Official Panasonic TC-PxxST60 Series thread - Page 235 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7021 of 12994 Old 07-21-2013, 12:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
sawfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 826
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raikirik View Post

I posted in the settings/issues thread but wanted to see if I could get some insight here as well.

I had an issue with my ST60 yesterday. When I powered it on it wasn't detecting my receiver or cable box, although with my cable box the screen would flash blue intermittently. The cable and receiver are connected to different HDMI inputs. After I turned the TV off and then on again with the remote it detected my sources and I was able to watch cable and my blu ray player again . Was this a bad handshake or something?

This is the first time this has happened in just over a month of owning my ST60.

Something somewhat similar happens when I turn my ST60 and Pioneer AVR on at the same time. I talked about that more here and gave my solution:

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1179632/official-pioneer-elite-vsx-21-23thx-owners-thread/3480#post_23176826
sawfish is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7022 of 12994 Old 07-21-2013, 12:42 PM
Senior Member
 
mdanderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Garland,Tx.
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by glantern30 View Post

fyi when you do increase the contrast with your own setting you may have to bump the contrast up a tick or two to adjust. Dnice settings are ok but some people have notice a little bit of a red push with them including myself you could also try cnets settings or cadetts listed on the forum. After reading what I have, I finally decided to just use my Disney wow disc and go with that. Overall it's not bad at all, I'm going to try eventually the avs709 Download and maybe after a year I will look at buying the calman 5 set

Thanks for the additional information. I may end trying the avs709 download as well.

Matt
mdanderson is offline  
post #7023 of 12994 Old 07-21-2013, 01:11 PM
Member
 
Raikirik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks sawfish. I'm running a Pioneer receiver as well. It kind of helps to know we're using similar equipment.
Raikirik is offline  
post #7024 of 12994 Old 07-21-2013, 01:29 PM
Newbie
 
JSwizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
cinema st 60 night mode.pdf 2412k .pdf file After trying several different calibrations I was able to find online (cnet, home theater, dnice) I was unable to find one that I really liked and decided to look into getting my 60 inch ST60 professionally calibrated. I live in New England and was searching the area for a good pro calibrator and came across Gregg Loewen of Lion Audio/Video Consultants http://lionav.com/new/

I reached out to Gregg who quickly got back to me giving me some dates in July he would be available, as he was in London at the time teaching a THX video course. Gregg is the only THX video instructor in the USA, as well as being an ISF instructor so it's pretty much getting the best of both. He has been doing this line of work for over a decade. We were able to quickly nail down a date for him to come out.

Gregg showed up on time with his great equipment and quickly began to set everything up. After which I was able to sit down with him and get a thorough explanation of everything he was doing and why. He was able to answer all my questions and after a few hours had calibrated a night time reference level in my cinema mode, and a day time mode with custom. I was intially concerned whether it would be worth it to get a pro calibration but after watching a couple blu rays I couldn't be happier or more excited with the work Gregg did. The TV looks awesome, and I would not hesitate to contact Gregg in the future regarding more calibrations.

I wanted to get the word out for Gregg Loewen because he did such a great job and is truly an enthusiast who is willing to go just about anywhere to do these calibrations, as well as the THX video courses he teaches. I am more than happy to put a reference in for someone when I feel they do great work and wouldn't be writing this if I wasn't completely satisfied. I can't recommend him enough.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf cinema st 60 night mode.pdf (2.36 MB, 134 views)
Gregg Loewen and mdanderson like this.
JSwizzle is offline  
post #7025 of 12994 Old 07-21-2013, 02:37 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,823
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 472
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSwizzle View Post

Gregg showed up on time with his great equipment and quickly began to set everything up.
Thanks for posting your calibration comments. I've added a link to your post in the flat panel (post number two) lists that are linked in the signature area at the bottom of my post.

If you have further comments to make about your audio or video calibration, it would be great if you could use the edit command to add them to your original post. Enjoy. smile.gif
htwaits is offline  
post #7026 of 12994 Old 07-21-2013, 03:56 PM
Member
 
ez1dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: st.louis
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good answer!The ST's may not need a fan but you can feel the heat coming my 50'in. from about 6 inches off.It'll help come winter.smile.gif
ez1dog is offline  
post #7027 of 12994 Old 07-21-2013, 05:19 PM
Member
 
SamOner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I am interested in buying the 60ST60 or 60VT60; however, I am a bit worried about its performance in a fairly bright room. Can someone post some more pictures of their ST60 in bright room conditions ( blinds opened). thank you
SamOner is offline  
post #7028 of 12994 Old 07-21-2013, 06:02 PM
Senior Member
 
mdanderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Garland,Tx.
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamOner View Post

I am interested in buying the 60ST60 or 60VT60; however, I am a bit worried about its performance in a fairly bright room. Can someone post some more pictures of their ST60 in bright room conditions ( blinds opened). thank you

Well this is not one with the blinds open but there is a fair amount of light coming in with this pic.

20130719_183738.jpg 2632k .jpg file
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20130719_183738.jpg (2.57 MB, 115 views)

Matt
mdanderson is offline  
post #7029 of 12994 Old 07-21-2013, 06:12 PM
Senior Member
 
mdanderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Garland,Tx.
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Congrats JSwizzle on your calibration results. I know Gregg Loewen has had a great reputation for a long while. I hope to have my ST60 professionally calibrated sometime after the middle of August since I should have around 300hrs by then.
JSwizzle likes this.

Matt
mdanderson is offline  
post #7030 of 12994 Old 07-21-2013, 09:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
nrc2112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Urga View Post

Kuro vs ST60 ...

LX55/Kuro :



S790/ST60 :



LX55/Kuro

]

S790/ST60



Kuro on " Cinema " mode , RGB .
ST60 on " Custom " mode , RGB .

wink.gif


Urga, what are your settings please?
nrc2112 is offline  
post #7031 of 12994 Old 07-21-2013, 09:48 PM
Member
 
Dabois09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Getting persistent IR now after one game of NCAA 14. I've got over 600+ hours on my panel...
Dabois09 is online now  
post #7032 of 12994 Old 07-22-2013, 12:21 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,823
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 472
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dabois09 View Post

Getting persistent IR now after one game of NCAA 14. I've got over 600+ hours on my panel...
How long is "one game of NCAA 14" and how long is "persistent"? What settings are you using?
htwaits is offline  
post #7033 of 12994 Old 07-22-2013, 02:06 AM
Member
 
Dabois09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post

How long is "one game of NCAA 14" and how long is "persistent"? What settings are you using?

Game lasts around 35-40 mins

EA Sports logo on bottom left sticks along with score ticker bug for quite sometime (6+ hours of running scrolling bar or pixel flipper).



Mode Custom


Contrast 50
Brightness +1
Color 50
Tint 0
Sharpness 0
Warm 2
Vivid Color off
CATS off
Both NR off

Game mode on
Panel brightness mid
AGC 0
BE 0
Gamut Normal
W/B adjustment Defaults
Color detail Adjustment Defaults
Gamma 2.6 rest at defaults


Pretty sure that's any and everything that would affect IR
Dabois09 is online now  
post #7034 of 12994 Old 07-22-2013, 09:09 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 12,296
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 478 Post(s)
Liked: 648
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #7035 of 12994 Old 07-22-2013, 09:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
Shady195's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Schenectady, NY
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by ez1dog View Post

Good answer!The ST's may not need a fan but you can feel the heat coming my 50'in. from about 6 inches off.It'll help come winter.smile.gif

Every plasma I've had puts off quite a bit of heat. On these hot summer days with my A/C blasting I can most certainly feel the heat radiating from it as I pass by.

Between my TV, Reciever, AMPS etc my room heats up fast if the A/C is off and my doors in the room are closed.

EMP E55ti | EMP E56ci | Polk T15's for surround duty | Ultimax 15" Sub | Integra 40.2 | Rotel 976 | Panasonic 60ST60
Shady195 is offline  
post #7036 of 12994 Old 07-22-2013, 12:05 PM
Member
 
cpie65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Looks like the 60ST60 at least will start coming back in stock soon. I was at Abt last week and the salesman said their expected in stock date is the first week of August, but couldn't guarantee. Plus, now Amazon is saying shipment in 2-5 weeks. I believe it was 1-2 months before. It's encouraging for those who are waiting for stock to come back.
cpie65 is offline  
post #7037 of 12994 Old 07-22-2013, 12:11 PM
Member
 
Dabois09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post

Great thing about IR is it goes away.

Sure but is it supposed to occur so quickly?
Dabois09 is online now  
post #7038 of 12994 Old 07-22-2013, 01:27 PM
Senior Member
 
MarieAntoinette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know where the ST60 can be found locally? Amazon is out 3-5 weeks? My Costco doesn't carry any 55's. Sears wants 1500. I'd much rather buy from Amazon or Costco given their kind return policies.

No green blobs or floating blacks with these?
MarieAntoinette is offline  
post #7039 of 12994 Old 07-22-2013, 01:35 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,823
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 472
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dabois09 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post

How long is "one game of NCAA 14" and how long is "persistent"? What settings are you using?

Game lasts around 35-40 mins

EA Sports logo on bottom left sticks along with score ticker bug for quite sometime (6+ hours of running scrolling bar or pixel flipper).

OK. I should have also ask if you were able to see the EA Sports logo watching normal material. The only time I would ever run special tools for IR would be if it intruded into the movies or programs that I normally watch.

There is nothing to support the idea that IR will not happen at any stage in the life of a plasma display. On the other hand, there is nothing that will reliable predict when IR would be expected to happen. Our set is about five and a half years old and I've never detected IR. The first time that I made an effort, with slides, to find IR was after the set was five years old.

There are people in this thread who seem to be able to play games right out of the box and not get IR. You got it after 45 minutes on a set with a good amount of hours on it. I can't explain the difference between your experience and those who don't seem to get IR. I don't do gaming but I watch a lot of sports. Here are three links on the subject.

Avoid and Remove IR.

Two Types of IR - Part I

Two Types of IR - Part II
mdanderson likes this.
htwaits is offline  
post #7040 of 12994 Old 07-22-2013, 01:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Bob_Collins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarieAntoinette View Post

Does anyone know where the ST60 can be found locally? Amazon is out 3-5 weeks? My Costco doesn't carry any 55's. Sears wants 1500. I'd much rather buy from Amazon or Costco given their kind return policies.

No green blobs or floating blacks with these?

Costco doesn't carry the ST60 as far as I know, only the S64.
Bob_Collins is offline  
post #7041 of 12994 Old 07-22-2013, 06:00 PM
Member
 
TdotLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarieAntoinette View Post

Does anyone know where the ST60 can be found locally? Amazon is out 3-5 weeks? My Costco doesn't carry any 55's. Sears wants 1500. I'd much rather buy from Amazon or Costco given their kind return policies.

No green blobs or floating blacks with these?

1. Amazon is/was supposed to get a shipment in today, tomorrow (100 count), July 28th, July 29th. (Called about mine today)
2. Costco doesn't carry the ST60 only the S64
3. Sears isn't crazy, $1500 is pretty much the standard price for all retailers.

Went to a local Best Buy Saturday. Manager told me that they received an unexpected shipment (8 count) a couple days earlier and the last one was walking out the door as we spoke. He said they never know when they are getting a shipment. Panasonic sends them whenever.

Panasonic TC-P60ST60 Plasma
Sony HT-CT660 Sound bar
Harmony 650 Remote
Google Chromecast
Sony Playstation 3
TdotLee is offline  
post #7042 of 12994 Old 07-22-2013, 07:23 PM
AKA
Advanced Member
 
AKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarieAntoinette View Post

Does anyone know where the ST60 can be found locally?

Just go to a local retailer and leave your contact info with a salesperson with a request to be contacted when they have one in. You should hear from them much sooner than 3-5 weeks - retailers ARE getting units, but they're all going to customers who've already ordered, or who have spoken for one. If you're waiting for them to be widely available on store shelves, you're going to be looking for weeks.

Just get your name on a list.
AKA is offline  
post #7043 of 12994 Old 07-22-2013, 08:37 PM
Newbie
 
LABNEWF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
was in today to cancel my 65st60 order as i have been on order since the second week of june. The manager called panasonic when i was going to pull my buisness and they said to him they were expecting on august 19 here in toronto and would fill orders in sequence.


I hope urga that when i actually get this tv if it looks even remotely close to that picture quality you have there in those pics i will be a happy camper! nice pics
LABNEWF is offline  
post #7044 of 12994 Old 07-22-2013, 09:40 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 12,296
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 478 Post(s)
Liked: 648
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dabois09 View Post

Sure but is it supposed to occur so quickly?
That is a matter of opinion I feel. If one does not test for IR or burn in the odds are rare someone would spot IR during normal viewing.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #7045 of 12994 Old 07-22-2013, 11:26 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,823
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 472
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dabois09 View Post

Sure but is it supposed to occur so quickly?
That is a matter of opinion I feel. If one does not test for IR or burn in the odds are rare someone would spot IR during normal viewing.
That's especially true if owner's viewing habits constantly mix a variety of fixed images with other programming or movies that don't have fixed images.
htwaits is offline  
post #7046 of 12994 Old 07-23-2013, 03:52 AM
Member
 
kidicarus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the Australian version of the ST60, the P50ST60A.

I have noticed dark horizontal shadowing, particularly on scrolling credits. I have created a test pattern that highlights the problem:



And here is what that test pattern looks like on my unit:




I also own the P50ST50A from last year which exhibits the same problem, however my 51" Samsung Plasma from 2011 does not. Can anyone else confirm that they also have this issue? Please state which model (and from which region) your unit is from in your reply.

I will respond to PM's eventually, I swear.
kidicarus7 is offline  
post #7047 of 12994 Old 07-23-2013, 08:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
cadett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Houma, La.
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by kidicarus7 View Post

I have the Australian version of the ST60, the P50ST60A.

I have noticed dark horizontal shadowing, particularly on scrolling credits. I have created a test pattern that highlights the problem:



And here is what that test pattern looks like on my unit:




I also own the P50ST50A from last year which exhibits the same problem, however my 51" Samsung Plasma from 2011 does not. Can anyone else confirm that they also have this issue? Please state which model (and from which region) your unit is from in your reply.

Looks like a form of line bleed.
cadett is online now  
post #7048 of 12994 Old 07-23-2013, 08:33 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,292
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 858
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadett View Post

Looks like a form of line bleed.
+1 But its strange. Ordinarily it would be on the sides of the boxes but not in between them.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #7049 of 12994 Old 07-23-2013, 09:23 AM
Newbie
 
DeekoVB5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I’ve had my 65” ST60 for a few months now and I’m having an issue. My picture has a lot of noise / artifacts – at first I assumed it was due to my cables or the source, but yesterday I disconnected the source and just turned on the TV menus, and you can see them there, too. It’s very evident in dark scenes, and is very distracting. I’ve tried toying with settings but nothing seems to take care of it. Any ideas?
DeekoVB5 is offline  
post #7050 of 12994 Old 07-23-2013, 09:25 AM
Member
 
Dabois09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post

+1 But its strange. Ordinarily it would be on the sides of the boxes but not in between them.

My NA 50ST60 suffers from the same problem. I see it mainly in the Xbox 360 dashboard.
Dabois09 is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Tc P55st60 55 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P60st60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P65st60 65 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P55vt50 , Sony Bravia Xbr52hx909 52 Lcd Tv Direct Led
Gear in this thread - P55st60 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off