Panasonic GT25 Way too dark - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 09-16-2012, 12:56 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dooballx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have had the GT25 since 2010. The image was great when I first got it. I could make out everything in dark scenes and used the preset THX mode for my picture settings.

Over the last few months a dramatic change to image brightness or contrast has occurred. In night time scenes or dark scenes it is very hard to make out what is going on.

This seems to have happened almost over night. Adjusting the brightness or contrast does not seem to really do much at all.
dooballx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 09-16-2012, 02:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
CalWldLif's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: South Bay'Los Angeles California.
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 29
if you are using hdmi, check taht the setting under picture mode/hdmi-dvi is set to auto.

aslo try a factury reset

to reset the set, power on the tv,
hold the menu button on the remote and at the same time
hold down the volume minus button on the tv, after about 5 seconds
you will see a screen with information come up,
at this point hold down the power button on the front of
the set until it turns off, then unplug the main power for
30 seconds plug back up and it's like you unboxed it for the
first time.

Loving D65
CalWldLif is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 09-16-2012, 06:28 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dooballx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tried factory reset and HDMI range. Didn't work....

I actually think someone in my family has been leaving the TV on with no signal when they are done watching. I have found the TV on with no cable signal for hours at a time just a black screen. Is it possible there is an entire layer of burnt in black pixels across the screen? Maybe this would explain why adjusting the contrast and brightness barely does anything? The phosphors are active even when there is no cable signal, right? TV ruined by immature kids...great.
dooballx is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 09-16-2012, 06:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
CalWldLif's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: South Bay'Los Angeles California.
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by dooballx View Post

Tried factory reset and HDMI range. Didn't work....
I actually think someone in my family has been leaving the TV on with no signal when they are done watching. I have found the TV on with no cable signal for hours at a time just a black screen. Is it possible there is an entire layer of burnt in black pixels across the screen? Maybe this would explain why adjusting the contrast and brightness barely does anything? The phosphors are active even when there is no cable signal, right? TV ruined by immature kids...great.
hmm, the no signal black screen is interesting.
back when the 10' models came out and the discovery of black rise, some wondered if
doing what happened to you, no signal, would help lower black level.
try vivid mode for a while.
crank it up and sharpness too.

Loving D65
CalWldLif is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 09-17-2012, 09:20 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dooballx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CalWldLif View Post

hmm, the no signal black screen is interesting.
back when the 10' models came out and the discovery of black rise, some wondered if
doing what happened to you, no signal, would help lower black level.
try vivid mode for a while.
crank it up and sharpness too.

Thanks for the help. I'll try out Vivid for awhile. I don't think my Squaretrade warranty would cover this. Bummer.
dooballx is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 09-17-2012, 09:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
CalWldLif's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: South Bay'Los Angeles California.
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 29
one thing more,
in Service menu there is VSUS --- Low.
try setting it High.
good luck

Loving D65
CalWldLif is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 09-25-2012, 08:16 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dooballx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I need some help with the service menu
I know how to access it but don't know how to scroll down and select VSUS. Can anyone help me out?
dooballx is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 10-01-2012, 07:24 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dooballx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if it is possible to change VSUS to High in THX mode? When I go to service menu it keeps reverting to Vivid when I switch it from Low to High.
dooballx is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 01-12-2013, 02:33 PM
Member
 
rupaniii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm on THX. and my picture looks super beautiful.l
Contrast - 100
Brightness +59
Color + 75
Tint 0
Sharpness +75
Color Temp - Warm 2\
Color Management OFF
CATS OFF
Video NR OFF
Blur Reduction ON
Advanced Picture : Mosquito NR ON and Black Level LIGHT

I did drop the High Green Gain down 2 points on the HEX scale in the service menu. Panasonic emphasises GREEN alog, and their Phosphors on this model had extra green , extra thick green phosphor as well.
If this does not help I can get into my Service Menu and get you all of those settings.
My TV is on up to 24hrs a day with content going all of the time, i have some negligible Magnetic Resonance of USA and other various TV logos but it's barely ever noticeable. I've never seen the phosphors age unevenly on this model /;burn in, just the
magnetic retention/shadowing left from how the black level operates. Real Black Drive uses 2 polarized magnets to keep the plasma state at deep black instead of current. Those magnets can hold a state for a while.
I've gotten rid of it before when i tried, but those channels are on so often it doesn't matter. there's not a hit of phoshpor burn in though.

ITs WAY BETTER than my Toshiba REGZA from 2004 that had very uneven phoshpor wear due to alot of 4:3 content being viewed on it, to the poinit that the side bars were way richer than the center due to phosphor aging mismatch.
My GT25 has seen way more 4:3 wear and tear and there's NOTHING to say about the sidebars at all.
rupaniii is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 01-12-2013, 02:36 PM
Member
 
rupaniii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yeah, service menu is confusing!
rupaniii is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 01-12-2013, 03:54 PM
Member
 
rupaniii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dooballx View Post

Does anyone know if it is possible to change VSUS to High in THX mode? When I go to service menu it keeps reverting to Vivid when I switch it from Low to High.

I notice there is Cinema mode in the Service menu but not THX. Anyone know if this IS THX? By way of deduction it would seem so.

If you can see VSUS in Cinema then, i'd guess you press whatever button the directions say to select it then press vol up down to change it.
Will look again in a bit. Watching NFL hoping RAVENS can get the job done here on Peyton.
rupaniii is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 01-12-2013, 06:17 PM
Member
 
rupaniii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just saw this, What is your hours?
Don't reset it as I don't know what that does or if you can.

http://www.hometheatershack.com/forums/hdtv-video-displays-processors/23475-how-check-hours-used-your-plasma.html#axzz2HoVKLC7K
rupaniii is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off