Official Panasonic TC-PxxST60 Series thread - Page 438 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #13111 of 13119 Unread Yesterday, 01:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
sawfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 851
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by perchancetodream View Post
Don't forget, OLEDs are also prone to IR/Burn-in, so when the time comes, we Plasma owners will feel right at home! 😆
Will there be rainbow effect, George? And line bleed, too? Tell me about the buzzing, George.
sawfish is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13112 of 13119 Unread Yesterday, 03:48 PM
Member
 
perchancetodream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by sawfish View Post
Will there be rainbow effect, George? And line bleed, too? Tell me about the buzzing, George.
Who's George . . . and what have you been smoking?!?
perchancetodream is offline  
post #13113 of 13119 Unread Today, 02:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
samijubal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 805
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 85
I broke down and bought an LED to play games on after getting some IR on my plasma. Got a 49" LG for $321 out the door from Best Buy. I wouldn't use it for my main TV but it's good enough to play games on. I'd rather spend $300 than ruin my Plasma. Now I can play the older games I didn't dare play on a plasma on something bigger than an old 27" CRT.
samijubal is online now  
post #13114 of 13119 Unread Today, 03:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Can you access the service menu on the ST60 and adjust the Sharpness level presets? What is the method to access the service menu?
tylerSC is online now  
post #13115 of 13119 Unread Today, 03:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
samijubal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 805
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
Can you access the service menu on the ST60 and adjust the Sharpness level presets? What is the method to access the service menu?
I don't remember ever seeing a sharpness adjustment in any service menus. It's been a few years since I've been in one so I could be wrong but I don't think it's there.
samijubal is online now  
post #13116 of 13119 Unread Today, 03:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by samijubal View Post
I don't remember ever seeing a sharpness adjustment in any service menus. It's been a few years since I've been in one so I could be wrong but I don't think it's there.
Just wondering, because the images on the ST60 do not appear as sharp as the Samsung F5300. At least when connected to an OTA antenna.
tylerSC is online now  
post #13117 of 13119 Unread Today, 04:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
samijubal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 805
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
Just wondering, because the images on the ST60 do not appear as sharp as the Samsung F5300. At least when connected to an OTA antenna.
I agree these TVs are a little on the soft side. All picture modes are preset and some are sharper than others I believe. Vivid is probably the sharpest but it doesn't allow access to the pro settings. I hate the way manufacturer's do that with TVs, block some settings in some picture modes, the LG LED I just bought is the same way.
samijubal is online now  
post #13118 of 13119 Unread Today, 04:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,049
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
Just wondering, because the images on the ST60 do not appear as sharp as the Samsung F5300. At least when connected to an OTA antenna.
Panasonics in general don't look as sharp as Samsungs/ Sonys overall when it comes to scaling, de-interlacing and overall video processing for 1080i/ 720p tv content. A darbee darblet would do wonders for your ST60 in this case though and should get it close PQ wise to your 5300.

Your ST60 should smoke the Samsung though on 1080p/ blu ray content. How do you compare the two?
Chere is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Tc P55st60 55 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P60st60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P65st60 65 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P55vt50 , Sony Bravia Xbr52hx909 52 Lcd Tv Direct Led
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off