Are there always a black border on the edge of plasma screens? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 07-21-2012, 12:07 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
surap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
My friends and I on a swedish A/V-forum are discussing why there is a small border on the edge of the plasma screen. I think it is about a quarter of an inch(5 milimeters?) wide. Is it some kind of protect area or what? I also have it on my old Panasonic PV-60(PX in the US?).
surap is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 07-22-2012, 01:25 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
surap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Bump
surap is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 07-22-2012, 06:52 AM
Senior Member
 
DR.DTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
We have a 2011 pannasonic GT30 55" and it has it. This has been asked a few times in several series topics but the answer is generally yes...a border of about 1/8"-1/4" is common.
DR.DTS is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 07-22-2012, 08:53 AM
Newbie
 
SecretWorld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am sorry for interrupting the thread but what you're experiencing, is it the same as highlighted in the first picture in this thread here? I actually created a thread quite a short while ago here regarding this. I have searched and searched looking for an answer to this question but I haven't found anything particularly concrete. I am not really sure how to describe it, which is why I may be having problems finding an answer.
SecretWorld is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 07-22-2012, 10:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
sonyfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 577
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Yes so do CRT's.
sonyfan is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 07-22-2012, 10:56 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
surap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by SecretWorld View Post

I am sorry for interupiting the thread but what you're experiencing, is it the same as highlighted in the first picture in this thread here? I actually created a thread quite a short while ago here regarding this. I have searched and searched looking for an answer to this question but I haven't found anything particularly concrete. I am not really sure how to describe it, which is why I may be having problems finding an answer.

It is exactly like your second picture in your second link. I just want to know why it is there. I have it on my Kuro, and I have it on my old Panasonic. What do you guys think it is for?
surap is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 07-22-2012, 11:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whipit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SGF
Posts: 1,426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 58
On my G10 there's about a half inch of this feed circuit going into the panel that is masked but you can peek behind the mask similar to the gt20 linked above. By looking at the above photo It appears they removed the floating mask on the '20 series. On my st30 there's a much smaller feed circuit that's exposed that's about an eighth of an inch on either side.

ST30 screen.JPG 3479k .JPG file
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ST30 screen.JPG (3.40 MB, 49 views)
whipit is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off