Panasonic GT50 - Is Professional Calibration Worth It? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 27 Old 07-11-2012, 03:07 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm about to purchase a new 60" GT50 and have the option of spending $150 (supposedly it's normally $300) to have them include "professional" calibration. It's my first plasma and I'm new to the whole calibration thing. Is it worth spending $150 to have this done, or is it good enough to play with the settings myself and experiment with settings found online?

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 27 Old 07-11-2012, 03:16 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 229
$150 for a professional calibration sounds cheap to me. This wouldn't be at BB by any chance would it? Worth it is only something that you can decide. For me, if I spent whatever you did (will) on a GT50 I'd seriously think about getting it calibrated, but not by BB. It should cost anywhere from $300 - $500 depending on who does it and should take a couple of hours to complete. See if you can take the set home first and watch it for a period of time (a week maybe) before taking them up on the calibration offer. You may find that the pq is just fine for you. It all depends on how discriminating your are and if you really want your set to adhere to rec.709 video standards, which for some, is very important.
springwater likes this.
post #3 of 27 Old 07-11-2012, 03:38 PM - Thread Starter

Thanks for that. It's not BB, but it's FutureShop (Canadian) which is owned by BB, so essentially it's BB, which is why I'm dubious about how professional the calibration would be.