plasma looks grainy - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 10-25-2012, 11:49 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
getchobig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,

I have a 50' Panasonic plasma model p50gt30 connected via a monster hdmi 2000m series to my DirecTV hddvr box. I love the tv think its better than my previous Samsung 40' LCD but I don't like that it looks a bit grainy up close. I don't remember ever having this problem with my LCD. This is my first plasma by the way. I was wondering if its because its a plasma or do I have something not right with the settings. Please help as this is becoming annoying.
getchobig is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 10-25-2012, 12:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,172
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 247
How close is close? Youll notice more signal problmes with a bigger TV and going from 40-50 is a big jump expect to see more flaws that you may not have noticed before.....If you are watching SD or a bad HD channel expect to see a poor picture
Ph8te is online now  
post #3 of 12 Old 10-25-2012, 01:05 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
getchobig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well up to at least six feet away or so I live in an apartment so from the tv to the couch in the back its about twelve feet at that point the tv looks find looks amazing actually. It's the guest who sit about six feet away that have noticed it and brought it to my attention. Is there anything in the settings I can do? The feed for DTV is usually 1080i but yesterday I was watching hurt locker on blue ray and I noticed the grainy look alot. I put it on my ps3 with the monster ultimate cable connecting the two.
getchobig is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 10-25-2012, 01:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
QuiGonJosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 820
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by getchobig View Post

Well up to at least six feet away or so I live in an apartment so from the tv to the couch in the back its about twelve feet at that point the tv looks find looks amazing actually. It's the guest who sit about six feet away that have noticed it and brought it to my attention. Is there anything in the settings I can do? The feed for DTV is usually 1080i but yesterday I was watching hurt locker on blue ray and I noticed the grainy look alot. I put it on my ps3 with the monster ultimate cable connecting the two.

Hurt Locker is quite a grainy movie. It's the way they decided to shoot the film to make it more authentic. Grain is good.
QuiGonJosh is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 10-25-2012, 01:20 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
getchobig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well not just that all movies especially older movies.
getchobig is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 10-25-2012, 01:46 PM
Senior Member
 
willieconway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Why don't you post your settings? Perhaps someone is able to spot an incorrect value. Include the video and display settings on your PS3 as well, just in case.

The fact that it's a Monster Anything cable doesn't really matter. An HDMI cable is an HDMI cable is an HDMI cable.

Adjusting settings according to personal preference is not calibration.
willieconway is online now  
post #7 of 12 Old 10-25-2012, 01:54 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
getchobig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok give me a sec il post the tv settings as well as ps3 settings
getchobig is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 10-25-2012, 02:19 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
getchobig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ps3 settings as follows

Bd internet connection-confirm
Bd/DVD cinema conversion-automatic
DVD wide display- letter box
Bd/DVD upscaler- normal
Bd/DVD video output format (hdmi)- y pb/cb pr/cr
1080p 24hz output (hdmi)- automatic
Bd/DVD dynamics range control- off
Bd/DVD audio output forma(hdmi) - linear pcm


Tv settings as follows

Thx picture mode
Contrast 50
Brightness 55
Color 50
Tint 0
Sharpness 10
Color temp. Warm 1
Color mngmt. Off
C.a.t.s. on
Video nr off
Screen format- full
Hd size 2
Mosquito nr off
Black level light

Also have a custom setting
Contrast 80
Brightness 50
Color 46
Tint 0
Sharpness 50
Color temp warm 2
Cats off
Video nr off
Color space-normal
W/b high r 0
W/b high g -2
W/b high b 2
W/b low r 6
W/b low g 3
W/b low b 0
Black extension 0
Gama adjustment 2.2
Panel brightness- mid
Contour emphasis off
agc 0

Got these settings from a.forum not sure if there the best possible
getchobig is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 10-25-2012, 03:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mailiang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springsteen Country
Posts: 6,529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 273
Make sure your DTV DVR is set to NATIVE. PS3 or BD player, 1080p or auto and 24p is on. All sharpness settings should be set to 0. If it looks a bit soft you can gradually increase the setting until looks sharp again. 50% is way too high for any mode including custom. Also, the Cinema or THX mode will provide you with the most accurate picture.




Ian

The best way to succeed in life is to act on the advice you give to others

mailiang is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 10-25-2012, 04:11 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
getchobig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok so I will set my DTV to native on. Thanks by the way what does this do?
getchobig is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 10-25-2012, 04:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
QuiGonJosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 820
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by getchobig View Post

Well not just that all movies especially older movies.

Movies are shot on film. The grain makes up the image you see. It is inherent to the image. I'm not sure if you were using some kind of smoothing feature on your LCD or you're just not used to the way that movies are supposed to look, but grain is never a bad thing.
QuiGonJosh is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 10-25-2012, 05:57 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
getchobig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok cool thanks guys and native is on now
getchobig is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off