Official Panasonic TC-PxxST60 Series thread - Page 433 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12961 of 12981 Old 10-12-2014, 04:20 PM
Member
 
mjnoles1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do I need Ferritt core for my HDMI cable on the ST60? My mom has a Panasonic U50 (2012 base model) and it came with two Ferritt core for HDMI cables and 1 for USB cable. The ST60 did not come with any. She only used one Ferritt core, so, she still has one more remaining. Should I put it on my HDMI cable? It is a Monoprice HDMI cable if it helps answer my question.
mjnoles1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12962 of 12981 Old 10-12-2014, 04:28 PM
Member
 
mjnoles1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chere View Post
^^^ I think you might have to go into the service menu to check on that but I think your best course of action is to go to the store itself and have them plug it in to check it out. Take slides with you and if everything looks kosher (no burn in or some other serious screen deformity) buy it
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyWalters View Post
Yes A0018 means 18 hours. I think if the main board is replaced, the hours reset to zero so if that's the case, they've put 18 hours on it since the repair. $464 is a good deal for it regardless.

I bought the TV. Question, since it says only 18 hours of usage, but, that is because the main board has been replaced (confirmed by the Sears warehouse manager), do I still need to do the panel break in settings and the slides, or do you think it is not needed. If you still think it is a good idea, then I will run them.

Last edited by mjnoles1; 10-12-2014 at 05:09 PM.
mjnoles1 is offline  
post #12963 of 12981 Old 10-13-2014, 09:18 AM
Senior Member
 
klillevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an unusual problem with my 10 month old ST60. The bezel is becoming unglued in both upper corners, and is currently bulging out 4-5mm. I have tried to search for other similar problems, but found none. I started a support case, and they first tried to get out of having to do anything about it by claiming my receipt printed online from sears.com was not good enough.

I could always attempt to glue it back together myself, but it probably wouldn't last, not knowing which type of glue is heat resistant and safe to use.

Is it nitpicking to expect not having to start self-repair projects on a less than a year-old TV that's falling apart from poor manufacturing?

Thoughts?
klillevo is offline  
post #12964 of 12981 Old 10-13-2014, 10:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whipit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SGF
Posts: 1,455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjnoles1 View Post
Do I need Ferritt core for my HDMI cable on the ST60? My mom has a Panasonic U50 (2012 base model) and it came with two Ferritt core for HDMI cables and 1 for USB cable. The ST60 did not come with any. She only used one Ferritt core, so, she still has one more remaining. Should I put it on my HDMI cable? It is a Monoprice HDMI cable if it helps answer my question.
You should be fine without them unless you are getting some kind of interference that shows up on the screen.
whipit is online now  
post #12965 of 12981 Old 10-13-2014, 10:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whipit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SGF
Posts: 1,455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjnoles1 View Post
I bought the TV. Question, since it says only 18 hours of usage, but, that is because the main board has been replaced (confirmed by the Sears warehouse manager), do I still need to do the panel break in settings and the slides, or do you think it is not needed. If you still think it is a good idea, then I will run them.
I'm thinking we really don't know how many hours are on the panel. The slides are for quickly aging the screen to get the most out of a Pro Calibration. I'm guessing you aren't going that route. I like to run full screen material after a letterbox movie to even the panel wear before I shut it off., but that's just me, lol. Just run full screen material that runs all the pixels and you will be fine. Keep the black bar movies to a minimum and run full screen between the movies. Panasonic recommends keeping static images to no more than 15% of the viewing to prevent IR and Burn In. Black bars may be a little easier on the tv than static logos. Of course your mileage may differ.
whipit is online now  
post #12966 of 12981 Old 10-13-2014, 03:32 PM
Member
 
mjnoles1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by whipit View Post
I'm thinking we really don't know how many hours are on the panel. The slides are for quickly aging the screen to get the most out of a Pro Calibration. I'm guessing you aren't going that route. I like to run full screen material after a letterbox movie to even the panel wear before I shut it off., but that's just me, lol. Just run full screen material that runs all the pixels and you will be fine. Keep the black bar movies to a minimum and run full screen between the movies. Panasonic recommends keeping static images to no more than 15% of the viewing to prevent IR and Burn In. Black bars may be a little easier on the tv than static logos. Of course your mileage may differ.
Since we really do not know the actual hours. Will it hurt if I do run the slides continuously for 100 or so? Or is it not recommended and can actually do harm, since I do not know the actual hours of the panel?
mjnoles1 is offline  
post #12967 of 12981 Old 10-13-2014, 03:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
samijubal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjnoles1 View Post
Since we really do not know the actual hours. Will it hurt if I do run the slides continuously for 100 or so? Or is it not recommended and can actually do harm, since I do not know the actual hours of the panel?
There's no need to run slides. Just avoid black bars, static images and channel logos for the first 100-200 hours.
samijubal is offline  
post #12968 of 12981 Old 10-14-2014, 10:58 AM
Member
 
ace54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
are all ST60 T.V. stands interchangeable ?


I need a stand/base for ST60 55" the 50" stand wont fit its too small will the 60/65 stand fit??

Last edited by ace54; 10-14-2014 at 03:59 PM.
ace54 is offline  
post #12969 of 12981 Old 10-14-2014, 06:57 PM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 488
Quote:
Originally Posted by ace54 View Post
are all ST60 T.V. stands interchangeable? I need a stand/base for ST60 55" the 50" stand wont fit its too small will the 60/65 stand fit??
I think (but i'm not sure) that the 55" ST60 uses the same components as the 60" and 65" ST60 (there are three part numbers that make up the stand assembly).

As you noted the 50" ST60 stand assembly is different and definitely will not fit the larger sizes.

Here's a related thread with lots of stand info.

TC-P50ST60 compatible stand?



And here's another option:

Alternate table top stands for 60" plasma



______________________________________________

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...

Last edited by RandyWalters; 10-15-2014 at 06:46 AM. Reason: Fixed Link Paste Error LOL
RandyWalters is offline  
post #12970 of 12981 Old 10-14-2014, 07:30 PM
Member
 
ace54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyWalters View Post
I think (but i'm not sure) that the 55" ST60 uses the same components as the 60" and 65" ST60 (there are three part numbers that make up the stand assembly).

As you noted the 50" ST60 stand assembly is different and definitely will not fit the larger sizes.

Here's a related thread with lots of stand info.



And here's another option:

Alternate table top stands for 60" plasma


______________________________________________


I don't see the related thread with lots of info
ace54 is offline  
post #12971 of 12981 Old 10-15-2014, 07:37 AM
Newbie
 
rocktheroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I couldn't find how to turn-off small Home Screen banner on top of the screen that shows every time when I turn on TV. I think I managed to power TV every time in Full Screen, but that small banner on top stays for few seconds, and while it is on, you can't do anything with remote (Volume Up/Down, change channels/input). I've tried finding on Internet, but there are just tutorials how to remove Banner Ad's.

Anyone have idea how to do that?
rocktheroad is offline  
post #12972 of 12981 Old 10-15-2014, 07:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
Marc_G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Indianapolis Metro Area
Posts: 935
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Not possible. No way to turn it off.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk

Sometimes, I see dead pixels...
Marc_G is offline  
post #12973 of 12981 Old 10-15-2014, 02:30 PM
Member
 
ace54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think the 50" and 65" stands are different and the 55" and 60" stands are the same Can anyone confirm?
ace54 is offline  
post #12974 of 12981 Old 10-15-2014, 07:49 PM
Member
 
jagerx9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hey guys.. so thanks to some longer than normal gaming sessions in Destiny, I now have a bit of image retention. It didn't go away with screen wipe. I've followed all proper procedures, did 120 hours of break in, never watch in letterbox, etc. I'm sort of shocked as advice on here certainly suggested that it wouldn't be so easy to do. For reference, the longest that the IR'ed area was on the screen was maybe 2.5 hours in which time it had short breaks throughout.

Any advice on what to do about this and how to avoid it in the future? It's still under warranty, is that something that is typically covered?

Last edited by jagerx9; 10-15-2014 at 07:58 PM.
jagerx9 is offline  
post #12975 of 12981 Old 10-15-2014, 08:10 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Wow he said the blacks crushed the other tvs

Last edited by bxpyddelfel; 10-15-2014 at 08:18 PM.
bxpyddelfel is offline  
post #12976 of 12981 Old 10-15-2014, 08:18 PM
Senior Member
 
iserum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jagerx9 View Post
Hey guys.. so thanks to some longer than normal gaming sessions in Destiny, I now have a bit of image retention. It didn't go away with screen wipe. I've followed all proper procedures, did 120 hours of break in, never watch in letterbox, etc. I'm sort of shocked as advice on here certainly suggested that it wouldn't be so easy to do. For reference, the longest that the IR'ed area was on the screen was maybe 2.5 hours in which time it had short breaks throughout.

Any advice on what to do about this and how to avoid it in the future? It's still under warranty, is that something that is typically covered?
it will take some time but it will go away, the more you pay attention it will freak you out, my ST30 plasma had a stubborn IR of Cartoon Network Logo, it took while but it went Away, i was getting more IR on my ST60 but it improved quite a bit, i have approx 1800 hours on my panel, never did break in or slide, it is calibrated TV though, My ST30 was also calibrated. my advise is use other content on tv and do not use the same game screen until the IR goes away.
iserum is offline  
post #12977 of 12981 Old 10-18-2014, 09:46 AM
Member
 
ace54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
are there any T.V.s better then the ST60? other then the other Panasonic plasmas and OLEDs, 4Ks?
ace54 is offline  
post #12978 of 12981 Old 10-18-2014, 11:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 861
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 21
The Samsung F8500 is superior to the ST60 IMO and just had a price drop.
AMartin56 is offline  
post #12979 of 12981 Old 10-19-2014, 12:17 PM
Member
 
ace54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMartin56 View Post
The Samsung F8500 is superior to the ST60 IMO and just had a price drop.
also comes with a premium price here in Canada cant find one that's under $2000.00 that price is not including tax
ace54 is offline  
post #12980 of 12981 Old 10-19-2014, 09:59 PM
Member
 
Julio Castrejon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Has anybody seen the new Godzilla movie on this set yet? I just saw the blu ray, and wow I was very impressed with the dark scenes and the incredible shadow detail it produced. A lot of people across the web have complain that the movie is too dark to see on their sets. That's just sad.
Julio Castrejon is offline  
post #12981 of 12981 Old 10-20-2014, 12:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cajieboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Space Coast, Florida
Posts: 4,420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Julio Castrejon View Post
Has anybody seen the new Godzilla movie on this set yet? I just saw the blu ray, and wow I was very impressed with the dark scenes and the incredible shadow detail it produced. A lot of people across the web have complain that the movie is too dark to see on their sets. That's just sad.
Thanks for the tip. I plan to rent this BR when I return home from my trip. not too long after I had purchased my ST60, I rented Gravity on BR, and my jaw dropped! The dark space scenes were amazing, and I was hooked after that experience. To see the best quality this TV has to offer, I highly recommend BlueRay disks over streaming. I stream a lot too, but nothing compares to the viewing experience of the BR...that is unless it's a BR 3D.
cajieboy is offline  
post #12982 of 12981 Old 10-21-2014, 07:54 PM
Member
 
BD006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey everyone,

Just bought a house and looking to wall-mount my 60ST60.

I'm looking at the ultra low profile mounts on mo*op*ice, and was wondering if having it that close to the wall may not allow for enough ventilation? The ultra low profile mount says the TV ends up being mounted 0.75" from the wall, while the low profile mount says 1.25" from the wall.

I would prefer to have it as close to the wall as possible, purely for aesthetics, but I'm not going to do if it risks damaging the TV.

Thanks for anyone's help
BD006 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Tc P55st60 55 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P60st60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P65st60 65 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P55vt50 , Sony Bravia Xbr52hx909 52 Lcd Tv Direct Led
Gear in this thread - P55st60 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off