Official Panasonic VT50 owners thread - Page 453 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 33Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13561 of 13782 Old 06-20-2014, 07:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
xvfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by scirica View Post
Now I'm at least two upgrades behind, mostly because I don't use the Viera tools and my display looks so good right now I don't want to take any chances! If it ain't broke...
Quote:
Originally Posted by TWD View Post
I don't blame you. If they have another upgrade, I think I will get a Roku and blow off the Viera connect.
I don't know what the equivalent is for the US version number but it's another reason why I keep the TV disconnected just in case. The Blu-Ray player has all the smart features.

The TV came with 1.626. Yet it's not listed.

http://panasonic.jp/support/global/c...down_eu13.html
xvfx is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13562 of 13782 Old 06-20-2014, 09:48 PM
Member
 
THeCozen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thumbs down

Quote:
Originally Posted by dpeters11 View Post
I plugged mine back into the Internet and it didn't say anything about network improvement, it indicated that the peak levels were changed.
My network update screen says "VT50 PEAKS" as well. Anyone have a clue what this does? I'm connected via wi-fi but have not automatically updated yet.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	111.9 KB
ID:	129057  

Panasonic 55VT50
Yamaha RX-V473
Energy Take Classic 5.1
Sony BDP-S590
ROKU 2XS
TiVo Roamio Basic
Mohu Curve 30
THeCozen1 is offline  
post #13563 of 13782 Old 06-21-2014, 03:45 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by I WANT MORE View Post
My set is Chad B. calibrated and I did not notice any difference with this or the last upgrade. Albeit it is with my Neked eyes.
Just my opinion but I wouldn't trust my "neked" eyes. Changes can be so subtle that errors won't jump out at you. You'll just get a sense over time that something isn't quite right.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #13564 of 13782 Old 06-21-2014, 05:01 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
DSperber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA, USA
Posts: 5,446
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by scirica View Post
Now I'm at least two upgrades behind, mostly because I don't use the Viera tools and my display looks so good right now I don't want to take any chances! If it ain't broke...
Ditto.

Last applied a firmware upgrade back in January 2013 after I bought my 65VT50. Had the set calibrated by D-Nice in April 2013, and haven't wanted to make a single adjustment since then.

I don't use Viera tools, as whatever little Netflix streaming I do is via my Oppo 103.

Perfection of image, just as it is right now. That is 100% of what I care about. No need to touch it, or even take a chance affecting it.

If it ain't broke and it's 100% perfect...
easyjacks likes this.
DSperber is offline  
post #13565 of 13782 Old 06-21-2014, 09:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
billmich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 1,450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 33
If you really care about the perfection of quality, you should bring back your calibrator every 2 years
Things drift over time
I WANT MORE likes this.
billmich is offline  
post #13566 of 13782 Old 06-21-2014, 10:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,995
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 352
I personally recommend 1 year on a plasma, depending on hours. Chad does mine every 6 months (700 hours roughly) and it is close to de 3 at that point. Since I do not go to theater any more, money well spent for the HT experience. Plus the touchups are cheap.
scirica likes this.

65" VT50 / BDP-S7200
Denon AVR-4520CI
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #13567 of 13782 Old 06-21-2014, 01:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
billmich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 1,450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
I personally recommend 1 year on a plasma, depending on hours. Chad does mine every 6 months (700 hours roughly) and it is close to de 3 at that point. Since I do not go to theater any more, money well spent for the HT experience. Plus the touchups are cheap.
Proves my point even more, you don't just "set it and forget it"
billmich is offline  
post #13568 of 13782 Old 06-23-2014, 10:41 AM
Newbie
 
jhbball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey all,

I'm having some new issues with Panasonic TC-P65VT50. I have the December 2012 model. As of last night, each of the 4 HDMI ports will not display a signal (no signal detected, or a similar message). I was watching the soccer game on my Chromecast, then the picture began to distort, and went "black" shortly after and displayed the 'no signal' message. I powered off the TV, tried each or the HDMI ports, unplugged all other HDMI devices, but I can't seem to get any of the ports to work. The VGA/Antenna inputs still seem to work fine.

I'm guessing one of the boards went bad, my guess was the "main board". I believe the model number is "TNPH0988 1A". Does this sound like the right part to replace, based on my description above? Any tips on opening this TV and replacing this board? Unfortunately, the TV is out of warranty.

Thanks!
jhbball is offline  
post #13569 of 13782 Old 06-23-2014, 10:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,995
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 352
Board replacement is not hard, part can be found online easily once you diagnose the proper board. The back removes easily and so do the boards. I'd replace it with the tv on the stand, not face down.

65" VT50 / BDP-S7200
Denon AVR-4520CI
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #13570 of 13782 Old 06-23-2014, 11:43 AM
Newbie
 
jhbball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
Board replacement is not hard, part can be found online easily once you diagnose the proper board. The back removes easily and so do the boards. I'd replace it with the tv on the stand, not face down.
Thanks for your response. So the "main board" sounds like it might be the culprit then? I was planning on opening it up to verify the actual part number this weekend.
jhbball is offline  
post #13571 of 13782 Old 06-23-2014, 11:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,995
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 352
Not sure, when my HDMI ports acted up on a 2008 model it was the "A" board.

http://www.searspartsdirect.com/part...&prst=&shdMod=

65" VT50 / BDP-S7200
Denon AVR-4520CI
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #13572 of 13782 Old 06-23-2014, 11:55 AM
Newbie
 
jhbball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
Not sure, when my HDMI ports acted up on a 2008 model it was the "A" board.

http://www.searspartsdirect.com/part...&prst=&shdMod=
Thanks for posting this. Looks like I'm looking in the right place.
jhbball is offline  
post #13573 of 13782 Old 06-23-2014, 07:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhbball View Post
Thanks for posting this. Looks like I'm looking in the right place.
Ebay typically has the HDMI board for 100.00-150.00

Looky here!
robnix is offline  
post #13574 of 13782 Old 06-24-2014, 02:48 PM
Member
 
Terry Newton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Panasonic TCP65VT50 and I cannot see the Computer connection,but I can get my hand on it.Is it a female VGA? If not then what is it? Thank you.
Terry Newton is offline  
post #13575 of 13782 Old 06-25-2014, 07:12 AM
Senior Member
 
magnusr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I got a question to all you experts I have a 65 inch VT50

I have a computer connected using a hdmi cable to this tv. Windows 8 with ATI 280x and latest 14.6 driver.

Is the correct settings:
ATI CCC: pixel format: RGB 4:4:4 (Limited RGB)
ATI CCC: Video: Dymanic range not selected
LAV Video Decoder: RGB output leves: untouched
madvr: RGB output leves: TV levels (16-235)

thx in advance

AMP: Hegel H100, DAC: Arcam rDAC, Speakers: Tannoy Revolution Signature DC6T, TV: LG Oled 55EC930V (US: 5EC9300), HTPC: ATI 280x, Windows 8.1 with blu-ray
magnusr is offline  
post #13576 of 13782 Old 06-28-2014, 01:34 PM
Senior Member
 
PINKTULIPS7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 13
New firmware and Netflix?????

After update to new Firmware 1.20 Netflix SuperHD showing or playing at 720P HD instead of 1080P HD!!!!!!!!

Panasonic TC-P55VT50
HARMAN KARDON AVR 7300
L & R :> POLK RTI A9 500 W
PARASOUND HALO A21 250 W
EMOTIVA UPA-1 200 W
POLK CSI A6 200 W
POLK RTi A3 150 W
POLK F/XI A6 150 W
Panasonic DMP-BDT 500
PANAMAX M5400-EX
SVS PCI12 ULTRA 525 W

Last edited by PINKTULIPS7; 06-28-2014 at 02:12 PM.
PINKTULIPS7 is offline  
post #13577 of 13782 Old 06-28-2014, 01:35 PM
Senior Member
 
PINKTULIPS7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terry Newton View Post
I have a Panasonic TCP65VT50 and I cannot see the Computer connection,but I can get my hand on it.Is it a female VGA? If not then what is it? Thank you.
Use any HDMI port

Panasonic TC-P55VT50
HARMAN KARDON AVR 7300
L & R :> POLK RTI A9 500 W
PARASOUND HALO A21 250 W
EMOTIVA UPA-1 200 W
POLK CSI A6 200 W
POLK RTi A3 150 W
POLK F/XI A6 150 W
Panasonic DMP-BDT 500
PANAMAX M5400-EX
SVS PCI12 ULTRA 525 W
PINKTULIPS7 is offline  
post #13578 of 13782 Old 06-28-2014, 03:31 PM
Member
 
Terry Newton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PINKTULIPS7 View Post
Use any HDMI port
I am aware of that option but that was not my question.Thank you for your answer.
Terry Newton is offline  
post #13579 of 13782 Old 06-28-2014, 04:28 PM
Senior Member
 
PINKTULIPS7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terry Newton View Post
I am aware of that option but that was not my question.Thank you for your answer.
Then anewer to your question Female VGA!!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	173.0 KB
ID:	140378  

Panasonic TC-P55VT50
HARMAN KARDON AVR 7300
L & R :> POLK RTI A9 500 W
PARASOUND HALO A21 250 W
EMOTIVA UPA-1 200 W
POLK CSI A6 200 W
POLK RTi A3 150 W
POLK F/XI A6 150 W
Panasonic DMP-BDT 500
PANAMAX M5400-EX
SVS PCI12 ULTRA 525 W
PINKTULIPS7 is offline  
post #13580 of 13782 Old 06-28-2014, 04:31 PM
Member
 
highwire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: North of Ogdensburg, NY
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by PINKTULIPS7 View Post
After update to new Firmware 1.20 Netflix SuperHD showing or playing at 720P HD instead of 1080P HD!!!!!!!!
GT50 with new S/W version 1.210 has the same issue. 720p only now whereas before it was always 1080p.
highwire is offline  
post #13581 of 13782 Old 06-28-2014, 04:39 PM
Senior Member
 
PINKTULIPS7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Angry

Quote:
Originally Posted by highwire View Post
GT50 with new S/W version 1.210 has the same issue. 720p only now whereas before it was always 1080p.
Thx for reply,Panasonic went backword with this new firmware!!!I have tested with Netgear R7000(AC1900) Router and Netgear 3800 Router but same result...............

Panasonic TC-P55VT50
HARMAN KARDON AVR 7300
L & R :> POLK RTI A9 500 W
PARASOUND HALO A21 250 W
EMOTIVA UPA-1 200 W
POLK CSI A6 200 W
POLK RTi A3 150 W
POLK F/XI A6 150 W
Panasonic DMP-BDT 500
PANAMAX M5400-EX
SVS PCI12 ULTRA 525 W
PINKTULIPS7 is offline  
post #13582 of 13782 Old 06-28-2014, 04:46 PM
Member
 
Terry Newton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PINKTULIPS7 View Post
Then anewer to your question Female VGA!!!
Thank you.
Terry Newton is offline  
post #13583 of 13782 Old 06-28-2014, 04:52 PM
Member
 
highwire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: North of Ogdensburg, NY
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by PINKTULIPS7 View Post
Thx for reply,Panasonic went backword with this new firmware!!!I have tested with Netgear R7000(AC1900) Router and Netgear 3800 Router but same result...............
I did a bunch of troubleshooting myself. I have three other devices on my network that continue to do 1080p Netflix just fine. I reset the Netflix app and reset the TV, but there was no change. Instead of maxing out at 5800Mbps 1080p as before, it now just stops at 3000Mbps 720p.

There's a test video you can try - search for "Example Short 23.976".
highwire is offline  
post #13584 of 13782 Old 06-28-2014, 08:37 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
DSperber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA, USA
Posts: 5,446
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by highwire View Post
I did a bunch of troubleshooting myself. I have three other devices on my network that continue to do 1080p Netflix just fine. I reset the Netflix app and reset the TV, but there was no change. Instead of maxing out at 5800Mbps 1080p as before, it now just stops at 3000Mbps 720p.
Apparently, this is a Netflix-imposed limitation in the Netflix apps they provide to hardware vendors for implementation in "smart" devices.

I have an Oppo BDP-103, and the Netflix app in that player absolutely supports 1080p SuperHD. In fact, the "info" button on the 103's remote displays that exact source resolution information onscreen when playing such a stream.

In contrast, the Netflix app on the Oppo BDP-93 has been "throttled" to the 720p limit as you're seeing on the VT50 from the new firmware. This apparently is a limitation from Netflix, based on the hardware involved. Doesn't matter that my network can obviously support the 1080p SuperHD stream (which DOES appear through my Oppo 103)... watching Netflix via my Oppo 93 only plays at 720p. I've thus stopped watching Netflix through the 93, and only watch it through the 103.

Personally, I have Smart Viera Tools disabled on my 65VT50 and have never used Netflix streaming from it. I've also not updated firmware on my 65VT50 since right after originally acquiring it in January 2013, and prior to getting it calibrated by D-Nice a few months later. I've always used the Netflix app on the 93 and 103 (but now only on the 103), because 1080p SuperHD is important to me.
DSperber is offline  
post #13585 of 13782 Old 06-29-2014, 05:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSperber View Post
Apparently, this is a Netflix-imposed limitation in the Netflix apps they provide to hardware vendors for implementation in "smart" devices.

I have an Oppo BDP-103, and the Netflix app in that player absolutely supports 1080p SuperHD. In fact, the "info" button on the 103's remote displays that exact source resolution information onscreen when playing such a stream.

In contrast, the Netflix app on the Oppo BDP-93 has been "throttled" to the 720p limit as you're seeing on the VT50 from the new firmware. This apparently is a limitation from Netflix, based on the hardware involved. Doesn't matter that my network can obviously support the 1080p SuperHD stream (which DOES appear through my Oppo 103)... watching Netflix via my Oppo 93 only plays at 720p. I've thus stopped watching Netflix through the 93, and only watch it through the 103.

Personally, I have Smart Viera Tools disabled on my 65VT50 and have never used Netflix streaming from it. I've also not updated firmware on my 65VT50 since right after originally acquiring it in January 2013, and prior to getting it calibrated by D-Nice a few months later. I've always used the Netflix app on the 93 and 103 (but now only on the 103), because 1080p SuperHD is important to me.

If that's truly the case, isn't it just a matter of time before your other devices get throttled back?


I do use the Vierra App to get Netflix and find it incredible that Panasonic would cripple it.
Guess Netflix doesn't want to pay for extra bandwidth.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #13586 of 13782 Old 06-29-2014, 06:26 AM
Senior Member
 
PINKTULIPS7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by DSperber View Post
Apparently, this is a Netflix-imposed limitation in the Netflix apps they provide to hardware vendors for implementation in "smart" devices.

I have an Oppo BDP-103, and the Netflix app in that player absolutely supports 1080p SuperHD. In fact, the "info" button on the 103's remote displays that exact source resolution information onscreen when playing such a stream.

In contrast, the Netflix app on the Oppo BDP-93 has been "throttled" to the 720p limit as you're seeing on the VT50 from the new firmware. This apparently is a limitation from Netflix, based on the hardware involved. Doesn't matter that my network can obviously support the 1080p SuperHD stream (which DOES appear through my Oppo 103)... watching Netflix via my Oppo 93 only plays at 720p. I've thus stopped watching Netflix through the 93, and only watch it through the 103.

Personally, I have Smart Viera Tools disabled on my 65VT50 and have never used Netflix streaming from it. I've also not updated firmware on my 65VT50 since right after originally acquiring it in January 2013, and prior to getting it calibrated by D-Nice a few months later. I've always used the Netflix app on the 93 and 103 (but now only on the 103), because 1080p SuperHD is important to me.
Otherway you are saying Panasonic all the sudden put a cap on VT-50 so its nolonger support 1080P HD which doesn't make any sense to me!!!Panasoninc VT-50 was playing Super HD 1080P since Netflix start streaming SuperHD!!!

Panasonic TC-P55VT50
HARMAN KARDON AVR 7300
L & R :> POLK RTI A9 500 W
PARASOUND HALO A21 250 W
EMOTIVA UPA-1 200 W
POLK CSI A6 200 W
POLK RTi A3 150 W
POLK F/XI A6 150 W
Panasonic DMP-BDT 500
PANAMAX M5400-EX
SVS PCI12 ULTRA 525 W
PINKTULIPS7 is offline  
post #13587 of 13782 Old 06-29-2014, 07:19 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
DSperber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA, USA
Posts: 5,446
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by PINKTULIPS7 View Post
Otherway you are saying Panasonic all the sudden put a cap on VT-50 so its no longer support 1080P HD which doesn't make any sense to me!!!Panasonic VT-50 was playing Super HD 1080P since Netflix start streaming SuperHD!!!
I honestly don't know that there was any change in the Netflix app present on the VT50. I don't personally use it. I'm simply speculating based on the report posted here that since the firmware upgrade only 720p is being received. I can't confirm that, and I really don't know that this isn't because of some other issue.

But if it's related to the Netflix app then I simply mention it is almost certainly coming from Netflix, not from Panasonic. It's Netflix which provides the software, and sets the hardware rules for what speed the app can present at. Again, I point to the Oppo situation where the 93 Netflix app is absolutely limited to 720p whereas the 103's Netflix app supports 1080p SuperHD. Why wouldn't Oppo provide max speed for both players if they could and if it were their own software?

I certainly hope I'm not speaking complete fiction here, but I do know the story about the Netflix app on Oppo players. So I'm simply speculating there may have been a related story with the latest Panny firmware for the VT50.

It would be helpful if some other users of Netflix streaming on their own VT50 with new firmware could confirm or deny the 720p-limit report.

Is it possible to contact Netflix "customer service" or Panasonic for confirmation? Else this is really just speculation.
DSperber is offline  
post #13588 of 13782 Old 06-29-2014, 09:38 AM
Senior Member
 
PINKTULIPS7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by DSperber View Post
I honestly don't know that there was any change in the Netflix app present on the VT50. I don't personally use it. I'm simply speculating based on the report posted here that since the firmware upgrade only 720p is being received. I can't confirm that, and I really don't know that this isn't because of some other issue.

But if it's related to the Netflix app then I simply mention it is almost certainly coming from Netflix, not from Panasonic. It's Netflix which provides the software, and sets the hardware rules for what speed the app can present at. Again, I point to the Oppo situation where the 93 Netflix app is absolutely limited to 720p whereas the 103's Netflix app supports 1080p SuperHD. Why wouldn't Oppo provide max speed for both players if they could and if it were their own software?

I certainly hope I'm not speaking complete fiction here, but I do know the story about the Netflix app on Oppo players. So I'm simply speculating there may have been a related story with the latest Panny firmware for the VT50.

It would be helpful if some other users of Netflix streaming on their own VT50 with new firmware could confirm or deny the 720p-limit report.

Is it possible to contact Netflix "customer service" or Panasonic for confirmation? Else this is really just speculation.
Netflix APPS doesn't have any hardware ID setting that controled by Panasonic but ISP can put a Cap on bandwidth!!!This is not the case here...........I am able to play Netflix SuperHD 1080P through my Panasonic DMP-BDT500 and also Samsung Player so I believe its a software/firmware problem in the APP whichone created by Panasonic

Panasonic TC-P55VT50
HARMAN KARDON AVR 7300
L & R :> POLK RTI A9 500 W
PARASOUND HALO A21 250 W
EMOTIVA UPA-1 200 W
POLK CSI A6 200 W
POLK RTi A3 150 W
POLK F/XI A6 150 W
Panasonic DMP-BDT 500
PANAMAX M5400-EX
SVS PCI12 ULTRA 525 W

Last edited by PINKTULIPS7; 06-29-2014 at 11:50 AM.
PINKTULIPS7 is offline  
post #13589 of 13782 Old 06-29-2014, 09:43 AM
Senior Member
 
PINKTULIPS7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSperber View Post
I honestly don't know that there was any change in the Netflix app present on the VT50. I don't personally use it. I'm simply speculating based on the report posted here that since the firmware upgrade only 720p is being received. I can't confirm that, and I really don't know that this isn't because of some other issue.

But if it's related to the Netflix app then I simply mention it is almost certainly coming from Netflix, not from Panasonic. It's Netflix which provides the software, and sets the hardware rules for what speed the app can present at. Again, I point to the Oppo situation where the 93 Netflix app is absolutely limited to 720p whereas the 103's Netflix app supports 1080p SuperHD. Why wouldn't Oppo provide max speed for both players if they could and if it were their own software?

I certainly hope I'm not speaking complete fiction here, but I do know the story about the Netflix app on Oppo players. So I'm simply speculating there may have been a related story with the latest Panny firmware for the VT50.

It would be helpful if some other users of Netflix streaming on their own VT50 with new firmware could confirm or deny the 720p-limit report.

Is it possible to contact Netflix "customer service" or Panasonic for confirmation? Else this is really just speculation.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post
If that's truly the case, isn't it just a matter of time before your other devices get throttled back?


I do use the Vierra App to get Netflix and find it incredible that Panasonic would cripple it.
Guess Netflix doesn't want to pay for extra bandwidth.
Netflix do pay for extra bandwidth to ISP but Panasonic has nothing to do with it!!!!!!!!!example if your ISP provide 10/1 Mbps you should able to play 1080P HD

Panasonic TC-P55VT50
HARMAN KARDON AVR 7300
L & R :> POLK RTI A9 500 W
PARASOUND HALO A21 250 W
EMOTIVA UPA-1 200 W
POLK CSI A6 200 W
POLK RTi A3 150 W
POLK F/XI A6 150 W
Panasonic DMP-BDT 500
PANAMAX M5400-EX
SVS PCI12 ULTRA 525 W
PINKTULIPS7 is offline  
post #13590 of 13782 Old 06-29-2014, 02:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
xvfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Is this a Netflix term, SuperHD?
xvfx is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic , Panasonic Viera Tc P55vt50 , Plasma Hdtv , Displays , Panasonic Viera Tc P65vt50 65 Inch Plasma Tv
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off