Official Panasonic TC-PxxST60 Series thread - Page 296 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Display Devices > Plasma Flat Panel Displays > Official Panasonic TC-PxxST60 Series thread

Plasma Flat Panel Displays

glantern30's Avatar glantern30
04:06 PM Liked: 21
post #8851 of 13088
10-29-2013 | Posts: 172
Joined: Jul 2012

Thank you!!!! anybody else know about settings? I watched life of pi yesterday and it was great some good scenes that popped out the thing is the glasses make everything so dim. Any assistance would be great!
Alex F.'s Avatar Alex F.
05:02 PM Liked: 17
post #8852 of 13088
10-29-2013 | Posts: 68
Joined: Apr 2007
RE: Fan noise

Thank you for confirming the 65ST60 does not utilize cooling fans. Much appreciated!
Jack the cat's Avatar Jack the cat
05:31 PM Liked: 13
post #8853 of 13088
10-29-2013 | Posts: 62
Joined: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by samijubal View Post

Where is this PAL setting? I have never seen any PAL setting on a U.S. Panny plasma.

I am so sorry. It was another component in my AV system I saw the PAL setting. Very sorry.
NeilK's Avatar NeilK
05:35 PM Liked: 18
post #8854 of 13088
10-29-2013 | Posts: 321
Joined: Sep 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Watcher 911 View Post


I turned my automatic updating off. I now have to find a usb key that is under 2 gigs. I'll try and install the update that way seeing customer support and Panasonic keeps saying to reset the entire tv. Problem is that doesn't reset the firmware version.

GRRRR

No, you do not have to find a usb key under 2 gb, unless your computer limits you to that. I used an 8 GB USB stick to upgrade my firmware on my P60ST60 the first time. The TV had no problem reading the 8 GB stick nor upgrading the firmware from it.
Jack the cat's Avatar Jack the cat
05:41 PM Liked: 13
post #8855 of 13088
10-29-2013 | Posts: 62
Joined: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by glantern30 View Post

Thank you!!!! anybody else know about settings? I watched life of pi yesterday and it was great some good scenes that popped out the thing is the glasses make everything so dim. Any assistance would be great!

I set the picture setting to "Vivid" for 3D viewing.
Bond 007's Avatar Bond 007
06:39 PM Liked: 888
post #8856 of 13088
10-29-2013 | Posts: 12,497
Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCCaniac View Post

A box...probably not. A book, perhaps if it is larger than the base....but if you need to raise it just a bit, I would recommend instead getting a nice piece of wood at the local hardware store that is wider than the base (front to back) and then cut it to about half the width of the screen itself so you have a nice wide sturdy base. Then either paint it or stain it to match the stand you are putting it on.
+1 Or he could buy a tv riser for about $50.
cfi on the fly's Avatar cfi on the fly
06:50 PM Liked: 10
post #8857 of 13088
10-29-2013 | Posts: 70
Joined: Aug 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by jason22 View Post

Knowing this tv`s high input lag I can refrain from playing on this set. But what i cant live with is out of sync audio i dont think i would able to live with tv channels trailing the audio.
One of my previous tv had 120ms lag and it had noticeable out of sync issue.

Does anyone notice out of sync audio with this one ?

Its the one thing I can find fault with on my new st60. Bad audio lag using antenna in and the built in speakers. Using the Netflix and bluray through the built in speakers is fine.

This is a big enough problem that it may be sent back.
Kurtangletn's Avatar Kurtangletn
07:19 PM Liked: 15
post #8858 of 13088
10-29-2013 | Posts: 258
Joined: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by shenaniganz08 View Post

OK calm down drama queen

Over and over you keep repeating the same thing

The response time for these TVs are easy to find and it's been repeated NUMEROUS times that the lag times on the ST60 is not that bad unless you're some hardcore neckbeard gamer.

You had the choice to get the S60/S64/VT60/ZT60 if you wanted better response times, so stop complain already because the only person you have to blame is yourself!

Kind of a harsh statement.. on one hand it's kind of annoying that it's discussed so much but on the other it's a real problem that prevents a lot of people from getting the TV or makes a lot of people hesitant.
70ms with game mode is nothing to scoff about, it's tough to really understand how it feels till you really try it though.

My Vizio without game mode is game mode 135-145ms.. with game mode it's about 35-45ms (E3D320VX, did the shutter test thing).

Without game mode everything is floaty, hard to really get a good grip on, it feels "heavy". It's not really impossible to play but man if it's not close. I actually gamed for like 3 years on a Samsung DLP, which I'm not sure what the input lag on it but it had to be around at least 150-250.. I'll be honest, I actually sort of got used to it and forgot about it.. but damn if the few times I used another TV didn't feel like a weight was taken off my controller.

The thing is though, it's frustrating as hell... the ST60 50" version can be had right now with sales/coupons for about $250 more than the 50" S60.. the AR filter, 3D, and increased picture quality is well worth that.. at the same time I can't justify another $650-$700 for the 55" VT60 just so I can get the more manageable input lag.

It just sucks that Panasonic released such a great TV with kind of a major flaw for a lot of people..

Oh well, it is what it is I guess!
Robin Bombard's Avatar Robin Bombard
07:20 PM Liked: 40
post #8859 of 13088
10-29-2013 | Posts: 445
Joined: Apr 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by greenythebeast View Post

Alright, thanks. Another question: Does anyone know how high the bottom lip of the P50ST60 is? I'm considering getting a soundbar (VIZIO S4251w) that is 3.74" high and 42.32" wide. Will that block the remote sensor or any of the picture?



MICHIGAN MAPLE BLOCK CUTTING BOARD / BUTCHER BLOCK 18" x 12" x 1 3/4"

http://www.ebay.com/itm/MICHIGAN-MAPLE-BLOCK-CUTTING-BOARD-BUTCHER-BLOCK-AGA01812-/380749690738?pt=Kitchen_Tools_Gadgets&hash=item58a6733772#ht_3333wt_933

This $35.82 w/free shipping maple block will just raise you up just enough to clear the sound bar & the block's dimensions are nearly perfect for the 50ST60 stand. smile.gif


Cheers,
Robin
Bond 007's Avatar Bond 007
07:29 PM Liked: 888
post #8860 of 13088
10-29-2013 | Posts: 12,497
Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by cfi on the fly View Post

Its the one thing I can find fault with on my new st60. Bad audio lag using antenna in and the built in speakers. Using the Netflix and bluray through the built in speakers is fine.

This is a big enough problem that it may be sent back.
FWIW I use OTA from time to time and have no audio lag.
Chris NYC's Avatar Chris NYC
08:01 PM Liked: 19
post #8861 of 13088
10-29-2013 | Posts: 441
Joined: Apr 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurtangletn View Post

It just sucks that Panasonic released such a great TV with kind of a major flaw for a lot of people..

There's a separate thread to discuss it. The frustration comes from people spamming this thread with input lag talk at least once every page. Flaw acknowledged but let's not discuss it here.
RandyWalters's Avatar RandyWalters
09:08 PM Liked: 501
post #8862 of 13088
10-29-2013 | Posts: 17,522
Joined: Feb 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by cfi on the fly View Post

Its the one thing I can find fault with on my new st60. Bad audio lag using antenna in and the built in speakers. Using the Netflix and bluray through the built in speakers is fine.

This is a big enough problem that it may be sent back.

I have no audio lag on my ST60 when using the internal tuner and built in speakers . I don't even think it's possible for a TV's built-in tuner to induce audio lag.

I have noticed a little lag only a few times but i blame that on the broadcast, not the TV. I just checked about a dozen local OTA channels and the dialogue is perfectly in sync with the lips.
teevman's Avatar teevman
10:00 PM Liked: 12
post #8863 of 13088
10-29-2013 | Posts: 280
Joined: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurtangletn View Post

Kind of a harsh statement.. on one hand it's kind of annoying that it's discussed so much but on the other it's a real problem that prevents a lot of people from getting the TV or makes a lot of people hesitant.
70ms with game mode is nothing to scoff about, it's tough to really understand how it feels till you really try it though.

My Vizio without game mode is game mode 135-145ms.. with game mode it's about 35-45ms (E3D320VX, did the shutter test thing).

Without game mode everything is floaty, hard to really get a good grip on, it feels "heavy". It's not really impossible to play but man if it's not close. I actually gamed for like 3 years on a Samsung DLP, which I'm not sure what the input lag on it but it had to be around at least 150-250.. I'll be honest, I actually sort of got used to it and forgot about it.. but damn if the few times I used another TV didn't feel like a weight was taken off my controller.

The thing is though, it's frustrating as hell... the ST60 50" version can be had right now with sales/coupons for about $250 more than the 50" S60.. the AR filter, 3D, and increased picture quality is well worth that.. at the same time I can't justify another $650-$700 for the 55" VT60 just so I can get the more manageable input lag.

It just sucks that Panasonic released such a great TV with kind of a major flaw for a lot of people..

Oh well, it is what it is I guess!

So do you actually own an st60 and have gamed on it or are you basing the bad input lag on what others on here are saying? I've read many who say it isn't a big deal so i'm not sure what to thingk.
Bond 007's Avatar Bond 007
10:38 PM Liked: 888
post #8864 of 13088
10-29-2013 | Posts: 12,497
Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by teevman View Post

So do you actually own an st60 and have gamed on it or are you basing the bad input lag on what others on here are saying? I've read many who say it isn't a big deal so i'm not sure what to thingk.
If youve read that many say it isnt a big deal is one person complaining going to completely change your mind?
The fact that hes debating which model to buy would lead me to believe he doesnt own one.
Kurtangletn's Avatar Kurtangletn
11:15 PM Liked: 15
post #8865 of 13088
10-29-2013 | Posts: 258
Joined: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by teevman View Post

So do you actually own an st60 and have gamed on it or are you basing the bad input lag on what others on here are saying? I've read many who say it isn't a big deal so i'm not sure what to thingk.

I don't.. I'm considering it more with the S60 being too reflective in my situation and the S64 kind of overpriced (and from eBay, it's only about a $70 difference from the ST60 if I spring for the warranty).

From what I understand about input lag it's more of a threshold.. some people are naturally more sensitive than others.. it may appear to people at 30ms while others won't notice it until the 100s.. I can only really comment on the difference between around 10ms-30ms-and around 132ms right now. I'm doing more tests to get a feel of where my threshold is, I'd do the same as well if you want this TV.

Out of respect for the owners of this TV I Think we should try keeping the input lag discussion in that thread - http://www.avsforum.com/t/1467481/official-st60-input-lag-thread/1080
samijubal's Avatar samijubal
12:55 AM Liked: 85
post #8866 of 13088
10-30-2013 | Posts: 800
Joined: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobMueller10 View Post

It is about 2 1/2 inches from the bottom lip to the tv stand. That soundbar will block the sensor, and maybe even a little bit of the picture.

If all it will block is the sensor just get an IR repeater on ebay for around $20, I use one they work great. Get the one with the block you can connect six repeaters to.
Marc_G's Avatar Marc_G
04:31 AM Liked: 34
post #8867 of 13088
10-30-2013 | Posts: 939
Joined: Dec 2005
On the Panasonic Netflix app, is there a way to bypass the "Choose your Netflix Experience" page (where it lets you select regular or kids)?

My kids don't watch on this TV and it would be nice to turn off this one extra step. Obviously not a critical thing, but would be nice...
goldenbear94's Avatar goldenbear94
05:54 AM Liked: 11
post #8868 of 13088
10-30-2013 | Posts: 52
Joined: Feb 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post

FWIW I use OTA from time to time and have no audio lag.

Same.
glantern30's Avatar glantern30
05:54 AM Liked: 21
post #8869 of 13088
10-30-2013 | Posts: 172
Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack the cat View Post

I set the picture setting to "Vivid" for 3D viewing.
>

I always thought using "vivid" wasn't good for your plasma tv that it could increase the likely hood of burn in?

I'll give it a shot, I tried looking through the forum for info on the 3d settings, it seems like it's not too popular on this set not alot of info. If anyone else has any info on this it would be greatly appreicated! I just got avatar in 3d and looking forwrd to checking it out this weekend. There's an option under the 3d settings to increase and decrease the amount the picture will I guess pop of the screen is it good to adjust this??? Will it distort the picture in some way
cfi on the fly's Avatar cfi on the fly
07:53 AM Liked: 10
post #8870 of 13088
10-30-2013 | Posts: 70
Joined: Aug 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyWalters View Post

I have no audio lag on my ST60 when using the internal tuner and built in speakers . I don't even think it's possible for a TV's built-in tuner to induce audio lag.

I have noticed a little lag only a few times but i blame that on the broadcast, not the TV. I just checked about a dozen local OTA channels and the dialogue is perfectly in sync with the lips.

Thanks for checking yours out. Im going to play around with some different settings and if it doesn't fix the audio lag ill send it back for a replacement. The audio lag using OTA with built in speakers is bad enough my wife said something about it without any prodding from me...and she has a high tolerance for such things.

Hopefully just a bad set.
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar Cleveland Plasma
09:39 AM Liked: 707
post #8871 of 13088
10-30-2013 | Posts: 12,441
Joined: Jun 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robin Bombard View Post

MICHIGAN MAPLE BLOCK CUTTING BOARD / BUTCHER BLOCK 18" x 12" x 1 3/4"

http://www.ebay.com/itm/MICHIGAN-MAPLE-BLOCK-CUTTING-BOARD-BUTCHER-BLOCK-AGA01812-/380749690738?pt=Kitchen_Tools_Gadgets&hash=item58a6733772#ht_3333wt_933

This $35.82 w/free shipping maple block will just raise you up just enough to clear the sound bar & the block's dimensions are nearly perfect for the 50ST60 stand. smile.gif


Cheers,
Robin
If you can not fix it, improvise........
Astralmind's Avatar Astralmind
12:00 PM Liked: 11
post #8872 of 13088
10-30-2013 | Posts: 77
Joined: Oct 2005
Just got my 60" ST60 2 days ago. For a guy reintegrating the TV world (had been using projectors as my sole display source for over 10 years now!) this was quite a tough decision! I've been used to 92" in a rather dark living room (basically a man cave on a 2nd floor). We are moving into a new condo in a few weeks and the wife wasn't too thrilled about having our few windows covered and a projetor hanging from the ceiling next to the kitchen table (open space).

Anyways, so far, I am totally THRILLED! Outstanding PQ, very happy. Played some Battlefield 4 yesterday and wasn't bother by the supposedly terrible input lag and I consider myself fairly competitive.

A few observations/rethoric questions so far:

- What the heck were they thinking about the "Standard mode" ? Why even have a mode like this one !? Dim, boring blerh! Running it in custom mode with very little tweak and a lowered contrast to avoid issues right now.

- Why are manufacturers insisting on using their own UI/OS as opposed to something like Android/Google TV ? As far as I know, android is a free OS... My cheap Chinese dual core stick (40$) works much better than the built in software...

- Is 3D supposed to be considered usable ? Don't get me wrong, the 3D effect can be quite convincing and even impressive. But the dimming is really pronounced and the flickering is beyond annoying (in my case at least).
Syradil's Avatar Syradil
12:19 PM Liked: 13
post #8873 of 13088
10-30-2013 | Posts: 46
Joined: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astralmind View Post

- Is 3D supposed to be considered usable ? Don't get me wrong, the 3D effect can be quite convincing and even impressive. But the dimming is really pronounced and the flickering is beyond annoying (in my case at least).

Have you updated the firmware at all yet? I know one of the updates was supposed to improve 3D performance.

I've never used the 3D on mine.
Astralmind's Avatar Astralmind
02:39 PM Liked: 11
post #8874 of 13088
10-30-2013 | Posts: 77
Joined: Oct 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Syradil View Post

Have you updated the firmware at all yet? I know one of the updates was supposed to improve 3D performance.

I've never used the 3D on mine.

hmm I believe I checked for sofware update the minute I turned it on but it could be that the firmware is a seperate update, I'll give it a shot.

Regardless, 3D is really a novelty and not the reason why I bought the TV but still I wondered if 3D was just bad in general or if it was particular to this TV.
dannov's Avatar dannov
06:30 PM Liked: 10
post #8875 of 13088
10-30-2013 | Posts: 46
Joined: Aug 2013
Would like to see a' Calibrator' post complete settings in Cinema mode! Custom mode to me does not seem to have much HD depth!.... Source is cable/U Verse...which folks do not acknowledge or may not need to:rolleyes:
dannov's Avatar dannov
06:30 PM Liked: 10
post #8876 of 13088
10-30-2013 | Posts: 46
Joined: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by dannov View Post

Would like to see a' Calibrator' post complete settings in Cinema mode! Custom mode to me does not seem to have much HD depth!.... Source is cable/U Verse...which folks do not acknowledge or may not need to:rolleyes:
ST60 50"
cadett's Avatar cadett
06:30 PM Liked: 85
post #8877 of 13088
10-30-2013 | Posts: 823
Joined: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by glantern30 View Post

Thank you!!!! anybody else know about settings? I watched life of pi yesterday and it was great some good scenes that popped out the thing is the glasses make everything so dim. Any assistance would be great!
Custom Mode
Contrast at 100
Brightnes at +4
Panel Brightness at High
Gamma at 2.2 or 2.4( I prefer 2.4)
Robin Bombard's Avatar Robin Bombard
06:35 PM Liked: 40
post #8878 of 13088
10-30-2013 | Posts: 445
Joined: Apr 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by dannov View Post

Would like to see a' Calibrator' post complete settings in Cinema mode! Custom mode to me does not seem to have much HD depth!.... Source is cable/U Verse...which folks do not acknowledge or may not need to:rolleyes:






http://forums.cnet.com/7723-19410_102-590736/panasonic-tc-p55st60-picture-settings/
Indy60's Avatar Indy60
11:51 PM Liked: 21
post #8879 of 13088
10-30-2013 | Posts: 31
Joined: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by glantern30 View Post

Thank you!!!! anybody else know about settings? I watched life of pi yesterday and it was great some good scenes that popped out the thing is the glasses make everything so dim. Any assistance would be great!

I use Sound and Vision's (formerly Home theater) settings for 3D:

http://www.soundandvision.com/content/panasonic-viera-tc-p60st60-3d-plasma-hdtv-settings
Indy60's Avatar Indy60
11:55 PM Liked: 21
post #8880 of 13088
10-30-2013 | Posts: 31
Joined: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by dannov View Post

Would like to see a' Calibrator' post complete settings in Cinema mode! Custom mode to me does not seem to have much HD depth!.... Source is cable/U Verse...which folks do not acknowledge or may not need to:rolleyes:

Check out my post. I include an Excel file with all the known settings from different websites. Some are in custom, some in cinema.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1466472/2013-panasonic-settings-issues-thread/1620#post_23690564
Tags: Panasonic Tc P55st60 55 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P60st60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P65st60 65 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P55vt50 , Sony Bravia Xbr52hx909 52 Lcd Tv Direct Led

Gear in this thread
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3