 15 minutes in game mode a baseball game (bright white /green colors. I noticed the contrast ratio in that mode is 100 and sharpness 75. I am still within the 30-day trial period to take it back (9) days. Could this have hurt the TV in any way. I am very concerned that this incident may have (even if only slightly ) damaged the TV. Any help? Probably no way to tell? Time -running out Thanks Arnie
ajuice is offline  
post #10722 of 13782 Old 03-06-2013, 03:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: South Florida
Posts: 4,685
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajuice View Post

First time here. I have 2 big concerns.

1. Iam in the 100 hour breakin period. Can you go to any picture mode, tweak all settings to whatever you want (experiment in the 100 hr break-in period) and not worry at all that you are messing with the phospers or anything? Are Extended logos the only problem.?
AND
2. I was about 30 hours in the breakin period and my kid slipped in and played 1hour and 15 minutes in game mode a baseball game (bright white /green colors. I noticed the contrast ratio in that mode is 100 and sharpness 75. I am still within the 30-day trial period to take it back (9) days. Could this have hurt the TV in any way. I am very concerned that this incident may have (even if only slightly ) damaged the TV. Any help? Probably no way to tell? Time -running out Thanks Arnie

return a TV because your son played a game for 1 hour ? You are kidding, right ? No wonder why return policies are changing in USA...

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #10723 of 13782 Old 03-06-2013, 03:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mo949's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3,415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 588
both concerns are not issues....you can't damage it like that. My wife watches the exact same channel (HGTV) with its logo almost exclusively all day. No problems, no worries. I watch movies at night and that undoes any IR she would have caused (which I've never seen in normal viewing).
mo949 is offline  
post #10724 of 13782 Old 03-06-2013, 03:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Latinoheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 1,920
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajuice View Post

First time here. I have 2 big concerns.

1. Iam in the 100 hour breakin period. Can you go to any picture mode, tweak all settings to whatever you want (experiment in the 100 hr break-in period) and not worry at all that you are messing with the phospers or anything? Are Extended logos the only problem.?
AND
2. I was about 30 hours in the breakin period and my kid slipped in and played 1hour and 15 minutes in game mode a baseball game (bright white /green colors. I noticed the contrast ratio in that mode is 100 and sharpness 75. I am still within the 30-day trial period to take it back (9) days. Could this have hurt the TV in any way. I am very concerned that this incident may have (even if only slightly ) damaged the TV. Any help? Probably no way to tell? Time -running out Thanks Arnie

1. I would suggest right down all your settings prior to changing them in case you want certain modes back to default. What do you mean by breaking? Slides or regular content viewing? If your watching regular content you should just watched in THX cinema or cinema mode for the first 200 hrs, than dial in any pro settings in custom mode. Honestly all I did was not watched 4:3 content the first 200 hrs and that's it. I watched everything else ,bluray, movies with black bars, hd channels with logos and even gamed and the TV was totally fine.

2. Do you see any IR? In watching regular content? If not, than there is nothing to worry about, if you do , there is still nothing to worry about, just watch full screen content and you will be fine. There is no way you can hurt a tv by playing a game for 1 hr or so. By the way I own the GT50 but its pretty much the same way.

TV - Panasonic 55GT50 THX, Main Speakers - Klipsch Gallery G28's, Center Channel- Klipsch RC-52, Sub-Klipsch Sub 12, Surround - Klipsch RS-52 II Bluray/Game - HTPC/PS3, Receiver - Onkyo RC-360, HTPC- Intel Core i3, HDMI,Windows 7,XBMC,Bluray,7 TB, Video Processor -Darbee

http://www.avsforum.com/photopost/sh...hp?cat=2236715
Latinoheat is offline  
post #10725 of 13782 Old 03-06-2013, 04:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3,017
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 367
Quote:
Originally Posted by nabsltd View Post

My old CRT couldn't go a week without needing a dusting, but the VT50 get about 1/10 as much in a month, so without the kids, dogs (we used to have Great Danes, so I know what you mean), etc., I think it could go 3 months between cleanings.

I usually do a basic wipe for dust every 2 weeks or so (very little dust usually on the plasma screen), and nothing else. Biggest mistake Ive seen with the screen cleaning kits is not using the fluid causes damage, people use it on a warm screen and it streaks. Very hard to get off.

65" VT50 / BDP-S7200
Denon AVR-4520CI
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #10726 of 13782 Old 03-06-2013, 04:31 PM
Newbie
 
ajuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks alot. I'm an older guy who just bought my first HDTV and I went all the way with the PVT 50.

Are there any threads that discuss the viewing difference between 55" and 65" and is it worth an extra $1000+? I sit 8-10 ft. away. Thanks again!! AJ
ajuice is offline  
post #10727 of 13782 Old 03-06-2013, 04:50 PM
Member
 
ragtop13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajuice View Post

Thanks alot. I'm an older guy who just bought my first HDTV and I went all the way with the PVT 50.

Are there any threads that discuss the viewing difference between 55" and 65" and is it worth an extra $1000+? I sit 8-10 ft. away. Thanks again!! AJ

I sit a little over 11 feet. Had a Sony 55 SXRD, wanted a little more picture area so went with the 65. No regrets and no issues. had the tv sitting more like 9 foot or so on the stand until I could get the outlets and bracket mounted on the wall and when i watched tv at that distance I didn't not like it at that distance. My 2 cents... I'm happy....

Here is a viewing distance calculator that I used to help me see if I was out in left field:

http://myhometheater.homestead.com/viewingdistancecalculator.html
ragtop13 is offline  
post #10728 of 13782 Old 03-06-2013, 05:00 PM
Member
 
bstudey01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got my 65vt50 yesterday and all I can say is WOW!!! First I didn't expect it to be as big as it is. I had a 55" and those 10 inches seem like way more than that, the TV is huge!!! Turned it on very quickly before I signed for it to make sure it worked. Turned on fine and SmartViera logo popped up, I turned it off. Got my wall mount installed and all my AV connections correct. Finally was able to turn it on after about 6hrs to warm up and was blown away. Also just hooked up a new OPPO 103 and am very happy with that!! I took an HDMI out of my cable box to the HDMI in on the Oppo. Then an hdmi out of the Oppo HDMI 1 into my harmon kardon AVR2650, then one to the ARC on the VT50. Got the cable box resolution set to auto and the oppo set to 1080p. Huge improvement!! Cable looks almost like a blu-ray now, very pleased!!! Was just going to run full screen HD content to break in for 100 hrs before calibration. Had HBO tuned in and set picture size to zoom just in case of black bars. Well I woke up in the middle of the night and almost freaked out!!! Somehow the cable connection at the box had gotten loose and I got a "HBO currently not available" form my box. I think after about 10 minutes the screen saver on the cable box kicked in and the screen goes black, with a logo that bounces over the screen. I don't think it caused any real damage, not that I can tell anyway. So then I decide to use Netflix and stream the whole series of "Lost". Well needless to say that doesn't work either. Even though a new episode starts automatically in 20 secs after the old one ends, somehow netflix times out as well. Came in the house and had a "Are you still watching Netflix" message on a frozen screen. Max it was on there was for ten minutes, but again my heart drops!!! Finally I said enough with it and put the d-nice slides into the TV and have been running the slides all day. Don't see anything that resembles IR, so I think it's all good!! Sorry for the long post but jsut had to vent, my wife thinks I'm crazy!!!biggrin.gif
bstudey01 is offline  
post #10729 of 13782 Old 03-06-2013, 05:07 PM
Newbie
 
sidsuri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by maygit View Post

I have the exact same thing going on with my set and i've just kind of taken it as a normal part of the filter. I can usually only see it on a white background. I've had my set since October and it's been on for 300 hours or so (I don't use it heavily). If you follow up through panasonic or if it goes away, let me know.


Booked a service call with Panasonic last week and got a call back yesterday, they will be picking it up next week to run some checks on TV boards(no idea what that is)...
Will keep you posted.

P.S. Another disappointment with Australian VT50's you can't calibrate them mad.gif
sidsuri is offline  
post #10730 of 13782 Old 03-06-2013, 05:08 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,455
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 419 Post(s)
Liked: 879
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mactavish View Post

This is a subject that is really interesting, as recently I did a lot of "google" searching, and found a ton of opposing opinions, making it even more confusing. In an environment with some cigarette smoke, and dirty city air, water is not always enough for cleaning. In my case I wanted to remove the streaks that occurred on my previous 37" Aquos LCD HDTV. These streaks were a result of using two products that claim to be designed for both LCD and Plasma displays. One is "iKlear" (used to be sold in the Apple Stores) the other "Monster". Both act like a light polish, and you have to work fast to put it on in a circular fashion and then keep buffing until you think it is gone. While the "cleaning" effect seems to be ok at first, later when viewing the TV "off", in the proper lighting, you can always see streaks. This really bothered me, and I really wanted to remove those streaks. Using the same products again, doing small areas at a time, just keep adding streaks, could never get rid of them. Almost like an old WAX, on a car.

That's when I did more homework, and you'll find some "experts" and articles recommending things like a 50/50 homemade solution of distilled water and isopropyl alcohol, which did NOT seem like a good idea. Most manufacture's don't tell you what kind of coating they may be using, anti-glare or whatever on their screens, and using any type of alcohol, just seemed like a RISK to me!

So, I opted for some advice that I thought would be non-destructive, and that was a 50/50 solution of distilled water and white vinegar. I used this to remove all the iKlear and Monster crap on the Sharp, and it worked great. But I am certainly not sure what using this solution would do to an anti-glare coating down the road, as I'm no chemist. It did however remove all the old polish, and NO more streaks. I am NO longer going to use any polish products as I don't care for streaks, and I think it just builds up, no matter how many people say you can safely use these products, they may be safe, but they leave residual, you can see, and it's dam hard to remove.

Since I'm giving away the old Sharp, and just bought the VT50, I'm not touching it, till I need to, and of course will try distilled water first, but if and when I need to do a deeper cleaning, I'm still not sure what would be best, after water.
All those LCD screen cleaners streak. Theyre garbage. I use water and a little liquid laundry detergent. Been doing it for years and works great.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
post #10731 of 13782 Old 03-06-2013, 05:41 PM
Member
 
Metalbender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Washington state
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I just finished watching Wreck it Ralph, on my new 65" VT50 I used the setting from this thread holly color explosion batman. Wow was it eye candy.

FW 15.3 PSB, Now where did I put my beer?
Metalbender is offline  
post #10732 of 13782 Old 03-06-2013, 05:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mkerdman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 3,056
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Metalbender View Post

I just finished watching Wreck it Ralph, on my new 65" VT50 I used the setting from this thread holly color explosion batman. Wow was it eye candy.


What post number has the settings you used?

Thanks in advance.

Murray Kerdman
mkerdman is offline  
post #10733 of 13782 Old 03-06-2013, 06:04 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 12,411
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 528 Post(s)
Liked: 692
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #10734 of 13782 Old 03-06-2013, 07:33 PM
Member
 
Metalbender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Washington state
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkerdman View Post

What post number has the settings you used?

Thanks in advance.

Picture
Picture Mode: Custom
Contrast: 94
Brightness: 60 (58 for 65” models)
Color: 50
Tint: 0
Sharpness: 0
Color Temp: Normal
Photo Enhancement: Off
C.A.T.S: Off
Video NR: Off

Pro Settings
Colorspace: Normal

W/B High R: 8
W/B High G: 0
W/B High B: -23
W/B Low R: 0
W/B Low G: 0
W/B Low B: 0

10 Point W/B
10 W/B R: 7
10 W/B G: 0
10 W/B B: 17

20 W/B R: 4
20 W/B G: 0
20 W/B B: 4

30 W/B R: 5
30 W/B G: 0
30 W/B B: 5

40 W/B R: 3
40 W/B G: 0
40 W/B B: 4

50 W/B R: 1
50 W/B G: 0
50 W/B B: 3

60 W/B R: -1
60 W/B G: 0
60 W/B B: 5

70 W/B R: 0
70 W/B G: 0
70 W/B B: 5

80 W/B R: -3
80 W/B G: 0
80 W/B B: 4

90 W/B R: -3
90 W/B G: 1
90 W/B B: 6

100 W/B R: -4
100 W/B G: 0
100 W/B B: 4

10 Point Gamma
10 Gain: -22
20 Gain: -14
30 Gain: -9
40 Gain: -7
50 Gain: -4
60 Gain: -1
70 Gain: 1
80 Gain: -1
90 Gain: 0
100 Gain: 0

CMS
R-Hue:-3
R-Sat: -7
R-Lum: -6

G-Hue: 15
G-Sat: 4
G-Lum: -4

B-Hue: 1
B-Sat: 3
B-Lum: -6

Y-Hue: 4
Y-Sat: 0
Y-Lum: 3

C-Hue: -3
C-Sat: -1
C-Lum: 2

M-Hue: 0
M-Sat: 0
M-Lum: 1

Black Extension: 0
Gamma Adjustment: 2.6 (2.4 for 65” models)
Panel Brightness: Mid
Contour Emphasis: Off
AGC: 0

HDMI Settings
***Leave all settings in this menu at their default***

Advance Picture
Block NR: Off
Mosquito NR: Off
Motion Smoother: Off
Black Level: Light
3:2 PullDown: Auto

FW 15.3 PSB, Now where did I put my beer?
Metalbender is offline  
post #10735 of 13782 Old 03-06-2013, 07:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mkerdman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 3,056
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thank you sir.

Murray Kerdman
mkerdman is offline  
post #10736 of 13782 Old 03-06-2013, 07:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mkerdman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 3,056
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thank you sir.

Murray Kerdman
mkerdman is offline  
post #10737 of 13782 Old 03-06-2013, 08:54 PM
Member
 
Paul Kile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi folks,
I became the proud owner of a 55" VT50 about a month ago, and it has exceeded my expectations (my wife thinks it's too big for the room, but that's neither here nor there). I've got one issue though. I have an old MX-500 universal remote that I have always been able to use through macros to control my system. I have obtained discrete codes for on/off, the HDMI inputs, and various other functions. If I turn the set on with the ON command, after the logo goes away and the input displays in the upper corner, I can select any of the other inputs and it will change. But if I try to imbed the input command into a macro, I can't get it to function, even with programming in a 2-second delay between ON and HDMI(x). This is getting very frustrating. I've even tried configuring all the other gear within the macro and leaving the Viera input command to the very end, no dice.

Anyone run into this before, and a fix? Remember the MX-500 is only programmable with IR learning, and cannot be programmed through a PC like all the newer remotes. I seem to remember having seen a work-around buried in some obscure Wiki, but for the life of me I can't find it again. Sorry if this has already been discussed, but I couldn't find much of anything through a forum search.

Thanks in advance,
Cheers,
Paul

Cheers,
Paul Kile
Paul Kile is offline  
post #10738 of 13782 Old 03-06-2013, 09:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nabsltd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Germantown, MD, USA
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mactavish View Post

That's when I did more homework, and you'll find some "experts" and articles recommending things like a 50/50 homemade solution of distilled water and isopropyl alcohol, which did NOT seem like a good idea. Most manufacture's don't tell you what kind of coating they may be using, anti-glare or whatever on their screens, and using any type of alcohol, just seemed like a RISK to me!
Anything that you would use on a camera lens should work fine on the screen.

AFAIK, the camera lens cleaning solutions are distilled water with a tiny bit of a "wetting" agent. You could probably duplicate this with one drop of fabric softener in a quart of distilled water. But, since there's so little "anything else", distilled water alone would seem to be the best thing.
nabsltd is offline  
post #10739 of 13782 Old 03-06-2013, 11:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mo949's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3,415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 588
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Kile View Post

Hi folks,
I became the proud owner of a 55" VT50 about a month ago, and it has exceeded my expectations (my wife thinks it's too big for the room, but that's neither here nor there). I've got one issue though. I have an old MX-500 universal remote that I have always been able to use through macros to control my system. I have obtained discrete codes for on/off, the HDMI inputs, and various other functions. If I turn the set on with the ON command, after the logo goes away and the input displays in the upper corner, I can select any of the other inputs and it will change. But if I try to imbed the input command into a macro, I can't get it to function, even with programming in a 2-second delay between ON and HDMI(x). This is getting very frustrating. I've even tried configuring all the other gear within the macro and leaving the Viera input command to the very end, no dice.

Anyone run into this before, and a fix? Remember the MX-500 is only programmable with IR learning, and cannot be programmed through a PC like all the newer remotes. I seem to remember having seen a work-around buried in some obscure Wiki, but for the life of me I can't find it again. Sorry if this has already been discussed, but I couldn't find much of anything through a forum search.

Thanks in advance,
Cheers,
Paul

I recommend you look at the harmony 650 as the spiritual successor
mo949 is offline  
post #10740 of 13782 Old 03-07-2013, 01:00 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 12,411
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 528 Post(s)
Liked: 692
Everyone says that the Pioneer is the best tv made, think about this statement "The most cost effective/best tv made" is right here in this thread...........
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic , Panasonic Viera Tc P55vt50 , Plasma Hdtv , Displays , Panasonic Viera Tc P65vt50 65 Inch Plasma Tv
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off