New Panasonic TC-P65ST50 screen automatically dimming when too bright of a scene... Problem or "feature"? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 11-15-2012, 03:22 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
a10spot4me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got my new 65" ST50, set it up, went to calibration and started an initial tweak. When I brought up my dish guide, I noticed the screen was dim and washed out. I went back into the TV settings, turned off anything that would automatically dim the panel, no change. I change channels to an HD movie and the screen looks great, start troubleshooting:

I figure I'll switch sources to my HTPC, when it pops up the entire panel is dim and washed out, the whites are literally grey colors are muddy. I shrink the browser that was up, and the screen popped back to life. What the?!? So I bring up My Computer, screen is ok... maximize the window, BAM dim and dingy again.

Sure enough, if the scene is too bright or has too much white it pops into "I now look like ****" mode, and pops back when the screen dims back down. I'm thinking to myself what would cause this? It can't be by design, why in the world would you design a TV to destroy the PQ if its "too bright" that's insane. So I thought maybe it was drawing more power than my conditioning block could provide (i have a bunch of stuff hooked up and this things draws some watts), I hook it directly into an outlet that I know is even on a separate breaker. Nope, the whole panel dims as soon as the screen is too bright.

I called Panasonic's "Viera Concierge" help line, the guy listens to me then checks to make sure its not dimming due to ambient light (sensor problem, etc) but I already had that disabled. He called his engineer who told him to tell me that "because of energy star and the power saving in the TV, its a feature designed inside the set itself when it starts to go outside of the power saving parameters. This is not a feature that you or I can change"

Is this true? Why does this kick in? Has anyone else noticed this or do I have a bad tv? Any help/advice/insight would be GREATLY appreciated.
a10spot4me is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 11-15-2012, 03:28 PM
Senior Member
 
weedeater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sterling, VA
Posts: 401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I thought all plasmas did this. That is, they limit the maximum power output to a certain level. I'm probably blowing smoke, but I thought that one of the purposes of calibration is to set the maximum white level so that it doesn't go into this mode all the time (and set the grey scale relative to this maximum).
weedeater is online now  
post #3 of 8 Old 11-15-2012, 03:32 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
a10spot4me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've flipped to different programming, but this is a huge issue... its actually dimmed more often than it isn't. This drives me nuts... so on the TV remote, I press menu and the portion of the program that I can still see "pops" back to normal mode and looks amazing... I press menu again, and the whole screen dims back down. The whites that were white while the menu was blocking half the screen dim to gray.
a10spot4me is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 11-15-2012, 03:46 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
a10spot4me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Saw this thread:

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1347781/auto-brightness-limiters-abl-in-plasma-sets


This really sucks, its extremely noticeable in commercials (as he pointed out in the post) but I see it in regular tv viewing. Outdoor scenes, even an indoor scene with two people talking... it looks amazing when its not automatically dimming itself.
a10spot4me is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 11-15-2012, 04:06 PM
Member
 
chuckv64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
On samsung sets if you turn off the eco sensor this problem goes away . But on the panny even with the ambient light sensor off the abl is still there. Make sure the automatic gain control (agc) is set to zero & what is your panel brightess set to. If it is too bright the abl will kick in much more frequently.
chuckv64 is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 11-15-2012, 04:39 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
a10spot4me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
AGC is at 0, Brightness is set to 60 and the Panel Brightness in Pro Settings is set to Mid.

Thanks for taking the time to explain this to me, I honestly had no clue this was in every plasma set... I never hear about it and never noticed it when I use to install these in casinos and bars; but now that its right in my face, I can't not see it.
a10spot4me is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 11-15-2012, 04:46 PM
Senior Member
 
weedeater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sterling, VA
Posts: 401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Contrast? Perhaps turn it back a little. Mode? stay out of Standard.
weedeater is online now  
post #8 of 8 Old 11-15-2012, 06:34 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
a10spot4me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mode is custom, contrast I turned down to 87 because I was losing detail. I'm going to keep it over the weekend and see if I get used to it and the set grows on me. A quick preview of dark knight, wall-e, and monsters inc on bluray has me pretty sure I might regret sending it back.
a10spot4me is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P65st50 Plasma Tv
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off