Official Panasonic VT50 owners thread - Page 449 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13441 of 13762 Old 04-10-2014, 04:25 AM
Member
 
allan0210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: North East England
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi yes the hardware is http://www.chromapure.co.uk/details.asp?id=254&type=products

Software http://www.chromapure.co.uk/details.asp?id=246&type=products

I would utilise an old windows 7 laptop would you think that level of kit would be ok please

Allan
allan0210 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13442 of 13762 Old 04-10-2014, 04:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 519
That is a good package to start with, I use Calman but I don't think you would have any issue running Chromapure on a laptop. If you can pick up a used i1pro spectro revd or a colormunki photo to profile your I1d3 off of you would get more accurate results. You will get a good calibration with the colorimeter alone but having a spectro profile improves the accuracy or your calibration especially for CMS.

One other differentiation for Calman, you can do an auto-calibration with your VT50 that gives very good results.

I think you will find calibration to be very challenging and interesting as a hobby smile.gif
allan0210 likes this.

65VT60(Calibrated by Chad B)
55ST60(Calibrated by Chunon)
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is online now  
post #13443 of 13762 Old 04-10-2014, 04:39 AM
Member
 
allan0210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: North East England
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Fantastic thank you the dealer who I linked is going to send me more details which will be good, I understand if I buy both items he will calibrate the meter before despatch and the software licence would be specific for that device

I would maybe have a pro do the calibration but nearest here is 100 plus miles away which in the uk puts dealers off.

Thanks for fast response, brilliant

Allan
allan0210 is offline  
post #13444 of 13762 Old 04-10-2014, 04:42 AM
Member
 
allan0210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: North East England
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just thought have you a link for the calman you use please

Cheers

Allan
allan0210 is offline  
post #13445 of 13762 Old 04-10-2014, 04:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 519
For Calman you need at least the control level liscense to do the autocal:

http://store.spectracal.com/consumer/calman5-bundles/calman-5-control-with-i1-display-pro-bundle.html

65VT60(Calibrated by Chad B)
55ST60(Calibrated by Chunon)
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is online now  
post #13446 of 13762 Old 04-10-2014, 04:51 AM
Member
 
allan0210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: North East England
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thank you I will have a uk search see how much they are here smile.gif

Allan
allan0210 is offline  
post #13447 of 13762 Old 04-10-2014, 05:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,942
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 327
If you have the eye for it, the VT50 is very worthy of a calibration.
scirica and allan0210 like this.

65" VT50 / BDP-S7200
Denon AVR-4520CI
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #13448 of 13762 Old 04-10-2014, 05:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
Z-Mad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 613
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 200
As chunon said, one can, and in my opinion definitely should, get the full potential for unbelievable picture quality the VT 50 is capable of. I am a DIY'er myself. One thing I'd recommend is not to go for anything less then the xrite i1Display Pro meter. Cheaper meters will work to some extent as well, but on a TV of this caliber, they won't get you the true full benefit you could achieve on the VT50...
chunon and allan0210 like this.
Z-Mad is offline  
post #13449 of 13762 Old 04-10-2014, 08:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scirica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dallas, TX1
Posts: 1,676
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 101
I'm just so sad that my VT50 is dying after only 16 months. It is easily the best display I've ever had and now I'm at the mercy of Panasonic. I was on Chad's schedule for a calibration of the new panel later this month, and of course I had to cancel that given recent events.

McIntosh MX121. McIntosh MC205. Focal Aria 948 Main Speakers, Aria CC900 Center. Focal Electra IC 1002 In-Ceiling Surrounds. Paradigm Studio Sub 15. Oppo BDP-105D. Roku XS. Roku 3. Apple TV(3). DirecTV. Panasonic TC-P65VT50. Samsung UN40FH6030F, URC MX-780.
My current SACD list
scirica is offline  
post #13450 of 13762 Old 04-11-2014, 12:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by scirica View Post

I'm just so sad that my VT50 is dying after only 16 months. It is easily the best display I've ever had and now I'm at the mercy of Panasonic. I was on Chad's schedule for a calibration of the new panel later this month, and of course I had to cancel that given recent events.

So sorry to hear this. I hope Panasonic can get you a proper replacement. frown.gif

Looky here!
robnix is offline  
post #13451 of 13762 Old 04-11-2014, 03:21 AM
Member
 
allan0210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: North East England
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Z-Mad View Post

As chunon said, one can, and in my opinion definitely should, get the full potential for unbelievable picture quality the VT 50 is capable of. I am a DIY'er myself. One thing I'd recommend is not to go for anything less then the xrite i1Display Pro meter. Cheaper meters will work to some extent as well, but on a TV of this caliber, they won't get you the true full benefit you could achieve on the VT50...

Thanks I am still searching google for prices and software smile.gif
allan0210 is offline  
post #13452 of 13762 Old 04-11-2014, 03:22 AM
Member
 
allan0210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: North East England
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by scirica View Post

I'm just so sad that my VT50 is dying after only 16 months. It is easily the best display I've ever had and now I'm at the mercy of Panasonic. I was on Chad's schedule for a calibration of the new panel later this month, and of course I had to cancel that given recent events.

Wow that is not long hope you can sort it
allan0210 is offline  
post #13453 of 13762 Old 04-11-2014, 08:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scirica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dallas, TX1
Posts: 1,676
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by allan0210 View Post

Wow that is not long hope you can sort it
Was told today that they'll get back to us next week with an update. I'm not holding my breath.

McIntosh MX121. McIntosh MC205. Focal Aria 948 Main Speakers, Aria CC900 Center. Focal Electra IC 1002 In-Ceiling Surrounds. Paradigm Studio Sub 15. Oppo BDP-105D. Roku XS. Roku 3. Apple TV(3). DirecTV. Panasonic TC-P65VT50. Samsung UN40FH6030F, URC MX-780.
My current SACD list
scirica is offline  
post #13454 of 13762 Old 04-12-2014, 12:51 AM
Member
 
allan0210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: North East England
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by scirica View Post

Was told today that they'll get back to us next week with an update. I'm not holding my breath.

You would think that even Panasonic would accept that for an upper spec model 16 months is way less than it should be, in the uk it is meant to be fit for purpose and have a reasonable life span other than user error of course
allan0210 is offline  
post #13455 of 13762 Old 04-12-2014, 05:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
xvfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 697
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 80
I can't seem to find any information but... What is new about Firmware 1629? TV came with 1626.
xvfx is online now  
post #13456 of 13762 Old 04-13-2014, 01:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by xvfx View Post

I can't seem to find any information but... What is new about Firmware 1629? TV came with 1626.

Is this the UK firmware revision number? The US version is still 1.190.

Looky here!
robnix is offline  
post #13457 of 13762 Old 04-13-2014, 11:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
xvfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 697
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 80
It is indeed. This page was hard to find... The details are pretty vague, as bad as Samsung with new firmwares.

http://panasonic.jp/support/global/cs/tv/download/fw/europe/down_eu13.html
xvfx is online now  
post #13458 of 13762 Old 04-16-2014, 03:29 PM
Member
 
Sardaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So my 14 month old TC-P55VT50 stopped working today (out of warranty for just over 55 days). For clarification the TV works fine all the apps seem to work, but all the HDMI inputs have stopped working. I tested with a known good HDMI cable that works fine from my DVR and Xbox, but will not provide a picture on any of the HDMI ports. ARC still works out of HDMI 2, strangely enough. I spoke with Panasonic tech support and they sent me to a local authorized repair shop. While I am sure this is rare for this class of television it is obviously very disappointing. If anyone has ideas on how to fix the issue beyond calling the local repair shop please let me know. It will be interesting to see how much the repair will cost.
Sardaan is offline  
post #13459 of 13762 Old 04-16-2014, 03:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,942
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 327
Probably the A board. Not a hard fix.

65" VT50 / BDP-S7200
Denon AVR-4520CI
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #13460 of 13762 Old 04-16-2014, 05:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post

Probably the A board. Not a hard fix.

Cheap on fleabay as well.

Looky here!
robnix is offline  
post #13461 of 13762 Old 04-16-2014, 07:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
btinindy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 52
My HDMI's got zapped with a lightning event last Spring. A Board installed was $500 by the local authorized.
btinindy is offline  
post #13462 of 13762 Old 04-16-2014, 08:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by btinindy View Post

My HDMI's got zapped with a lightning event last Spring. A Board installed was $500 by the local authorized.

The boards go for as low as $50.00 if the OP is able to replace it himself.

Looky here!
robnix is offline  
post #13463 of 13762 Old 04-17-2014, 06:02 AM
Member
 
Sardaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a parts list I should reference when shopping for the board? I'm comfortable replacing it, a re there any guides on the process?
Sardaan is offline  
post #13464 of 13762 Old 04-17-2014, 07:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,942
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 327
Its a common deal, ive had one done under warranty. Im sure there are some how to's on the net.

65" VT50 / BDP-S7200
Denon AVR-4520CI
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #13465 of 13762 Old 04-17-2014, 09:22 AM
Newbie
 
Grax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, I have a vt50 and I'm trying to connect the optical out to my Sennheiser rs-180 wireless headphones through an Orei DA34 DAC which is supposed to decode Dolby, DTS and PCM streams. I have tried to change audio settings in the menu to PCM but there is no option for optical and only HDMI audio. The optical cable is lit and working. Any ideas besides having to purchase a home theater receiver?
Why is there no option in the menu for optical/toslink in audio settings or am I missing something?
Grax is offline  
post #13466 of 13762 Old 04-17-2014, 11:28 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grax View Post

Hello, I have a vt50 and I'm trying to connect the optical out to my Sennheiser rs-180 wireless headphones through an Orei DA34 DAC which is supposed to decode Dolby, DTS and PCM streams. I have tried to change audio settings in the menu to PCM but there is no option for optical and only HDMI audio. The optical cable is lit and working. Any ideas besides having to purchase a home theater receiver?
Why is there no option in the menu for optical/toslink in audio settings or am I missing something?

Go to menu/audio/advanced audio.

Change TV speakers to "off"

I had a problem getting some headphones to work through this gadget I had purchased to convert digital to analog. Problem was that it wouldn't decode DD 5.1. So it would work with Amazon and not with Netflix.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #13467 of 13762 Old 04-17-2014, 11:41 AM
Newbie
 
Grax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for your reply but that didn't do it. I'm really suspecting the dac now being faulty. I have tried it with the ps3 and ps4 to no avail either.
Grax is offline  
post #13468 of 13762 Old 04-17-2014, 11:58 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 196
Grax

Have you tried plugging it directly into your cable/satellite box?

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #13469 of 13762 Old 04-17-2014, 12:17 PM
Newbie
 
Grax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes I tried connecting through the Shaw cable box and tried both PCM and Dolby digital.
So with every possible optical out I have no sound. I have only 2 sources from which I can connect.
My 10 year only Kenwood CD player (aux cable male to male)
Roku3 (aux cable plugged into remote's headphone jack)
Nothing connected to the Orei DA34 DAC which is brand new and I have verified cables are good.
I think I'll send the DAC back for a replacement or should I look into a Gefen?
Grax is offline  
post #13470 of 13762 Old 04-17-2014, 12:25 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grax View Post

Yes I tried connecting through the Shaw cable box and tried both PCM and Dolby digital.
So with every possible optical out I have no sound. I have only 2 sources from which I can connect.
My 10 year only Kenwood CD player (aux cable male to male)
Roku3 (aux cable plugged into remote's headphone jack)
Nothing connected to the Orei DA34 DAC which is brand new and I have verified cables are good.
I think I'll send the DAC back for a replacement or should I look into a Gefen?

Can't comment on the Gefen but once you find something that works, please post about it.

I'm about to drag out an old Yamaha receiver to be able to get my headphone signal.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic , Panasonic Viera Tc P55vt50 , Plasma Hdtv , Displays , Panasonic Viera Tc P65vt50 65 Inch Plasma Tv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off