Strange behaviour on one of my HDMI ports (Panasonic plasma) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 12-06-2012, 10:54 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Singh007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have a tcp60st30 plasma, and HDMI 2 stopped working for a while now. Then the other day, I had to unplug my tv for a day, and when I plugged it in, HDMI2 was working fine! ...but a few minutes later, I turned the TV off, and now it doesn't work again! But here is the weird thing: If I unplug the tv for a minute, and then plug it back in, it works with my pvr just fine. But with my apple tv it is still hit and miss. And then all of a sudden, I turn on my tv and my pvr is video only (audio doesn't work)

This is really bad timing because I am actually potentially selling the TV tomorrow. Is this a problem that can be fixed without a technician coming in? I have already tried restoring the tv to factory default, still doesn't work. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
Singh007 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 12-07-2012, 01:13 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,680
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Post moved to proper display area.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 12-07-2012, 08:21 AM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Singh007 View Post

I have a tcp60st30 plasma, and HDMI 2 stopped working for a while now. Then the other day, I had to unplug my tv for a day, and when I plugged it in, HDMI2 was working fine! ...but a few minutes later, I turned the TV off, and now it doesn't work again! But here is the weird thing: If I unplug the tv for a minute, and then plug it back in, it works with my pvr just fine. But with my apple tv it is still hit and miss. And then all of a sudden, I turn on my tv and my pvr is video only (audio doesn't work).This is really bad timing because I am actually potentially selling the TV tomorrow. Is this a problem that can be fixed without a technician coming in? I have already tried restoring the tv to factory default, still doesn't work. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

If you're plugging and unplugging the HDMI cables while the TV is turned on then that can damage the input board. NEVER do this with the TV turned on - some people have reported seeing a small spark when inserting or removing the HDMI cables.


If the TV is still under warranty i'd call Panasonic and arrange for a service visit.

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333, URC R40 Remote.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Gallery -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
RandyWalters is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off