Shocked at Panasonic - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 07-26-2012, 10:34 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jiwright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well a long time fan of Panasonic Plasmas here, in fact I am on my third the TCP55VT30. Loved every aspect of it until I tried to play my PAL disks. After a long time twice with customer service I was told that these models as well as future models cannot accept a PAL signal. I have been watching PAL movies for more than 10 years on my Plasma TVs and simply cannot believe this, it is absolutely ridiculous . Every TV I know can accept a PAL signal, what is Panasonic thinking? Anyone know of any kind of work around?
Thanks,
Jeff
jiwright is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 07-26-2012, 11:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drfreeman60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 1,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 48
If every TV you have owned would play PAL signals, I would say you have been quite lucky.

I have owned digita TV's since the late 90's (CRT's) as well as LCD's and Plasma since the early part of the previous decade and have never had a digital set with the ability to decode a PAL signal. None of the Blu-Ray or DVD players that I have owned had the ability to playback PAL.

David

David Freeman
drfreeman60 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 07-26-2012, 12:09 PM
slb
AVS Special Member
 
slb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Francisco North Bay
Posts: 1,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
One option would be to invest in a video processor such as the DVDO Edge, which can convert and upscale a PAL signal to 1080p/60. This would make things somewhat future proof if/when you change displays.
slb is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 07-26-2012, 12:33 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jiwright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the suggestion! I have a large PAL library that I have collected over the years, and am still building . I will look into the edge,
Thanks again.
jiwright is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off