Official Panasonic TC-PxxST60 Series thread - Page 190 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5671 of 12659 Old 06-04-2013, 12:27 PM
Member
 
ecpackers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
its worth noting, as far as the 'input lag' thing goes...


its WAY WAY WAY WAY WAYYYY more detrimental to fighting games, than shooters. in fact, its pretty insignificant in most shooters, specifically CoD(i mention that because the article talks about 'do you suddenly suck at Call of Duty)... games like CoD on non-dedicated servers, are much more sensitive to internet and router settings, nat type, and whether or not you get host/are being hosted by someone with a good connection.
ecpackers is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5672 of 12659 Old 06-04-2013, 12:51 PM
Member
 
KenT in SLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadett View Post

What patterns are you using to take measurements of gamma?
The full grey screens for Calman in the AVSHD disc, 100% & 60%.
KenT in SLC is offline  
post #5673 of 12659 Old 06-04-2013, 12:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
cadett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Houma, La.
Posts: 808
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by KenT in SLC View Post

The full grey screens for Calman in the AVSHD disc, 100% & 60%.
Go here: http://www.avsforum.com/t/1406352/gcd-gamut-calibration-disk
Download the a5.0.0 Calman only edition. Use the 10% Windows to measure grayscale/gamma.
cadett is offline  
post #5674 of 12659 Old 06-04-2013, 02:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GregLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Waimanalo HI
Posts: 3,117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sears Cares View Post

GregLee,
My name is Liz and I am with Sears Cares Escalations team. We are sorry to hear about the frustrations you have experienced with our delivery team.
Hi Liz. I think it's great that Sears has someone looking around this forum for customer complaints. I sent email with my contact info, as you asked. But actually, I didn't have any contact at all with a Sears delivery team.

I suggest that you use the Quote function for any of your posts that reference previous posts, so it is easier for us all to figure out what you are talking about. I looked back and found that my previous post you respond to must have been http://www.avsforum.com/t/1450484/official-panasonic-tc-pxxst60-series-thread/5460_60#post_23377600. I said that my delivery had been delayed and that it was difficult ("like pulling teeth") to get my order from Sears cancelled.

Greg Lee
GregLee is online now  
post #5675 of 12659 Old 06-04-2013, 02:52 PM
Member
 
KenT in SLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadett View Post

Go here: http://www.avsforum.com/t/1406352/gcd-gamut-calibration-disk
Download the a5.0.0 Calman only edition. Use the 10% Windows to measure grayscale/gamma.
I don't believe that I got this grossly erroneous gamma (not gamut - gamma) reading because I used one good calibration disc rather than another. I believe this reading may be traced to an incompatibility between tristimulus meters and the anti-relective filter on the ST60 series. Comments? I will go to my dealer's showroom and conduct on site gamma readings to confirm or refute, and will report.
KenT in SLC is offline  
post #5676 of 12659 Old 06-04-2013, 03:18 PM
Member
 
kobyh15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpie65 View Post

Congrats on your purchase. But isn't the 60ST60 on backorder from Amazon? The site says it ships in 1-2 months. Or did you grab one in time or go with a third party retailer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by eric3316 View Post

They had 4 earlier today and it said more on the way.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpie65 View Post

Wow, they are selling like hot cakes then. When I checked earlier this morning, I swear it still said ships in 1 to 2 months.

Thanks! Yeah, I grabbed one this morning when they had 4 left in stock. They did the same thing yesterday; there were 3 left and I watched them sell one-by-one it seemed like. I literally refreshed the page and saw the number dwindle. It was crazy. So today when I checked I went ahead and bought one in case they don't come in again before my move date. It does seem like they are selling like hotcakes. I did notice that the ST60 is the #1 seller in plasma TVs on Amazon. I don't know how it stacks up in overall TV sales on Amazon, though. I have read and learned a lot from these forums. I appreciate everyone who has contributed to this thread. There is a lot of good information in it.
kobyh15 is offline  
post #5677 of 12659 Old 06-04-2013, 03:25 PM
Senior Member
 
gbmannc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Apex, NC
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by joedog000 View Post

Moments away from receiving my 60ST60 off the delivery truck. I feel like a kid on Christmas.

It's silly how excited we get about electronics, isn't it? smile.gif

Mine just arrived in the local warehouse. But no call to set up delivery yet. I don't want to wait anymore!
gbmannc is offline  
post #5678 of 12659 Old 06-04-2013, 04:41 PM
Member
 
Bruce2019's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My 50ST60 in Action:










smile.gif
Bruce2019 is offline  
post #5679 of 12659 Old 06-04-2013, 05:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2,703
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 605
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbmannc View Post

Mine just arrived in the local warehouse. But no call to set up delivery yet. I don't want to wait anymore!
I usually call them when I see this and they setup the delivery. I don't have the patience to wait for them to call me.
eric3316 is offline  
post #5680 of 12659 Old 06-04-2013, 05:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,427
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by KenT in SLC View Post

I just got my Panasonic ST60 in 55" screen, and I just received my Calman 5 Home Theatre calibration kit with C3 meter and AVSHD calibration disc. Going through the basic settings, I read that the gamma was off the charts wrong -- 0.2 - 0.3 gamma at any gamma setting in Pro settings! Yet color temp at 80% is 6400 and deltaE for color temp at 80% and 30% is less than 5. I can't believe gamma would be this far off and still have a watchable picture. I would like to verify this reading before returning the TV. So far, I have read two other TV's gamma with this same meter and software, and they read 1.9, not ideal, but still on the charts. I then used a different AVS disc, different blu-ray player, different HDMI input, and different gain setting in the Pro gamma settings. All made no difference. What can I be doing wrong, or can Panasonic QC be this terrible? Anybody else have these readings? If it really is this bad, what kind of picture should I be experiencing? The blacks do look crushed.

User error of some sort. Post what you did and your measurements (maybe in the calibration forum) and folks will help you out.
zoyd is online now  
post #5681 of 12659 Old 06-04-2013, 05:49 PM
Member
 
random205's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
My P50ST60 just died on me. Red blinking light of death. The TV was not even 2 months old and it just died while I was watching TV. Panasonic is sending out someone to service it, but its a bummer that it happened regardless. Glad I got a SquareTrade warranty for this thing so if it craps out again I'm covered. frown.gif
random205 is offline  
post #5682 of 12659 Old 06-04-2013, 06:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
cadett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Houma, La.
Posts: 808
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by KenT in SLC View Post

I don't believe that I got this grossly erroneous gamma (not gamut - gamma) reading because I used one good calibration disc rather than another. I believe this reading may be traced to an incompatibility between tristimulus meters and the anti-relective filter on the ST60 series. Comments? I will go to my dealer's showroom and conduct on site gamma readings to confirm or refute, and will report.

True. You are using window patterns, right? I know it may be silly question, just want to make sure. You made the comment "full grey" screens.
cadett is offline  
post #5683 of 12659 Old 06-04-2013, 07:19 PM
Member
 
jackobots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I love having two totally customizable settings. I have the colors perfect on cinema and custom, and simply have different gamma and panel brightness for each one to provide two different, complimentary settings that I can choose between. Some sources look better a little more vibrant and brighter, while others a little more subdued. I've learned that when choosing between them it's just as much about the source than just how bright the room is. I use the brighter picture at night as well.

I have Custom as the brighter mode with Panel Brightness on high and Gamma at 1.8. The Cinema is the more subdued choice with Panel Brightness on Mid and Gamma 2.2. Some sources simply look better brighter, while others look best with typical calibration brightness in Cinema mode. The only other setting I sometimes adjust is the color level since some sources are more saturated than others. Once you get them dialed in, there is really no need to keep adjusting them or to choose any other mode.

It's a wonderfully functional feature having those two settings available...It's makes it easy to enjoy this tv. Love it biggrin.gif
jackobots is offline  
post #5684 of 12659 Old 06-04-2013, 08:48 PM
Member
 
CarguyHere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonTBarnes View Post

Definitely go bigger, if you have the room. It is a VERY noticeable difference. I had a lot of push back from the spousal unit based on the size ("What the **** do we need with a tv THAT big??!!"). Guess what, she loves it. I'd have gone for the 65, but pricing made the 60 a no-brainer.

See. size does matter! (and she said it didn't) smile.gif



Seriously, the 65 blows the 60 away in size, its sounds like nothing only 5", but when you see them side by side, bigger is more theater feeling. Almost 300 square inches of more TV

http://www.comparetvsizes.com/

Key Measurements
TV #1 TV #2
Total Area: 1538.3 square inches 1805.3 square inches
Width: 52.3 inches 56.7 inches
Height: 29.4 inches 31.9 inches
Diagonal: 60 inches 65 inches
DonTBarnes likes this.
CarguyHere is offline  
post #5685 of 12659 Old 06-04-2013, 09:34 PM
Senior Member
 
sealteamz6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by garnettrules21 View Post

Last night I left my tv on hbo, just to get some hours on it. I woke up this morning and my tv was off. Well some storms came through and my directv receiver lost signal and when I turned the tv on this morning it said something like "no input signal auto-off activated" which I thought was a really cool feature. Cause I imagine that no signal banner from my directv had a good chance of image retention. Apparently though its been around since like 2009 but I thought it was a neat feature and pretty handy.

yeah my panny plasma i bought in 08 had the same feature. Great feature
sealteamz6 is offline  
post #5686 of 12659 Old 06-04-2013, 09:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rocko1290's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Allen, Texas
Posts: 2,922
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarguyHere View Post

See. size does matter! (and she said it didn't) smile.gif



Seriously, the 65 blows the 60 away in size, its sounds like nothing only 5", but when you see them side by side, bigger is more theater feeling. Almost 300 square inches of more TV

http://www.comparetvsizes.com/

Key Measurements
TV #1 TV #2
Total Area: 1538.3 square inches 1805.3 square inches
Width: 52.3 inches 56.7 inches
Height: 29.4 inches 31.9 inches
Diagonal: 60 inches 65 inches
That sucks to hear, I'm not gonna be able to afford a 65 when I upgrade from my current 65" DLP. Lol oh well

XBL: Rocko1290
PSN: Rocko1290
rocko1290 is offline  
post #5687 of 12659 Old 06-04-2013, 11:02 PM
Member
 
hank0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montreal, Qc
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
My 60st60 arrives tomorrow, and I'm already having doubts about not buying the 65 ". Like everyone else, the 60" was best deal. I had a Sony 55" LED LCD that I sold because of motion blur and LCDs overall just have terrible picture quality. So a 60" replacing a 55" should make me happy.
hank0 is offline  
post #5688 of 12659 Old 06-05-2013, 01:03 AM
Senior Member
 
Ryder125's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Canada, BC
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Urga View Post

New ST60 yet calibrated with settings already pushes its basics :



cool.gif

Does this not hurt your eyes? Man I just seen this pic on my ipad retina and its freaking sharp, I gotta check this tv out.
Ryder125 is offline  
post #5689 of 12659 Old 06-05-2013, 03:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
Urga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: France
Posts: 980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 235
Related / Quality / Price ST60 is a great deal (952€) ... eek.gif
Compared to F8500 ( 2100€ ) no better, there's no picture, darken for ST60 ...
However, the King remains the Kuro plasma its G9 that I have in my living room ... cool.gif

Pioneer LX 5090H + Démo G5  C+ Csat HD + DD et la TNT + Pioneer LX55 + Sony BD-S790 ... Pana 50 ST60 + PS3 BD + Pioneer BD320 ... CRT Philips 32 PW 9520 P+2 DNM + TNT Thomson DTI 652 + Pioneer DV 380 ... BR 137 .

Urga is offline  
post #5690 of 12659 Old 06-05-2013, 04:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
Shady195's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Schenectady, NY
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Urga View Post

Related / Quality / Price ST60 is a great deal (952€) ... eek.gif
Compared to F8500 ( 2100€ ) no better, there's no picture, darken for ST60 ...
However, the King remains the Kuro plasma its G9 that I have in my living room ... cool.gif

Urga, I must admit.. When you post it hurts my brain a little. Not your fault; I know english is not your primary language and things get lost in translation, even more so when typing..

but it's okay... because I absolutely love your pictures. I drool over your pictures in the Kuro thread constantly, and I can't wait to see more of the ST60; hell I'd say you should start a Panasonic Pictures thread wink.gif

EMP E55ti | EMP E56ci | Polk T15's for surround duty | Ultimax 15" Sub | Integra 40.2 | Rotel 976 | Panasonic 60ST60
Shady195 is offline  
post #5691 of 12659 Old 06-05-2013, 05:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
Urga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: France
Posts: 980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 235
I expected a little to open a thread Picture Panasonic ST60 that stabilizes (100h) ... wink.gif

Pioneer LX 5090H + Démo G5  C+ Csat HD + DD et la TNT + Pioneer LX55 + Sony BD-S790 ... Pana 50 ST60 + PS3 BD + Pioneer BD320 ... CRT Philips 32 PW 9520 P+2 DNM + TNT Thomson DTI 652 + Pioneer DV 380 ... BR 137 .

Urga is offline  
post #5692 of 12659 Old 06-05-2013, 05:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
Shady195's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Schenectady, NY
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Urga View Post

I expected a little to open a thread Picture Panasonic ST60 that stabilizes (100h) ... wink.gif

Looking forward to it. I'l contribute as well once I find the dongle and charging bay for my Nikon. Haven't been able to find it.

EMP E55ti | EMP E56ci | Polk T15's for surround duty | Ultimax 15" Sub | Integra 40.2 | Rotel 976 | Panasonic 60ST60
Shady195 is offline  
post #5693 of 12659 Old 06-05-2013, 06:34 AM
Member
 
Raikirik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This may be a silly question but is it okay to watch movies with subtitles in the first 100 hours? Subtitles usually change within a few seconds but I was just wondering since their placement is consistently in the same area.
Raikirik is offline  
post #5694 of 12659 Old 06-05-2013, 06:50 AM
Member
 
Phatal One's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
If you are not trying to uniformly age the screen in the first 100 hours, I would really just focus on avoiding content with black bars or any static logos. Subtitles should not cause you any problems as long as you don't hit pause for several hours with one up. tongue.gif
Phatal One is offline  
post #5695 of 12659 Old 06-05-2013, 07:07 AM
Senior Member
 
Cuda1169's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raikirik View Post

This may be a silly question but is it okay to watch movies with subtitles in the first 100 hours? Subtitles usually change within a few seconds but I was just wondering since their placement is consistently in the same area.

Your panel will be fine. Just watch a lot of varied content during the first 100hrs or so.
Cuda1169 is offline  
post #5696 of 12659 Old 06-05-2013, 07:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
cadett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Houma, La.
Posts: 808
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Has anyone else received the rebate pen from Panasonic? Couple of questions.
1. Did it come in a retail box, or just in a plastic bag?
2. Did it include a bluetooth/wireless dongle?
cadett is offline  
post #5697 of 12659 Old 06-05-2013, 08:03 AM
Senior Member
 
AdamHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadett View Post

Has anyone else received the rebate pen from Panasonic? Couple of questions.
1. Did it come in a retail box, or just in a plastic bag?
2. Did it include a bluetooth/wireless dongle?

Got mine about 3 weeks ago. No retail box, no dongle. Really barebones OEM packaging.
AdamHD is offline  
post #5698 of 12659 Old 06-05-2013, 08:11 AM
Senior Member
 
AdamHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by hank0 View Post

My 60st60 arrives tomorrow, and I'm already having doubts about not buying the 65 ". Like everyone else, the 60" was best deal. I had a Sony 55" LED LCD that I sold because of motion blur and LCDs overall just have terrible picture quality. So a 60" replacing a 55" should make me happy.

Try not to think about it. That's what I'm doing. lol. I still have no regrets. For $1500 the 60" is just such a killer deal. Looks like the 65" is still well over the $2000 mark (if it was <$2k, I would have possibly been able to justify buying it). You will like the jump from 55" to 60". That will be a nice little upgrade. That is a 19% bigger screen overall. Enjoy, and know you got the best TV (and size) for the money, on the market.
AdamHD is offline  
post #5699 of 12659 Old 06-05-2013, 08:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
cadett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Houma, La.
Posts: 808
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamHD View Post

Got mine about 3 weeks ago. No retail box, no dongle. Really barebones OEM packaging.

Have you tried it on the tv? From what I understand is, you basically turn it on, touch it to the tc, & it syncs via bluetooth. Does that sound right to you?
cadett is offline  
post #5700 of 12659 Old 06-05-2013, 08:44 AM
Senior Member
 
AdamHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadett View Post

Have you tried it on the tv? From what I understand is, you basically turn it on, touch it to the tc, & it syncs via bluetooth. Does that sound right to you?

Yes. I tried it the day I got it. It actually comes with a little instruction booklet. That sounds about right, though (from what I remember). You put the (supplied) battery in, turn it on, and sync to the TV via bluetooth (through one of the menu options in the TV), then you draw a smiley face on the TV, then never use it again.. lol.
AdamHD is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Tc P55st60 55 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P60st60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P65st60 65 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P55vt50 , Sony Bravia Xbr52hx909 52 Lcd Tv Direct Led
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off