Official Panasonic TC-PxxST60 Series thread - Page 431 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12901 of 12924 Old 09-13-2014, 06:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
caloyzki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Hi which one is much better blacks the TC-P50GT50 or P50ST60? Thanks. Just wana ask u guys before i pull the trigger.
caloyzki is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12902 of 12924 Old 09-13-2014, 07:06 PM
Member
 
pitterpat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by pitterpat View Post
Thanks, I just reset it to this from your post; overscan was on and H size was 1. Set to overscan off and H size to 1. We'll see when the ND PU game comes on (BoilerUp).
Still have some images off the screen; must mean Comcast is sending out a picture that is too big?
pitterpat is online now  
post #12903 of 12924 Old 09-14-2014, 09:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
cadett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Houma, La.
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by caloyzki View Post
Hi which one is much better blacks the TC-P50GT50 or P50ST60? Thanks. Just wana ask u guys before i pull the trigger.
Had the TC-P60GT50 & now have the P60ST60. The ST 60 is a litter deeper (black level) & the ST60 also has less noise in images that are noisy.

My Panasonic 60ST60 Settings

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
cadett is offline  
post #12904 of 12924 Old 09-14-2014, 01:10 PM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by caloyzki View Post
Hi which one is much better blacks the TC-P50GT50 or P50ST60? Thanks. Just wana ask u guys before i pull the trigger.
I have one of each of these models and the ST60 has better blacks, is much crisper and more detailed, and a smoother image. The ST60 is better in every picture quality category.

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333, URC R40 Remote.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Gallery -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
RandyWalters is offline  
post #12905 of 12924 Old 09-16-2014, 07:59 PM
Member
 
Julio Castrejon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
This TV is an oven! Stand one feet close to the screen and you can feel the intense heat. I'm actually living in the middle of a heat wave right now, and this TV burns hot enough to burn my hand if I touch it in the back.
valkenaar likes this.
Julio Castrejon is offline  
post #12906 of 12924 Old 09-17-2014, 09:21 AM
Senior Member
 
NCCaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Julio Castrejon View Post
This TV is an oven! Stand one feet close to the screen and you can feel the intense heat. I'm actually living in the middle of a heat wave right now, and this TV burns hot enough to burn my hand if I touch it in the back.
That sounds strange. My P60ST60 is warm to the touch in back, but not that hot. I had heard plasma TVs give off a lot of heat, but when I hold my hand above the vents along the top edge of the back, it gives off much less heat than I expected....and that is after several hours of viewing.
NCCaniac is offline  
post #12907 of 12924 Old 09-17-2014, 12:59 PM
Member
 
jasondjulian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 71
If it burns your hand, something is wrong. Short circuit or something...

i mean, look at this:

http://www.antiscald.com/prevention/...info/table.php

130-140 degrees for a 2-17 second exposure to cause a 2nd degree burn.

You're telling us your TV case is heated up to around 120-140 degrees? I dont think so...

Panasonic TC-P55S60
Sony S5100 BD-Player
RCA 5 disc DVD HTIB for 5.1 Surround
jasondjulian is offline  
post #12908 of 12924 Old 09-17-2014, 07:45 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,805
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 468
Quote:
Originally Posted by Julio Castrejon View Post
This TV is an oven! Stand one feet close to the screen and you can feel the intense heat. I'm actually living in the middle of a heat wave right now, and this TV burns hot enough to burn my hand if I touch it in the back.
Did you use ice water or butter to treat your burns? If you're not exaggerating, then you shouldn't be turning on your set until you've had a service call.

Calibration Resources:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

htwaits is offline  
post #12909 of 12924 Old 09-17-2014, 10:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
samijubal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 781
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by Julio Castrejon View Post
This TV is an oven! Stand one feet close to the screen and you can feel the intense heat. I'm actually living in the middle of a heat wave right now, and this TV burns hot enough to burn my hand if I touch it in the back.
Heat output is directly related to contrast level. Higher contrast more heat, lower contrast less heat.
samijubal is offline  
post #12910 of 12924 Old 09-18-2014, 11:35 AM
Member
 
ST60Chambers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sioux City, IA
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hello Everyone. i may have a potential issue on my hands. I have a 60" ST60 OCT 13 build that I bought from my local Best Buy on 10/30/13. i also have the extended 4 yr from Best Buy as well. Today the TV turned off and started doing the 8 red blinking lights. I checked on this site for answers and they haven't been good. I've unplugged and plugged it back in and it seems to be running fine. For now. My question is what would be the best course of action since these TVs have dried up and who knows if their will be any parts if I turn it in for warranty? I bought this set after reading about it on this site and would REALLY hate to have it scraped.


Thanks
ST60Chambers is offline  
post #12911 of 12924 Old 09-18-2014, 11:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
samijubal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 781
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by ST60Chambers View Post
Hello Everyone. i may have a potential issue on my hands. I have a 60" ST60 OCT 13 build that I bought from my local Best Buy on 10/30/13. i also have the extended 4 yr from Best Buy as well. Today the TV turned off and started doing the 8 red blinking lights. I checked on this site for answers and they haven't been good. I've unplugged and plugged it back in and it seems to be running fine. For now. My question is what would be the best course of action since these TVs have dried up and who knows if their will be any parts if I turn it in for warranty? I bought this set after reading about it on this site and would REALLY hate to have it scraped.


Thanks
Panasonic is required by law to stock parts for years to come. Wheather they will decide it's worth fixing over buying you out is up to them though.

I'd start with Panasonic and if you don't get satisfaction there move on to BB.
samijubal is offline  
post #12912 of 12924 Old 09-18-2014, 11:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
Marc_G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Indianapolis Metro Area
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 34
+1
The only part that is really problematic is the panel itself. That is probably not the issue with the symptom you describe.

I never buy extended warranties, but i got the square trade with my TV to ensure if there was a failure and I needed an expensive replacement in the absence of panny replacements, at least I would have $1600 to start with...

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk

Sometimes, I see dead pixels...
Marc_G is offline  
post #12913 of 12924 Old 09-18-2014, 11:59 AM
Member
 
ST60Chambers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sioux City, IA
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thanks for the replies. What's the best way you figure to get ahold of Panasonic? Email or phone call? I hear either are a pain but what can ya do? Lol. I spose the big question is if they buy me out what TV is out that has close to the same PQ as the ST60? Suppose I could do a quick search but I'd take any recommendations on this site over a Web search. Thanks again.
ST60Chambers is offline  
post #12914 of 12924 Old 09-18-2014, 12:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
samijubal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 781
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by ST60Chambers View Post
Thanks for the replies. What's the best way you figure to get ahold of Panasonic? Email or phone call? I hear either are a pain but what can ya do? Lol. I spose the big question is if they buy me out what TV is out that has close to the same PQ as the ST60? Suppose I could do a quick search but I'd take any recommendations on this site over a Web search. Thanks again.
If Panasonic wants to buy you out I'd try BB first since there is no replacement for these TVs. The blinking means a problem with a circuit board which is definitely repairable. The number of blinks should tell which board is faulty.
samijubal is offline  
post #12915 of 12924 Old 09-18-2014, 12:42 PM
Member
 
ST60Chambers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sioux City, IA
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Well it's been running since I pulled the cord but for how long who knows. Suppose if it does it again I'll be contacting Panny and go from there. I read online which board it is and its easy to replace. It's just if Panny decides it's just as easy as well. Time will tell.
ST60Chambers is offline  
post #12916 of 12924 Old 09-19-2014, 08:00 AM
Member
 
Mcguinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Central America
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I spoke with the service technician today and they said it is the main board. They do not distribute the ST60 in Central America so he is trying to get price/availability in the U.S. He may know something by next Tuesday. If not, he will get the part number and then I can try to find the part and have it shipped down. Does anyone have a guess on how many $$$$$ I am looking at?

I know Panasonic has to stock parts but where to find them? Oh well so much for it being a salt problem.....
Mcguinn is offline  
post #12917 of 12924 Old 09-19-2014, 08:12 PM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by samijubal View Post
Panasonic is required by law to stock parts for years to come.
Unfortunately there is no such law in the USA. It's folklore.

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333, URC R40 Remote.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Gallery -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
RandyWalters is offline  
post #12918 of 12924 Old 09-19-2014, 09:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 2,956
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadett View Post
Had the TC-P60GT50 & now have the P60ST60. The ST 60 is a litter deeper (black level) & the ST60 also has less noise in images that are noisy.
Can you explain what you mean by 'less noise' exactly ?
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #12919 of 12924 Old 09-19-2014, 09:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 2,956
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ST60Chambers View Post
Hello Everyone. i may have a potential issue on my hands. I have a 60" ST60 OCT 13 build that I bought from my local Best Buy on 10/30/13. i also have the extended 4 yr from Best Buy as well. Today the TV turned off and started doing the 8 red blinking lights. I checked on this site for answers and they haven't been good. I've unplugged and plugged it back in and it seems to be running fine. For now. My question is what would be the best course of action since these TVs have dried up and who knows if their will be any parts if I turn it in for warranty? I bought this set after reading about it on this site and would REALLY hate to have it scraped.
Thanks
You need to find out what that code means. On a popular model like the Panasonic ST's, I am sure it's somewhere on AVS Forum or somewhere else on the Internet.

We had a similar problem with the Philips 9630/31 Ambilight models. Originally, folks were replacing entire circuit boards, which were tough to find and cost $200 - $400 each. Turns out the problem for our 7-Blinking Red LEDs was just 2 capacitors that cost $5 each.

Find out what that blinking code is telling you !!
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #12920 of 12924 Old 09-19-2014, 09:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
samijubal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 781
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyWalters View Post
Unfortunately there is no such law in the USA. It's folklore.
False:

(a) Every manufacturer making an express warranty with respect to an electronic or appliance product described in subdivision (h), (i), (j), or (k) of Section 9801 of the Business and Professions Code, with a wholesale price to the retailer of not less than fifty dollars ($50) and not more than ninety-nine dollars and ninety-nine cents ($99.99), shall make available to service and repair facilities sufficient service literature and functional parts to effect the repair of a product for at least three years after the date a product model or type was manufactured, regardless of whether the three-year period exceeds the warranty period for the product.
(b) Every manufacturer making an express warranty with respect to an electronic or appliance product described in subdivision (h), (i), (j), or (k) of Section 9801 of the Business and Professions Code, with a wholesale price to the retailer of one hundred dollars ($100) or more, shall make available to service and repair facilities sufficient service literature and functional parts to effect the repair of a product for at least seven years after the date a product model or type was manufactured, regardless of whether the seven-year period exceeds the warranty period for the product.
samijubal is offline  
post #12921 of 12924 Old Yesterday, 12:06 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by MetalMX23 View Post
Has anyone noticed that the colour balance on the ST60 seems to shift to red after a certain amount of hours?

Since I've bought the TV and used D-Nice's panel prep + settings I've established a terrific picture until more recently when I've noticed the red shift.

My panel is at 2150 hours right now in terms of age.
Try the CNET settings.
Much, much better IMO.
TheronB is offline  
post #12922 of 12924 Old Yesterday, 05:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
cadett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Houma, La.
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilipsPhanatic View Post
Can you explain what you mean by 'less noise' exactly ?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image_noise

My Panasonic 60ST60 Settings

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
cadett is offline  
post #12923 of 12924 Old Yesterday, 11:18 PM
Member
 
MetalMX23's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia.
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheronB View Post
Try the CNET settings.
Much, much better IMO.

Actually i have, but the picture looked terrible. Copying settings doesn't do a damn thing.

I don't have calibration equipment or software but have used Spears & Munsil HD Benchmark 2nd Edition to adjust the image now the problem is resolved.

MetalMX23 is offline  
post #12924 of 12924 Old Today, 01:23 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
the blacks on this tv as you see it?
gregory82 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Tc P55st60 55 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P60st60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P65st60 65 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P55vt50 , Sony Bravia Xbr52hx909 52 Lcd Tv Direct Led
Gear in this thread - P55st60 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off