The Official Panasonic U50/54 Owners' Thread - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 1069 Old 11-28-2012, 05:42 AM
Member
 
eeee87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by redlinegts85 View Post

P50U50....
How do I access 3:2 pulldown and 24p direct in? They are greyed out in the advanced settings.


watch a bluray at 1080/24hz
or if you use a home theater pc/media player set it to output movies at 24p

other than that you should have that option with 1080i sources
eeee87 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 1069 Old 11-28-2012, 06:00 AM
Member
 
OSUBuckIam02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TrevorS

No this tv is not a mistake because you clearly have more than one tv. Use this tv for viewing full HD content and watch your news on the other set? I struggled with the same concern then remebered I have 6 tvs in my house that I can watch other stuff on. I know thats probably not what you want to hear but I hope you wouldnt wear your favorite suit or shoes everywhere if you had others. Use the tv for what is was meant for and enjoy. If you have a BB service plan let er rip and watch whatever you want then call them if you get burn in
OSUBuckIam02 is offline  
post #453 of 1069 Old 11-28-2012, 09:30 AM
Member
 
lfeickert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by strikehold View Post

I've had the unit from Costco for a few days now. Consistently, when I start up my BDP it will switch to that input, but won't connect to the signal. It says there is no signal. If I unplug the HDMI cable and replug it in, then it will transmit the signal normally. This happens every time. I've tried 3 different cables, 2 from Monoprice and one generic one. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

By any chance is your BDP made by Vizio?

I had similar issues with a Vizio player attached to an inexpensive Westinghouse LCD/LED TV. I spent a lot of time swapping HDMI cables (including Vizio "directional" cables) and on the phone with both Vizio and Westinghouse, all to no avail.

I finally stumbled upon a work around--leave a DVD in the player at all times. By doing so, the BDP player automatically plays the DVD when it is turned on and syncs up with the TV. After you roll through all the copyright and FBI warnings, just stop the player and return to its home menu for other functions.

Hope this works for you...
lfeickert is offline  
post #454 of 1069 Old 11-28-2012, 12:06 PM
Member
 
redlinegts85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by eeee87 View Post

watch a bluray at 1080/24hz
or if you use a home theater pc/media player set it to output movies at 24p
other than that you should have that option with 1080i sources


It's not giving me the option at all.
redlinegts85 is offline  
post #455 of 1069 Old 11-28-2012, 01:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gene9p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 1,304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by redlinegts85 View Post

It's not giving me the option at all.

setting is in your blu ray player....
gene9p is offline  
post #456 of 1069 Old 11-28-2012, 04:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
squeakybirnbaum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: MO
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greymulkin View Post

I'll check it out when I get home. I had run a DVD calibration disc on my xbox 360. It had me setting contrast really high, around 80-90, but brightness down at 17. I think I had a setting messed up on the Xbox so I'll re-do it with the right setting (it was the black-level setting, I think I mistakenly left it on "expanded" when fooling around).
Did messing with the settings help your line bleeding at all?
squeakybirnbaum is offline  
post #457 of 1069 Old 11-28-2012, 04:43 PM
Member
 
redlinegts85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gene9p View Post

setting is in your blu ray player....


I already set it to 24hz in my blu ray player. What I'm saying is the option on my tv settings has 3:2 pulldown and 24p direct in grayed out.
redlinegts85 is offline  
post #458 of 1069 Old 11-28-2012, 06:49 PM
Newbie
 
yourwhiteshadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by redlinegts85 View Post

I already set it to 24hz in my blu ray player. What I'm saying is the option on my tv settings has 3:2 pulldown and 24p direct in grayed out.

try changing from the preset settings to custom. i remember my 24p playback was greyed out until i set it to custom and changed the refresh rate on the HTPC to 24Hz.
yourwhiteshadow is offline  
post #459 of 1069 Old 11-28-2012, 08:48 PM
Newbie
 
Greymulkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by squeakybirnbaum View Post

Did messing with the settings help your line bleeding at all?

They did not. I put Brightness and Contrast down to around 50, with Tint, Color, and Sharpness all neutral. Turned off all processing, &c.

However, it's my understanding that all plasmas have line bleed to some extent. What I experience on mine is not particularly severe and in most scenarios, not even detectable.

I will say that, though the plasma has excellent motion-handling, the higher-end Sonys put it to shame. The plasma has something like a ghosting effect while the super nice LCDs are extremely crisp.

So it's kind of a wash, do I pay $2,200 more for a really nice LCD or just $700 for the plasma?
Greymulkin is offline  
post #460 of 1069 Old 11-28-2012, 09:08 PM
Newbie
 
hixton401's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greymulkin View Post

So it's kind of a wash, do I pay $2,200 more for a really nice LCD or just $700 for the plasma?

That sounds idiotic, you could spend much less than that and get a ST50 or roughly the same and get a VT50; either one would beat the Sony. In what way does it make sense to compare a base model to a flagship?
hixton401 is offline  
post #461 of 1069 Old 11-28-2012, 10:15 PM
Member
 
strikehold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lfeickert View Post

By any chance is your BDP made by Vizio?
I had similar issues with a Vizio player attached to an inexpensive Westinghouse LCD/LED TV. I spent a lot of time swapping HDMI cables (including Vizio "directional" cables) and on the phone with both Vizio and Westinghouse, all to no avail.
I finally stumbled upon a work around--leave a DVD in the player at all times. By doing so, the BDP player automatically plays the DVD when it is turned on and syncs up with the TV. After you roll through all the copyright and FBI warnings, just stop the player and return to its home menu for other functions.
Hope this works for you...

Thanks for the reply. My BDP is a Sony with the latest firmware. I switched to the other HDMI input on the TV and haven't gotten the error since. So it seems like the one HDMI port is wonky. I'm not sure what to do about it. I'd rather not have to take it back as I really like the picture and the store is an hour away. Maybe I can buy the extended warranty after the fact now and deal with it if I ever need the second input.
strikehold is offline  
post #462 of 1069 Old 11-29-2012, 09:47 AM
Member
 
lfeickert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by strikehold View Post

Thanks for the reply. My BDP is a Sony with the latest firmware. I switched to the other HDMI input on the TV and haven't gotten the error since. So it seems like the one HDMI port is wonky. I'm not sure what to do about it. I'd rather not have to take it back as I really like the picture and the store is an hour away. Maybe I can buy the extended warranty after the fact now and deal with it if I ever need the second input.

You're welcome... and here's hoping you never need a second HDMI port. smile.gif
lfeickert is offline  
post #463 of 1069 Old 11-29-2012, 03:04 PM
Member
 
tim86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I just got my U50 and set it up. Picture is quality is excellent and I'm not have any banding or line bleeding issues some others have described. I may have an issue with one of the speakers though. frown.gif I'm getting some sort of static vibration during the beginning of Prometheus. I have all the audio set to default, but if I turn the bass up it does make it much more pronounced. Has anyone else watched the beginning of Prometheus and had this issue? This opening scene does have some deep bassey undertones. But I wouldn't think with he bass default to 0 I should be hearing this. I hate to think what it will sound when I put in the Dark Knight Rises when I get it. Did my TV come with a blown speaker? frown.gif
tim86 is offline  
post #464 of 1069 Old 11-29-2012, 03:08 PM
Newbie
 
Greymulkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hixton401 View Post

That sounds idiotic, you could spend much less than that and get a ST50 or roughly the same and get a VT50; either one would beat the Sony. In what way does it make sense to compare a base model to a flagship?

I think you misunderstand. I'm saying that the only way to overcome the limitations of the lower-end Panasonic is to replace it with a high-end LCD. There is no comparison. It is an option.

Getting an ST50 or VT50 would not really beat the Sony as the limitations are inherent to plasma displays - not particular models / brands.

I spent several hours at my local Fry's comparing the U50 to the it's more expensive brethren to see if I'd miss the slightly larger screen or the fancier looking, solid glass face of the VT50.

While I didn't have access to any special measurement equipment, I did have a blu-ray player and calibration disc. After tweaking them as much as I could, there was no appreciable difference (to my eyes) in quality. Of course the more high-end models have other features, including interpolation and AR film, but I don't have a need for them.
Greymulkin is offline  
post #465 of 1069 Old 11-29-2012, 03:10 PM
Newbie
 
Greymulkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lfeickert View Post

You're welcome... and here's hoping you never need a second HDMI port. smile.gif

The standard Panasonic warranty is for 1 year, I believe. They should be able to assist you.
Greymulkin is offline  
post #466 of 1069 Old 11-29-2012, 05:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
squeakybirnbaum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: MO
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by tim86 View Post

So I just got my U50 and set it up. Picture is quality is excellent and I'm not have any banding or line bleeding issues some others have described. I may have an issue with one of the speakers though. frown.gif I'm getting some sort of static vibration during the beginning of Prometheus. I have all the audio set to default, but if I turn the bass up it does make it much more pronounced. Has anyone else watched the beginning of Prometheus and had this issue? This opening scene does have some deep bassey undertones. But I wouldn't think with he bass default to 0 I should be hearing this. I hate to think what it will sound when I put in the Dark Knight Rises when I get it. Did my TV come with a blown speaker? frown.gif
I'll take yours, I'll never use the TV speakers. Good to hear about no line bleeding issues on yours though. Hopefully mine is like yours (if it ever ships.)
squeakybirnbaum is offline  
post #467 of 1069 Old 11-29-2012, 08:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
squeakybirnbaum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: MO
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Could anybody by chance tell me the dimensions of the box of the 60u50 real quick? I'm about to run to walmart and pick this up but I'm not sure if it will fit in my SUV. (Rodeo)
squeakybirnbaum is offline  
post #468 of 1069 Old 11-29-2012, 10:18 PM
Newbie
 
Boltd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Big.

64"x11.5"x38".
Boltd is offline  
post #469 of 1069 Old 11-29-2012, 10:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
squeakybirnbaum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: MO
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boltd View Post

Big.
64"x11.5"x38".
Thanks, I'll be waiting to borrow a truck then.
squeakybirnbaum is offline  
post #470 of 1069 Old 11-30-2012, 10:49 AM
Member
 
clutchm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok I am very confused. There are over HUNDREDS of posts on how to CORRECTLY break-in/calibrate a plasma. Please someone, tell me the steps I should be taking?

People say break-in the plasma with http://www.eaprogramming.com/ and let the slides from for 100 hours. OK after that how do I go about calibrating it? Use the AVS DVD? I am so confused all I want is the best quality from the TV and a THOROUGH guide for it. Someone please share their experiences with me.
clutchm3 is offline  
post #471 of 1069 Old 11-30-2012, 10:57 AM
Member
 
Redrum509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone provide me with instructions on how to check the hours used on this tv? I knew how on my old panny but since have forgot. Thanks
Redrum509 is offline  
post #472 of 1069 Old 11-30-2012, 12:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 482
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redrum509 View Post

Can someone provide me with instructions on how to check the hours used on this tv? I knew how on my old panny but since have forgot. Thanks

Press and hold the {VOL -} button ON THE PLASMA TV.
•Then press the {INFO} button on the remote control 3 times.

•"Start Adjustment Menu" message will be displayed followed
by the Service Menu after few seconds.

•ADJUST {Picture Adjustment}
•WB-ADJUST {White Balance Adjustment}
•OPTION {Option Setting}
•V-SUS {V-SUS Adjustment}
•AGING
•SRV-TOOL {Service Tool}

{1} & {2} buttons move through options

•Press the {2} button once to select "SRV-TOOL".

•Then press the {OK} button to access it.

•Using the cursor keys, highlight the right side
of the last item "PTCT :00.00.00.00.00" :

•Then press and hold the {MUTE} button for 3 seconds.

•Time and Count will be displayed in red color:

__TIME = Hours : Minutes of operation.
COUNT = Times the Plasma was powered on.

Hold down the power button on the tv to exit.

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #473 of 1069 Old 11-30-2012, 05:44 PM
Member
 
Redrum509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post

Press and hold the {VOL -} button ON THE PLASMA TV.
•Then press the {INFO} button on the remote control 3 times.
•"Start Adjustment Menu" message will be displayed followed
by the Service Menu after few seconds.
•ADJUST {Picture Adjustment}
•WB-ADJUST {White Balance Adjustment}
•OPTION {Option Setting}
•V-SUS {V-SUS Adjustment}
•AGING
•SRV-TOOL {Service Tool}
{1} & {2} buttons move through options
•Press the {2} button once to select "SRV-TOOL".
•Then press the {OK} button to access it.
•Using the cursor keys, highlight the right side
of the last item "PTCT :00.00.00.00.00" :
•Then press and hold the {MUTE} button for 3 seconds.
•Time and Count will be displayed in red color:
__TIME = Hours : Minutes of operation.
COUNT = Times the Plasma was powered on.
Hold down the power button on the tv to exit.

Thanks man! I have 91 hours on my panny.
Redrum509 is offline  
post #474 of 1069 Old 11-30-2012, 05:55 PM
Newbie
 
Greymulkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post

Press and hold the {VOL -} button ON THE PLASMA TV.
•Then press the {INFO} button on the remote control 3 times.
•"Start Adjustment Menu" message will be displayed followed
by the Service Menu after few seconds.
•ADJUST {Picture Adjustment}
•WB-ADJUST {White Balance Adjustment}
•OPTION {Option Setting}
•V-SUS {V-SUS Adjustment}
•AGING
•SRV-TOOL {Service Tool}
{1} & {2} buttons move through options
•Press the {2} button once to select "SRV-TOOL".
•Then press the {OK} button to access it.
•Using the cursor keys, highlight the right side
of the last item "PTCT :00.00.00.00.00" :
•Then press and hold the {MUTE} button for 3 seconds.
•Time and Count will be displayed in red color:
__TIME = Hours : Minutes of operation.
COUNT = Times the Plasma was powered on.
Hold down the power button on the tv to exit.

A big THANK YOU! I've been trying to figure out how to get into the service menu, wasn't able to find it for the Panasonic TC-P60U50 anywhere.
Greymulkin is offline  
post #475 of 1069 Old 12-01-2012, 05:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 482
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greymulkin View Post

A big THANK YOU! I've been trying to figure out how to get into the service menu, wasn't able to find it for the Panasonic TC-P60U50 anywhere.

No problem

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #476 of 1069 Old 12-01-2012, 07:38 AM
Member
 
derek533's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys, need to know how much your set buzzes. Mine is audible from about 8' away during bright scenes. It's not loud and with the volume up, it drowns it out. However, when playing a game, during the loading scenes when all is quiet, there is definitely a discernible buzz that is clearly detectable. I bought it from Amazon a couple of weeks ago and it was delivered this last Tuesday. I should know the answer to this, but will it improve as the panel ages at all? Should I exchange it? I have an older 42PX75U but since it's a 42" set, I don't think it's fair to necessarily compare the buzzing between the two sets as I'm sure the 60" requires more wattage to drive. I guess the question is, how much buzzing should I really expect during quiet, bright scenes?

BTW, my settings are set for break-in i.e. low contrast and brightness.

Thoughts?
derek533 is offline  
post #477 of 1069 Old 12-01-2012, 03:56 PM
Newbie
 
ArnieG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine has line bleed but no buzzing at all smile.gif
ArnieG is offline  
post #478 of 1069 Old 12-01-2012, 05:05 PM
Member
 
Johnrg87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The only time I've noticed buzzing was when the white slide would come up in my break-in slides. It's very quiet, and I haven't been able to pick it up during regular tv viewing or video game playing.

I've been on the look out for line bleeding, but I haven't seen any yet.
Johnrg87 is offline  
post #479 of 1069 Old 12-01-2012, 06:00 PM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 462
Quote:
Originally Posted by derek533 View Post

Guys, need to know how much your set buzzes. Mine is audible from about 8' away during bright scenes. It's not loud and with the volume up, it drowns it out. However, when playing a game, during the loading scenes when all is quiet, there is definitely a discernible buzz that is clearly detectable. I bought it from Amazon a couple of weeks ago and it was delivered this last Tuesday. I should know the answer to this, but will it improve as the panel ages at all? Should I exchange it? I have an older 42PX75U but since it's a 42" set, I don't think it's fair to necessarily compare the buzzing between the two sets as I'm sure the 60" requires more wattage to drive. I guess the question is, how much buzzing should I really expect during quiet, bright scenes?
BTW, my settings are set for break-in i.e. low contrast and brightness. Thoughts?

You should not be able to hear any buzzing at all from 8 feet away in a silent room with the volume off during bright white slides. Something is wrong with it, and it's extremely unlikely that it will become quieter on it's own. There are some buzzing threads that will give you more insight, but what your describing is not normal and i'd have the set exchanged.

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #480 of 1069 Old 12-01-2012, 06:16 PM
Newbie
 
Ernie in NH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by derek533 View Post

Guys, need to know how much your set buzzes. Mine is audible from about 8' away during bright scenes. It's not loud and with the volume up, it drowns it out. However, when playing a game, during the loading scenes when all is quiet, there is definitely a discernible buzz that is clearly detectable. I bought it from Amazon a couple of weeks ago and it was delivered this last Tuesday. I should know the answer to this, but will it improve as the panel ages at all? Should I exchange it? I have an older 42PX75U but since it's a 42" set, I don't think it's fair to necessarily compare the buzzing between the two sets as I'm sure the 60" requires more wattage to drive. I guess the question is, how much buzzing should I really expect during quiet, bright scenes?
BTW, my settings are set for break-in i.e. low contrast and brightness.
Thoughts?

I would try to determine if the source of the buzz is internal or external.
Did you use the ferrite rings on your HDMI cables? If you disconnect all inputs does it still buzz?
Are your HDMI cables running parallel and close to the power cables?
Are your wall sockets properly phased (wired) and grounded?
Are there Wall warts and other AC to DC converting equipment on the same circuit or nearby?
You might want to consider what electrical appliances are on the same circuit as your U50. This is a well documented problem with high end audio equipment...refrigerators being the most common offender. Also dimmer light switches are notorious as well as florescent lights for being sources of hum/buzz. Most audiophiles are quiet familiar with the problems that just the electrical lines them selves can add (what is upstream from you) .
Are there Wall warts and other AC to DC converting equipment on the same circuit or nearby ?,IE Heating pads, electric blankets, aquarium heaters and doorbell transformers.

I have a U50 as well. I ran a dedicated electrical circuit just for the refrigerator so as not to add the clicks it creates every time the motor cycles on and off. . Dead silence on the TV. A Blue ray DVD is stunning.
here are some trouble shooting steps that might help.
http://www.ntopix.com/files/Killing_Buzz.php

If you do determine the buzz is from the U50 ...check to see what your contrast setting is..lower it if it is high..this may reduce it enough that you do not notice it.
Ernie in NH is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic , Panasonic Th 50pz77u 50 Inch 1080p Plasma Hdtv , Displays
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off