using my TV's optical output as a means of Switching Video sources within my Home Theater - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 12-06-2012, 04:05 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
rudyv1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, I have a 2010 model LG plasma TV, 60PK950 (was LG's top of the line model in 2010)

I was wondering if anyone knows the answer to my question:

Does the Optical output from the TV degrade the sound quality in any way or alter it from the original signal coming into the TV? (over HDMI or optical IN)

I want to run the Optical Out of the TV into a high quality DAC without having to worry about switching the video inputs on the TV manually from switching audio inputs on a receiver/DAC. It solves my problem basically since my current receiver does not have HDMI capability and I would rather not buy a new one since I am only using 2 CH audio, but I want it sounding best as possible.

Thank you
rudyv1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 12-06-2012, 04:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 9,066
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2446 Post(s)
Liked: 2195
Quote:
Originally Posted by rudyv1 View Post

Hello, I have a 2010 model LG plasma TV, 60PK950 (was LG's top of the line model in 2010)
I was wondering if anyone knows the answer to my question:
Does the Optical output from the TV degrade the sound quality in any way or alter it from the original signal coming into the TV? (over HDMI or optical IN)
I want to run the Optical Out of the TV into a high quality DAC without having to worry about switching the video inputs on the TV manually from switching audio inputs on a receiver/DAC. It solves my problem basically since my current receiver does not have HDMI capability and I would rather not buy a new one since I am only using 2 CH audio, but I want it sounding best as possible.
Thank you

Most sets optical outs only output in 2 channel unless it is from the internal ota tuner. This is due to hdmi copy restrictions.

65C6 OLED
Time Warner Cable/Panasonic UB900/ Roku Premiere +/Sony S780 Soundbar/Harmony 650
Calman Enthusiast/Chromapure Standard with Auto Cal
chunon is online now  
post #3 of 7 Old 12-06-2012, 04:54 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
rudyv1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, 2 channel is the only output I will be using, as described in my post

I am curious if the signal gets altered in any way, or processed. If it does, I don't want to use this method of connecting the equipment then.

Thank you
rudyv1 is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 Old 12-06-2012, 05:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 9,066
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2446 Post(s)
Liked: 2195
Quote:
Originally Posted by rudyv1 View Post

Yes, 2 channel is the only output I will be using, as described in my post
I am curious if the signal gets altered in any way, or processed. If it does, I don't want to use this method of connecting the equipment then.
Thank you

It may down-mix to 2 channel but I am not 100% sure.

65C6 OLED
Time Warner Cable/Panasonic UB900/ Roku Premiere +/Sony S780 Soundbar/Harmony 650
Calman Enthusiast/Chromapure Standard with Auto Cal
chunon is online now  
post #5 of 7 Old 12-09-2012, 01:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
Straybeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by rudyv1 View Post

Yes, 2 channel is the only output I will be using, as described in my post
I am curious if the signal gets altered in any way, or processed. If it does, I don't want to use this method of connecting the equipment then.
Thank you

No, the signal is not altered, you get what they send. Except in the case where 5.1 is mixed back into 2 channel, but it's still a clean signal.

Does your TV have ARC (Audio Return Channel)? If so, then configure your receiver to receive the audio from the HDMI cable and there's no need for optical.
Straybeat is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 12-09-2012, 03:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
budwich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,501
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 31
he indicted that his currently receiver does NOT have HDMI so the arc feature isn't an option.
budwich is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 12-10-2012, 06:23 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
rudyv1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for your reply budwich

I did an A/B comparison from the TV's optical output and the devices optical output with a CD playing in my bluray player, and the result was not the same sound. The TV Sound was definetly altered, in a negative way. I will be using a 4in 1out optical switcher of higher quality to solve my problem. Thank you for all your responses.
rudyv1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off