Official Panasonic TC-PxxST60 Series thread - Page 429 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12841 of 12859 Old 08-26-2014, 04:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,038
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 489
Quote:
Originally Posted by MetalMX23 View Post
Much appreciate the information.

With my Australian ST60 there is only one option for the Warm colour temperature which is annoying.
That is too bad, normal may be too blue. Try the white balance adjustment and see if it helps.

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12842 of 12859 Old 08-26-2014, 05:22 AM
Member
 
MetalMX23's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia.
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
That is too bad, normal may be too blue. Try the white balance adjustment and see if it helps.
The Normal colour temperature appears fine while the Warm seems to darken the image too much and highlight the red colour shift to a larger degree to my eyes anyway. Only Cool appears too blue but even in some instances i have found it to improve the look of games.

Do you mean the W/B adjustment within the ST60's picture settings or the S&M HD Benchmark disc?

MetalMX23 is offline  
post #12843 of 12859 Old 08-26-2014, 07:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,038
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 489
Use the grayscale step ramp on the Spears and Munsil disc, see if you see any red tint, if so use the white balance controls to eliminate the tint if you can.

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is online now  
post #12844 of 12859 Old 08-26-2014, 07:56 AM
Member
 
MetalMX23's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia.
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
Use the grayscale step ramp on the Spears and Munsil disc, see if you see any red tint, if so use the white balance controls to eliminate the tint if you can.
Got it!

MetalMX23 is offline  
post #12845 of 12859 Old 08-26-2014, 07:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,038
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 489
Quote:
Originally Posted by MetalMX23 View Post
Got it!
Let me know how it goes

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is online now  
post #12846 of 12859 Old 08-26-2014, 08:47 AM
Member
 
MetalMX23's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia.
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
Let me know how it goes
I did see some red tint on that test pattern. I had W/B High R at 5 and W/B Low R at 3. Your right a couple of clicks lower and the picture is more natural/improved. I've placed both high and low R at 0 at the moment. I may have to tweak it a little more.

MetalMX23 is offline  
post #12847 of 12859 Old 08-26-2014, 09:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,038
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 489
Excellent! Just keep in mind the High setting affects the lighter shades in the greyscale and the darker shades to a lesser extent, the low setting affects the darker portion and the lighter shades to a lesser extent. The thing most people notice is skin tones, those live in the 40 to 70 ire range. If there is any reference material you are familiar with check skin tones to make sure they don't look to under saturated.

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is online now  
post #12848 of 12859 Old 08-26-2014, 09:17 AM
Member
 
MetalMX23's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia.
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
Excellent! Just keep in mind the High setting affects the lighter shades in the greyscale and the darker shades to a lesser extent, the low setting affects the darker portion and the lighter shades to a lesser extent. The thing most people notice is skin tones, those live in the 40 to 70 ire range. If there is any reference material you are familiar with check skin tones to make sure they don't look to under saturated.
Yes I am and will be checking skin tones.

Solid info

MetalMX23 is offline  
post #12849 of 12859 Old 08-26-2014, 09:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,038
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 489
Quote:
Originally Posted by MetalMX23 View Post
Yes I am and will be checking skin tones.

Solid info
I will be re-calibrating my 55" next week perhaps we can compare settings ?

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is online now  
post #12850 of 12859 Old 08-26-2014, 10:19 AM
Member
 
MetalMX23's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia.
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
I will be re-calibrating my 55" next week perhaps we can compare settings ?

Sounds like a plan. I don't have any calibration tools but S&M HD Benchmark 2nd Edition is as close as it comes in regards to being able to calibrate a panel without equipment.



Last edited by MetalMX23; 08-26-2014 at 10:50 AM.
MetalMX23 is offline  
post #12851 of 12859 Old 08-26-2014, 11:08 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by James Freeman View Post
Yes.
I have swapped European to US mainboard, all went smooth, besides breaking my 5 year warranty on a brand new TV.
And now my European 50" thinks it is a US 55" but its not an inch bigger, although it wishes it was.
And did you change just the mainboard or anything else? How hard is this "operation"? What about firmware? Is it in mainboard already?
Marek_Norway is offline  
post #12852 of 12859 Old 08-26-2014, 12:02 PM
Member
 
Mcguinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Central America
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
So my 55" ST-60 started changing inputs randomly while we were watching the television on HDMI 2 last night. I was not touching the remote. I temporarily stopped it by holding the enter button on the remote but then the Menus started opening as well.

This morning it seemed OK. I left it on for 2 hours and no input switching or menus opening. I believe I have not seen the last of this problem but I would like to be optimistic. Does anyone have any ideas as to what the issue may be? I realize this is very little info on which to work with

This is not a good thing for me since I live in Central America and have limited options for repair and even less for warranty. Of course no more Panny Plasmas either even if I wanted to replace it.

You pays your quarter and you takes your ride but I was hoping the ride would last more than 10 months.
Mcguinn is offline  
post #12853 of 12859 Old 08-26-2014, 12:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
Marc_G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Indianapolis Metro Area
Posts: 926
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Could it be some other source of IR commands such as child playing with a smartphone or tablet or if you are in a room with window view commands from some external source? Could it be the remote goes wonky and not the TV itself.... If it happens again take out remote batteries and see if it stops?

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk

Sometimes, I see dead pixels...
Marc_G is offline  
post #12854 of 12859 Old 08-26-2014, 01:59 PM
Member
 
Mcguinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Central America
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc_G View Post
Could it be some other source of IR commands such as child playing with a smartphone or tablet or if you are in a room with window view commands from some external source? Could it be the remote goes wonky and not the TV itself.... If it happens again take out remote batteries and see if it stops?

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
Thanks for the reply!

I did take the batteries out of the remote last night while the TV was cycling through the inputs and menus but it continued doing it. I do not think, though I cannot rule out, some sort of electronic interference causing the problem but we are pretty far from any other domicile.

I fired the TV up for another 15 minutes about an hour ago and the problem did not repeat itself. We will find out tonight what the story is. I am trying to determine if it only happens after the TV has been on for awhile.
Mcguinn is offline  
post #12855 of 12859 Old 08-26-2014, 04:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
samijubal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mcguinn View Post
So my 55" ST-60 started changing inputs randomly while we were watching the television on HDMI 2 last night. I was not touching the remote. I temporarily stopped it by holding the enter button on the remote but then the Menus started opening as well.

This morning it seemed OK. I left it on for 2 hours and no input switching or menus opening. I believe I have not seen the last of this problem but I would like to be optimistic. Does anyone have any ideas as to what the issue may be? I realize this is very little info on which to work with

This is not a good thing for me since I live in Central America and have limited options for repair and even less for warranty. Of course no more Panny Plasmas either even if I wanted to replace it.

You pays your quarter and you takes your ride but I was hoping the ride would last more than 10 months.
Sounds like it might have been in demo mode.
samijubal is offline  
post #12856 of 12859 Old 08-26-2014, 06:42 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: WI
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
This blows, my 65ST60 is dead. Panel Failure. Panasonic is picking it up and offering me a full refund due to lack of parts. 2 weeks within warranty, thank goodness. Do I go on the hunt for another ST60? LED just isn't doing it for me and OLED is too expensive.
jrobb316 is offline  
post #12857 of 12859 Old Yesterday, 06:14 AM
Member
 
Mcguinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Central America
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mcguinn View Post
So my 55" ST-60 started changing inputs randomly while we were watching the television on HDMI 2 last night. I was not touching the remote. I temporarily stopped it by holding the enter button on the remote but then the Menus started opening as well.

This morning it seemed OK. I left it on for 2 hours and no input switching or menus opening. I believe I have not seen the last of this problem but I would like to be optimistic. Does anyone have any ideas as to what the issue may be? I realize this is very little info on which to work with

This is not a good thing for me since I live in Central America and have limited options for repair and even less for warranty. Of course no more Panny Plasmas either even if I wanted to replace it.

You pays your quarter and you takes your ride but I was hoping the ride would last more than 10 months.
Quote:
Originally Posted by samijubal View Post
Sounds like it might have been in demo mode.
I am not familiar with the demo mode. I wonder how it could have slipped into that mode?

I appreciate your input!
Mcguinn is offline  
post #12858 of 12859 Old Yesterday, 04:00 PM
Member
 
Julio Castrejon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My ST60 has surpassed the 5500 hours mark! It's on at least 16 hours a day because of kids watching it early in the morning. I come home after 8 from work and it is still on, then I watched about 3-4 hours until midnight has passed.
Julio Castrejon is offline  
post #12859 of 12859 Old Today, 04:17 AM
Member
 
Bruce2019's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Hello from europe!


I have my 50 Inch ST60 now for a year, with 3500 hous usage. No problems with IR. I play a lot of Playstation, have played almost 400h Dark souls 2, which is quite shocking, its more than 10% of the whole usage of my tv. :-)


It seems that the plasma gets better after some time, so getting a "used" panel with some hours is not a bad thing, except if the in the store they use movies with cinema bars, which is just a shame.


Anyways. Great TV set, and I am quite shocked about the DSE of the new LG Oleds. So getting a nice Plasma in 2014 is a smart option.


:-)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_5407.JPG (151.6 KB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_5400.JPG (238.7 KB, 3 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_5399.JPG (176.9 KB, 3 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_5396.JPG (337.2 KB, 3 views)
Bruce2019 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Tc P55st60 55 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P60st60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P65st60 65 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P55vt50 , Sony Bravia Xbr52hx909 52 Lcd Tv Direct Led
Gear in this thread - P55st60 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off