Official Panasonic TC-PxxST60 Series thread - Page 343 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-12-2013, 02:37 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,868
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 481
Quote:
Originally Posted by comfynumb View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by sawfish View Post

But PQ is the reason you bought a plasma, right? If so, I would not be deterred. And if you're already on Warm 2 and a reasonable Contrast (> 60) with CATS off, it's likely already about as bad as it can get.
That's a pretty good summary.
It is often said that most people don't see it at all. So, unless you know you are prone to seeing it, reporting that you don't just confuses the issue, as it may give people hope that it's a sample variation, and there are "good sets" to be had.



I've heard this before and to me it's better than my eyes/brain can see it and yours can't. But maybe that is true.
With regard to a similar problem with DLP displays the Navy determined that it was individual people who could see the trails. As far as I know, that's the case with plasma too. Some people can train themselves to not see, most never see, and a few folks go crazy. wink.gif
sheshechic likes this.
htwaits is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-12-2013, 02:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post

With regard to a similar problem with DLP displays the Navy determined that it was individual people who could see the trails. As far as I know, that's the case with plasma too. Some people can train themselves to not see, most never see, and a few folks go crazy. wink.gif



Then I'm in the wrong business... I should be training people not to see biggrin.gif
comfynumb is offline  
Old 12-12-2013, 02:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 409
I will say that I had to go to YouTube to see the rainbow effect and it was very clear in the video I looked at. So does that mean I could see it if it was present on my panel?
comfynumb is offline  
Old 12-12-2013, 02:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
samijubal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by TJames03 View Post

New owner here, only have about 30hrs on my ST60 - but so far so good!

I'm just planning on varying the full screen viewing content for the first 100hrs and then actually start to change some settings around.

Quick question though - Is it possible to have settings specific to each input source? Or are the settings global?

IE: If I wanted different picture settings for my PS4 then I do for DirectTV - is that possible?

Thanks in advance!

Cinema and custom are input specific, all others are global.
TJames03 likes this.
samijubal is offline  
Old 12-12-2013, 03:03 PM
Member
 
caiman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by comfynumb View Post

I will say that I had to go to YouTube to see the rainbow effect and it was very clear in the video I looked at. So does that mean I could see it if it was present on my panel?

Which video did you watch? Every YouTube video I've watched so far seems to exaggerate the effect a little bit.
caiman is offline  
Old 12-12-2013, 03:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
samijubal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by jagerx9 View Post

My ST60 has started making a pretty nasty buzz that's quite audible from 3m away, particularly on bright images. Not quite at 100 hours yet. Noticed this during slides.

It's not entirely obvious in the video, but all the background noise you hear is essentially buzz. Anything I can do about that?

I have two of these TVs, they both buzz. One is louder than the other but both buzz. All you can do is try another TV or call Panasonic. There's people on here who say theirs doesn't buzz.
samijubal is offline  
Old 12-12-2013, 03:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by caiman View Post

Which video did you watch? Every YouTube video I've watched so far seems to exaggerate the effect a little bit.



http://youtu.be/VXywRRlgmu4


After researching this it appears very few people see this effect and I'm glad I don't smile.gif
sheshechic likes this.
comfynumb is offline  
Old 12-12-2013, 03:11 PM
Member
 
caiman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Even though mine technically does buzz, it's so faint as to hardly be worth mentioning, and not even remotely a problem.
caiman is offline  
Old 12-12-2013, 03:31 PM
Member
 
caiman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by comfynumb View Post

http://youtu.be/VXywRRlgmu4


After researching this it appears very few people see this effect and I'm glad I don't smile.gif

That's MUCH worse and more prevalent than what I've experienced. But then again, I haven't tested with Sin City. When I get home I'll pop it in and see how it looks.

I have a feeling the video captures accentuate the problem.
caiman is offline  
Old 12-12-2013, 03:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by caiman View Post

That's MUCH worse and more prevalent than what I've experienced. But then again, I haven't tested with Sin City. When I get home I'll pop it in and see how it looks.

I have a feeling the video captures accentuate the problem.



I also have sin city on BD and I'm going to take another peek lol.
comfynumb is offline  
Old 12-12-2013, 05:02 PM
Member
 
KylanD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
What is the difference between ir and burn in? I don't believe it but after 8 hours of use I see faint ir of a channel logo in the bottom right corner. Surely I'm seeing things!
KylanD is offline  
Old 12-12-2013, 05:22 PM
Senior Member
 
sealteamz6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by marky12 View Post

I believe eco mode has to do with dimming the panel to meet energy savings standard.

hmmm interesting. I figured it would do something to meet the energy standard just wasn't sure what. Is there a general consensus that this setting should be turned to off?
sealteamz6 is offline  
Old 12-12-2013, 05:41 PM
Member
 
benz5521's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Anyone else annoyed at how the hdmi inputs are positioned? It causes the hdmi cables to stick out of the side of the TV and create a real dirty look.
benz5521 is offline  
Old 12-12-2013, 05:44 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,477
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 431 Post(s)
Liked: 886
Quote:
Originally Posted by sealteamz6 View Post

hmmm interesting. I figured it would do something to meet the energy standard just wasn't sure what. Is there a general consensus that this setting should be turned to off?
Yes. Set to Standard.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
Old 12-12-2013, 05:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
sawfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 848
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by benz5521 View Post

Anyone else annoyed at how the hdmi inputs are positioned? It causes the hdmi cables to stick out of the side of the TV and create a real dirty look.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sawfish View Post

I posted this back in June, and it continues to work great; in particular, the cable tie hasn't popped out even once:

The AmazonBasics cables work fine, too. This is the back of my 50ST60. Each Amazon cable is connected to a bulkier, ferrite cored Monoprice 28 AWG cable with a coupler, with a total length up to 16 feet. They work great. Note also I used the supplied cable tie that plugs into a hole in the back of the case. It provides strain relief and has stayed in place as I slide the TV around my Anthrocart desk a couple times a day to get it closer and in front of the monitor arm. (I stuck plastic Super Sliders on the bottom of the stand to make it easy to slide.) The cables don't put any extra strain on the TV ports when sliding, so this has all worked out very well.

sawfish is online now  
Old 12-12-2013, 05:51 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,477
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 431 Post(s)
Liked: 886
Quote:
Originally Posted by benz5521 View Post

Anyone else annoyed at how the hdmi inputs are positioned? It causes the hdmi cables to stick out of the side of the TV and create a real dirty look.
Cant remember if its this one:
http://www.amazon.com/Monoprice-Right-Angle-Adapter-Female/dp/B002LJNKNM/ref=sr_1_20?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1386895593&sr=1-20&keywords=hdmi+adapter

or this one:

http://www.amazon.com/Monoprice-Right-Angle-Adapter-Female/dp/B001VL572I/ref=sr_1_21?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1386895593&sr=1-21&keywords=hdmi+adapter

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
Old 12-12-2013, 06:03 PM
Member
 
edk218's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by benz5521 View Post

Anyone else annoyed at how the hdmi inputs are positioned? It causes the hdmi cables to stick out of the side of the TV and create a real dirty look.

I use two of the 90 degree couplers from monoprice to "turn" the hdmi cable the way I needed it.

http://www.monoprice.com/Category?c_id=104&cp_id=10419&cs_id=1041907
edk218 is offline  
Old 12-12-2013, 06:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sheshechic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 2,857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by sawfish View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by caiman View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by sawfish View Post

We were just talking about all that:

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1307543/plasma-rainbow-effect-like-dlp#post_24058892

The saddest part of it all is that it is at its worst when the set is calibrated. Do like the useless Standard mode and use Cool color temperature, enable CATS, and set Contrast to 50, and you'll minimize if not eliminate it, along with every reason you bought a plasma. Oh, and to twist the knife a bit, it's completely absent from 3D, even when calibrated.

Glad to hear I'm not the only one. One thing I'd like to know is whether other plasmas exhibit the problem as much as the st60. I think if I knew that it's just a plasma thing and that exchanging my st60 for another plasma wouldn't fix the problem, then I can force myself to ignore it.

It's been reported for all the models in the 2013 Panasonic line, from S60 to ZT60. For the 2012 line and 2013 Samsungs, I don't have anything to add to what I wrote in the linked message. Like I wrote, the 50S60 and 50ST60 I tried suffered equally from it.

Some people see it ( a very small percentage), some don't. Once you see it, you can't unsee it. Those who can see it only experience it in different degrees on different plasmas. The only thing that can be done to make it stop is to buy an LED.

sheshechic is online now  
Old 12-12-2013, 06:15 PM
Senior Member
 
keyoctave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by benz5521 View Post

Anyone else annoyed at how the hdmi inputs are positioned? It causes the hdmi cables to stick out of the side of the TV and create a real dirty look.

If you want the cable to run along the back of the panel, then you need a HDMI cable with a 270 degree right angle hooked into the set.
keyoctave is offline  
Old 12-12-2013, 06:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sheshechic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 2,857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by benz5521 View Post

Anyone else annoyed at how the hdmi inputs are positioned? It causes the hdmi cables to stick out of the side of the TV and create a real dirty look.
Cant remember if its this one:
http://www.amazon.com/Monoprice-Right-Angle-Adapter-Female/dp/B002LJNKNM/ref=sr_1_20?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1386895593&sr=1-20&keywords=hdmi+adapter

or this one:

http://www.amazon.com/Monoprice-Right-Angle-Adapter-Female/dp/B001VL572I/ref=sr_1_21?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1386895593&sr=1-21&keywords=hdmi+adapter

Quote:
Originally Posted by edk218 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by benz5521 View Post

Anyone else annoyed at how the hdmi inputs are positioned? It causes the hdmi cables to stick out of the side of the TV and create a real dirty look.

I use two of the 90 degree couplers from monoprice to "turn" the hdmi cable the way I needed it.

http://www.monoprice.com/Category?c_id=104&cp_id=10419&cs_id=1041907

I thought that RandyWalters uses this one:

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_id=104&cp_id=10419&cs_id=1041913&p_id=3850&seq=1&format=2

sheshechic is online now  
Old 12-12-2013, 06:34 PM
Newbie
 
coniacvsop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know how to turn off the video preview function off when scrolling through DLNA content in the Media Player App? I've searched around and couldn't find anything in this forum. I've tried the options menu, but there isn't much for the video. Any help would be appreciated because it makes it pretty laggy trying to scroll through several hundred movies. Thanks.
coniacvsop is offline  
Old 12-12-2013, 06:45 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,477
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 431 Post(s)
Liked: 886
Quote:
Originally Posted by sheshechic View Post


I thought that RandyWalters uses this one:

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_id=104&cp_id=10419&cs_id=1041913&p_id=3850&seq=1&format=2
I use this one:
http://www.amazon.com/Tera-Grand-Premium-Adapter-Rotation/dp/B006GHYBGK/ref=pd_sim_e_7
sheshechic likes this.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
Old 12-12-2013, 06:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whipit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SGF
Posts: 1,482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by sheshechic View Post


I thought that RandyWalters uses this one:

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_id=104&cp_id=10419&cs_id=1041913&p_id=3850&seq=1&format=2

I just tried one and it works just like my older tv's, a 270 degree. I'd think it's the same on an ST.


To the OP, I've also had good luck with the 8" port saver cables, thin and flexible.
sheshechic likes this.
whipit is offline  
Old 12-12-2013, 07:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
samijubal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by KylanD View Post

What is the difference between ir and burn in? I don't believe it but after 8 hours of use I see faint ir of a channel logo in the bottom right corner. Surely I'm seeing things!

Burn-in is permanent.

You should be avoiding channel logos for the first 100 hours.
samijubal is offline  
Old 12-12-2013, 08:42 PM
Member
 
KylanD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Well then I don't need to be watching directv because all the channels have a stinking' logo and I don't have HBO!
KylanD is offline  
Old 12-12-2013, 08:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by KylanD View Post

Well then I don't need to be watching directv because all the channels have a stinking' logo and I don't have HBO!



Zoom the picture and view ones without a dark logo wink.gif
I'm watching Pawn Stars on the history channel in HD right now with the Panny set to sidecut zoom and the logo does not show up. Do this for at least the first 100 hours. I have over 350 hours and I'm still doing it... Until I get to 500, but that's just me and probably not necessary.
comfynumb is offline  
Old 12-12-2013, 08:59 PM
Member
 
KylanD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Ya I guess thats what I gotta do! Good thing tho I enjoyed my 3d movie and I havent even done any settings except changed to warm2
KylanD is offline  
Old 12-12-2013, 09:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sheshechic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 2,857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by KylanD View Post

Ya I guess thats what I gotta do! Good thing tho I enjoyed my 3d movie and I havent even done any settings except changed to warm2

Only worry about hours upon hours of the same static logos, banners, etc.and even that will go away. Just enjoy your tv.

sheshechic is online now  
Old 12-12-2013, 09:11 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 12,428
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 532 Post(s)
Liked: 702
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post

This is off topic here, but the current OLED sets from LG and Samsung are not true OLED.

Well if that is true, I am not sure what to say, as they are amazing as is...........
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
Old 12-12-2013, 10:20 PM
Senior Member
 
jp0213x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Man I am loving this ST60, at first I thought the picture was too dim until I found out I had the Eco mode on saver. After turning ECO mode to standard BLAM! the picture quality was unleashed. LOL Much brighter background colors are more uniform. A good way to show off the ST60 inky blacks, watch Charlie Rose. Pure black background makes guest float in the picture. This was my upgrade coming from a defective ST50 yellow globs issues. I was trying to figure out the galaxy s4 camera when I had taken the random photos.


.













jp0213x is offline  
 

Tags
Panasonic Tc P55st60 55 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P60st60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P65st60 65 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P55vt50 , Sony Bravia Xbr52hx909 52 Lcd Tv Direct Led
Gear in this thread
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off