Twinkling pixels on LG 42PX5R-ZB - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 01-02-2013, 04:06 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Bst1337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello

I just got myself a used LG plasma TV, model 42PX5R-ZB. But already the first time I turned it on I noticed something that really bothers me.

When an area of the screen switches to black after displaying light colors (such as the TV menu or something in a movie), pixels in that area flickers most in red and green before they fade to black after one or two seconds.

Also grey colors are very grainy in general (eg in the menu of my cable box) even though in receiving a digital HD signal through hdmi.

Any help is much appreciated. It is much too bright in my room to take pictures of the TV now, but I will try to supply pictures later.

Happy new year :-)

EDIT:
This is first image is when the TV menu is open;
http://imgur.com/y4QDj,XU3sC#0

Now when the menu is closed, it leaves the pixels in random colors which then fade to black over the next couples of seconds:
http://imgur.com/y4QDj,XU3sC#1

I should mention that this has nothing to do with cables as it appears with the TV menu itself and both when using HDMI and scart cables from different sources.
Bst1337 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 01-02-2013, 09:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 6,989
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 220
I'd check your HDMI cables first. You should be using Certified High Speed HDMI cables from someone like Monoprice, MediaBridge, BlueJeans, etc. If the cables are fine on your used plasma (works ok on another tv for example) then "used" may be your problem. You may have to get a calibration disk like the free AVS HD709 disk and set the basics (brightness, contrast, sharpness, aspect, and color). And plasma tv's don't usually do very good in bright rooms but that's probably not your issue.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 01-02-2013, 09:53 AM
Member
 
fallengt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Probally, dither
fallengt is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 01-02-2013, 05:27 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Bst1337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there any way to fix this?
Bst1337 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 01-02-2013, 05:29 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Bst1337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I forgot to mention that this has nothing to do with cables as it appears with the TV menu itself and both when using HDMI and scart cables from different sources.
Please see the enclosed images smile.gif
Bst1337 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 01-02-2013, 05:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 6,989
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 220
Call for service.
Otto Pylot is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off