Panasonic 65 inch st 50 bad for gaming now? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 05-18-2012, 02:45 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
smackjack22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.avforums.com/review/Panas...TV-Review.html

The review here says the millisecond lag is 47.9???

I thought the st50 lag was 14ms the gt50 is 30 ms and the vt50 was 24 ms????

Does the input lag for the models depend on the screen size the bigger the more input lag??

Anybody know the final word on this?
smackjack22 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 05-18-2012, 03:41 AM
Member
 
pcgeek543's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by smackjack22 View Post

http://www.avforums.com/review/Panas...TV-Review.html

The review here says the millisecond lag is 47.9???

I thought the st50 lag was 14ms the gt50 is 30 ms and the vt50 was 24 ms????

Does the input lag for the models depend on the screen size the bigger the more input lag??

Anybody know the final word on this?

I can't answer that question,but
that review also says the 3d picture quality is just as pleasing as the 2d. Then at the bottom for all the 3d features they are all checkmarked as reference quality. We all know that isn't true.
pcgeek543 is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 05-18-2012, 05:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
Adamd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 556
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 178 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by smackjack22 View Post

http://www.avforums.com/review/Panas...TV-Review.html

The review here says the millisecond lag is 47.9???

I thought the st50 lag was 14ms the gt50 is 30 ms and the vt50 was 24 ms????

Does the input lag for the models depend on the screen size the bigger the more input lag??

Anybody know the final word on this?


I think it's a different tool the measure it with and it gets different readings, I'm sure all the 2012 pdp are good for gaming mode. When my vt50 shows up I'll post my gaming findings.
Adamd is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 05-18-2012, 02:28 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
smackjack22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well i just don't know what to believe anymore when it comes to tv reviews.I have also read on this forum that the UT50 has better viewing angles and color saturation then the st50
smackjack22 is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 05-18-2012, 03:07 PM
Member
 
pcgeek543's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by smackjack22 View Post

Well i just don't know what to believe anymore when it comes to tv reviews.I have also read on this forum that the UT50 has better viewing angles and color saturation then the st50

That is true because the Louvre filters on the St and up are too aggressive and from what I read Panasonic has even acknowledged it and is going to remedy it on next years displays.
pcgeek543 is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 05-18-2012, 08:40 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
smackjack22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcgeek543 View Post

That is true because the Louvre filters on the St and up are too aggressive and from what I read Panasonic has even acknowledged it and is going to remedy it on next years displays.

Well i guess for the price its a no brainier to get the Panasonic ut50 60 inch. To bad a 65 inch is not made for it...
smackjack22 is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 07-20-2012, 09:24 AM
Newbie
 
KingMonkeyNuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have a brand new ST50 65". I got it yesterday. I played Battlefield 3 for many hours last night - until 2AM central time. The gaming lag issue for the ST50 is complete ********. I can breathe on the sticks and the screen will move. I don't know what toy they were using to get that lag result, but they weren't using my TV. maybe there's was broken. Again, rest in peace, the ST50 is best TV I have ever played with video games. NO LAG WHATSOEVER!!!! This is a complete ******** story, unless there is a bunch of bad ST series TVs running around.

read my review of my new TV here: http://www.avsforum.com/forum/newestpost/1397245


PS: Gaming Lag IS NOT an issue with the panasonic ST50 65".
KingMonkeyNuts is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 07-20-2012, 09:27 AM
Newbie
 
KingMonkeyNuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
to make an addition:

Louvres Smouvres.... This is the best picture on a TV I have ever seen. As good as anywhere. I don't know what a louvre is, all I know is I am absolutely thrilled with this TV. You all should go buy one right now.biggrin.gif:D:D:D
KingMonkeyNuts is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 07-21-2012, 07:44 AM
Senior Member
 
improwise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by KingMonkeyNuts View Post

I have a brand new ST50 65". I got it yesterday. I played Battlefield 3 for many hours last night - until 2AM central time. The gaming lag issue for the ST50 is complete ********. I can breathe on the sticks and the screen will move. I don't know what toy they were using to get that lag result, but they weren't using my TV. maybe there's was broken. Again, rest in peace, the ST50 is best TV I have ever played with video games. NO LAG WHATSOEVER!!!! This is a complete ******** story, unless there is a bunch of bad ST series TVs running around.
read my review of my new TV here: http://www.avsforum.com/forum/newestpost/1397245
PS: Gaming Lag IS NOT an issue with the panasonic ST50 65".

Sorry, but based on your description, I trust the men with the "toys" much more than your claim that the TV would be lag free. As far as I know, there doesn't even exist a lag free monitor/TV, and I can promise that ST50 definitely isn't lag free. Your description of how you test for lag, as well as the fact that your link currently points toward a post explaining how bad input lag is with FIFA, I will continue to believe that the ST50 isn't lag free biggrin.gif

Some further information about inpup/display lag can be found here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Display_lag

That said, I still believe the ST50 is a really great TV, and for it's price, it might even be the best TV on the market right now. And I would guess that it is probably one of the TVs with best input lag also.
improwise is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 07-21-2012, 10:23 AM
Newbie
 
KingMonkeyNuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I don't see any lag, I can't tell that there is lag. I know there is lag because I understand the basic concept of the speed of light. I don't have a paired-electron game controller, so yes I'm sure that lag exists. My point is that I am not able to see any lag, and I am certainly not bothered by what lag there is. I've got FIFA on my game Q, when I play it, I'll report back if I see lag too. Battlefield 3, Socom 4, and SpecOps all play great, with no lag that I can see (if you can forgive me for not counting the time the controller takes to process my inputs, send it to the ps3, then on to the TV... yadayadayada...)

try this reaction time testing site, my best reaction time was 211ms, with and average of 230ms or so. Try it out and see. I am no longer concerned with the input lag issue.
http://www.humanbenchmark.com/tests/reactiontime/index.php
KingMonkeyNuts is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 07-21-2012, 06:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
Turrican4D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 686
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 44
You didn't get the point of input lag of displays.


My average is 155ms by the way.
Turrican4D is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 07-21-2012, 07:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Frankie1588's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Woops, nevermind
Frankie1588 is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 08-29-2012, 07:15 PM
Member
 
SHOWM3URBO0BYZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by improwise View Post

Sorry, but based on your description, I trust the men with the "toys" much more than your claim that the TV would be lag free. As far as I know, there doesn't even exist a lag free monitor/TV, and I can promise that ST50 definitely isn't lag free. Your description of how you test for lag, as well as the fact that your link currently points toward a post explaining how bad input lag is with FIFA, I will continue to believe that the ST50 isn't lag free biggrin.gif
Some further information about inpup/display lag can be found here:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Display_lag
That said, I still believe the ST50 is a really great TV, and for it's price, it might even be the best TV on the market right now. And I would guess that it is probably one of the TVs with best input lag also.
ive heard nothing but good things about the st50 and i will be getting the 50" soon
multiple revies have soomething about gaming
http://www.amazon.com/Panasonic-VIERA-TC-P50ST50-50-Inch-Plasma/product-reviews/B00752VKW8/ref=dp_top_cm_cr_acr_txt?ie=UTF8&showViewpoints=1
SHOWM3URBO0BYZ is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 08-30-2012, 03:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WaveBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,981
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 36
The 2 + frames of lag on my 2012 X5 is definitly an issue for me. Some of you guys make me laugh with the entire "There's NO LAG" all HDTV's suffer from lag and panasonic's 2012 plasmas do not do 1 frame....If my X5 is pushing 2 frames or more there's no way in hell the UT50 or ST50 are going to be any better, probably worse actually.
WaveBoy is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 09-03-2012, 10:43 PM
Member
 
mrkdilkington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by KingMonkeyNuts View Post

I don't see any lag, I can't tell that there is lag. I know there is lag because I understand the basic concept of the speed of light. I don't have a paired-electron game controller, so yes I'm sure that lag exists. My point is that I am not able to see any lag, and I am certainly not bothered by what lag there is. I've got FIFA on my game Q, when I play it, I'll report back if I see lag too. Battlefield 3, Socom 4, and SpecOps all play great, with no lag that I can see (if you can forgive me for not counting the time the controller takes to process my inputs, send it to the ps3, then on to the TV... yadayadayada...)
try this reaction time testing site, my best reaction time was 211ms, with and average of 230ms or so. Try it out and see. I am no longer concerned with the input lag issue.
http://www.humanbenchmark.com/tests/reactiontime/index.php

That's a terrible way to test input lag. Mirror a PC to your plasma and a fast TN LCD monitor (or a CRT if you have one), display a javascript stopwatch, take a picture of the screens with a fast shutter speed, and find the difference. A TN LCD will usually have around 5-15ms input lag (a CRT has 0ms), so add that to the difference and you'll have a rough estimate of the plasma's input lag.
mrkdilkington is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 06-05-2013, 05:03 AM
Member
 
3DMamper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I have a st50 50in. 2D gaming the lag is extemely low and great for fast paced games. Picture mide set to "game". For 3D gaming its also very low lag. If 10points is zero leg i would rate this tv as 8.5 to 9points.

When i first got this tv i thought gane mode by default would be perfect for gaming! But wrong. First enter a standard display mode such as "normal" turn off all the fancy tri ks such as vivid colour c.a.t.s and p-nr. The enter advance settings and ensure intelligent frame creation is turned off. And check that the 3D frame rate matches that of your game. You know when you launch a 3D game on your console the games hz frequency is displayed at the top left of the screen during loadup. Make sure this perfectly matches.

Only the. Can you excite and use game mode this is particularly important for 3D gaming and low lag.

When i first gkt this tv 2D gaming is amazing, but 3D gaming was so laggy, untill i found this fix. Also i noticed that once these settings have been done, even "normal" seems as fast as "game mode".
3DMamper is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off