ST50 v.s the UT50 What is the $300 differences? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 08-15-2012, 11:06 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
RicFlair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,409
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 488 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Where is the ST superior at that cost?
RicFlair is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 08-15-2012, 11:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 6,946
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1096 Post(s)
Liked: 1114
This question has been asked a thousand times here, the search feature is your friend. But I'll answer basically AR filter, custom controls and an extra input. If your room is light controlled it is probably a wash.

55EG9100 calibrated by Chad_B
55ST60
Time Warner Cable/Oppo 103d/ Sony XT1 Soundbase/Harmony 650
Calman Enthusiast/Chromapure Standard with Auto Cal
My JS9500 Calibration review(CHADB)http://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...l#post36534866
chunon is online now  
post #3 of 13 Old 08-15-2012, 12:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
RicFlair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,409
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 488 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post

This question has been asked a thousand times here, the search feature is your friend. But I'll answer basically AR filter, custom controls and an extra input. If your room is light controlled it is probably a wash.
really? so the blacks on the UT are that of the ST?
RicFlair is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 08-15-2012, 12:08 PM
Senior Member
 
yaomizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 26
The St uses the same panel they used on the VT last year (infinite black panel pro I believe)

Sent from my GT-P7510 using Tapatalk 2

yaomizzle is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 08-15-2012, 12:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 6,946
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1096 Post(s)
Liked: 1114
Quote:
Originally Posted by RicFlair View Post

really? so the blacks on the UT are that of the ST?

Pretty darn close from what I have read, the advantage for the ST would be in a brighter environment, the black level holds up much better. The entire line from U to VT has outstanding blacks this year.

55EG9100 calibrated by Chad_B
55ST60
Time Warner Cable/Oppo 103d/ Sony XT1 Soundbase/Harmony 650
Calman Enthusiast/Chromapure Standard with Auto Cal
My JS9500 Calibration review(CHADB)http://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...l#post36534866
chunon is online now  
post #6 of 13 Old 08-15-2012, 12:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 6,946
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1096 Post(s)
Liked: 1114
Quote:
Originally Posted by yaomizzle View Post

The St uses the same panel they used on the VT last year (infinite black panel pro I believe)
Sent from my GT-P7510 using Tapatalk 2

Thats incorrect all the panels are new this year and designed from the ground up in fact the ST blacks exceed the VT blacks from last year.

55EG9100 calibrated by Chad_B
55ST60
Time Warner Cable/Oppo 103d/ Sony XT1 Soundbase/Harmony 650
Calman Enthusiast/Chromapure Standard with Auto Cal
My JS9500 Calibration review(CHADB)http://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...l#post36534866
chunon is online now  
post #7 of 13 Old 08-15-2012, 12:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rahzel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by yaomizzle View Post

The St uses the same panel they used on the VT last year (infinite black panel pro I believe)
Sent from my GT-P7510 using Tapatalk 2
You're confusing the filter with the panel. It uses the same filter as the VT30, but the panel is new as chunon said. The UT has no filter, the ST/GT have the infinite black pro filter and the VT has the infinite black ultra filter. All of the panels are new and have the increased brightness and better black levels (among other things).

You can calibrate grayscale on the UT50, but you have to do it in the service menu. The ST50 has them in the user menu, plus it has a gamma slider which is really useful.
rahzel is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 08-15-2012, 02:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
BriscoCountyJr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Other differences that the ST50 has that the UT50 lacks:
A third HDMI input, rotating pedestal stand (for the 50" model), a simple web browser app in the Viera Connect internet apps.
BriscoCountyJr is online now  
post #9 of 13 Old 08-15-2012, 02:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 6,946
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1096 Post(s)
Liked: 1114
Quote:
Originally Posted by rahzel View Post

You're confusing the filter with the panel. It uses the same filter as the VT30, but the panel is new as chunon said. The UT has no filter, the ST/GT have the infinite black pro filter and the VT has the infinite black ultra filter. All of the panels are new and have the increased brightness and better black levels (among other things).
You can calibrate grayscale on the UT50, but you have to do it in the service menu. The ST50 has them in the user menu, plus it has a gamma slider which is really useful.

Well said smile.gif

55EG9100 calibrated by Chad_B
55ST60
Time Warner Cable/Oppo 103d/ Sony XT1 Soundbase/Harmony 650
Calman Enthusiast/Chromapure Standard with Auto Cal
My JS9500 Calibration review(CHADB)http://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...l#post36534866
chunon is online now  
post #10 of 13 Old 08-15-2012, 06:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
RicFlair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,409
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 488 Post(s)
Liked: 69
The 2 HDMII hurts the UT50

Are there HDMI extenders made?
RicFlair is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 08-15-2012, 06:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andy sullivan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: sun city west AZ
Posts: 4,056
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 712 Post(s)
Liked: 386
One other difference would be if you want a 65". ST only.
andy sullivan is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 08-17-2012, 12:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
BriscoCountyJr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by RicFlair View Post

The 2 HDMII hurts the UT50
Are there HDMI extenders made?
Do you mean switchers? Yes there are many models of HDMI switchers such as 4 in and 1 out for example.
Monoprice has a good 4 port HDMI switcher that also can output separately the digital audio to optical or coax to an older non-HDMI receiver.
BriscoCountyJr is online now  
post #13 of 13 Old 08-17-2012, 10:34 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10,511
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1530 Post(s)
Liked: 461
regarding extra HDMI inputs if you have an AVR you really only need 1-2 HDMI inputs on the TV itself... for example I have a Sony HT-SS380 and it has three HDMI inputs on the receiver/amp and a single HDMI output to connect to a HDMI input on the TV

I can then use three sources via the receiver/amp and use the remaining HDMI inputs on the TV for other devices... and if you have a AVR with 4-5 HDMI inputs, you really only need a single HDMI input on the TV.

the only issue with this setup would be if you need separate settings per source device (but that is rarely the case on well made HDMI equipped source devices)

UN46EH6030 Calibration/Settings
Samsung UN46EH6030; Yamaha HTR-3066, SVS Prime Bookshelf Mains and Prime Center, Rythmik LV12R; PS4, Xbox One, Motorola RNG150N
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off