Official Panasonic TC-PxxST60 Series thread - Page 349 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10441 of 12657 Old 12-17-2013, 08:00 AM
Member
 
bbtfastback's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Also, here are my steps out of the box this afternoon from what i have read:
1) unbox, including hooking up TV to ethernet
2) donwload update from panasonic
3) on Tuesday evening, run D-Nice slideshow for 100 hours consecutively, touching NO settings http://www.controlcal.com/forum/showthread.php?t=939
4) on Saturday evening, stop running slideshow (after 100 hours straight??)
5) apply settings in D-nice thread.

here's the kink in the plan. my installer is coming in on Saturday morning to mount the TV. Is it okay for a break? Can I just go to d-bags settings if it is 90 hours? Also, nothing to be worried for running the slideshow for 100 hours in a row, right??!!

Thanks all!
bbtfastback is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10442 of 12657 Old 12-17-2013, 08:13 AM
Member
 
dono4100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbtfastback View Post

Also, here are my steps out of the box this afternoon from what i have read:

5) apply settings in D-bags thread.

lol...too funny. nice way to refer to someone who went out of his way to throw some settings up


don't worry about the break......
bbtfastback likes this.
dono4100 is offline  
post #10443 of 12657 Old 12-17-2013, 08:16 AM
Member
 
bbtfastback's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by dono4100 View Post

lol...too funny. nice way to refer to someone who went out of his way to throw some settings up


don't worry about the break......

OMG - I meant D-NICE!!!! LOL!!! Changing my post now...

I'm the Dbag!!!
bbtfastback is offline  
post #10444 of 12657 Old 12-17-2013, 08:20 AM
Member
 
gfunke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had my st60 for a few weeks now. I have about 80 hours on it. I have a home theater pc hooked up to it. I noticed last night that some of the text within a windows application actually looks blue instead of black. It looks like there are actually columns going down the tv that render the text as blue instead of black. I'm not home now so I can't post a pic, but any ideas what that might be? I don't really notice it when watching a movie or anything though so I'm not overly concerned but wondering if anyone else has had this.
gfunke is offline  
post #10445 of 12657 Old 12-17-2013, 08:21 AM
Member
 
TheDaveAbides's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Waukesha, WI
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by macaronia View Post


What's a suggested wait before using the PS3 or 360?

Panasonic told me to not play for more than 15% of the weekly time the tv is on. I'm assuming the first 100hrs. I have been playing gtaV(only a couple missions) but I adjusted display/HUD settings so there aren't really any static images.
TheDaveAbides is offline  
post #10446 of 12657 Old 12-17-2013, 08:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by macaronia View Post

Received my 60" on Saturday, so far so good.
I put in the C-Net settings except lowered the contrast to 50 and the picture looks great.
My living environment is never brightly lit.

Definitely concerned about watching sports, which I do a ton of...going to wait until at least 100 hours before I watch back to back games.
I've been adjusting the aspect to move any static menus around while watching for now.

What's a suggested wait before using the PS3 or 360?



Congrats! I'm not a gamer but from everything I've heard most are waiting for 100-200 hours before prolonged gaming. Keep the contrast low, the pixel orbiter on and take some breaks from the same screen and you should be fine.
comfynumb is offline  
post #10447 of 12657 Old 12-17-2013, 08:39 AM
Member
 
benz5521's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbtfastback View Post

(sigh)

I feel like I have read so many pages of this post for the last month and am ready to pull the trigger this afternoon on my brand spanking new P55ST60!!!

Here's my last nagging question. I have a speakerbar (YSP-3000) that is adequate. What is the best way to connect this to the TV? Can I connect it via optical (as there is no HDMI) on the speakerbar. ...and if I choose optical, will the native speakers on the TV work in tandem?

Also, how do i hook up my sub?

I'm trying to avoid a receiver for the short term and will likely get one in the new year.

Yes, connect it through optical. The TV speakers won't work in tandem, at least it didn't with mine using a Samsung HWF550 with optical. Is your sub wireless? If not, I guess you'd be connecting it to the soundbar with whatever connection it's designed for.

If you want to avoid an AV Receiver you could use powered speakers too, like Audioengine A2+ or A5+'s.
bbtfastback likes this.
benz5521 is offline  
post #10448 of 12657 Old 12-17-2013, 09:40 AM
Newbie
 
MidtownGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

LOL! My last setup was a Samsung 22-inch 5000 series LED connected to a Pioneer XW-SMA4-K via the headphone jack. Compared to that, the ST60/Playbar setup is like going from a VW Bug to a Ferrari. :)

MidtownGuy is offline  
post #10449 of 12657 Old 12-17-2013, 09:42 AM
Newbie
 
MidtownGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Good idea! I just ordered this: http://www.zagall.com/Digital_Optical_2_Way_Audio_Splitter_p/2915.htm    I'll let you know how it works out. Thanks!!

MidtownGuy is offline  
post #10450 of 12657 Old 12-17-2013, 09:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by MidtownGuy View Post

Good idea! I just ordered this: http://www.zagall.com/Digital_Optical_2_Way_Audio_Splitter_p/2915.htm    I'll let you know how it works out. Thanks!!



I'm interested to know how this works please post your results, thanks.
comfynumb is offline  
post #10451 of 12657 Old 12-17-2013, 10:01 AM
Newbie
 
MidtownGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by comfynumb View Post


I'm interested to know how this works please post your results, thanks.

I will, but I'm still amazed that Panasonic didn't include a headphone jack! :)

MidtownGuy is offline  
post #10452 of 12657 Old 12-17-2013, 10:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by MidtownGuy View Post

I will, but I'm still amazed that Panasonic didn't include a headphone jack! smile.gif



I thought it had a headphone jack.
comfynumb is offline  
post #10453 of 12657 Old 12-17-2013, 10:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
sawfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by comfynumb View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidtownGuy View Post

I will, but I'm still amazed that Panasonic didn't include a headphone jack! smile.gif



It has a headphone jack.

The ST60 does not (US model at least).
sawfish is offline  
post #10454 of 12657 Old 12-17-2013, 10:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by sawfish View Post

The ST60 does not (US model at least).



That's right my bad. We were talking about this and I recommended an optical to headphone jack converter.



http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B003XCHCLC/ref=mw_dp_mdsc?dsc=1
comfynumb is offline  
post #10455 of 12657 Old 12-17-2013, 11:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dr.Shankenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 930
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 72
My only issue so far is the creepy female robot voice that give the tutorial. I am not being sexist, it would be creepy if it were a dudes voice or "The Dudes" voice. Just sayin'.
Dr.Shankenstein is offline  
post #10456 of 12657 Old 12-17-2013, 11:58 AM
Member
 
bbtfastback's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Guys - I have d-nice files, but can't find the "slideshow" option anywhere. Can someone walk me through how to find it?

...and my goodness, the TV looks amazing!!!
bbtfastback is offline  
post #10457 of 12657 Old 12-17-2013, 12:02 PM
Member
 
peschiNL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 23

hit options, I believe its there.

bbtfastback likes this.
peschiNL is offline  
post #10458 of 12657 Old 12-17-2013, 12:23 PM
Newbie
 
chrisjbatson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13

Hit the USB key on the bottom of the remote and it'll take you to the menu to play the slides. Got my 50ST60 in on saturday. Ran slides for 10 hours but got impatient and started watching it. Running slides at night only. Up to 50 hours. Everything looks great.

bbtfastback likes this.
chrisjbatson is offline  
post #10459 of 12657 Old 12-17-2013, 12:45 PM
Member
 
caiman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I noticed that if I connect my blu-ray player to the TV via HDMI, and I connect an optical digital cable from the TV to my receiver, I'm still getting sound from my blu-ray player through my receiver. In other words, the TV acts as a pass-through from the player to the receiver. Now I'm wondering, does the audio signal change as it travels from HDMI --> TV --> Optical cable? Or am I getting identical sound as I would if the player's audio was connected directly to the receiver?
caiman is offline  
post #10460 of 12657 Old 12-17-2013, 12:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by caiman View Post

I noticed that if I connect my blu-ray player to the TV via HDMI, and I connect an optical digital cable from the TV to my receiver, I'm still getting sound from my blu-ray player through my receiver. In other words, the TV acts as a pass-through from the player to the receiver. Now I'm wondering, does the audio signal change as it travels from HDMI --> TV --> Optical cable? Or am I getting identical sound as I would if the player's audio was connected directly to the receiver?



I'm assuming your getting sound back from the TV via ARC. Don't quote me on this but I believe the audio quality from ARC and the optical out are similar in quality and capability.



http://hdguru.com/hdmi-audio-return-channel-arc-for-your-hdtv-explained/
comfynumb is offline  
post #10461 of 12657 Old 12-17-2013, 12:59 PM
Member
 
caiman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by comfynumb View Post

I'm assuming your getting sound back from the TV via ARC. Don't quote me on this but I believe the audio quality from ARC and the optical out are similar in quality and capability.



http://hdguru.com/hdmi-audio-return-channel-arc-for-your-hdtv-explained/

Hmm, according to that article ARC would require an HDMI connection between the TV and the receiver, which I don't have. My HDMI is from player --> TV, and from TV --> receiver I have an optical audio cable.
caiman is offline  
post #10462 of 12657 Old 12-17-2013, 01:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by caiman View Post

Hmm, according to that article ARC would require an HDMI connection between the TV and the receiver, which I don't have. My HDMI is from player --> TV, and from TV --> receiver I have an optical audio cable.



It's being passed from HDMI to optical I guess. Passing through the panel.
comfynumb is offline  
post #10463 of 12657 Old 12-17-2013, 01:13 PM
Member
 
peschiNL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 23

the audio when passed through optical is identical, unless if its the new lossless dolby/dts formats, because those can only be send through hdmi

peschiNL is offline  
post #10464 of 12657 Old 12-17-2013, 01:15 PM
Newbie
 
oakster623's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by samijubal View Post


A buzz from the power supply doesn't necessarily mean it's failing. Transformers can buzz if the windings aren't tight enough, it won't harm anything except maybe efficiency a little, it's possible at a high enough load it wouldn't be able to supply enough power but it's not a problem under normal use. Parts poorly mounted on the board can also cause buzzing but again it doesn't mean anything is failing.

Buzzing can mean failure is coming but it can also mean nothing.


I called Panasonic today for a service call on my 3 week old 60ST60 due to the buzzing.  Is driving me nuts. Hopefully they will be able to resolve it.

oakster623 is offline  
post #10465 of 12657 Old 12-17-2013, 01:35 PM
Member
 
fester99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by caiman View Post

I noticed that if I connect my blu-ray player to the TV via HDMI, and I connect an optical digital cable from the TV to my receiver, I'm still getting sound from my blu-ray player through my receiver. In other words, the TV acts as a pass-through from the player to the receiver. Now I'm wondering, does the audio signal change as it travels from HDMI --> TV --> Optical cable? Or am I getting identical sound as I would if the player's audio was connected directly to the receiver?
In your setup the audio is not a passthrough it is getting converted to 2CH Stereo. The Optical out on the tv only passes surround if the source is considered an internal source such as Apps.
peschiNL likes this.

| Panasonic TC-P60ST60 | Pioneer Elite VSX-23TXH | Sony Playstation 3 | DirecTV HR22-100 |
fester99 is offline  
post #10466 of 12657 Old 12-17-2013, 01:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
samijubal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by oakster623 View Post


I called Panasonic today for a service call on my 3 week old 60ST60 due to the buzzing.  Is driving me nuts. Hopefully they will be able to resolve it.

If you're the one the TV started buzzing on after you had it for a while, I'd worry more about that than one that buzzed right from the start.
samijubal is offline  
post #10467 of 12657 Old 12-17-2013, 01:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by peschiNL View Post

the audio when passed through optical is identical, unless if its the new lossless dolby/dts formats, because those can only be send through hdmi



I hear you, but the audio through ARC is limited and I'm thinking it won't pass DTS or TrueHD.
comfynumb is offline  
post #10468 of 12657 Old 12-17-2013, 01:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
sawfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by oakster623 View Post

I called Panasonic today for a service call on my 3 week old 60ST60 due to the buzzing.  Is driving me nuts. Hopefully they will be able to resolve it.

Try to get specific information whatever the outcome is, and report back.

Is the buzzing constant and present even when showing a black screen? Or does it vary in volume with the screen brightness, getting louder and louder as the brightness of the scene increases?
sawfish is offline  
post #10469 of 12657 Old 12-17-2013, 01:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by fester99 View Post

In your setup the audio is not a passthrough it is getting converted to 2CH Stereo. The Optical out on the tv only passes surround if the source is considered an internal source such as Apps.



That's good to know and this is my only criticism with the ST60, they could have given us a full resolution audio out. An HDMI capable of DTS and TrueHD as this would have made it a little more future proof.
comfynumb is offline  
post #10470 of 12657 Old 12-17-2013, 02:11 PM
Member
 
peschiNL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by comfynumb View Post


I hear you, but the audio through ARC is limited and I'm thinking it won't pass DTS or TrueHD.

 

yeah, I think it passes through regular DTS/Dolby when playing from TV signal or from the buildin mediaplayer. But what fester said, it prolly downconvert to 2channel when playing from a bluray player.

 

I have my  TX-P50ST60E a week now, havent tried a bluray player on it, will get one this week.

peschiNL is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Tc P55st60 55 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P60st60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P65st60 65 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P55vt50 , Sony Bravia Xbr52hx909 52 Lcd Tv Direct Led
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off