The Official Panasonic VT50 Settings Thread - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 2169 Old 06-04-2012, 07:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
wmwilker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Ok, here's the latest. I'm pretty happy with this one with the exception of yellow. The picture looks very good in a well lit room (46 ftL).

My next project will be 3D. Does anyone know if I can just force the 709 disk from 2D to 3D and use the glasses in front of the i1 Pro?

I appreciate all the feedback and suggestions. The small APL windows work better with the higher output.

 

Cal Day 6-4-12.pdf 289.5927734375k . file
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Cal Day 6-4-12.pdf (289.6 KB, 316 views)

Mike

wmwilker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 2169 Old 06-04-2012, 07:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tempest261's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 766
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmwilker View Post

Ok, here's the latest. I'm pretty happy with this one with the exception of yellow. The picture looks very good in a well lit room (46 ftL).

My next project will be 3D. Does anyone know if I can just force the 709 disk from 2D to 3D and use the glasses in front of the i1 Pro?

I appreciate all the feedback and suggestions. The small APL windows work better with the higher output.

Glad to hear it worked out! Yep, 46 sounds roughly to be what I got, at least with the 100% white window with the colored slides. I got a little less (around 44) with the B&W slides.

Calibration Equipment:

Meters: X-rite i1 Pro 2, X-rite i1 Display Pro

Software: Spectracal Calman DIY, ControlCAL

 

Televisions:

Panasonic TC-P65VT50 (currently own)
Samsung UN55D8000 (returned) Calibration and Settings Thread

 

Plasma IR Removal:

Post 1 - Post 2 - Post 3

 

Tempest261 is offline  
post #63 of 2169 Old 06-04-2012, 08:24 PM
Member
 
DrRx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Burlington, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmwilker View Post

Ok, here's the latest. I'm pretty happy with this one with the exception of yellow. The picture looks very good in a well lit room (46 ftL).

My next project will be 3D. Does anyone know if I can just force the 709 disk from 2D to 3D and use the glasses in front of the i1 Pro?

I appreciate all the feedback and suggestions. The small APL windows work better with the higher output.

Were there major changes in the settings you previously posted to achieve this revised masterpiece? Your calibration disciples would love know!
DrRx is offline  
post #64 of 2169 Old 06-04-2012, 09:06 PM
Member
 
MrBeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Canada (Edmonton)
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
wmwilker when u get all the settings dialed can you post them in a list.

Thanks
MrBeer is offline  
post #65 of 2169 Old 06-04-2012, 09:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
wmwilker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrRx View Post


Were there major changes in the settings you previously posted to achieve this revised masterpiece? Your calibration disciples would love know!

My new Day settings are much brighter so there are some differences. Let me watch these for a day or two to see if I want to tweak it more and I'll post my settings.
Not meant to be a sales pitch as I have no financial interest in ControlCal but if you purchase ControlCal you can get mine and any others who post their ControlCal files and unlock your ISF Day and Night modes. You don't need a meter or software to use it. Just be aware that it's the same as copying someone else's settings. They may or may not work on other sets. Just an FYI

Mike

wmwilker is offline  
post #66 of 2169 Old 06-04-2012, 10:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,773
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 271
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmwilker View Post

My new Day settings are much brighter so there are some differences. Let me watch these for a day or two to see if I want to tweak it more and I'll post my settings.
Not meant to be a sales pitch as I have no financial interest in ControlCal but if you purchase ControlCal you can get mine and any others who post their ControlCal files and unlock your ISF Day and Night modes. You don't need a meter or software to use it. Just be aware that it's the same as copying someone else's settings. They may or may not work on other sets. Just an FYI

Looking good!

Now if your settings pass the most critical test, your eyes. I wounder how many ISF calibrators out there will use your settings and pass them off as there's.

Yes I agree about Controlcal, nice app and nice guy that has it.

btw, are you finding yourself a little bored when viewing a movie and want to tweak?

ss
sillysally is offline  
post #67 of 2169 Old 06-05-2012, 06:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
wmwilker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by sillysally View Post

Looking good!

Now if your settings pass the most critical test, your eyes. I wounder how many ISF calibrators out there will use your settings and pass them off as there's.

Yes I agree about Controlcal, nice app and nice guy that has it.

btw, are you finding yourself a little bored when viewing a movie and want to tweak?

ss

I must say I haven't watched many good (IMO) movies lately . I enjoyed Take Shelter last week but most have been crap. I'll usually watch parts of Casino Royale, Dark Knight and the new Underworld (bad movie but it is what it is. Great dark scenes). I'll also watch cable as that is on for the most part. If I see problems then when I get free time I'll jump into a calibration session. I'm still not happy with the yellow and it does show a little, I think. If I know there is a problem with the calibration I usually pick the picture apart until I re-calibrate. My OCD makes for some poor viewing habits.
But I try to watch for a while and get other opinions on the settings and go from there.

My ControlCal files are posted in the ControlCal forum if anyone wants to try them. They are in the zip file on the last post. They can be imported by ControlCal or you can open the XML file and see the settings.

Mike

wmwilker is offline  
post #68 of 2169 Old 06-06-2012, 03:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
gostan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Boston
Posts: 937
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hugo is a great flix for testing panel and calibration. It has a lot of varied scenes. It can be a bit slow here and there, but it is a beautifully made movie by Scorcese. I have even viewed it in 3D. Highly recommended.
tbaudoin likes this.

Stan
gostan is offline  
post #69 of 2169 Old 06-06-2012, 05:59 AM
Member
 
MrBeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Canada (Edmonton)
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
i got Calman but how do u use it i have isf night and isf day but it a;; says ISF fixed can't seem to load anything. anyone know how to fix this or like to tell me how to make it work. I am very new at this stuff.
Thanks
MrBeer is offline  
post #70 of 2169 Old 06-06-2012, 06:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tempest261's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 766
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBeer View Post

i got Calman but how do u use it i have isf night and isf day but it a;; says ISF fixed can't seem to load anything. anyone know how to fix this or like to tell me how to make it work. I am very new at this stuff.
Thanks

You're really going to want to get ControlCal. I know, it's another tool, but controlling the VT50 with CalMan is horrendous. Almost everyone is using CalMan or ChromaPure, + ControlCal for actually controlling the VT50 and unlocking the ISF modes.

Plus, Turbe (the developer) is a class act, and has been a huge help to all of us calibration newbies. You can find out more here: http://www.controlcal.com/

Calibration Equipment:

Meters: X-rite i1 Pro 2, X-rite i1 Display Pro

Software: Spectracal Calman DIY, ControlCAL

 

Televisions:

Panasonic TC-P65VT50 (currently own)
Samsung UN55D8000 (returned) Calibration and Settings Thread

 

Plasma IR Removal:

Post 1 - Post 2 - Post 3

 

Tempest261 is offline  
post #71 of 2169 Old 06-06-2012, 06:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
wmwilker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tempest261 View Post

You're really going to want to get ControlCal. I know, it's another tool, but controlling the VT50 with CalMan is horrendous. Almost everyone is using CalMan or ChromaPure, + ControlCal for actually controlling the VT50 and unlocking the ISF modes.

+1 on ControlCal.
Tempest would you take a look at my report above and let me know what you think
Thanks

Edit: Sorry it's in the owners thread

Mike

wmwilker is offline  
post #72 of 2169 Old 06-06-2012, 07:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tempest261's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 766
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmwilker View Post

+1 on ControlCal.
Tempest would you take a look at my report above and let me know what you think
Thanks
Edit: Sorry it's in the owners thread

Looks pretty good to me. I'm really hoping we'll one day be able to knock down that Luminance dE though... stupid broken CMS.

I'm kind-of taking a break from calibrating my VT50 since I'm trying to get a swap due to two dead pixels... don't want to put too much work into this panel until I get this resolved.

Also, I see you're profiling against an i1 Pro... I'm hoping to acquire one myself. If you hear of anyone ditching their i1 Pro for the new i1 Pro 2, send them my way smile.gif.
wmwilker likes this.

Calibration Equipment:

Meters: X-rite i1 Pro 2, X-rite i1 Display Pro

Software: Spectracal Calman DIY, ControlCAL

 

Televisions:

Panasonic TC-P65VT50 (currently own)
Samsung UN55D8000 (returned) Calibration and Settings Thread

 

Plasma IR Removal:

Post 1 - Post 2 - Post 3

 

Tempest261 is offline  
post #73 of 2169 Old 06-06-2012, 07:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
wmwilker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tempest261 View Post

Looks pretty good to me. I'm really hoping we'll one day be able to knock down that Luminance dE though... stupid broken CMS.
I'm kind-of taking a break from calibrating my VT50 since I'm trying to get a swap due to two dead pixels... don't want to put too much work into this panel until I get this resolved.
Also, I see you're profiling against an i1 Pro... I'm hoping to acquire one myself. If you hear of anyone ditching their i1 Pro for the new i1 Pro 2, send them my way smile.gif.

I would keep an eye on ebay. Some guys in the Calibration forum found some really cheap. If you get an older one you can send it back to X-Rite and have it re-certified. I'm not sure of the cost but I don't think it's more than a $200.
They supposedly don't drift as much as the colorimeters.

Mike

wmwilker is offline  
post #74 of 2169 Old 06-06-2012, 07:52 PM
Member
 
MrBeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Canada (Edmonton)
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
getting controlcal now just waiting for the program and key

Thanks for the help
MrBeer is offline  
post #75 of 2169 Old 06-06-2012, 08:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lake Tahoe, NV
Posts: 4,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 89
^^^

sent smile.gif

Need to find a Professional Calibrator? Click Here to PM me with your Display & City

Calibrator List - Pioneer ISFccc Interface

Calibration Reports - Pioneer

 

ControlCAL™
Designed by Calibrators for Calibrators™

No need to fumble through the Display's Menu with its Remote Control™

turbe is offline  
post #76 of 2169 Old 06-06-2012, 08:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lake Tahoe, NV
Posts: 4,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tempest261 View Post

Looks pretty good to me. I'm really hoping we'll one day be able to knock down that Luminance dE though... stupid broken CMS.
I'm kind-of taking a break from calibrating my VT50 since I'm trying to get a swap due to two dead pixels... don't want to put too much work into this panel until I get this resolved. Also, I see you're profiling against an i1 Pro... I'm hoping to acquire one myself. If you hear of anyone ditching their i1 Pro for the new i1 Pro 2, send them my way smile.gif.

I have recently sold my four i1Pros Rev D's (the last one is still here but is reserved for a fellow VT50 owner here, lol unless he posts here and says he doesn't want it (don't think that's gonna happen)...

Where have you been? I even had them listed on Classifieds here and elsewhere (though they all sold to AVS members) smile.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tempest261 View Post


Plus, Turbe (the developer) is a class act, and has been a huge help to all of us calibration newbies.

thank you, sincerely... I really appreciate it...



.

Need to find a Professional Calibrator? Click Here to PM me with your Display & City

Calibrator List - Pioneer ISFccc Interface

Calibration Reports - Pioneer

 

ControlCAL™
Designed by Calibrators for Calibrators™

No need to fumble through the Display's Menu with its Remote Control™

turbe is offline  
post #77 of 2169 Old 06-06-2012, 09:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tempest261's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 766
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbe View Post

I have recently sold my four i1Pros Rev D's (the last one is still here but is reserved for a fellow VT50 owner here, lol unless he posts here and says he doesn't want it (don't think that's gonna happen)...
Where have you been? I even had them listed on Classifieds here and elsewhere (though they all sold to AVS members) smile.gif
.

Haha- well... I just decided today that I might as well be doing this the right way. My i1 Display Pro can only go so far on its own smile.gif.

If you come across one for a good deal, please let me know smile.gif. I'm sure we'll start to see at least a little bump in the used availability now that the i1 Pro 2's are out.

Calibration Equipment:

Meters: X-rite i1 Pro 2, X-rite i1 Display Pro

Software: Spectracal Calman DIY, ControlCAL

 

Televisions:

Panasonic TC-P65VT50 (currently own)
Samsung UN55D8000 (returned) Calibration and Settings Thread

 

Plasma IR Removal:

Post 1 - Post 2 - Post 3

 

Tempest261 is offline  
post #78 of 2169 Old 06-07-2012, 07:32 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,956
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 222
I have a Rev D that has been sealed in a case in my closet for about 3 years now. If you are interested in it, PM me an offer.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tempest261 View Post

Haha- well... I just decided today that I might as well be doing this the right way. My i1 Display Pro can only go so far on its own smile.gif.
If you come across one for a good deal, please let me know smile.gif. I'm sure we'll start to see at least a little bump in the used availability now that the i1 Pro 2's are out.
D-Nice is offline  
post #79 of 2169 Old 06-07-2012, 09:40 PM
Member
 
MrBeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Canada (Edmonton)
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
can u unlock day and night in 3d Mode can't seem to get that to work? I got everthing else working.
Using controlcAL
If anyone knows how to get it to work i would appreciate any info.

thanks
MrBeer is offline  
post #80 of 2169 Old 06-07-2012, 10:01 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,956
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 222
You need to send the display a 3D signal or do a 2D -3D conversion.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBeer View Post

can u unlock day and night in 3d Mode can't seem to get that to work? I got everthing else working.
Using controlcAL
If anyone knows how to get it to work i would appreciate any info.
thanks
MrBeer likes this.
D-Nice is offline  
post #81 of 2169 Old 06-07-2012, 10:33 PM
Member
 
MrBeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Canada (Edmonton)
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
will have to try that on friday night

thanks
MrBeer is offline  
post #82 of 2169 Old 06-08-2012, 03:31 PM
Member
 
MrBeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Canada (Edmonton)
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thanks got it working
MrBeer is offline  
post #83 of 2169 Old 06-08-2012, 06:04 PM
Member
 
airgon74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
@WM, can you post your updated ISF day settings.
airgon74 is offline  
post #84 of 2169 Old 06-08-2012, 08:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lake Tahoe, NV
Posts: 4,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by airgon74 View Post

@WM, can you post your updated ISF day settings.

He has his latest Day report and settings posted Here (Post #5)

.

Need to find a Professional Calibrator? Click Here to PM me with your Display & City

Calibrator List - Pioneer ISFccc Interface

Calibration Reports - Pioneer

 

ControlCAL™
Designed by Calibrators for Calibrators™

No need to fumble through the Display's Menu with its Remote Control™

turbe is offline  
post #85 of 2169 Old 06-08-2012, 09:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
wmwilker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by airgon74 View Post

@WM, can you post your updated ISF day settings.

Quote:
Originally Posted by turbe View Post

He has his latest Day report and settings posted Here (Post #5)
.

You can open the XML file and get the settings from it.
If they work you may want to consider getting ControlCal so that you can open your Day and Night ISF modes. It's not very expensive and if the settings work you don't need meters or calibration software to use it Of course it's a 50 50 shot that they work on your set.

Mike

wmwilker is offline  
post #86 of 2169 Old 06-09-2012, 01:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,773
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 271
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBeer View Post

i got Calman but how do u use it i have isf night and isf day but it a;; says ISF fixed can't seem to load anything. anyone know how to fix this or like to tell me how to make it work. I am very new at this stuff.
Thanks

Take the time to learn how Calman works with your display and meter. After all if you don't know how to use Calman and your meter then all you will do is frustrate yourself.
There is a nice how to guide for Calman DIY, I think it is somewhere on Calmans web site.

When you start to use and understand how Calman works, try using Warm 2 and 2.2 gamma target. Your VT50 really can get everything right form a calibration standpoint.

Also make sure you turn off the osd (on screen display) when calibrating. When using your meter, imo its ok if the soft sponge like stuff on your meter touches your screen but only very lightly, once you are done let your display cool down and then take a soft clean cloth and gently wipe off any residue from the meter.

Remember one thing when calibrating, practice makes perfect, there are no short cuts (add-on software) to change this fact.

ss
sillysally is offline  
post #87 of 2169 Old 06-09-2012, 05:00 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Also remember that your calibration is only as good as your meter and other equipment/software and your ability to eyeball slight variations and know how to correct for them.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, VideoForge HDMI II, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #88 of 2169 Old 06-10-2012, 12:00 PM
Senior Member
 
rmongiovi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by SiGGy View Post

Has anyone done their cal with a RGB 4:4:4 source?

What do you mean by "RGB 4:4:4"? RGB has the chroma built in, so it really isn't 4:4:4 or 4:2:2. You can only do that in YCbCr.

However, I am seeing huge differences in the color luminance, hue, and saturation depending on whether I send the TV RGB or YCbCR (either 4:2:2 or 4:4:4).

With YCbCr you can cope with the non-functional luminance controls because all the colors are either too bright or too dim so the global color control can be used to get close to the correct luminance.

With RGB, however, red and blue are too bright and green is much too dim. So a single global control can't be used to fix the color.

Since there are big differences between RGB and YCbCr, a calibration for one kind of input would not be applicable to the other.
Roy
rmongiovi is offline  
post #89 of 2169 Old 06-11-2012, 06:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
SiGGy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lenexa, Kansas
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmongiovi View Post

What do you mean by "RGB 4:4:4"? RGB has the chroma built in, so it really isn't 4:4:4 or 4:2:2. You can only do that in YCbCr.
However, I am seeing huge differences in the color luminance, hue, and saturation depending on whether I send the TV RGB or YCbCR (either 4:2:2 or 4:4:4).
With YCbCr you can cope with the non-functional luminance controls because all the colors are either too bright or too dim so the global color control can be used to get close to the correct luminance.
With RGB, however, red and blue are too bright and green is much too dim. So a single global control can't be used to fix the color.
Since there are big differences between RGB and YCbCr, a calibration for one kind of input would not be applicable to the other.
Roy

This is what I was afraid of, and making it impossible to really calibrate the TV to reference. Without the working luminance controls the CMS is busted.


RGB 4:4:4 just means full color (no subsampling) with separated RGB channels. Granted there is two different luminance ranges for RGB. I didn't make up the definition smile.gif I'm just using what was already defined. Don't kill the messenger wink.gif

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chroma_subsampling#4:4:4_R.27G.27B.27_.28no_subsampling.29

I too am seeing blue having way too much luminance with my RGB feed (almost +30%). There is no way to compensate for it. My green error isn't as bad as you describe, but it's there.

What size/type of patterns are you using for color calibration? I've tried small,media,large windows and APL versions. As well both 75% and 100%. Even with small windows I couldn't find any linearity measuring 75% and 100%; saturation wasn't consistent. Each one gave me different results frown.gif Which makes me think the TV will not track well from 0 to 100%.

Anyone know if there is a CMS fix in the works?

-SiGGy
SiGGy is offline  
post #90 of 2169 Old 06-11-2012, 07:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
wmwilker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by SiGGy View Post

This is what I was afraid of, and making it impossible to really calibrate the TV to reference. Without the working luminance controls the CMS is busted.
RGB 4:4:4 just means full color with separated RGB channels. Granted there is two different luminance ranges for RGB. I didn't make up the definition smile.gif I'm just using what was already defined. Don't kill the messenger wink.gif
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chroma_subsampling#4:4:4_R.27G.27B.27_.28no_subsampling.29
I too am seeing blue having way too much luminance with my RGB feed (almost +30%). There is no way to compensate for it. My green error isn't as bad as you describe, but it's there.
What size/type of patterns are you using for color calibration? I've tried small,media,large windows and APL versions. As well both 75% and 100%. Even with small windows I couldn't find any linearity measuring 75% and 100%; saturation wasn't consistent. Each one gave me different results frown.gif Which makes me think the TV will not track well from 0 to 100%.
Anyone know if there is a CMS fix in the works?


You can see Buzzard767's Advanced color calibration results here http://www.avsforum.com/t/1408338/official-panasonic-vt50-owners-thread/1860#post_22087598 CMS is not very linear.

It's the second file
s1neater likes this.

Mike

wmwilker is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P55vt50 , Plasma Hdtv , Displays , Panasonic Viera Tc P65st50 Plasma Tv
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off