Official Panasonic TC-PxxST60 Series thread - Page 443 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #13261 of 13287 Old 02-18-2015, 12:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 385 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by kman1 View Post
From experience I can tell you that setting the contrast that high and displaying any kind of static graphics or text for a fair amount of time will give you persistent IR that will take months / hundreds of hours to go away.

For cable TV, I set the contrast below 40 and the image is zoomed in most of the time to keep station logos off screen. Do I really need the best picture to watch news tickers and talk shows? Exactly!

For the external and internal media players which are my sources for watching movies which usually fill the screen, contrast is set to 83, overscan is off, etc. No worries there.

Totally false, but to each his own.
sheshechic likes this.

65VT60(Calibrated by Chad B)
55ST60(Calibrated by Chunon)
Harmony 650
Darbee DVP5000
Sony XT1 Soundbase
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
chunon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13262 of 13287 Old 02-18-2015, 01:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Robin Bombard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Rutland, Vermont
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
No offense guys but a mid 80s contrast has no ill effects, I have had Panasonic plasmas since 2008 and have always run in the mid 80s for contrast. Another persistent myth that somehow perpetuates itself here. As far as a calibration in the 50's goes you are seriously compromising your contrast ratio but as you said its a personal choice.
None taken here. Just stating both my opinion and that of what my ISF calibrator told me about plasmas in general. Bottomline for me at 63, I want this to be my last TV purchase so the less wear n' tear I place on this plasma, the better. That and I love my TV's being ISF-calibrated for the most accurate picture,, regardless of where the contrast is set. Mine just happens to be at 50.
Robin Bombard is offline  
post #13263 of 13287 Old 02-18-2015, 02:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 385 Post(s)
Liked: 592
There is certainly a wide range of contrast settings that can be adjusted to personal taste.
sheshechic and parkman like this.
chunon is offline  
post #13264 of 13287 Old 02-18-2015, 05:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
samijubal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
Totally false, but to each his own.
May be false for you, not for everyone. IR problems are panel specific, some are more prone than others. His statement that you will have problems isn't true for all panels but totally false isn't true for all panels either.
samijubal is online now  
post #13265 of 13287 Old 02-18-2015, 06:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robin Bombard View Post
None taken here. Just stating both my opinion and that of what my ISF calibrator told me about plasmas in general. Bottomline for me at 63, I want this to be my last TV purchase so the less wear n' tear I place on this plasma, the better. That and I love my TV's being ISF-calibrated for the most accurate picture,, regardless of where the contrast is set. Mine just happens to be at 50.
Hopefully you live much longer than that TV does! My longest relationship with a TV has been eight years!

Living room: Sony 60NX720, Yamaha RX-V673, NHT Super One/Zero w/Ten Sub, Panasonic BDT230.
Current Man Cave: Samsung PN51F8500, Vizio S4251w-B4, Sony BDP-S5100, Darbee Darblet.
Future Man Cave: Sony VPL-HW40ES, Monoprice 106" Multi-Format Fixed Frame (Never again!).
Displays calibrated with HCFR, i1DisplayPro, and Colormunki Photo.
AMartin56 is offline  
post #13266 of 13287 Old 02-18-2015, 07:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Robin Bombard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Rutland, Vermont
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMartin56 View Post
Hopefully you live much longer than that TV does! My longest relationship with a TV has been eight years!
Well I got 12 years out of a 27" Sylvania Console and 8 years out of a 36" Sony XRB but this ST60 is my first non-CRT and by far the best display device I've ever owned. I could be satisfied with this being my last tv,,,, very satisfied to get both 20 years out of each of us.
Robin Bombard is offline  
post #13267 of 13287 Old 02-19-2015, 03:52 AM
Newbie
 
kman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
Totally false, but to each his own.
just because it didn't happen to you or you didn't notice it when it did does not make it false

there are thousands of posts about persistent IR for this TV - are all of us delusional?
kman1 is offline  
post #13268 of 13287 Old 02-19-2015, 04:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 385 Post(s)
Liked: 592
You seem to want to argue I dont .
But telling people if they run contrast in the 80s they will get IR that lasts hundreds of hours is just fud. You aree free to do whatever you want with your set. Im just offering a counter opinion to the hysteria.
RicFlair and parkman like this.
chunon is offline  
post #13269 of 13287 Old 02-19-2015, 06:19 AM
Newbie
 
kman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
You seem to want to argue I dont .
But telling people if they run contrast in the 80s they will get IR that lasts hundreds of hours is just fud. You aree free to do whatever you want with your set. Im just offering a counter opinion to the hysteria.
Unlike you, I was sharing my personal experience, not just some baseless "opinion".

I trust others' intelligence to discern fact from fiction.
kman1 is offline  
post #13270 of 13287 Old 02-19-2015, 06:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 385 Post(s)
Liked: 592
My opinions are baseless? I own a St60 and A Vt60 that is professionally calibrated. Have owned Panasonic plasmas since 2008. There is ir panel variance but it has nothing to do with contrast , its related to panel voltage.

Thats all i have to say really enjoy your set.
chunon is offline  
post #13271 of 13287 Old 02-19-2015, 05:00 PM
Member
 
eeee87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
You seem to want to argue I dont .
But telling people if they run contrast in the 80s they will get IR that lasts hundreds of hours is just fud. You aree free to do whatever you want with your set. Im just offering a counter opinion to the hysteria.
hi, could you pm me your calibration settings also Id like to give them a spin on my set just to compare
eeee87 is offline  
post #13272 of 13287 Old 02-21-2015, 01:14 PM
Senior Member
 
toddman36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Hi guys,

I have a TC-P65S1 I bought back around 2010, and Ive always noticed when watching hdtv via HDSTB or BluRay that faces seem to dim and brighten slightly(there maybe a proper Term for this?)! It seems more noticable in dark scenes that I catch it!

Is this a fault of the plasma? Ive always had the tv hook up via HDMI with every source such as my PS4, BluRay player, HD STB, and CD Player hooked up to a AVR. My current AVR is a Denon 4100w, and I do Not have the IP Scaler in the AVR on!

Just curious if anyone else experiences this with their Panasonic plasma as well?

Edit: After watching Fury & John Wick on bluray dvd, it seems to be more prominent on HDTV while watching Cable STB!

Last edited by toddman36; 02-21-2015 at 08:45 PM.
toddman36 is online now  
post #13273 of 13287 Old 03-02-2015, 03:56 PM
Senior Member
 
DThiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I currently own the TC-P65ST60 TV and the Panasonic DMP-BDT230 Blu-Ray Player. I'm having trouble playing 3D movies. The error message on the TV is displaying "Your 3D Setup was not detected".

I set the TV for 3D playback (via the button on the remote) and I'm using the glasses that came with the TV. I have removed the plastic film (pull out strip) that was in the center of the glasses.

The firmware for both the TV and player is updated to the newest version.

Are there settings on the player for 3D playback or just the TV?

Not sure why I'm getting the above error message. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.
DThiel is offline  
post #13274 of 13287 Old 03-02-2015, 05:46 PM
Member
 
LABNEWF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DThiel View Post
I currently own the TC-P65ST60 TV and the Panasonic DMP-BDT230 Blu-Ray Player. I'm having trouble playing 3D movies. The error message on the TV is displaying "Your 3D Setup was not detected".

I set the TV for 3D playback (via the button on the remote) and I'm using the glasses that came with the TV. I have removed the plastic film (pull out strip) that was in the center of the glasses.

The firmware for both the TV and player is updated to the newest version.

Are there settings on the player for 3D playback or just the TV?

Not sure why I'm getting the above error message. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.














Hey I have the same set. Try using the internal app for 3d and see if it works. My guess is you may not be using a high speed hdmi cable from the bluray set up or have a defective one. you also need to pair the glasses with the signal once its on. if you try one of the many internal apps for 3d and still are not able to view 3d than that will eliminate the player as the problem. I am not familiar with the Panasonic 3d bluray but I would imagine if you put in a 3d disc it will automatically signal the tv. Hope this helps or maybe one of the more technical guys can help you out. I would look at the cable though.
LABNEWF is offline  
post #13275 of 13287 Old 03-03-2015, 07:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
samijubal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by DThiel View Post
I currently own the TC-P65ST60 TV and the Panasonic DMP-BDT230 Blu-Ray Player. I'm having trouble playing 3D movies. The error message on the TV is displaying "Your 3D Setup was not detected".

I set the TV for 3D playback (via the button on the remote) and I'm using the glasses that came with the TV. I have removed the plastic film (pull out strip) that was in the center of the glasses.

The firmware for both the TV and player is updated to the newest version.

Are there settings on the player for 3D playback or just the TV?

Not sure why I'm getting the above error message. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.
The TV needs to be powered on before the Blu-ray player so the player can see the TV as a 3D device when it's powered up. The TV doesn't need to be in 3D mode, it just needs to be on first. If you're using a receiver between the player and TV it needs to be on before the player also.
samijubal is online now  
post #13276 of 13287 Old 03-19-2015, 10:36 AM
Senior Member
 
falsedawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TC P60ST60

Error message: 3D signal detected. Press 3D button to view in 3D

I get this error message periodically on non-3D material. Typically it is during older B&W movies in scenes with little contrast, such as a view of the sea with a ship in the far distance or a view of the sky with an aircraft in the distance. Also during foggy scenes.

Is there a way to disable this phenomenon?

Thanks
John

John
falsedawn is offline  
post #13277 of 13287 Old 03-19-2015, 11:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
samijubal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by falsedawn View Post
TC P60ST60

Error message: 3D signal detected. Press 3D button to view in 3D

I get this error message periodically on non-3D material. Typically it is during older B&W movies in scenes with little contrast, such as a view of the sea with a ship in the far distance or a view of the sky with an aircraft in the distance. Also during foggy scenes.

Is there a way to disable this phenomenon?

Thanks
John
Menu>picture>3D settings>auto detect 3D, turn off.
samijubal is online now  
post #13278 of 13287 Old 03-19-2015, 02:28 PM
Senior Member
 
falsedawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by samijubal View Post
The TV needs to be powered on before the Blu-ray player so the player can see the TV as a 3D device when it's powered up. The TV doesn't need to be in 3D mode, it just needs to be on first. If you're using a receiver between the player and TV it needs to be on before the player also.
I should have mentioned this occurs on cable (largely TNT HD) so the Blu-ray player is not a factor.

John

John
falsedawn is offline  
post #13279 of 13287 Old 03-19-2015, 02:32 PM
Senior Member
 
falsedawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by samijubal View Post
The TV needs to be powered on before the Blu-ray player so the player can see the TV as a 3D device when it's powered up. The TV doesn't need to be in 3D mode, it just needs to be on first. If you're using a receiver between the player and TV it needs to be on before the player also.
Quote:
Originally Posted by samijubal View Post
Menu>picture>3D settings>auto detect 3D, turn off.
Thank you very much. This is exactly what I was looking for. My mistake was not scrolling down in the Picture menu to where the 3D setting is.

John
falsedawn is offline  
post #13280 of 13287 Old 03-20-2015, 06:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RWetmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brick, New Jersey
Posts: 3,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 110
A question: What can or does this model do when fed an RGB signal instead of regular 4:4:4? Does it convert the RGB back to 4:4:4 or can it display the RGB natively? Also, what does it do when switched from a dynamic range of 16-235 to 'non-standard' of 0-255? I've been experimenting with these various things and I'm wondering what other people have found the display to do.


Switching to 'non-standard' seems to provide smoother gradation from black to white, but I can't detect a difference between when fed RGB or 4:4:4 after the black level has been re-calibrated.
RWetmore is offline  
post #13281 of 13287 Old Yesterday, 07:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Valnar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 1,825
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Sound bar recommendation?

I love my 50 inch ST60 but I think I've got to the point where the back firing sound has gotten to me. Does anyone know if this set is compatible (ie. using the Panasonic remote) with a sound bar? I've never bought one before. Are they ALL compatible, or is there something specific I should look for?

Or maybe MacGyver thing I can use to redirect the sound forward again so its more clear?
Valnar is offline  
post #13282 of 13287 Old Today, 08:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 385 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valnar View Post
I love my 50 inch ST60 but I think I've got to the point where the back firing sound has gotten to me. Does anyone know if this set is compatible (ie. using the Panasonic remote) with a sound bar? I've never bought one before. Are they ALL compatible, or is there something specific I should look for?

Or maybe MacGyver thing I can use to redirect the sound forward again so its more clear?
As long as it has hdmi control(cec) you should be good
chunon is offline  
post #13283 of 13287 Old Today, 08:54 AM
Senior Member
 
Eben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 499
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valnar View Post
I love my 50 inch ST60 but I think I've got to the point where the back firing sound has gotten to me. Does anyone know if this set is compatible (ie. using the Panasonic remote) with a sound bar? I've never bought one before. Are they ALL compatible, or is there something specific I should look for?

Or maybe MacGyver thing I can use to redirect the sound forward again so its more clear?
I have a vizio 2.1 (similar to this http://www.amazon.com/VIZIO-S3821w-C...izio+sound+bar) on a different TV but see no reason why it wouldn't work with the Panasonic. It does not provide audiophile sound, but it's a definite improvement over the stock speakers.
Eben is offline  
post #13284 of 13287 Old Today, 09:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Valnar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 1,825
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
How does HDMI-CEC come into play? Does it take up an HDMI port just for sound?

I actually have a 5.1 setup and an A/V receiver (with subwoofer), but it's a hassle to turn on for the kids, change the remote around, use different volume keys, etc. So something with a sub is not required. A plain-jane soundbar that has front facing speakers, without a sub, is more than adequate. Do they make cheap ones like that? Ideally, somebody simply turns on the TV and it "just works" while bypassing the internal speakers.
Valnar is offline  
post #13285 of 13287 Old Today, 10:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 385 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valnar View Post
How does HDMI-CEC come into play? Does it take up an HDMI port just for sound?

I actually have a 5.1 setup and an A/V receiver (with subwoofer), but it's a hassle to turn on for the kids, change the remote around, use different volume keys, etc. So something with a sub is not required. A plain-jane soundbar that has front facing speakers, without a sub, is more than adequate. Do they make cheap ones like that? Ideally, somebody simply turns on the TV and it "just works" while bypassing the internal speakers.
If you want your Panny remote to control the volume then yes you need the hdmi control, the soundbar powers on when the tv does. Yes some soundbars have integrated sub woofers.
chunon is offline  
post #13286 of 13287 Old Today, 01:09 PM
Member
 
Snafu68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
There is certainly a wide range of contrast settings that can be adjusted to personal taste.
agree, and looks like ST60 panels aren't that similar to each other.
if i set set contrast over 75 picture is unwatchable, it's too bright.

usually i have
contrast 50-60
brightness -5 - 0
color 50-65

depending of the source/movie quality

cheers
Snafu68 is offline  
post #13287 of 13287 Unread Today, 11:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
snidely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Oakland, Ca. & Aventura (Miami), Fl.
Posts: 1,538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valnar View Post
I love my 50 inch ST60 but I think I've got to the point where the back firing sound has gotten to me. Does anyone know if this set is compatible (ie. using the Panasonic remote) with a sound bar? I've never bought one before. Are they ALL compatible, or is there something specific I should look for?

Or maybe MacGyver thing I can use to redirect the sound forward again so its more clear?
After a month got a JBL sound bar (no separate woofer) for our ST 60 in our small unit in Oakland. The rear facing speakers were not only bad - but disturbed the neighbor on the other side of the wall.

On our 5 y.o. Panny in the large unit in Miami, will actually hook up a Panny Brand sound bar that Panny was almost giving away 6+ months ago. Just use it now for playing music. That 50" Panny has front facing somewhat bigger speakers.

Oh - we set the Comcast remote to control the sound bar speaker. Obviously set the ST60 speakers to zero. So we only need to have one remote to tune TV and control speaker. Netflix is controlled by the Panny remote - so in that case do need the Panny and the Comcast remote. Also, need to Comcast remote to control volume when watching HBO Go, Xfinity Go, etc.
snidely is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Tc P55st60 55 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P60st60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P65st60 65 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P55vt50 , Sony Bravia Xbr52hx909 52 Lcd Tv Direct Led
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off