Official Panasonic VT50 owners thread - Page 459 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13741 of 13757 Old 09-25-2014, 07:04 AM
Member
 
dpeters11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm looking into all my systems and whether they are vulnerable to the Shellshock vulnerability. I know that the real world exposure may be limited but I like to at least know.

Does anyone know if the VT50 runs Linux with Bash?
dpeters11 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13742 of 13757 Old 09-25-2014, 01:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
xvfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 75
TV's don't have operating systems.
xvfx is offline  
post #13743 of 13757 Old 09-25-2014, 04:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whipit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SGF
Posts: 1,455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by xvfx View Post
TV's don't have operating systems.
Sure they do...

http://www.chipworks.com/en/technica...nd-processors/
whipit is online now  
post #13744 of 13757 Old 09-25-2014, 09:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by xvfx View Post
TV's don't have operating systems.
LG is running WebOS now.

http://www.lg.com/us/experience-tvs/...|b|49675188427

Looky here!
robnix is offline  
post #13745 of 13757 Old 09-26-2014, 07:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
xvfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 75
They aren't web servers. The problems with apachi software/legacy scripts.
xvfx is offline  
post #13746 of 13757 Old 09-27-2014, 11:58 AM
Newbie
 
shep151's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Any opinions on a P55VT50 for $1250 with 3 years of geek squad warranty left? Good deal, too high?
shep151 is offline  
post #13747 of 13757 Old 09-27-2014, 07:48 PM
Member
 
dpeters11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Considering at least some Samsung models have a web server *though not Apache) based on what I've read, it's not totally off the wall.
dpeters11 is offline  
post #13748 of 13757 Old 09-27-2014, 08:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by shep151 View Post
Any opinions on a P55VT50 for $1250 with 3 years of geek squad warranty left? Good deal, too high?
Good deal AFAIC, I'm about to put by 65VT50 up for sale for $2000.00

Looky here!
robnix is offline  
post #13749 of 13757 Old 09-27-2014, 08:31 PM
Newbie
 
shep151's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by robnix View Post
Good deal AFAIC, I'm about to put by 65VT50 up for sale for $2000.00
I picked it up tonight, very happy so far.
shep151 is offline  
post #13750 of 13757 Old 09-29-2014, 05:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 509
Quote:
Originally Posted by robnix View Post
Good deal AFAIC, I'm about to put by 65VT50 up for sale for $2000.00
Moving to OLED ?

65VT60(Calibrated by Chad B)
55ST60(Calibrated by Chunon)
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #13751 of 13757 Old 09-29-2014, 06:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
Moving to OLED ?
Projector. Sony HWL-55 and a 96" screen. Panny blacks are still better, but the Sony still has an amazing out of the box all around image and better 3D and motion handling. The image is so good I haven't even bothered getting out the meter and calibrating it yet.

Looky here!
robnix is offline  
post #13752 of 13757 Old 09-29-2014, 06:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 509
Wow very nice ! Congrats

65VT60(Calibrated by Chad B)
55ST60(Calibrated by Chunon)
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #13753 of 13757 Old 09-29-2014, 06:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
Wow very nice ! Congrats
Thanks, I'm really enjoying it so far.

Looky here!
robnix is offline  
post #13754 of 13757 Old 10-03-2014, 04:23 PM
Senior Member
 
JimL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Johnstown, PA
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Internet Speed Connection

A curiosity question. I have a 75 Mbps Internet speed connection and my VT50 is connected directly to the router via Ethernet cable. There are also two computers connected to this same router both showing connection speeds in the mid 70's. (Router input 1 & 2 each computer, input 3 TV)

The other day I got a message on the screen when watching the Amazon Instant Video App the connection speed wouldn't do HD -video will be lower resolution - my immediate reaction was WT* - stopped playback exited VIERA Connect and reconnected which all was then fine.

I decided to try the web browser app and check the speed with the same website I use on the computer - setting TV to Ethernet then wireless for the tests. Both Ethernet and wireless connections only showed 21-22 Mbps speeds with mulitple tests.

Is the TV limited to a maximum speed? Has anyone else ever checked their Internet speed via the Web Browser App?
JimL is offline  
post #13755 of 13757 Old 10-06-2014, 08:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
billmich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 1,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 33
I am having an issue with the channels on the TV. I am hoping that someone can assist me.

I did a re-scan in order to attempt to pick up a lower powered TV station in the Detroit area that is carrying some football games. When I did the rescan I was not able to pick up the station I was hoping for, but I also lost my FOX affiliate.

Here is where it is getting sticky

1) My fox affiliate is digital channel 7, virtual channel 2
2) My abc affiliate is digital channel 43 and virtual channel 7

when I attempt to do a manual ADD, I was under the impression that I should ADD the digital channel, but since that's the virtual channel of a another station, it won't let me do it.
I know I am close enough to the towers and all, so I don't know why my fox affiliate was lost, but I cant even manually tune in the fox station to see if I need to re-orient the antenna or what not.

Please advise as to how I should proceed. Any assistance you can provide is most appreciated

thank you
billmich is offline  
post #13756 of 13757 Old 10-06-2014, 09:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Omni009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Just randomly popping back in to mention that I still absolutely love my 65VT50. The blue sparkles are still around, but don't really come up that much so no biggie anymore. Still just using the D-Nice settings. Maybe one day I'll have the cash to get a real calibration.

Movies with the lights out are still a treat. Glad this TV is still getting love even with the 60 series out there.
scirica likes this.

Omni009 is online now  
post #13757 of 13757 Old 10-07-2014, 05:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,932
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 325
Mine is still doing great after 1.5 yrs. Chad B comes by about every 6 months or so.
scirica likes this.

65" VT50 / BDP-S7200
Denon AVR-4520CI
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic , Panasonic Viera Tc P55vt50 , Plasma Hdtv , Displays , Panasonic Viera Tc P65vt50 65 Inch Plasma Tv
Gear in this thread - P55vt50 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off