Samsung PN60E530 Owners Thread - Page 6 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #151 of 159 Old 01-06-2014, 12:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sean Spamilton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,168
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 319 Post(s)
Liked: 349
Quote:
Originally Posted by **OptimusPrime** View Post

Try raising your brightness a notch or two. That helped elimintate the problem for me. I forget what it's called exactly (auto dim or something), but you can calibrate it out.

Thanks, I'll try it out.
Sean Spamilton is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 159 Old 02-07-2014, 07:22 PM
Newbie
 
AnthJG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12

I picked up what I believe is this set at Costco in the 60" pentile display.  Model number is slightly different, mine says PN60F5350 running software version 1026.0  My manufactured date was Dec 2013 so I was hoping all of the software kinks were worked out.  No buzzing that I can detect.  Great picture, at night, which is main time I watch it.  Super reflective during the daytime.  I was concerned about the pentile display, wondering if less subpixels meant a softer, less than 1080P level of resolution.  The math with the subpixels doesn't add up to full 1080P HD but I was watching this set side by side with a 60 in VIZIO M series and the resolution certainly looked the same from a sweet spot of about 7 - 9 feet.  Overall, very pleased, especially at this price point  ($750 after a temporary manufacturers rebate).  Plus Costco offered a 3 year warranty for just $70.  Tremendous bang for the buck here. 

AnthJG is offline  
post #153 of 159 Old 06-10-2014, 05:39 PM
Newbie
 
nyr56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's the dynamic contrast that you're seeing, listed under advanced options in the picture menu. Of course, you probably figured this out within the 5 months since you posted.
nyr56 is offline  
post #154 of 159 Old 08-01-2016, 08:21 AM
Member
 
americanFord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Sorry for bumping this thread but I have a question. I bought my set in may, 2013 and the firmware update is 1022.0 that probably is the last Sony bothered to release for this set.

From what I read here theres no buzzing detected from you that have FW: 1018.1 and later. I am asking because I experience som buzzing.

Except from that I am still very happy with this plasma and I will enjoy it till I can buy a 70" + OLED. But i can't admit the buzzing ain't bugging me a bit

Behringer B215XL (mains) + B212XL (surround) - Sony STR 1040 - Pro Ject Rpm 5.1/ Phonobox S - Jamo D500 sur (as surrounds) - 2xJamo SUB650 - Apple TV3 - , Samsung 60" Plasma

Last edited by americanFord; 08-01-2016 at 08:35 AM.
americanFord is offline  
post #155 of 159 Old 10-10-2016, 01:20 PM
Senior Member
 
emerson1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: TX
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 23
My parents have the PN60E530A3F. Purchased about 3 years ago.

It will no longer turn on 75% of the time. Using both the remote and button on the TV. They say the power indicator stays on when you turn it on, and blinks when you turn it off.

Any idea what is going on with it?
emerson1 is offline  
post #156 of 159 Old 11-21-2016, 09:29 AM
Senior Member
 
emerson1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: TX
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by emerson1 View Post
My parents have the PN60E530A3F. Purchased about 3 years ago.

It will no longer turn on 75% of the time. Using both the remote and button on the TV. They say the power indicator stays on when you turn it on, and blinks when you turn it off.

Any idea what is going on with it?
Sorry to bump this up, but I figure a month is an appropriate amount of time.
emerson1 is offline  
post #157 of 159 Old Yesterday, 06:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Patriot666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by emerson1 View Post
My parents have the PN60E530A3F. Purchased about 3 years ago.

It will no longer turn on 75% of the time. Using both the remote and button on the TV. They say the power indicator stays on when you turn it on, and blinks when you turn it off.

Any idea what is going on with it?
I'm no tv expert, but from some internet searching it sounds like you need a new power supply board. Here's a link with some info (IDK this company and can't recommend them, posted for info only). http://www.coppelltvrepair.com/p/125...v-etc-problems

Here's a video on how to do it yourself. The part is around $50 on ebay.
Patriot666 is offline  
post #158 of 159 Old Yesterday, 07:56 AM
Senior Member
 
emerson1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: TX
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patriot666 View Post
I'm no tv expert, but from some internet searching it sounds like you need a new power supply board. Here's a link with some info (IDK this company and can't recommend them, posted for info only). http://www.coppelltvrepair.com/p/125...v-etc-problems

Here's a video on how to do it yourself. The part is around $50 on ebay.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oqNhlJvxsn0
Thanks for the reply! My only question is could it still be a power supply problem if the TV still comes on? Seems like the power supply wouldn't either work all the time or not work at all because it's blown.
emerson1 is offline  
post #159 of 159 Old Yesterday, 10:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Patriot666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by emerson1 View Post
Thanks for the reply! My only question is could it still be a power supply problem if the TV still comes on? Seems like the power supply wouldn't either work all the time or not work at all because it's blown.


Seems that way to me too. Like I said, I'm no expert. Hopefully someone who is will chime in.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Patriot666 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn60e535 , Samsung Pn50c8000 50 In 3d Hdtv Plasma Tv , Xbox 360 Console
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off