Text blurs every 60 seconds on Panny TC-P50U50 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 09-01-2012, 02:15 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
betelgeuse4721's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought a 50 inch Panasonic plasma (TC-P50U50).

It works great and all, but whenever I connect my PC to it via HDMI, whatever text is on the screen (usually on some web page) blurs slightly, then focuses back to normal every 60 seconds exactly.

I tried this on my parent's 50 inch Pioneer and the problem disappears,

I called Panasonic and they have no idea.

When my Xbox is connected to it via the same HDMI and port, there is none of this.

Thoughts/ideas/suggestions?

-Brady
betelgeuse4721 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 09-01-2012, 04:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
fastl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Boston
Posts: 572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It sounds like there is scaling (interpolation) occuring on the TV, resulting in the blur. Unless your PC is outputting the native resolution of the TV display panel and the TV is capable of 1:1 pixel mapping, the PC is always going to look a little soft. The scaling engine of the Pioneer is probably better than the Panasonic. I've never been impressed with their scaling quality.
fastl is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 09-01-2012, 08:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Is there some kind of 'Pixel Orbiter' or other anti-burn-in app running inside the TV? A lot of Plasmas screw around with the picture like that to prevent IR.
olyteddy is online now  
post #4 of 8 Old 09-08-2012, 02:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tenthplanet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Mexico, South of Oregon, Not as far east as Vegas
Posts: 1,337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Can you borrow a different computer and try it. This could possibly be a HDMI issue between the units.

"Bring out yer dead!".."Wait I'm not dead yet!"..(Sound Austrian here) "WRONG !!" (You know what happens next..)
tenthplanet is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 09-08-2012, 06:59 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,615
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 251
First of all, you have to make your topic title more specific. On this forum, members routinely ignore generic "can someone help me" titles. The more info you can put in a title, the better.

It also helps to place your post in the proper section.

I've taken care of both for you.

-Doc

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 09-08-2012, 11:33 AM
Member
 
iBrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by olyteddy View Post

Is there some kind of 'Pixel Orbiter' or other anti-burn-in app running inside the TV? A lot of Plasmas screw around with the picture like that to prevent IR.

Yes, Pixel Orbiter is the cause of this blur effects!
iBrad is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 09-08-2012, 02:54 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
betelgeuse4721's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Excellent feedback guys, and thanks for editing my title.

On another forum, someone noticed that the instruction manual of my specific Panasonic TV mentioned that "HDMI is not optimized for PC use on this model."

This could explain the blurring, and it me be that pixel orbiting. At least I have an idea now!!!
betelgeuse4721 is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 09-08-2012, 05:09 PM
Goo
Member
 
Goo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just a random thought, but check to make sure your computer is outputting a progressive signal and not interlaced.

So if you check your display properties it should be set to 1920x1080p not 1080i.
Goo is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P50u50 Plasma Tv
Gear in this thread - P50u50 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off