Help me figure out my parent's tv model? (Pioneer plasma) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-09-2012, 09:50 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
elrond79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all - I'd like to figure out my parent's TV model, so I can know if I can buy them a blu-ray player for Christmas. I could, of course, just ask them, but I figure this would sort of give away the game, and so would like to avoid doing that if possible.

Here's what I know:

It's a pioneer plasma
It's an "older" model - I think they bought it 5-10 years ago
It was designed for 1080i, but not 1080p (I know this because I remember my dad saying he got a "good deal" on it, because everyone was trying to sell their 1080i models, because 1080p was the new hotness...)
It's somewhere from 42"-50"
It's native resolution is not a standard 720 or 1080 one - ie, it's something weird like 1,365 x 768, and it automatically downrezzes incoming 1080 signals.
I believe (though I wouldn't swear to it) that it has speakers on either side of the screen
It's remote is black, rectangular, and (frankly) kind of ugly - it looks something like this:


I'd guess it was the 1140HD, except that it supports 1080p (the remote picture was taken from that user manual). Anyone have any other suggestions? Or, if anyone simply knows of a fairly complete list of pioneer plasma displays, that would be helpful, as well.

On the other hand, what I REALLY want to know is if I can buy a Blu-Ray player, and hook it up to the damn thing. Since Blu-Rays are encoded at 1080p24, this would mean that either:
A) the tv could accept a 1080p signal, and then automatically interlace alternate frames to display in 1080i (or, really, 1365x768i, or whatever format it's native format actually is)
B) the Blu-Ray player can be set to output at 1080i?
...so if anyone can answer one of those questions directly, that would be helpful too...

Thanks,

Paul
elrond79 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-09-2012, 10:03 AM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1011
The $500 Oppo can be forced to output at a lower resolution including 1080i, and 24fps can also be disabled so that it defaults to 60fps, but I suspect that's far more than what your parents need/want. Someone might have an idea regarding a lower end player that can do the same things.
vinnie97 is offline  
Old 12-09-2012, 01:25 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
elrond79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmm... yeah, that's a bit more than I was hoping to spend. Do you know if it can output 1080i on both component and HDMI? Because, without knowing my parent's model, I can't be sure that it has an HDMI input...

- Paul
elrond79 is offline  
Old 12-09-2012, 02:03 PM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 498
Quote:
Originally Posted by elrond79 View Post

Hi all - I'd like to figure out my parent's TV model, so I can know if I can buy them a blu-ray player for Christmas. I could, of course, just ask them, but I figure this would sort of give away the game, and so would like to avoid doing that if possible.

How about coming up with a ruse to get them to give you the model number of the TV (either from the manual or the build date sticker on the TV)? You could tell them you're considering buying an older Pioneer off Craigslist for a great price and wanted to compare it to their particular model since you know "how great their TV's picture quality is" or something like that wink.gif

Quote:
..........what I REALLY want to know is if I can buy a Blu-Ray player, and hook it up to the damn thing. Since Blu-Rays are encoded at 1080p24, this would mean that either:
A) the tv could accept a 1080p signal, and then automatically interlace alternate frames to display in 1080i (or, really, 1365x768i, or whatever format it's native format actually is)
B) the Blu-Ray player can be set to output at 1080i?

Well basically if your parents' Pioneer has an HDMI input (or an HDCP-capable DVI input if it's really old) you should be able to use any BD player with it, presuming that the player can be set to output 1080i in case it turns out that the TV won't accept a 1080p signal (although i'd imagine that it would). The TV will downrez all compatible signals to the panel's 768p native resolution anyway.

But having their TV's model number will enable you to confirm everything without just hoping or going by vague educated guessing etc.

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
Old 12-09-2012, 02:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
MechanicalMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Missouri
Posts: 981
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I don't see why this is a problem. Any player with a component output will output in 720p or 1080i over component, which won't be a problem for the TV. So if you want to be safe, then just buy a player with component output. I don't know how common that is anymore, but surely you can find something.

ETA: Eh, I don't know all there is to know about this topic. I guess you would need to buy a player from 2010 or earlier to have component outputs that would (hopefully) work with most discs.
MechanicalMan is offline  
Old 12-10-2012, 07:05 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
elrond79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MechanicalMan View Post

Any player with a component output with output in 720p or 1080i over component, which won't be a problem for the TV. So if you want to be safe, then just buy a player with component output.
Ok, good to know. I'll look into those... thanks!
elrond79 is offline  
Old 12-10-2012, 07:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
stevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 1,869
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
And any BD player with HDMI should work if the TV has an HDMI input. An issue, however, may be that many older TVs had implementations of HDMI that sometimes created compatibility issues.

You won't be able to buy a current BD player with component output, but might find some old stock made before that became illegal.

Steve
stevel is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off