HDMI question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 10-15-2012, 02:32 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
vduggal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just ordered a new TC-P65VT50 (replacing a pioneer elite pro-1100). Currently have an HDMI run that is a version 1.2 or 1.3 and is about a 50ft run. I understand that I need to move to HDMI v1.4 to get the maximum performance capabilities and 3D for the VT50. My questions are:

Is the move to HDMI v1.4 worth it?
Will the length of the run inhabit my ability to take advantage of HDMI v1.4 (better picture quality, 3D, etc)?
What brand do you suggest I get. I have been quoted AudioQuest (Chocolate) from Geek Squad for a little over $700. I saw a monster equivalent (HD1000) for ~300.00

Thanks in advance for your help.
vduggal is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 10-15-2012, 02:43 PM
Newbie
 
XxPaperclipxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Audioquest and monster are extremely overpriced. Get the 50ft 24awg HDMI from monoprice for $40, its all you need.

http://www.monoprice.com/products/subdepartment.asp?c_id=109&cp_id=10240

XxPaperclipxX is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 10-15-2012, 02:50 PM
Senior Member
 
erick.s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: CT
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Before going out and buying new cables, wait until the TV comes in and give the ones you have a try. It's possible that even though they aren't 1.4 spec they'll work anyway. I have old cables that work fine with my newer gear - including transmitting 3D. Without opening up a can of worms on the cable issue, I can't see dropping several hundred dollars on digital cables. I've always bought from monoprice or bluejeanscable and have never been any less than happy with them and both places are very reasonably priced.
erick.s is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 10-15-2012, 02:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,651
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 278 Post(s)
Liked: 277
HDMI 1.4 is a hardware spec, not a cable spec. Any Certified High Speed HDMI cable will work from a reputable mfr. Monoprice, MediaBridge, Blue Jeans all make excellent cables without the price gouging that other cable mfrs do. Just make sure that the cable is certified for the length you need.
Otto Pylot is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off