Official Panasonic VT50 owners thread - Page 452 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13531 of 13757 Old 06-07-2014, 04:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 509
"Staycation" good one lol smile.gif

65VT60(Calibrated by Chad B)
55ST60(Calibrated by Chunon)
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13532 of 13757 Old 06-09-2014, 05:33 AM
Newbie
 
RegiOween's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post
 
Quote:
I think it a lot of it has to do with the laws in various countries as to how much power a display can draw. As you probably already know, plasmas do use quite a bit more power than an LCD. So in countries where its heavily regulated, Panasonic has to use different designs in order to sell displays in that country.

Personally....I hate a dim picture and might have to go over to the dark side (LCD) if my only plasma options were dim.

On the brighter side (pun intended) it appears that the big boys are putting more R&D into LED LCDs where the picture looks somewhat better than those of the past.

 

JimP, thanks for your input. About the power consumption thing, I don't know about the laws in Europe, but I can assure that this is not the case in Brazil, since 65VT60 with panel brightness in high draws much more power than a 55VT50 with its dim panel, and as I said before, the VT60 here doesn't have the same restrictions the VT50 line does.

 

The model released here is the VT50B (B meaning British, not Brazilian), so my assumption is that we unfortunately received a model based in the british laws, and for this reason, we suffer the same restrictions. But, as this is only an assumption from my part, I don't have any official information to sustain my thinking.

RegiOween is offline  
post #13533 of 13757 Old 06-09-2014, 12:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
xvfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 690
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 74
It is crazy in the UK. So many local council were trying to get so many people to install energy saving lights. Can no longer buy 60watt lights, plus the energy saving lights are pathetic. Slow to light, murky yellows and overall dull. Energy regulations are crazy in this country.


Curious about one thing on these VT50's, do they have built in LUT or was this only on the VT60/ZT's?
xvfx is online now  
post #13534 of 13757 Old 06-09-2014, 01:33 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,822
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 472
Quote:
Originally Posted by RegiOween View Post


The model released here is the VT50B (B meaning British, not Brazilian), so my assumption is that we unfortunately received a model based in the british laws, and for this reason, we suffer the same restrictions. But, as this is only an assumption from my part, I don't have any official information to sustain my thinking.
There is no information that would indicate that Panasonic did anything other than build it's "B for British" models to meet requirements in Great Britain and probably the Common Market too.
htwaits is offline  
post #13535 of 13757 Old 06-10-2014, 04:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 509
Quote:
Originally Posted by xvfx View Post

It is crazy in the UK. So many local council were trying to get so many people to install energy saving lights. Can no longer buy 60watt lights, plus the energy saving lights are pathetic. Slow to light, murky yellows and overall dull. Energy regulations are crazy in this country.


Curious about one thing on these VT50's, do they have built in LUT or was this only on the VT60/ZT's?

The VT/ZT does not have a built in LUT not sure whre you heard that ? They have a standard 6 axis CMS

65VT60(Calibrated by Chad B)
55ST60(Calibrated by Chunon)
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is online now  
post #13536 of 13757 Old 06-10-2014, 09:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mo949's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3,319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 519
I think he's confused because someone mentioned that the VT60 must not be that good if people need 3D LUTs to calibrate it in one of the garbage threads that our new 'reporter' created. They were trying to make a point against plasma. They failed to point out all the LCD owners with 3D LUTs, among other issues with the logic but it was so ludicrous I don't think anyone bothered correcting him (not xvfx).
mo949 is offline  
post #13537 of 13757 Old 06-10-2014, 09:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 509
Quote:
Originally Posted by mo949 View Post

I think he's confused because someone mentioned that the VT60 must not be that good if people need 3D LUTs to calibrate it in one of the garbage threads that our new 'reporter' created. They were trying to make a point against plasma. They failed to point out all the LCD owners with 3D LUTs, among other issues with the logic but it was so ludicrous I don't think anyone bothered correcting him (not xvfx).

Ahhh not surpising lot of misinformation spread around here

65VT60(Calibrated by Chad B)
55ST60(Calibrated by Chunon)
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is online now  
post #13538 of 13757 Old 06-10-2014, 09:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mo949's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3,319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 519
^ agreed. The surprising part is that AVS itself seems to be the misleading source lately. I used to feel like I was in a place surrounded by sound and videophiles where the site admins could add technically to the discussion. A place where I could come and learn enough to make better decisions about my TV; its how I ended up with this vt50 even. Now I feel like I'm at a best buy with someone in the geeksquad hitting me over the head with 'information'.
mo949 is offline  
post #13539 of 13757 Old 06-10-2014, 09:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 509
Yeah the expertise level has declined alot in the last year imo

65VT60(Calibrated by Chad B)
55ST60(Calibrated by Chunon)
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is online now  
post #13540 of 13757 Old 06-10-2014, 12:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,931
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 325
Anyone that carries on about a VT50 or VT60 needing a 3D lut exposes themselves anyways...
chunon likes this.

65" VT50 / BDP-S7200
Denon AVR-4520CI
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #13541 of 13757 Old 06-11-2014, 10:39 PM
Member
 
Crudesinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Come on guys. We are trying to keep the IQ up and contribute as best we can,us guys who have only been on a year
Crudesinger is offline  
post #13542 of 13757 Old 06-12-2014, 04:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 509
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crudesinger View Post
Come on guys. We are trying to keep the IQ up and contribute as best we can,us guys who have only been on a year
Present company excluded of course

65VT60(Calibrated by Chad B)
55ST60(Calibrated by Chunon)
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is online now  
post #13543 of 13757 Old 06-16-2014, 02:36 AM
Member
 
Crudesinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hi

Just watched 12 years a slave. It's a good way to prove how good the VT50 is even if 2012 model. There is a great mix of high bright APL scenes and some low ones at night. Not too much film grain either which I like. Also I recently watched the new robocop. Also a good low film grain movie to see awesome detail on his suit. Hail the VT50
Crudesinger is offline  
post #13544 of 13757 Old 06-17-2014, 12:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
I WANT MORE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: 'Middle of Nowhere"
Posts: 1,808
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 60
1.210. New firmware.

Perhaps I misremembered.

I WANT MORE is offline  
post #13545 of 13757 Old 06-17-2014, 01:00 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by I WANT MORE View Post
1.210. New firmware.
Any idea what this one does? ....or is it another "improve system stability"

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #13546 of 13757 Old 06-17-2014, 01:01 PM
Member
 
dpeters11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post
Any idea what this one does? ....or is it another "improve system stability"
"Improvement of network functions."
dpeters11 is offline  
post #13547 of 13757 Old 06-17-2014, 01:48 PM
Member
 
en6ads's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpeters11 View Post
"Improvement of network functions."
Mine just upgraded automatically. Haven't had a chance to see what's changed, but so far so good.
en6ads is offline  
post #13548 of 13757 Old 06-18-2014, 07:07 PM
Member
 
dpeters11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I plugged mine back into the Internet and it didn't say anything about network improvement, it indicated that the peak levels were changed.
dpeters11 is offline  
post #13549 of 13757 Old 06-18-2014, 11:39 PM
TWD
AVS Special Member
 
TWD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Posts: 1,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpeters11 View Post
I plugged mine back into the Internet and it didn't say anything about network improvement, it indicated that the peak levels were changed.
What does that mean? Where did you read about the peak levels?

TWD
TWD is offline  
post #13550 of 13757 Old 06-19-2014, 12:24 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpeters11 View Post
I plugged mine back into the Internet and it didn't say anything about network improvement, it indicated that the peak levels were changed.
You sure it's 1.21?

Is yours a U.S. version?

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #13551 of 13757 Old 06-19-2014, 12:57 AM
TWD
AVS Special Member
 
TWD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Posts: 1,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 32
The Panasonic support site says network improvement. Where are you seeing peak levels?

TWD
TWD is offline  
post #13552 of 13757 Old 06-19-2014, 04:01 AM
Member
 
dpeters11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
When I went into the Software Update menu to actually start the update. I have a US VT50.
dpeters11 is offline  
post #13553 of 13757 Old 06-19-2014, 05:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
I WANT MORE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: 'Middle of Nowhere"
Posts: 1,808
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 60
I saw no such message when I updated mine.

Perhaps I misremembered.

I WANT MORE is offline  
post #13554 of 13757 Old 06-19-2014, 06:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
billmich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 1,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 33
will this update screw up my Chad B calibration that I had done back in February?
billmich is offline  
post #13555 of 13757 Old 06-19-2014, 06:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,931
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 325
IIRC, the previous one said something about peaks as well and did nothing. If you are that worried get up with chad before updating and ask him to update his GT and test it.

65" VT50 / BDP-S7200
Denon AVR-4520CI
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #13556 of 13757 Old 06-19-2014, 07:59 AM
TWD
AVS Special Member
 
TWD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Posts: 1,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 32
If you want to access network features such as netflix you are forced to upgrade.

TWD
TWD is offline  
post #13557 of 13757 Old 06-19-2014, 03:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scirica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dallas, TX1
Posts: 1,670
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by TWD View Post
If you want to access network features such as netflix you are forced to upgrade.
Now I'm at least two upgrades behind, mostly because I don't use the Viera tools and my display looks so good right now I don't want to take any chances! If it ain't broke...
xvfx likes this.

McIntosh MX121. McIntosh MC205. Focal Aria 948 Main Speakers, Aria CC900 Center. Focal Electra IC 1002 In-Ceiling Surrounds. Paradigm Studio Sub 15. Oppo BDP-105D. Roku XS. Roku 3. Apple TV(3). DirecTV. Panasonic TC-P65VT50. Samsung UN40FH6030F, URC MX-780.
My current SACD list
scirica is offline  
post #13558 of 13757 Old 06-19-2014, 06:53 PM
TWD
AVS Special Member
 
TWD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Posts: 1,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by scirica View Post
Now I'm at least two upgrades behind, mostly because I don't use the Viera tools and my display looks so good right now I don't want to take any chances! If it ain't broke...
I don't blame you. If they have another upgrade, I think I will get a Roku and blow off the Viera connect.

TWD
TWD is offline  
post #13559 of 13757 Old 06-20-2014, 04:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
I WANT MORE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: 'Middle of Nowhere"
Posts: 1,808
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 60
My set is Chad B. calibrated and I did not notice any difference with this or the last upgrade. Albeit it is with my Neked eyes.

Perhaps I misremembered.

I WANT MORE is offline  
post #13560 of 13757 Old 06-20-2014, 03:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scirica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dallas, TX1
Posts: 1,670
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by I WANT MORE View Post
My set is Chad B. calibrated and I did not notice any difference with this or the last upgrade. Albeit it is with my Neked eyes.
I wouldn't expect to see any picture differences, but I've had such a saga with this set I'm not pressing my luck!

McIntosh MX121. McIntosh MC205. Focal Aria 948 Main Speakers, Aria CC900 Center. Focal Electra IC 1002 In-Ceiling Surrounds. Paradigm Studio Sub 15. Oppo BDP-105D. Roku XS. Roku 3. Apple TV(3). DirecTV. Panasonic TC-P65VT50. Samsung UN40FH6030F, URC MX-780.
My current SACD list
scirica is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic , Panasonic Viera Tc P55vt50 , Plasma Hdtv , Displays , Panasonic Viera Tc P65vt50 65 Inch Plasma Tv
Gear in this thread - P55vt50 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off