Official Panasonic TC-PxxST60 Series thread - Page 55 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1621 of 12863 Old 04-15-2013, 09:13 PM
Senior Member
 
AdamHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by moshock View Post

What are these processors really responsible for? Is it just the apps, or is it the decoding of source signals, or everything?

You may get mixed responses on this...
Primarily the dual core processor would be for quicker "snappier" opening of "apps" and other parts of the viera connect suite. It HAS been suggested that it may do more than that though, helping with video processing, especially when it comes to the input lag "problem" with the ST60... This has yet to be proven/confirmed though...
AdamHD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1622 of 12863 Old 04-15-2013, 09:14 PM
Member
 
HD2Blu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tampa, Fl.
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by biggweeziehd View Post

How did you buy a 60" already?
It was in their system in- store even though its not on the website. Earliest delivery available was tomorrow, but we choose Saturday due to our schedule. I'm in Tampa, Fl. If that makes a difference.?
HD2Blu is offline  
post #1623 of 12863 Old 04-15-2013, 09:18 PM
Senior Member
 
biggweeziehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Buchanan Michigan
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD2Blu View Post

It was in their system in- store even though its not on the website. Earliest delivery available was tomorrow, but we choose Saturday due to our schedule. I'm in Tampa, Fl. If that makes a difference.?

Aw sh@t ill be in the store tomorrow to see if my store in Indiana has one. I got a brand new naked tv stand waiting on it!
El Matadurr likes this.
biggweeziehd is offline  
post #1624 of 12863 Old 04-15-2013, 09:19 PM
Senior Member
 
biggweeziehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Buchanan Michigan
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD2Blu View Post

It was in their system in- store even though its not on the website. Earliest delivery available was tomorrow, but we choose Saturday due to our schedule. I'm in Tampa, Fl. If that makes a difference.?

Price? And did you buy warranty? If so that price as well?
biggweeziehd is offline  
post #1625 of 12863 Old 04-15-2013, 09:43 PM
Member
 
blackdemongsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Wish i could give my little non professional review but im only at 52hrs with the prep slides. Only 48 more hours to go and i then i can give my little review. So far the TV looks pretty AWESOME on my tv stand so i give that a 10/10 lol
blackdemongsx is offline  
post #1626 of 12863 Old 04-15-2013, 09:59 PM
Member
 
Pop Zeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by moshock View Post

What are these processors really responsible for? Is it just the apps, or is it the decoding of source signals, or everything?

My guess is everything. Unless they have a separate video chip...

Seems like the big price differentiator between this model and the others is the chipset.
Pop Zeus is offline  
post #1627 of 12863 Old 04-15-2013, 11:05 PM
Member
 
Dabearfan101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmm under 3d settings, 3d refresh rate is only available in 120hz, 100, and 96hz. Where is this 48hz some are claiming?
Dabearfan101 is offline  
post #1628 of 12863 Old 04-15-2013, 11:10 PM
Member
 
fester99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD2Blu View Post

It was in their system in- store even though its not on the website. Earliest delivery available was tomorrow, but we choose Saturday due to our schedule. I'm in Tampa, Fl. If that makes a difference.?
This is great to hear since i am close to the ol 813, Which store if you don't mind answering.

| Panasonic TC-P60ST60 | Pioneer Elite SC-81 | Sony PlayStation 3 | Sony PlayStation 4 | DirecTV HR44 Genie |
fester99 is offline  
post #1629 of 12863 Old 04-15-2013, 11:12 PM
Member
 
fester99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dabearfan101 View Post

Hmm under 3d settings, 3d refresh rate is only available in 120hz, 100, and 96hz. Where is this 48hz some are claiming?
According to the owners manual the only 3 choices are the ones you listed there is no 48hz mode. I think people were saying they should compare it in 48hz mode but were unsure if the tv had it. You have confirmed that it does not then.

| Panasonic TC-P60ST60 | Pioneer Elite SC-81 | Sony PlayStation 3 | Sony PlayStation 4 | DirecTV HR44 Genie |
fester99 is offline  
post #1630 of 12863 Old 04-16-2013, 02:24 AM
Member
 
Dabois09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 24
So I have a question. I'm running D-nice's slides right now and wanted to know would it be best to use them for my Xbox 360 as well? I want accurate color there too. Is it proper to use it on consoles too?

Thanks
Dabois09 is online now  
post #1631 of 12863 Old 04-16-2013, 02:29 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,063
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 838
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dabois09 View Post

So I have a question. I'm running D-nice's slides right now and wanted to know would it be best to use them for my Xbox 360 as well? I want accurate color there too. Is it proper to use it on consoles too?

Thanks
No

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
post #1632 of 12863 Old 04-16-2013, 03:06 AM
Member
 
HD2Blu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tampa, Fl.
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by fester99 View Post

This is great to hear since i am close to the ol 813, Which store if you don't mind answering.

Sorry, I went to bed last night during these questions. It was the Brandon store. The employee said their warehouse (that the stock was coming from) was only 45 minutes away so I think it's in Lakeland or somewhere close so maybe your store will pull from the same warehouse?
Quote:
Originally Posted by biggweeziehd View Post

Price? And did you buy warranty? If so that price as well?

It was $1699 (same as Sears so I bit - if it goes down or amazon has lower price in the next 14 days I'll get a price adjustment) and yes 4 year warranty for $345 (I think - I am out of town for work now so receipt is at home). I remember the total was around $2174 with everything because they gave me $2200 for credit on the 24 month payment and it came close. Hope this helps.
HD2Blu is offline  
post #1633 of 12863 Old 04-16-2013, 05:45 AM
Senior Member
 
Stump909's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamHD View Post

You may get mixed responses on this...
Primarily the dual core processor would be for quicker "snappier" opening of "apps" and other parts of the viera connect suite. It HAS been suggested that it may do more than that though, helping with video processing, especially when it comes to the input lag "problem" with the ST60... This has yet to be proven/confirmed though...

The number computation for video processing has to be handled somewhere.
Stump909 is offline  
post #1634 of 12863 Old 04-16-2013, 06:21 AM
Member
 
mhenrickson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm seriously thinking about getting the 60" model. I have a 10 year old Samsung DLP which I love, but it's only 43", so the 60" would be a nice upgrade. Plus, it's still on it's original bulb, which I expect can go at any time - although I certainly never expected to get 10 years out of it. Now it's making some buzzing noise (probably the color wheel). Maybe the time is right for an upgrade.....
mhenrickson is offline  
post #1635 of 12863 Old 04-16-2013, 06:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wattheF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dabearfan101 View Post

Hmm under 3d settings, 3d refresh rate is only available in 120hz, 100, and 96hz. Where is this 48hz some are claiming?

Ok so it looks like it doesn't have 48hz. That must be why the performance isn't matching the 50's with 3D. Maybe 96hz. Just isn't as smooth.

I would still like to hear some more impressions of 3D performance with bluray content.
wattheF is offline  
post #1636 of 12863 Old 04-16-2013, 06:59 AM
Senior Member
 
biggweeziehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Buchanan Michigan
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD2Blu View Post

Sorry, I went to bed last night during these questions. It was the Brandon store. The employee said their warehouse (that the stock was coming from) was only 45 minutes away so I think it's in Lakeland or somewhere close so maybe your store will pull from the same warehouse?
It was $1699 (same as Sears so I bit - if it goes down or amazon has lower price in the next 14 days I'll get a price adjustment) and yes 4 year warranty for $345 (I think - I am out of town for work now so receipt is at home). I remember the total was around $2174 with everything because they gave me $2200 for credit on the 24 month payment and it came close. Hope this helps.

I saw sears had it listed for one day (the day you bought it) at 1699. I believe it's $1499 now at sears so I would def check back. It's def $1499 as of now.
biggweeziehd is offline  
post #1637 of 12863 Old 04-16-2013, 07:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
cadett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Houma, La.
Posts: 813
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 83
It's always been $1499 at checkout, but after taxes it brings it back up to around $1699.
cadett is offline  
post #1638 of 12863 Old 04-16-2013, 07:37 AM
Senior Member
 
El Matadurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post

No
His slides worked awfully well for my 360 games on my old ST30. I can't see why they wouldn't this year?
El Matadurr is offline  
post #1639 of 12863 Old 04-16-2013, 07:58 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,063
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 838
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Matadurr View Post

His slides worked awfully well for my 360 games on my old ST30. I can't see why they wouldn't this year?
Never heard anyone else mention it. I stand corrected. I thought they were panel prep slides. What purpose would they serve for an external source?

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
post #1640 of 12863 Old 04-16-2013, 08:02 AM
Senior Member
 
Stump909's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post

Never heard anyone else mention it. I stand corrected. I thought they were panel prep slides. What purpose would they serve for an external source?

They don't serve any function on external devices. People here are clearly confused. Running these on your Xbox won't do anything. I think El Matador meant to say the slides TV's picture for the 360.
Stump909 is offline  
post #1641 of 12863 Old 04-16-2013, 08:09 AM
Senior Member
 
AdamHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadett View Post

It's always been $1499 at checkout, but after taxes it brings it back up to around $1699.

Not trying to be rude, but why wouldn't you buy from one of the numerous online retailers who have this for $1499 "out the door" (NO tax, free shipping)? Seems like you'd save a couple hundred dollars...
AdamHD is offline  
post #1642 of 12863 Old 04-16-2013, 08:13 AM
Senior Member
 
Esteban Medaglia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by wattheF View Post

Ok so it looks like it doesn't have 48hz. That must be why the performance isn't matching the 50's with 3D. Maybe 96hz. Just isn't as smooth.

I would still like to hear some more impressions of 3D performance with bluray content.

Could somebody please confirm if the ST60's have a 48hz option for regular 2D viewing? I know some folks don't like the flicker in this mode, but I love the "film" feel it simulates... Thanks!
Esteban Medaglia is offline  
post #1643 of 12863 Old 04-16-2013, 08:19 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,063
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 838
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stump909 View Post

They don't serve any function on external devices. People here are clearly confused. Running these on your Xbox won't do anything. I think El Matador meant to say the slides TV's picture for the 360.
Yes. I am clearly confused. The original question was could the slides be used to improve the color accuracy of an XBox. El Matadurr seems to think they can.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
post #1644 of 12863 Old 04-16-2013, 08:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
PeterLewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 629
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Esteban Medaglia View Post

Could somebody please confirm if the ST60's have a 48hz option for regular 2D viewing? I know some folks don't like the flicker in this mode, but I love the "film" feel it simulates... Thanks!

The 48hz mode is there for 2d...Dave from cnet mentioned it in his review.

Its 60hz,48hz and 96hz for 2d.

60hz,48,hz,96,100hz,120hz for 3d
PeterLewis is offline  
post #1645 of 12863 Old 04-16-2013, 08:21 AM
Senior Member
 
Esteban Medaglia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterLewis View Post

The 48hz mode is there for 2d...Dave from cnet mentioned it in his review.

Its 60hz,48hz and 96hz for 2d.

60hz,48,hz,96,100hz,120hz for 3d

Thank you! Much appreciated, and a big relief. I do 99% of my BD watching in that mode.
Esteban Medaglia is offline  
post #1646 of 12863 Old 04-16-2013, 08:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
PeterLewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 629
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Esteban Medaglia View Post

Thank you! Much appreciated, and a big relief. I do 99% of my BD watching in that mode.

I thought you just got a vt50 after your V10 wet the bed.Or you just getting the ST60 for another room since it is really a great deal with alot of value.
PeterLewis is offline  
post #1647 of 12863 Old 04-16-2013, 08:28 AM
Member
 
glantern30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhenrickson View Post

I'm seriously thinking about getting the 60" model. I have a 10 year old Samsung DLP which I love, but it's only 43", so the 60" would be a nice upgrade. Plus, it's still on it's original bulb, which I expect can go at any time - although I certainly never expected to get 10 years out of it. Now it's making some buzzing noise (probably the color wheel). Maybe the time is right for an upgrade.....

YES!!!!!!!!!!!! Its time for an upgrade... I had a samaung dlp and it did the same thing. It's probably not the color wheel but the actual bracket itself.. I think its like a couple hundred bucks to replace and the bulp can be anywhere from 80-160... I would just upgrade if you can,,
glantern30 is offline  
post #1648 of 12863 Old 04-16-2013, 08:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
cadett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Houma, La.
Posts: 813
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamHD View Post

Not trying to be rude, but why wouldn't you buy from one of the numerous online retailers who have this for $1499 "out the door" (NO tax, free shipping)? Seems like you'd save a couple hundred dollars...

That's what I plan on doing smile.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by Esteban Medaglia View Post

Thank you! Much appreciated, and a big relief. I do 99% of my BD watching in that mode.

Just to be clear, you are reporting this from actual experience or what you think or read.
cadett is offline  
post #1649 of 12863 Old 04-16-2013, 08:35 AM
Senior Member
 
AdamHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadett View Post

That's what I plan on doing smile.gif
Oh, ok. Clearly I was confused on who was buying what and for how much. haha smile.gif
AdamHD is offline  
post #1650 of 12863 Old 04-16-2013, 08:36 AM
Senior Member
 
biggweeziehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Buchanan Michigan
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadett View Post

That's what I plan on doing smile.gif
Just to be clear, you are reporting this from actual experience or what you think or read.

Just bought a 60st60 at my local BB priced matched sears. $1499 plus tax= $1604 out the door. Rather spend a hundred to be able to have 0% for 24 months and a store to drive it to if it fails. IM PSYCHED!
biggweeziehd is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Tc P55st60 55 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P60st60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P65st60 65 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P55vt50 , Sony Bravia Xbr52hx909 52 Lcd Tv Direct Led
Gear in this thread - P55st60 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off