Official Panasonic VT50 owners thread - Page 457 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13681 of 13696 Old 08-02-2014, 08:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,807
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iron Mike View Post
can you post a CIE chart (showing at least the 3 primaries) of your set ?

which cal sw and meter are u using ? is your active meter profiled to a spectro ?

- M
Mine


65" VT50 / BDT460
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13682 of 13696 Old 08-02-2014, 12:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
Iron Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 791
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
Mine
yours is under-saturated as well...

CIE uv is the best way to display this...

here's one VT50 pre-profile...



here's another VT50 pre-profile...



- M
Attached Images
File Type: png VT50 - 2012.12.27 - CIE_uv.png (34.5 KB, 199 views)
File Type: png VT50 - 2014.03.15 - CIE_uv.png (34.7 KB, 199 views)

calibration & profiling solutions: Lightspace, Spaceman, Calman, Argyll, ColorNavigator, basICColor
profiling & calibration workflow tools: Display Calibration Tools
meter: Klein K-10 A, i1Pro, i1D3
AVS thread: Lightspace & Custom Color Patch Set & Gamma Calibration on Panasonic 65VT60
Iron Mike is offline  
post #13683 of 13696 Old 08-02-2014, 01:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Yep, and his red CIE primary is not that good.

btw, its not Chad's fault using the tools he had available at the time of the calibration. Its just the way the VT50's are when doing a standard calibration..

ss
sillysally is offline  
post #13684 of 13696 Old 08-02-2014, 01:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,807
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 305
Tell me something I dont know. I just posted it so certain folks could start posting in here again trying to sell us all LUT boxes we dont need. It's always fun when that crops back up every 3-5 months. It's like taking candy from a baby with SillySally.



The problem with some of you write posts in a manner assuming other people do not understand or know as much as you. I've done my own cals, as well as dealing with Chad and Gregg. I know exactly what the VT50 can do.

65" VT50 / BDT460
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #13685 of 13696 Old 08-02-2014, 01:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
Iron Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 791
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
Tell me something I dont know. I just posted it so certain folks could start posting in here again trying to sell us all LUT boxes we dont need. It's always fun when that crops back up every 3-5 months.
:sarcasm
no LUT box can fix under-saturation on a primary...

calibration & profiling solutions: Lightspace, Spaceman, Calman, Argyll, ColorNavigator, basICColor
profiling & calibration workflow tools: Display Calibration Tools
meter: Klein K-10 A, i1Pro, i1D3
AVS thread: Lightspace & Custom Color Patch Set & Gamma Calibration on Panasonic 65VT60
Iron Mike is offline  
post #13686 of 13696 Old 08-02-2014, 01:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,807
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iron Mike View Post
no LUT box can fix under-saturation on a primary...
I dont care really what it fixes! I know I dont need one so Im not even concerned with it.

65" VT50 / BDT460
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #13687 of 13696 Old 08-02-2014, 01:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iron Mike View Post
no LUT box can fix under-saturation on a primary...
Yes Mike you are correct, but I did find that it helped.

Actually you don't need a LUT box, if you want to setup a HTPC.

ss
sillysally is offline  
post #13688 of 13696 Old 08-02-2014, 02:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
Iron Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 791
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
I dont care really what it fixes! I know I dont need one so Im not even concerned with it.
you seem to be suffering from a case of extreme 3D LUT allergy ! maybe your 6pt calibration doctor put u onto the wrong meds !? THESE CHARLATANS !

I recommend: 3D LUT shock therapy
sillysally likes this.

calibration & profiling solutions: Lightspace, Spaceman, Calman, Argyll, ColorNavigator, basICColor
profiling & calibration workflow tools: Display Calibration Tools
meter: Klein K-10 A, i1Pro, i1D3
AVS thread: Lightspace & Custom Color Patch Set & Gamma Calibration on Panasonic 65VT60
Iron Mike is offline  
post #13689 of 13696 Old 08-02-2014, 02:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Just for the record.

I don't sell LUT boxes or anything for that matter. Nor have I ever charged anything for doing a calibration.
.
You can even get all the software needed for HTPC and 3DLUT's for free.

However you want to commit to learning how to uses these free tools before you buy a color meter.
Other wise you end up quitting and selling the meter/s at a loss, and hire someone to do it for you.

If you are interested In becoming a DYI, I know gadgtfreek seems to have given up on learning how to calibrate and is selling his meter here on AVS. However beware, that meter is licensed for use with CromaPure software, and that software isn't free. So for a little more you can get a new D3 basic, if you look for the sales.

In my case I use a eecolor box and have LS, CM and Argyll software.
Also tools like DCT, Teds disc, Lumagen 2041, Jeti 1211, Klein K10-A.

ss
Iron Mike likes this.

Last edited by sillysally; 08-02-2014 at 02:41 PM.
sillysally is offline  
post #13690 of 13696 Old 08-02-2014, 04:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
xvfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iron Mike View Post
yeah, that's probably it... i1D3 is inaccurate w/o ref offset, yours seems to have a blue push...
Hmm, how far out is it?
xvfx is offline  
post #13691 of 13696 Old 08-03-2014, 12:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
Iron Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 791
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by xvfx View Post
Hmm, how far out is it?
impossible to tell w/o actually measuring ur screen, but as a start compare ur CIE uv chart with the charts posted above...

calibration & profiling solutions: Lightspace, Spaceman, Calman, Argyll, ColorNavigator, basICColor
profiling & calibration workflow tools: Display Calibration Tools
meter: Klein K-10 A, i1Pro, i1D3
AVS thread: Lightspace & Custom Color Patch Set & Gamma Calibration on Panasonic 65VT60
Iron Mike is offline  
post #13692 of 13696 Old 08-04-2014, 10:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
xvfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iron Mike View Post
as a start compare ur CIE uv chart with the charts posted above...
So it is. It didn't look this bad from the regular CIE view. Though in the past if I pushed 100% out, 25/50/75 didn't line up. Same with red.

Red saturation -14, Blue -5.

So why did UK review sites give it the reference status/badge… AVForums was one of them.
Attached Images
File Type: png cieuv.png (176.7 KB, 14 views)

Last edited by xvfx; 08-07-2014 at 02:54 PM.
xvfx is offline  
post #13693 of 13696 Old 08-07-2014, 11:44 AM
Newbie
 
Mulla711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
SC Board

Looking for a sc board for my Panasonic TP-P55GT30 part number TXNSC1NVUU hopefully new.
Mulla711 is offline  
post #13694 of 13696 Old 08-07-2014, 06:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,668
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mulla711 View Post
Looking for a sc board for my Panasonic TP-P55GT30 part number TXNSC1NVUU hopefully new.
There are repair services available on Ebay that will fix the board for under $100.00.
mo949 likes this.

Looky here!
robnix is online now  
post #13695 of 13696 Old 08-11-2014, 06:25 PM
Newbie
 
avagadro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Trouble finding A Board for VT50

Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
Probably the A board. Not a hard fix.
Any words of wisdom on locating parts for my VT50? I need the A Board replaced on my 65" VT50. (HDMI inputs are all hosed) The local repair shops I've spoken with have all indicated this part is on backorder and nobody seems to know when it will become available.

Seeing lots of info on the web as I search for parts about how sub-par Panasonic repair and customer service experience is. It's quite a shame for Panasonic. As a consumer, I expected a bit more help from Panasonic after such a large purchase.

Cheers!
avagadro is offline  
post #13696 of 13696 Old 08-11-2014, 06:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,668
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by avagadro View Post
Any words of wisdom on locating parts for my VT50? I need the A Board replaced on my 65" VT50. (HDMI inputs are all hosed) The local repair shops I've spoken with have all indicated this part is on backorder and nobody seems to know when it will become available.

Seeing lots of info on the web as I search for parts about how sub-par Panasonic repair and customer service experience is. It's quite a shame for Panasonic. As a consumer, I expected a bit more help from Panasonic after such a large purchase.

Cheers!
I'll keep saying this. EBAY is your best place for parts.

Looky here!
robnix is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic , Panasonic Viera Tc P55vt50 , Plasma Hdtv , Displays , Panasonic Viera Tc P65vt50 65 Inch Plasma Tv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off