Official Panasonic VT50 owners thread - Page 459 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13741 of 13762 Old 09-25-2014, 07:04 AM
Member
 
dpeters11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm looking into all my systems and whether they are vulnerable to the Shellshock vulnerability. I know that the real world exposure may be limited but I like to at least know.

Does anyone know if the VT50 runs Linux with Bash?
dpeters11 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13742 of 13762 Old 09-25-2014, 01:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
xvfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 697
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 80
TV's don't have operating systems.
xvfx is online now  
post #13743 of 13762 Old 09-25-2014, 04:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whipit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SGF
Posts: 1,455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by xvfx View Post
TV's don't have operating systems.
Sure they do...

http://www.chipworks.com/en/technica...nd-processors/
whipit is offline  
post #13744 of 13762 Old 09-25-2014, 09:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by xvfx View Post
TV's don't have operating systems.
LG is running WebOS now.

http://www.lg.com/us/experience-tvs/...|b|49675188427

Looky here!
robnix is online now  
post #13745 of 13762 Old 09-26-2014, 07:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
xvfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 697
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 80
They aren't web servers. The problems with apachi software/legacy scripts.
xvfx is online now  
post #13746 of 13762 Old 09-27-2014, 11:58 AM
Newbie
 
shep151's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Any opinions on a P55VT50 for $1250 with 3 years of geek squad warranty left? Good deal, too high?
shep151 is offline  
post #13747 of 13762 Old 09-27-2014, 07:48 PM
Member
 
dpeters11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Considering at least some Samsung models have a web server *though not Apache) based on what I've read, it's not totally off the wall.
dpeters11 is offline  
post #13748 of 13762 Old 09-27-2014, 08:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by shep151 View Post
Any opinions on a P55VT50 for $1250 with 3 years of geek squad warranty left? Good deal, too high?
Good deal AFAIC, I'm about to put by 65VT50 up for sale for $2000.00

Looky here!
robnix is online now  
post #13749 of 13762 Old 09-27-2014, 08:31 PM
Newbie
 
shep151's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by robnix View Post
Good deal AFAIC, I'm about to put by 65VT50 up for sale for $2000.00
I picked it up tonight, very happy so far.
shep151 is offline  
post #13750 of 13762 Old 09-29-2014, 05:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 519
Quote:
Originally Posted by robnix View Post
Good deal AFAIC, I'm about to put by 65VT50 up for sale for $2000.00
Moving to OLED ?

65VT60(Calibrated by Chad B)
55ST60(Calibrated by Chunon)
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #13751 of 13762 Old 09-29-2014, 06:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
Moving to OLED ?
Projector. Sony HWL-55 and a 96" screen. Panny blacks are still better, but the Sony still has an amazing out of the box all around image and better 3D and motion handling. The image is so good I haven't even bothered getting out the meter and calibrating it yet.

Looky here!
robnix is online now  
post #13752 of 13762 Old 09-29-2014, 06:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 519
Wow very nice ! Congrats

65VT60(Calibrated by Chad B)
55ST60(Calibrated by Chunon)
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #13753 of 13762 Old 09-29-2014, 06:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
Wow very nice ! Congrats
Thanks, I'm really enjoying it so far.

Looky here!
robnix is online now  
post #13754 of 13762 Old 10-03-2014, 04:23 PM
Senior Member
 
JimL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Johnstown, PA
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Internet Speed Connection

A curiosity question. I have a 75 Mbps Internet speed connection and my VT50 is connected directly to the router via Ethernet cable. There are also two computers connected to this same router both showing connection speeds in the mid 70's. (Router input 1 & 2 each computer, input 3 TV)

The other day I got a message on the screen when watching the Amazon Instant Video App the connection speed wouldn't do HD -video will be lower resolution - my immediate reaction was WT* - stopped playback exited VIERA Connect and reconnected which all was then fine.

I decided to try the web browser app and check the speed with the same website I use on the computer - setting TV to Ethernet then wireless for the tests. Both Ethernet and wireless connections only showed 21-22 Mbps speeds with mulitple tests.

Is the TV limited to a maximum speed? Has anyone else ever checked their Internet speed via the Web Browser App?
JimL is offline  
post #13755 of 13762 Old 10-06-2014, 08:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
billmich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 1,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 33
I am having an issue with the channels on the TV. I am hoping that someone can assist me.

I did a re-scan in order to attempt to pick up a lower powered TV station in the Detroit area that is carrying some football games. When I did the rescan I was not able to pick up the station I was hoping for, but I also lost my FOX affiliate.

Here is where it is getting sticky

1) My fox affiliate is digital channel 7, virtual channel 2
2) My abc affiliate is digital channel 43 and virtual channel 7

when I attempt to do a manual ADD, I was under the impression that I should ADD the digital channel, but since that's the virtual channel of a another station, it won't let me do it.
I know I am close enough to the towers and all, so I don't know why my fox affiliate was lost, but I cant even manually tune in the fox station to see if I need to re-orient the antenna or what not.

Please advise as to how I should proceed. Any assistance you can provide is most appreciated

thank you
billmich is offline  
post #13756 of 13762 Old 10-06-2014, 09:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Omni009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Just randomly popping back in to mention that I still absolutely love my 65VT50. The blue sparkles are still around, but don't really come up that much so no biggie anymore. Still just using the D-Nice settings. Maybe one day I'll have the cash to get a real calibration.

Movies with the lights out are still a treat. Glad this TV is still getting love even with the 60 series out there.
scirica likes this.

Omni009 is offline  
post #13757 of 13762 Old 10-07-2014, 05:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,942
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 327
Mine is still doing great after 1.5 yrs. Chad B comes by about every 6 months or so.
TWD and scirica like this.

65" VT50 / BDP-S7200
Denon AVR-4520CI
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #13758 of 13762 Old 10-27-2014, 09:00 AM
Senior Member
 
PINKTULIPS7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Angry Downgrade Firmware VT-50

Is there any way to downgrade latest firmware? Current firmware introduce some new problems like Netflix is no longer output 1080P and also it introduce buzzing specially with white background!!!!!!!!!

Panasonic TC-P55VT50
HARMAN KARDON AVR 7300
L & R :> POLK RTI A9 500 W
PARASOUND HALO A21 250 W
EMOTIVA UPA-1 200 W
POLK CSI A6 200 W
POLK RTi A3 150 W
POLK F/XI A6 150 W
Panasonic DMP-BDT 500
PANAMAX M5400-EX
SVS PCI12 ULTRA 525 W
PINKTULIPS7 is offline  
post #13759 of 13762 Old 10-27-2014, 10:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,942
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 327
Not that I know of. I have no solution for Netflix, I use Sony blu-ray players for that and I have not noticed buzzing any worse before or after. My display is about 20 months old.
chunon likes this.

65" VT50 / BDP-S7200
Denon AVR-4520CI
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #13760 of 13762 Old 10-29-2014, 07:08 PM
Newbie
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I like my VT50 on Cinema mode, however when I run through a white scale test 235 is nowhere near white, it's grey.

I've gone through all the modes and various gammas and nothing brings it close to white without giving me extreme brightness.

I thought THX was supposed to be fairly accurate? that's as grey as the rest of the settings..

Currently on Cinema (Non THX) Gamma 2.2, contrast at 100 and brightness to -1 white comes out at 245 but after that brightness starts lighting up the black at 16 and
brightness seems to be the only thing that helps.

I usually watch it in the dark, is anyone able to point me to what would be fairly accurate for night viewing? Or maybe just fixing up that white?

Last edited by ryrynz; 10-29-2014 at 07:50 PM.
ryrynz is offline  
post #13761 of 13762 Old 10-29-2014, 08:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 196
ryrynz

Is your display a VT50 or VT60?

The VT50 brightness scale doesn't go down to -1. On the VT50, brightness is usually set somewhere close to 57 or 58.

Sounds like you have another model. If its a VT60, there's another thread that specifically for it.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #13762 of 13762 Old Yesterday, 06:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
I WANT MORE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: 'Middle of Nowhere"
Posts: 1,818
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
I like my VT50 on Cinema mode, however when I run through a white scale test 235 is nowhere near white, it's grey.

I've gone through all the modes and various gammas and nothing brings it close to white without giving me extreme brightness.

I thought THX was supposed to be fairly accurate? that's as grey as the rest of the settings..

Currently on Cinema (Non THX) Gamma 2.2, contrast at 100 and brightness to -1 white comes out at 245 but after that brightness starts lighting up the black at 16 and
brightness seems to be the only thing that helps.

I usually watch it in the dark, is anyone able to point me to what would be fairly accurate for night viewing? Or maybe just fixing up that white?
I would recommend a professional calibration.

Perhaps I misremembered.

I WANT MORE is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic , Panasonic Viera Tc P55vt50 , Plasma Hdtv , Displays , Panasonic Viera Tc P65vt50 65 Inch Plasma Tv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off