Dual core chip in panasonic gt50+ - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 09-30-2012, 11:11 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
laststop311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What exactly is this chip responsible for? Is it used for video processing functions?
laststop311 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 10-01-2012, 10:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Steve S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 5,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Improves internet feature performance, that's all.

Steve S.
Steve S is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 10-01-2012, 10:48 AM
Senior Member
 
Tazishere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Broadus, Montana
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
The internet feature is inferior to my PS3, or my homemade HTPC. It doesn't have a large cache memory, so there are frequent stops and starts on Netflix and MLB, which aren't there on my other two devices. I wish I had saved the money and went with the ST version. I guess though, I would always be wondering, "What If?" with the GT version.
Tazishere is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 10-01-2012, 11:38 AM
Senior Member
 
HLdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tazishere View Post

The internet feature is inferior to my PS3, or my homemade HTPC. It doesn't have a large cache memory, so there are frequent stops and starts on Netflix and MLB, which aren't there on my other two devices. I wish I had saved the money and went with the ST version. I guess though, I would always be wondering, "What If?" with the GT version.

I've watched multiple Netflix movies on my GT50 and have never experience starts and stops throughout the movie. Maybe it's your internet connection.
HLdan is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 10-01-2012, 11:51 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
laststop311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok so this chip is strictly for the internet features and apps it does not control video quality at all like processing sd etc etc? So paying an extra 200 for the gt50 is pointless if you have an xbox 360 and an htpc.
laststop311 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 10-01-2012, 12:48 PM
Senior Member
 
HLdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by laststop311 View Post

ok so this chip is strictly for the internet features and apps it does not control video quality at all like processing sd etc etc? So paying an extra 200 for the gt50 is pointless if you have an xbox 360 and an htpc.
Right, it doesn't affect any performance outside of the Viera Connect. If you don't care about the extra connection inputs and better styling on the GT50 then just get the ST50.
HLdan is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off