TC-P65S1 stuck in restart loop after firmware update - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Display Devices > Plasma Flat Panel Displays > TC-P65S1 stuck in restart loop after firmware update

Plasma Flat Panel Displays

rain1522's Avatar rain1522
07:19 AM Liked: 10
post #1 of 3
10-03-2012 | Posts: 2
Joined: Oct 2012
I just updated my Panasonic TC-P65S1 firmware using an SD card. The update said “Upgrade completed successfully. Please
remove the TV plug”. I unplugged it and plugged it back in. When i press power I can hear it turn on and the led light turns red (which is normal) but nothing displays on screen and after about 15 seconds it powers off and back on. It does this 3 times before turning off completely.

I have tried the following to reset the tv:
- Pressing the "Vol -" on the tv and "Menu" on the remote for 5 seconds. Nothing displays on screen.
- Unplugged the tv overnight and plugged it back it. Still nothing.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
RandyWalters's Avatar RandyWalters
07:37 AM Liked: 513
post #2 of 3
10-03-2012 | Posts: 17,577
Joined: Feb 2003
Exactly which firmware update did you apply to your TV?

Where did you get it from?

And why did you update the firmware? Were you having an issue or problem?

Are you absolutely positive that the firmware you installed is the correct firmware version for your particular country's version of the 65" S1?

If someone downloads and installs firmware that is not specifically intended for their particular size and model, or for their country's version of that particular model then it usually kills the TV.
rain1522's Avatar rain1522
07:55 AM Liked: 10
post #3 of 3
10-03-2012 | Posts: 2
Joined: Oct 2012
I am pretty sure i downloaded the correct firmware. This was the only firmware listed on the US panasonic site for the TC-P65S1. It was version 2.26
http://www2.panasonic.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/vSupportDownloadDetail?storeId=15001&idval=UCM_STG_CNT_039179

I was having some very minor issues with the screen dimming occasionally and wanted to see if the update resolved it as it was listed in the issues.

Is there a way to resolve this or is my tv dead?
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3