Firmware updates, use discretion.. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 12-05-2012, 04:10 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
5thdimension's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
A lot of users are encountering operational problems after performing firmware updates requiring unwanted repairs, the old saying of "If it ain't broke don't fix it" holds true in most cases, use discretion before updating the firmware and determine if it is something you or the Unit really needs before hitting the button.
5thdimension is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 12-05-2012, 05:31 PM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 471
A lot of people? I've only seen a few reports of this happening.

What brands/models has this happened on?

And don't some TVs update themselves automatically?

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 12-06-2012, 04:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 493
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5thdimension View Post

A lot of users are encountering operational problems after performing firmware updates requiring unwanted repairs, the old saying of "If it ain't broke don't fix it" holds true in most cases, use discretion before updating the firmware and determine if it is something you or the Unit really needs before hitting the button.

Samsung yes, Panasonic no for the most part.

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is online now  
post #4 of 5 Old 12-08-2012, 02:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
Straybeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Samsung occasionally issues a firmware update to fix an issue, but they also include widget updates. When you go to use the certain widgets you will be stopped and told to update first.
Straybeat is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 12-23-2012, 06:44 AM
Member
 
johnnyquest1426's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a samsung pn64d8000 plasma tv and samsung sent out a new firware update. I downloaded it and went thru the process and after the new firmware tv would turn on and off all by itself with no reason. Called samsung told them what happened and told me it would have to be sent in for service. I told them that it worked perfect before thier update and they didn't confirm it was anything to do with thier update. I was so mad that i cursed them out and i paid at that time $2500.00 for this set. I sent it in and they said it was one of the main boards. Had it fixed in one day. Amazing Samsung had this board in stock. Anyway they were very kind and paid for it all even thou it was out of warranty. All said and done i will not be updatting firmware any more.
johnnyquest1426 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off